Disc Golf Store
Mooresville, NC 
The Bridges DGC Share
Uploaded By: C.piteo Hole #16
3 / 327ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Basket



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Troubled Bridges over water

1    7/6/2014   7/10/2014
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 173  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 10.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Bridges at Cornelius Road Park is one of the hardest courses I've tried to review and rate. Everything people have said and written about this course - the good, bad and ugly -is correct. In time, though, this does have the potential to be a really solid course.
- Let's get right to the point. This is intended to be an advanced-level course. Until my visit to the course and this review in July 2014, this course has failed to live up to expectations because of poor design, lack of upkeep and a failure to execute. That said, this course has a higher ceiling than most other courses in the same ratings stratosphere.
- There are some exceptional holes on this course, giving players a taste of what this place could look like. There are holes on this course that require, shorter, target-to-target placement throws versus players just pulling out drivers and letting it rip. The best example of this, and one of my favorite holes on the course is #13. It's a 411-foot par four, with a ravine (and a little water) that plays to the left and long sides of the first target area. If you throw straight, or slightly to the right in the 225 - 275 range, you're in perfect position for to get a three. You throw too long, even if your shot is dead straight, you missed your target and you're in the ravine. I think this is a great, thoughtful, well-designed hole. Others don't like that a 325 straight shot puts you in a worse spot than a 225 slightly off-line shot. Those players are missing the point of this type of hole. A hole like this has a (ball) golf feel to it, something you'd expect to see in one of the Majors.
- In addition to #13, there are some other very good to great hole layouts. Among some of the enjoyable ones: #4 is a 494 foot, par 4 that's a mostly open hole with a semi-protected basket off to the left. Put it this way, this is the only hole to pull out driver without major risks. Enjoy your last open hole of the round. #6 is a 423 foot, par 4 with a ravine on the left side of the fairway. It's similar to #13 in that playing target-to-target is a smart choice, but it is more open and allows more aggressiveness. Case in point - I had an tap in 4 on this hole, and would have had a legit chance for a 3 if my second shot hadn't been knocked down by a branch.
- #9 is a great risk/reward, 321 foot par 3, with the same ravine coming into play. This time on the left side of the fairway. An aggressive shot around several trees will put you in birdie territory. A bad shot will end up in the ravine or some of the thick stuff, and leave you scrambling for a par. And to close things out, #18 is another station-to-station type of hole. It's a 576 par 5 that forces you to be patient. You start in the woods, forced to throw around a mando towards a dogleg left. A good shot will allow you to throw into the opening into the grass, allowing you to be more aggressive for your third shot. The basket is across a walking trail, back in the woods, with trees and a small ravine as potential barriers. Birdies can be had, or at least easy pars, but the key, and the frustrating part is that you have to be patient and resist the urge to be overly aggressive.
- Tee signs are really good - good visual of the hole layout, pointing out key land marks (walking trails, ravine, desired flight paths) along with arrows directing you towards the next hole. With poor signage, no maps available and some blind holes, having descriptive tee signs is crucial. Navigation is tricky enough as it is. Without good tee signs, this course would be extremely difficult to almost impossible for first time players. Still, other navigational tools are needed for the course, but at least this one is done nicely.
- There is a good mix of easier, birdie-able holes, kick-your-butt, challenging holes and all levels in between. The first three holes are three of the five easiest on the course, so you better be aggressive off the first tee. If you play them as simply good warm-ups, get into the flow holes, as I foolishly did, you're killing easier birdie chances. From there, your other two easy holes are #8 (short, uphill layout) and #17 (shortest hole on the course, but slopes away if you go long). Both holes come after tough stretches of holes, so it's nice to catch a break before things, yet again, get tougher.
- There are some true risk/reward holes where aggressive play will be rewarded. There is also the element of poor design, as seen on #7, but for now, I'm focusing on the positive. This is a course, similar to Nevin in Charlotte, where par is a good score, and getting a birdie is a great score. Many DGers are conditioning to thinking any hole should be 'birdie-able,' which isn't the case here. However, on certain holes a successfully aggressive tee shots will give you a chance to pick up a stroke or two. A couple holes on the back 9 really come to mind here: the aforementioned #13. #11, which is a downhill 394 foot hole with two tight lines. I pulled out driver on this hole, managed to avoid the trees and had a 30 foot birdie putt. I won't say what happened next, but I will emphasize that I had a birdie putt due an aggressive shot. And finally #15, a 497 foot hole with a semi-narrow fairway. Two solid shots and you'll be putting for 3. Less successful shots will lead to a 5 or 6 on a scorecard.
- Very nice park overall with lots of amenities - tennis courts, ball fields, walking trails, playgrounds, restrooms, etc.
