Seabrook, TX 
Miramar Park Share
Uploaded By: Midnightbiker Hole #4
3 / 277ft.   3 / 346ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Approach



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

2-4    10/13/2012   10/18/2012
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 127  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 2.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This is a very nice technical 9 hole course that is in a very easy to find location near Kemah board walk.
-A few of the holes like #6 have very interesting pin placements that makes the player shape lines with their disc. No holes are straight shots to the basket without obstacles so this course is not as boring as some other 9 holers that are simply pitch and putt type courses.
-The course is fairly quiet and does not see a lot players. I have never seen another player here.
Cons: -This was mosquito heaven, even in October it was the worst mosquito fest I have seen in a long time.
-When I have gone the tee pads were not in super bad shape but I can understand after a good rain or excessive use they may become severely rutted and muddy.
-One tee sign was missing which is a plus but some of the signs were completely useless and illegible.
-The small creek on #7 and #8 seems like it could swallow up discs pretty well. Beware.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun little course to play at. When I first came here I competey missed the first tee and walked towards the 9 basket where a small cement pad is. I shot from that pad to the fifth basket about 275' away and thought that was the first hole. Even though it wasn't the first hole I still play this "10th hole" as a a warm up.

This course defintely beat Burke Crenshaw when it comes to 9 hole courses in this area, this is a good course to come to before Taylor Lake Village or after a day at Kemah Boardwalk.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Stones Throw from Kemah

1    6/20/2009   6/23/2009
Review By: SpringDgLover
Played: 98  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 9.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a decent little course just over the bridge from the Kemah Boardwalk. It provides a fair amount of variation for most holes with tight shots through trees and a few open holes that exceed 300ft. I liked the fact that the little elevation that the course has is at least used and this provides some enjoyable shots. It resides literally a 100 yds from Galveston bay and I'm sure can be quite nice in the evening.
Cons: Since the park is on a pretty small piece of land the course is very tight. It is not an exagerration to say that one must keep there heads on a swivel while playing this course, because there is real danger of being hit. The teeboxes are gravel and are in average shape at best. The day I played it was dry, but this course looks like it could be mosquito city with just a little rain. Some of the holes like 2 and 4 seem more about luck and less about skill and will punish you greatly for shots that are just a little off line. Holes 7 and 8 are mirror images of each other and are also disc eaters with a deep, muddle canal between them. A few of the tee signs are gone.
Other Thoughts: I played this course during a tournament and although I had a good time I also always felt cramped. Its not often that while playing disc golf that I fear getting hit in the face with a disc but here on a busy day it is a very real reality. The people that live down this way dont have a lot of options and seem to love the course. For me unless Im going down to get some seafood in Kemah, Id rather just go to Jack Brooks about 20 minutes away.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Where did they go?

5+    2/16/2009   2/18/2009
Review By: jlow54
Played: 19  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 10.6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Makes you pull out the Polaris LS for the straight down the line shots, tight curves good workout for your bag in general
Cons: water hazards, tall grass in areas and when it rains it gets very very muddy. Baskets 1 and 9 are missing and are represented by sticks in the ground
Other Thoughts: This course can make you look like a pro or a rookie, theres no medium here. Its not one of my favorites but when i need a good slice of humble pie i go to miramar.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

6/23/2008   6/24/2008
Review By: greigh
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A well rounded course with a nice mix of holes. Didn't see any other disk golfers for the 5 hours I was playing. Allowed me the chance to play a few alternate holes centered around a large hill.
Cons: Holes #7 and #8 run adjacent to a ditch of water about 2 feet deep and 5 feet wide. Mostly irretrievable due to the mud. Lost 2 disks total in this ditch. Also on hole #2 there is a line of fences from houses on the right be careful not to any discs over.
Other Thoughts: Overall enjoyable.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.