Seabrook, TX 
Miramar Park Share
Uploaded By: srm_520   (Taken 5/2009)
Course Map - Close up



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Good for a neighborhood 9-holer

5+    6/26/2013   8/26/2013
Review By: spaceguy87
Played: 74  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Quiet park, very low traffic by golfers or even walkers and runners.

Main tees for each hole are easy to find.

Course is technical. Water in play on two holes (sometimes more, depending on tide and weather).

Discs that go into the water are not too hard to find. If you know where your disc is, come back when the tide is low, and be willing to wade in the mud, and you should find it.

Basket placements are generally very interesting. Some holes favor lefties or flicks more than RHBH throwers, which is unusual for a small neighborhood course like this.

Course flows very well from the main tees. Hole 1 starts right by the parking area and the park sign, you can't miss it. Hole 9 finishes just around the corner.

Lots of shade on about half of the course.

Elevation! The hills here are part of what makes this a 3.0 instead of a 2.5 for me. Unfortunately, the best hill at the park is only used for alternate tee boxes, and there is no official tee box at the top. But there are multiple pins all visible from the hill, so you can stand up there and throw down hill on all points of the compass!

City of Seabrook has a good parks department. Basket 4 is missing at the time I am writing this but I expect they will replace it. They have been timely with responding to vandalism in the past.

You might see some rabbits or even a group of deer here.
Cons: Most tee boxes are gravel and can get slippery.

Half of of the alternate teeboxes are somewhat "commando" and really only playable by locals or course regulars.

Holes 1 and 2 have tight fairways partly because of the public swimming pool and residential area to the right. Stray shots will definitely go over the fences.

Lots of brush (Depending on time of year) can make losing discs common. If you don't have great control on your drive, come expecting to maybe lose a disc or two. If that bothers you, don't come here at all.

Some of the brush has nasty thorns.

No water fountain/bathroom nearby. There is a bathroom at the skate park across the street but last time I tried to use it it was locked up in the middle of the day.

Mosquitoes.... oh the mosquitos.
Other Thoughts: This generally is not a good course for beginners, especially if they are playing alone. If they have an experienced friend or "course guide" with them then they should give it a shot. There is just too much to frustrate you here if you can't keep it in the fairway.

That being said, playing a good round here is really fun and I almost always enjoy this course now.

For non-locals, I would not recommend driving a long way to Seabrook just to play Miramar. Maybe if you are exploring other things in the area, like NASA or the Kemah Boardwalk or Clear Lake, then it might be worth a stop. Or if you are playing a few courses in our part of town in one day - Taylor Lake Village, Bayou Bend, or Jenkins.

Plan ahead and bring some bug spray, and maybe a cheap floating disc, and you will have a good time.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Seabrook DG Course

2-4    7/2/2012   7/2/2012
Review By: uwdiscgolf
Played: 67  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 10/17/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
*Very easy to navigate this course.
*Actually has some hills/terrain.
*Nice area with long winding fairways.
* Park is well kept. Clean as far as Ive seen. People actually throw their beer cans in the trash. Love to see that people actually show some respect for this course.
*Fairways are distinct and true.
* Benches every few holes.
*Ample parking
*Restrooms
*Map of course on site
*All baskets are in good shape
*Rabbits are everywhere....i stopped counting after 20 so the fact that there is wildlife is always a pro.
*Course has distance, but not too much making it a fun course...or like i said a warm up course.
Cons: * Basket on Hole 4 has been stolen. I will update once the basket in reinstalled or replaced.

* Holes five,seven, and eight play along a flood plain. Hole seven is especially notorious for having mud all around the pin. Hole five you have to worry about if you over shoot the pin by about ten to twenty feet.

* Tee boxes need some TLC. They are pretty routed on some holes.

* Hole six has no tee box to speak of... More so just a grassy one on a knoll that you could possibly sprain/twist an ankle if you are not careful.

* Jogging path must be shared and observed when playing. I have never really had any problems with anyone except this last time that i was out. but it was only one person and i allowed the jogging to jog through before throwing.

*Not so much a con but rather a side note... Course has decent distance giving the area it covers. But i highly suggest if you think distance is a con on this course...play hole one to hole two's pin. and play hole four to hole nine's pin. that should give you enough distance if you think this course needs a major distance factor.

* Tee signs missing from a few boxes. Although there are distances marked on the posts.
Other Thoughts: Miramar is a really nice Nine hole course that is great for a warm up before heading over to TLDGC (Taylor Lake DG course). This course has ample parking and is very clean. The fairways are very distinct and easy to navigate. The pros for this course as i listed above i feel out weigh the cons heavily. This course is well kept and in a good neighborhood. I feel that this course is great someone who to just have some fun. Not a course for serious players. But this course does stand out as having some really nice fairways, and some hidden additional holes. Those of course are playing some holes from the tee box to other pins. For example: hole four could have an extended length by playing to hole nines pin. The great thing is is that you can use your imagination to create a few extra holes. I have been able to come up with 18. I am currently working on posting the map of how i complete 18 on the website and at the course. But back to the review..... I really think that most if not everyone could really appreciate what this course has to offer if you go check it out. I really like how TLDGC is only three miles away max. So you can really get in a days workout with throwing some plastic! :)


4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Sub Par

2-4    4/3/2012   4/22/2012
Review By: acedp02
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good for skilled throwers. Maps very well detailed.
Cons: Mosquitoes can be over bearing at times. This course is too easy to loose a disc. I am a decent disc golfer and I go with other pretty decent guys. In 2 rounds we lost 5 disc, and they were on throws that were not that off.
Other Thoughts: The map and post markers are very well placed and show exactly where the basket is. The water is NASTY on #7 and #8. I wouldnt advise going in after it. Use a stick if you can. Mud is at least 1 foot deep under the water. Will probably not play this course when I can drive to Tom Bass.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 As hard as playing 18

5+    9/26/2009   10/15/2009
Review By: Ringo Desthstar
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.5 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: For a nine hole course you get a lot of different throws from the tees. I can't think of another course that has as many good thumber holes and that is good for the course. I like #6, that is the best hole on the course.
Cons: A lot fo the holes run along a jogging path and sometomes you have to wait for people to walk threir dogs until you can throw. Holes 7 & 8 are pretty dull but the locals like to skip them and play made up holes in the big field that are fun.
Other Thoughts: I heard the course was harder before the hurricane last year and if thats true then it must have been near impossible. Its a hard course now, but still fun to play. The alt tees are hard to find especially on #3 and $5.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Near the Kemah Boardwalk

1    3/26/2009   3/26/2009
Review By: Midnightbiker
Played: 54  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/14/2009
13 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Course is quite tight and quite challenging. Really makes you think about each shot. Tight holes in the beginning, and the back half of the course really opens up . Great course if you want to get in a quick game. Very close to the Kemah Boardwalk. 5 minutes from great food and fun. The local players are happy to show you the alt. tees makeing this an 18 hole course.
Cons: #1 and #2 are very close to the city pool and some houses and you could loose a disc. #7-8 are carbon copies of each other and both have water running next to the fairway, and its quite easy to loose a disc in the water on these holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice course to hit if you are going to be in the area. Its only a 5 minute drive from the course to the famous Kemah Boardwalk where they have a roller coaster, rides,and great restaurants. Its a great way to have some disc golf, and end the day with a great dinner, some good drinks, and lots of fun at the Boardwalk. Its also a close course if you are going to be taking the family to NASA. Its only about 7 miles away.

13 of 16 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center