Cons: It all centers around one thing: the design on some holes needs a major overhaul. Some holes have no discernable fairway (#7), others have narrow ones (#15 ), others have awkward layouts/transitions (#16 and it's sharp dogleg left shortly off the tee) and others just seem like they could just use a makeover (#4). Add in the lack of bridges to get over the ravine (is that irony?), poor signage/navigation, lack of benches and trashcans, and you can see how a lot of smaller problems can quickly turn into a frustrating play. Not one issue is a deal breaker, but the sum of the problems is.
- A fair amount of the holes do still need more work done. Some could settle for just having one or two trees cleared away; others need much more than that. During my round, I ran into a fellow DGer who works for P&R. He says the course will be getting much needed attention, making it more playable. It sounds good, we'll just need to see the results in the coming months.
- I'll just say it. #7 is a terrible hole, at least in its current state. Through the first six holes of my round, I was starting to think some of the more vocal critics might have been wrong about the course, or that the course had improved. Then I got to this hole. There's no good way to play it. The guy I ran into said many locals avoid the wooded (non) fairway, opting instead to throw to the right, in the opening, only to come back into the woods at the basket. If that's the way to play this hole, then there needs to be a natural opening from the woods to the grassy area and back again. The idea of a hidden fairway, especially on a hole like this, doesn't cut it. In its current state, this goes beyond the bounds of being a 'fair, but tough' hole to simply being unrealistic.
- Part of the problem on #7, along with holes, 5, 6, 9, 13 & 18 is that there are only two bridges to cross over the ravine. If your disc crosses over to the other side, which is apt to happen with narrow fairways, you better hope you're in a shallower part of the ravine, there's someone on the other side to chuck your disc back to you or that you're close to the bridge. Otherwise, you've got a long walk to the bridge and back. In many ways, it's better having to deal with that than if you end up in the ravine. Some parts of it are steep and don't have good ways to get in or out of it. Bridges and ladders (as Bracketts Bluff has for its ravine hole) would be huge helps.
- Improve the signage. From the beginning, there's no signage where the first hole is. If you didn't see the baskets for #1 or 2, you wouldn't even know there was a course here. From there, there are some akward or confusing transitions. I was told it's easy to go straight from #11 to 14 if you're not careful, and sure enough, shortly after that, we ran into a group who did just that. Then you have a hole like #18, with its length and layout, people may have no clue whatsoever where to throw or where the desired opening in the trees is supposed to be. Better signage, and in this case a more obvious clearing, are big helps.
- As much as I enjoyed the station-to-station holes, this course did lean too heavily on that type of hole. Nevin is well known for its station-to-station holes, the well documented hole #5 and #17. Having one or two per course is enjoyable. Having more than that, as this course has, can get old after a while (or pretty quick depending on your perspective.) Opening up a couple more fairways, especially #18, would allow for more variety and more enjoyment for some.
- No benches or trashcans throughout the course. This is a more physically demanding course than most and having a chance to sit down and catch ones breath would be desirable for many a player. Or you can tough it out. Either way.
- There's a long walk back to the parking lot and first tee, once you finish #18. I was pointed out to a bonus hole, throwing from the walking path to the basket for #4 to help make the long walk back more enjoyable. That extra hole actually ended up being one of my favorites, so maybe there's a way to eliminate one of the lesser holes and make this one #18. Just a thought.
Other Thoughts: Bridges is still a work in progress, two years after it opened. There are many reasons to blame for this, but it comes down to poor planning. That said, if P&R is really committed to fixing the problems, I'm cautiously optimistic this course can get much closer to its intended level in the coming months.
- As mentioned early, I think all of the reviews up to this point have levels of truth to them. Some people have been overly optimistic about this course's potential while others have been frustrated with the course's massive failures. These ideas are both right.
- That said, this course has more potential than any other 2.5 rated course I've played. Potential might not even be the right word. We're not talking about redesigning the entire course because there's untapped terrain in the park. We're talking about actually finishing clearing out holes, cutting down trees and widening fairways. Simple stuff that should have been done before the course was even opened. Because of that, this course could go from having many 1.0 - 2.0 ratings to having 4.0s rating in a matter of weeks once the work is completed. This is a course to keep an eye on because if/when that work is complete, the rating will start shooting up and it will suddenly be garnering more attention.
- Like everyone else, I had the feelings of enjoyment and frustration in my one round. The enjoyments did outnumber the frustrations, just as there are more 'good' holes than 'poor' ones.
- I'm giving this course a 3.0 rating. I feel this course is probably around the 4.0 range, being comparable to Bradford and Stumpy Creek for local comparisons, when its cleaned up. Based on that, I think this course is two-thirds to three quarters of the way there, which is where I'm getting my 3.0 rating. That said, it doesn't live up to its own expectations, but it's still better than many courses I've played.
- If you play this course, you will have an opinion on it, whether you enjoyed it or hated it. In due time, for the sake of growing our sport, I hope this course gets cleaned up and can really be enjoyed.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

