Ashland, NE 
Ox Bow Trail DGC Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #4 (Taken 3/2010)
3 / 255ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
MUST PLAY

1    5/17/2013   5/21/2013
Review By: Sl33pwalkn187
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 18 Holes all playable.
A lot of straight shots but there some that require the right finesse.
Cons: I can't really name any cons except that there are only a few trash cans and it is a tad difficult to find the tee pads for some. You must cross the bridge to get to the 3rd part of the course. and than back across to finish the rest.
Parking... parking is very LIMITED.
Other Thoughts: When I went with my group of friends there was noone else there and we got to enjoy the course and take some practice shots and get a feel for the course. Bring your camera for some amazing pictures.
If you go down the hill next to the tee pad on 8, there are cars in the hill... I kid you not go and look for yourself.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Ashland DGC review

2-4    7/15/2011   4/5/2013
Review By: Burd
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: For this size town it is a nice 18 hole course with very wide open throws for good distance with minimal trees and hazards. Well maintained and easy to navigate.
Cons: Course is split up into about 4 different sections divided by a town road and the river so can be confusing in some parts but I made it through fine without a map my first time. Not much elevation change and course gets a little dull but still fun for big drives.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Ox Bow First trip.

1    9/27/2012   9/27/2012
Review By: T-Manz420
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good course for such a small town. Upkeep was decent.
Cons: Q: Who puts a light pole right in front of a Tee? A:City of Ashland. Needs a trim on the pads,Charlie has crept in. What is up with the 14 tee?
Other Thoughts: With Mahoney so close, Just go there.;{)

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wide open: both the course and your yawn

1    10/15/2011   10/15/2011
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 106  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: course is set in different parts of a park, separated by a street and a river. The course has a volleyball court and dog park, but I was the only person in the park.

The course is mostly flat, but the elevation is used well. There are a couple holes that make you throw over embankments. Several holes bring the tree lines into play, including 17 and 18. Every hole has a concrete tee pad with an arrow pointing you in the right direction. It appeared that every hole had two pin positions.

Contrary to some of the previous reviews, the course now has 18 baskets (temporarily? See below).
Cons: There are no tee signs here, just poles next to the tee pads with a number on them. Navigation isn't awful, but I didn't realize that holes 10-15 are on the other side of the river, and I couldn't figure out where they were until I was driving away (I did stop and play them and am glad I did). The map linked to on this site is incorrect now that there are 18 holes, and it confused me.

Hole #14 didn't have a tee pad that I could find.

All in all, there are just too many holes where you are throwing straight ahead with very few trees interfering with whatever flight path you choose. The course will rarely force you to throw a specific shot (or even eliminate any type of shot), so it can get a little boring.

There isn't much parking near #1, but there is adequate parking on the street and in a small lot near #11.
Other Thoughts: Six of the baskets are on loan from Cunningham in Omaha until that course's back half is redesigned sometime in 2012. It's not clear what will happen then for this course. I'm glad I visited once. At 18 holes, there are still better courses to visit in Omaha and Lincoln. If it returns to 12 holes, I can't see any reason to visit.

It's good to see towns like this using their park space. Unfortunately this isn't the kind of course that will bring in many out-of-towners.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Cold Day

1    2/20/2011   2/20/2011
Review By: mgcarney
Played: 78  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: There were cement tee pads, and interesting tree obstacles. For a small town, this was an impressive course. Most small towns will have sad little 9 holes, but this one really had some length to it. Hole 17 and 18 would be great if they had baskets. It's a great setup.
Cons: Not every hole had a basket. Some only had poles. The course did not flow well hole to hole. The next tee pad was frequently far from the previous basket. The baskets did not mark which hole they were for and this added confusion. The only way you are to find 10-15 is by a piece of printer paper attached to a pole telling you to cross the bridge. I hope the wind doesn't come by and blow it away, because then you would be lost.
Other Thoughts: It was cold an windy. With such long holes, try to avoid playing this one on a windy day.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Course Updating

5+    6/9/2010   5/15/2010
Review By: kickin
Played: 20  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 6/10/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is NOW 18 holes. 14 baskets and 4 objects. Objects will be changing to baskets as funding comes
Cons: No good map just yet. Will have one after all the baskets are in. The course will also have informative signs at each hole.
Other Thoughts: If you have questions, comments or would like to help with the development of the course (monetary donations for the baskets, map making or signs). Please contact ashland_dgc@yahoo.com

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Ummm....

1    4/10/2010   4/12/2010
Review By: Wheelz
Played: 28  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I'd say that it is a pro that such a small town has a disc golf course. I'm sure that if you would have the course to yourself more times than not here if you came to play it, it was a beautiful day when I played it and there wasn't a person in sight. Could be a good course to practice on or for a beginner.
Cons: Where to start! I wasn't impressed with this course. I went to play it without a map which was a big mistake. I got lost after 3 holes, and couldn't figure out how the course was laid out. Many of the tee signs are missing, and the ones that exist don't help much. Most pins seemed to be very close to the tee pads and were all straight ahead. The park itself didn't have any restrooms and there was a lot of trash. Many of the baskets appear to be older and have rust on the chains.
Other Thoughts: Your not missing much if you skip over this course. The only real use it could have is for practice, lots of room to practice drives, approaches and putting. Not many people around to worry about hitting. For a much nicer small-town 9-hole course, take the main highway south 15 min. and play Waverly's course.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Ainít No Bakerís Dozen

1    3/27/2010   4/9/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 209  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 27.3 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a fairly flat 12-hole course, with a old trees. There are cement tee pads, even though they are somewhat narrow. The tee signs are decent where they are present. There are 8 holes under and 4 holes over 300 feet.
Cons: The road to the parking area can get real muddy after a rain. There are a few signs missing. You may need a map to figure out a couple of spots like #5 being across the main street. I doubt many people park in the parking lot by #6, but it seems odd to throw over any parking lot. The holes are all really straight with little obstacles, so it can get a bit boring. It is sad but it doesn't look like this piece of land gets to much maintenance attention. It needs trashcans and had no bathroom.
Other Thoughts: There is no Fun Factor here. I found myself checking the hole number on the scorecard to see how much further I had to go. It makes me sad whenever I give a horrible review to a course in a small town, but this just isn't a course you should make a plan to play for unless you are already in the town.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.