A beautiful disaster

1    5/3/2014   5/4/2014
Review By: KMynatt
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The land this course is on is beautiful, and the tee pads are huge. Sadly that's it...
Cons: Whomever designed this course grossly misused the terrain in many places. I like both tightly wooded and longer courses, but there are a lot of places on this course where if feels like the designer was just packing in distance, playability be damned. 500' holes with no decernable fairways, holes crammed together when they don't need to be, and almost no green on 90% of the baskets (thorns/brush within 10 of a lot of baskets).
Other Thoughts: It's truly a shame such a beautiful piece of land was almost wasted with this one. A good redesign is needed badly or this course will always be forgotten with all of the good courses in the area. There is SO much potential here it drives me crazy. I can honestly say short of a near complete redesign I won't be back, and that goes for all 6 of the people who went with me.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

What Bravethrower said

1    6/20/2013   6/22/2013
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 100  Reviewed: 98  Exp: 7.1 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Really, just read Bravethrower's review, he nailed it. But I got to write something so...

Great effing terrain for a course. Elevation, ravine style creek, trees galore, and some nice open field holes to warm up on.

Nice park. Nice, big concrete tees. Tee signs.

I wasn't brutally murdered by a marauding horde of Visigoths on their way to sack Rome.
Cons: Ugh. I feel like this course was put in during the winter and everybody was like "Good enough!" and then it leafed out with spring (way to screw things up as usual, mother nature) and revealed that the course is actually a whirlwind mess of fairways and OB.

Practically every hole in the main woods is just a mystery of what you're supposed to do. The tee signs would have been more accurate if instead of the dotted lines that denote the fairway were simply replaced by a big question mark. Eventually I concluded that those lines couldn't possibly be the fairway but a line of giant ants that happened to be there the day they made the tee signs.

I literally quit trying to finish hole 15 because I couldn't even pitch out safely onto the fairway BECAUSE I HAD NO IDEA WHERE THE FAIRWAY EVER WAS. You could play some holes well and feel like you made nothing but "get out of trouble" shots the entire hole. Plus, if that's not enough for you, how about the appeal of spending almost as much time looking for your thrown discs as you do actually disc golfing?

Also, a navigational nightmare at times. And to further insult you after you unravel the mystery of "how the holy f*#k do I play hole 18?" you are rewarded with a long trail of tears back to the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: This course can be saved. If some actual fairways are created and certain holes don't force people to use an OB creek as the fairway then this course can jump into the 4's easily. The terrain has that much potential. But yeah, Stan or Pat or any # of guys that worked on the World's courses need to work their magic tout de suite.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

WELL I'M NOT PENALIZED BUT I SEEM TO BE STUCK IN THE WOODS.

1    6/15/2013   6/15/2013
Review By: Bennybennybenny
Played: 46  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/5/2014
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Cornelius Road is maybe the most scenic park that I have been to that has a disc golf course. It has a running track and some tennis courts. My dad and I both jog and my brother is starting to get into tennis so he missed out. It has a great course which is a work in progress.
-Teepads are at an appropriate length, they were maybe 10' long and the teesigns were very accurate. On the teesign, it tells you where the next tee after you finish a hole. So navigation wasn't difficult, only on one transition (see cons below.)
-This course is a bit like angry beaver, it starts off open and easy but once you get to #4, it warns you that it's going to get harder.
-#4 is an epic hole! It has a tree in the fairway but other than that, it's an open, downhill par 4 with a bit of OB outside of the green. It's a pretty easy birdie but it takes a good teeshot and a precise approach shot.
-There are benches on every or most holes and some trash cans beside the tees. This course is NOT pathetic, it's a real work in progress and has gotten much better.
-Elevation is used well throughout the course, a third of the holes have elevation changes of over twenty feet.
-I just mentioned that this course is a real work in progress. Many trees have been removed. Selective logging has really made this course better because it has made more legitimate lanes and it has potential to be an easy 4.5. It's still kind of new and most courses that have been around for only about six months don't have teepads or teesigns. That was a problem at Eastway in Charlotte.
-There are a few aceable holes to help out your score if you are not playing well, #17 comes to mind here. It's a slightly downhill putter shot I almost aced. I made six birdies on this course. One of them was a pretty lucky 40' putt. That hole was #9.
-#10 was actually another fun hole for me. It's a steep uphill 234' footer but it's a narrow shot where you wont want to throw a driver, even though it plays close to 300'.
-Stumpy creek is a few miles from this course, you can get a 2 course day in Mooresville.
-Another great hole was #9. It's a staight, 300+ shot with the ravine to the left. It's got a pretty wide fairway well so you likely won't have to go down in the ravine.
Cons: -A couple transitions are ridiculous. I said navigation is easy but on a couple like #8 to #9, #12 to #13, you walk down the fairway you just played to get to the next hole. From #10 to #11 was very confusing, that transition REALLY needs a "next tee" sign.
-I got to go with BraveThrower43 on this, #11 is a poor hole, the tee is on a small hill over the ravine, it's a 400+ downhill blind, gimmicky shot with no legitimate lane to the basket. I LOST MY BELOVED CHAMP MAMBA FROM MY COUSIN WIL. If you find it, PLEASE give it love because it's from a great person. BraveThrower43 is also right on #14, the teeshot is, well, sorry to say but dumb. About fifteen trees are in front of the tee, there are small gaps between them but the tee really needs to be pushed 60' forward and it would no longer be such a silly design but it is, it's complete plinko for 60' feet and that killed the hole.
-The ravine wasn't too much of a problem except on #13. I had a good throw with a starfire and it went on the side, it had some thorns on the side of it.
-#18 isn't as bad as the previous reviewers have said but it needs a little work. I don't think the mando was trouble as much as the lay up shot past the mando. It's out of the woods and there are many small gaps to throw through but the lay up shot is over the ravine so if you hit a tree on your way out, your disc will roll back in. The approach shot was into a small wooded green over a creek. It was unusual but pretty fun but the lay up shot out of the woods needs a wider gap.
-The ravine isn't too deep but it's very steep. It needs stairs.
-#5's tee is on the running track which may annoy some runners. It's not major though. #18's basket is around it as well.
Other Thoughts: -This course is not done. It still needs a lot of work to get the rating it deserves. I'd give the layout a 4.5 but it's still not finished and the ravine is irritating. I was teetering between a 3.5 and a 4, it gets a 3.5, for now because the ravine can be dangerous, a couple confusing transition and it has a couple of poor holes. Most holes I really liked and if you would like to know about them, send me a message!
-This course is usually not crowded, for now but the park can be. Be sure to watch out for people, there was a woman walking her dog on #13 and then piled on throughout the course. It wasn't any trouble for us but sometimes, park users will be around the course.
-This course will be a test on your attitude, I passed it :)! But it irritated some people, like the narrow fairways, the ravine and a couple of the designs themselves. The ravine itself can make you stay on this course for over two hours if you play only one round and you may want to spend time trying to ace #17, haha. I spent a few minutes with that.
-I gave this course a high rating, like I usually do because it takes a LOT for me to dislike a course. The ravine, small number of bridges, and fairways isn't enough to annoy me. I REALLY love the game. If you plan to play here, you will be frustrated with those three things and there are still some drag piles near #11 and #12. I pay more attention on how I am going to play the hole. Some of the major things that are a problem on this course can be fixed. I loved the layout of this course, but beginners will not, Bailey Rd. is the appropriate course for beginners. I didn't complain about this because I'm not a beginner. I don't recommend it for anyone who hates very narrow fairways. It's not too bad but has a long way to be done.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Hopefully a work in progress

1    5/12/2013   5/12/2013
Review By: terptwerp
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful park with hilly terrain, mature trees and a stream. There are also good baskets, tee pads and good tee signs.
Cons: As others said below:
1. Numerous drag piles right next to fairways
2. A number of holes with no fairways
3. The ravine that about 1/3 of the holes across or play next to, has no safe way in or out of it
4. Next tee signs needed (we never found hole 13s tee pad)
5. 18 may be the worst hole that I have ever seen
Other Thoughts: I am hoping that this is an unfinished course, sinse it has potential to be a 4-4.5 rated course. Creating fairways and landing zones on some of the holes would greatly improve the course. I assume that the drag piles will be removed. I will not play this course again until I hear that improvements have been made. Once again this course has potential. Lets hope that improvements are made, which could make this another great course in the Charlotte area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun New Challenge in Mooresville

1    5/4/2013   5/4/2013
Review By: Alexmadsen
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Interesting & challenging terrain, clean new park, scenic woods/creek, big cement tee pads, very nice new disc catchers
Cons: Tight fairways, heavily wooded, still some clean-up needed, poison ivy, shortage of river crossings, hard to find tee for 13 and basket for 18, buggy
Other Thoughts: Fairways could use some thinning, but overall we enjoyed the challenge, and scenic meandering creek w/pretty ferns. Could use map & scorecards. Needs better signs for mandos.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

What fairway?

1    3/31/2013   5/4/2013
Review By: pmaxhen
Played: 55  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 6/18/2013
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great land, lots of potential, Very scenic. lots great of challenge on the holes that are finished.
Cons: Whoever is in charge of building the course did a bad job with about half the holes, massive piles of wood left all over the course to rot (snake hazards) including one that was in the middle of one of the few fairways. Another big problem is all the barbwire on the course, it's a a hazard if you don't watch where you're walking every minute of the round.

Holes 6, 7, 8, 11, 12 and 14 have no reasonable rout to make par on the hole with the exception that hole 8 is one of the shortest holes on the course. Hole 11 is one of the worst I've ever seen, no fairway no approach just a tee box and a basket separated by hundreds of trees and a ravine.

And no benches after hole 3? Why would you put benches on the easy part of the course then leave the other holes like that?
Other Thoughts: The course is getting better but it's obvious somebody dropped the ball from the start. There's no reason for half the holes on the course to have no fairway, sure one or two for a challenge but half the holes are destroying what would otherwise be a nice challenging course to complement stumpy creek down the road.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

The shortened version.

1    4/27/2013   4/29/2013
Review By: Urban Bobcat
Played: 51  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice oversized tee pads

- Nice new signage, although it needs to mark OB boundaries

- Unique land and elevation throughout the course

- Course potential for a 4 out of 5 rating
Cons: - Too many trees left in "Fairways" results in the course becoming frustrating since it relies more on luck than skill.

- OB needs to be clearly marked throughout the course.

- The land that the course is on is under-utilized for its unique features. It seems like they just filled in the back nine with a bunch of uphill/downhill holes.

- Course needs "Next Tee" arrows at the baskets since some of the basket-to-tee transitions are counter-intuitive and often times require backtracking along the previous hole. (Flaws in course design on these, specifically between 12 and 13 if I remember correctly.)

- Style of the course becomes repetitive once you enter the woods. Creek always plays on the left side, fairways are too littered with trees, lanes require luck,even when you hit the right line. "Look, another "Split" fairway!"

- Get the barbed wire off of the course ASAP! As if the ravines weren't sketchy enough without proper steps and ladders in yet, the barbed wire is just asking for an injury.

- Beginner course tease! If I saw the first three holes of this course from the park, I'd want to try out a round of disc. I'd then find out that every hole after #3 is a bit more brutal, unforgiving, and completely frustrating to beginners. I play 2-5 rounds a week and was upset for most of my round. Although the course is supposed to be "Challenging", that doesn't mean that it needs to be a bad experience for beginners.

Other Thoughts: This is the second time that I have written this review, so, believe it or not, it's a much shorter version this time since all of my last review was lost upon submittal.

Overall, this course has the potential to be both fun and challenging. Unfortunately, they both get lost in the designer's decision to leave so many trees in the fairways. There is a difference between a challenging line and one that is required to be perfect with a side of lucky. I, personally, get really upset with courses that don't follow that idea. So clearly, I was frustrated for most of my round here. Even when I could get a good line off of the tee, I was often times "Punished" by some tree that was still sitting in the middle of the correct throwing route. What's the point? It becomes a toss and pray. This is true for nearly every hole on the course. Instead of having a few stylized holes that require avoiding a center group of tress by choosing the left or right route, it seems like you're always just trying to find a small window off of each tee.

This course doesn't do the best job of utilizing the amazing land features that it plays around, but I still believe that it will become a more enjoyable round with some work. I appreciate the hard work that has gone into the course thus far, and I would likely be really excited about this one if I lived in a city with only a few courses. Unfortunately, this course is located just outside of Charlotte, which means that it doesn't live up to its neighbors, while the potential was certainly there. When courses like "RL Smith" and "Bradford" make such great use of land features and layout, it's hard to see "Cornelius" fall a bit short in comparison.

Removing 50% of the fairway trees would give the course plenty of wood to use for more needed bridges, steps, and ladders around the ravines, which would help.

I intend to play this course again within the year in order to update my review. I don't like my low scores to have a long term bearing on courses that are still being worked in, and I can only hope that the right work will get done here in order to ensure a more enjoyable round the next time I visit. (Fingers crossed)


Take It or Leave It Suggestion:

Since the course begins to suffer from repetition and some minor layout design flaws between holes on the back nine, I would really suggest thinking about making two holes a hybrid, or simply a more effective single hole that adds something different to the course. By doing so, you'll free up #18 to become #17 instead. From there, make #17 stay down by the creek and not work up the hill blindly towards a park patron walking path. It would make for a nice RHBH anheizer hole that follows the line of the creek and fades back left, with the basket and green near the bridge. The bridge would then already be in place for the transitional walk up to #18s Tee pad, which should be out in the open field next to the path. Doing so would result in a safer walkway for other park-goers since you'll be able to spot people from the tee. It would also add variety to the course as a whole by offering a nice long open drive that can fade nicely into where the green is now, or penalize someone that goes too far left by having to approach through the treeline.

Thanks for the hard work and good luck out there! I really hope to see some much needed adjustments the next time that I'm out.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Pretty good raw course

1    4/21/2013   4/21/2013
Review By: g8orade
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/27/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Really nice tee pads. Big. Nice baskets.
Good signs.
Variety of shorter and longer holes.
No? water hazards where you'll need a floater... :-)
Beautiful day today, beautiful foliage in the woods, wildflowers, azaleas, violets.

Cons: 4/27
See Other thoughts also. Gulches are very steep and deep. You need to be able to throw FH and BH whether L or R. After the leaves really come out, someone's going to need to do some trimming or a few holes especially 18 won't be much playable.
Other esteemed local courses do give you more fairway with the 300-400 foot distances, woods, and curves.
4/20
A bit rough still, fairways not always defined.
All in the woods after the first four holes vs. Bradford or Nevin or Hornets Nest or Stumpy where you get some breaks in and out of woods. Hole 5 will be a shock to players not used to woods after the first 4.
Crazy steep and deep ravines/ gulches. I agree with the other posters some rope or steps or something will be needed.
Erosion shaped the original terrain here and it's going to need careful managing as increased foot traffic wears on the course and people go scrambling up and down off the path, retrieving discs.
18 seems unfinished, sign doesn't account for three bridges, not two. Really no fairway, you end up shooting against players on 7? coming the other way.
Other Thoughts: 4/27--I still like this course but some additional comments
Played here again today.
First 6 holes comparable to other local wooded courses mentioned in this review, with clear fairways.
1. Starting on 7 where the creek is on your left, If you are RHBH only, and you don't have a disc that will break l-r you are in trouble. You will have the creek on your left several more times. Bracketts has one hole where the deep gulch the creek/river is in can swallow you, but no other of the courses mentioned has gulches like Cornelius Rd.
2. 11 really does have no clear fairways and there is a huge gulch in the middle. I was lucky the first time through. Else, this should be not a par 3 but a 4. At least cut a fairway across the s shaped gulch.
3. 16 also--either give throwers a chance to hang the dogleg left with fairway or add a stroke for par from 3 to 4. Like 11, if you don't have the legs to get in and out of gulch, you have trouble, because you will end up deep in. It's already being eroded by so many people clambering in and out to get their discs.
4. On 18 the foliage hanging down from a big tree (silver birch?) pretty close on right all but obscuring the drive even to the mando. After that, no clear fairway and again a gulch, not a hillside. Nevin, Stumpy, Honets Nest all have hills, but not gulches like Cornelius Road. Placed a long shot on the edge on 18 today and very difficult to retrieve my disc safely without hanging on to flora that are going to get torn up..

4/20
For context, Played here for the first time today. 22 months player.
RHFH driver. 220' my typical longest drive. I normally play Bradford and Stumpy for longer courses, sometimes Hornets Nest or Nevin. Bailey Road when I'm in a hurry.
Have played Bracketts 3 times. I'm a -2 to -5 player on Bailey, +5-10 short tees at Bradford. I was 7 over here today. They signs are pretty good but you have to pay attention *one tee ahead* to remember where to go next, there aren't pointers at the basket.
Not a fan of 18, too low, too tight, weird uphill with no line and like others have noted, across a path.
Some holes seem too close to others.
I played Grand Central Station near Clemson last fall, and it was brand new too, chips still on the paths, not as well defined yet.
I disagree that there are no lines here. I should have finished about 3 over today, and that was my first time through. (maybe the pars are generous or I was lucky).
Will go back with some regular playing friends and try to take some notes hole by hole. I do miss the rhythm of in and out of the woods that the other local courses mentioned offer.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not enough Bridges

1    4/20/2013   4/20/2013
Review By: BraveThrower43
Played: 209  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/13/2014
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This Park is beautiful and the property is exactly the type of property that you would want to put a disc golf course on.


Nice Teepads and Teesigns.
Cons: However this properties potential was not met.

In it's current condition this course has a gimmicky feel that is greater than most courses that I have ever played. The design feels as if the goal was lucky/impossible= championship level course and I disagree totally.

Rewarding luck, in my mind, is not something that you want to incorporate in course design and that is what this course does.

The design did not take into account newer players. There are places where if you do not throw 200'-250' you will have very few options to save yourself a trip into a ravine.

Even courses like Nevin and Renny have ways that new players can layup and play the holes. This course does not.

All of the holes with the Creek in play have it on the left side. There is no variety to this and it gets very repetitive


Here are issues that can be easily fixed and are new course problems.

Drag piles on fairways and near fairways along with lots of barbed wire just in the fairways piled up in tangled knots.

Lots of low limbs(especially on the back)

No directional signage, trashcans, or benches.

Very few ways to cross the ravine and the course probably needs a few ladders or steps so people can get down into them without getting hurt.
Other Thoughts: I was incredibly disappointed in this course not only because the design is currently poor but also because I feel that even with many things fixed this property has so much potential to be more than it will ever be in this layout. I can Only hope that they can improve what is currently there and make this property shine as it should.

If the rules of this course changed to where the ravines were not OB in at least some places then it would improve slightly. But knowing that was not the initial intent of the design it's still a con.

I do not recommend this course. Go to Stumpy if you are in the area and you will have a better time. May be just as wooded but there are fairways.

Few holes with issues:

6 is a weird shot with trees galore with OB practically in the fairway. It also starts the RHFH/LHBH friendly holes.

7- This hole is gimmicky. There is Little to no fairway with an OB creek beside it. Even a very good shot the initial landing zone leaves you standing staring a a wall of trees with poke and pray routes. There is no legitimate line to the basket

10- no legit lane to the basket. If you pure the initial fairway the basket ends up being guarded by a wall of trees that requires luck to get through since they are blind to the tee-pad and there is very little space between them.

11- the fairway is a ravine for 200ft. add this to the fact that you must hit a 15 ft gape to clear the fairway that turns into Plinko 250 ft down the fairway and you have yourself a poor hole

14- The Tee is angled towards a large clump of trees. I can see where a fairway was meant to be but unfortunately there is a large tree very close to the pad that eliminates this as a viable option. If the teepad was moved the hole could be salvaged.

16- Ok so the angle of the hole makes it impossible to reach the basket but just in case you do pure the fairway there is a line of trees that run down the center of the fairway that will knock down any disc that is flying on the correct path.

18- the mandatory causes there to Almost no landing zone off of the Teepad. and that is followed by a throw up a large hill into a grassy area next to a walking path. The embankment between the initial landing zone and and the 2nd landing zone is very dangerous if your disc sticks to it.


17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.