Seabrook, TX 
Miramar Park Share
Uploaded By: srm_520 Hole #1 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 200ft.   3 / 263ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Approach



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Good for a neighborhood 9-holer

5+    6/26/2013   8/26/2013
Review By: spaceguy87
Played: 77  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Quiet park, very low traffic by golfers or even walkers and runners.

Main tees for each hole are easy to find.

Course is technical. Water in play on two holes (sometimes more, depending on tide and weather).

Discs that go into the water are not too hard to find. If you know where your disc is, come back when the tide is low, and be willing to wade in the mud, and you should find it.

Basket placements are generally very interesting. Some holes favor lefties or flicks more than RHBH throwers, which is unusual for a small neighborhood course like this.

Course flows very well from the main tees. Hole 1 starts right by the parking area and the park sign, you can't miss it. Hole 9 finishes just around the corner.

Lots of shade on about half of the course.

Elevation! The hills here are part of what makes this a 3.0 instead of a 2.5 for me. Unfortunately, the best hill at the park is only used for alternate tee boxes, and there is no official tee box at the top. But there are multiple pins all visible from the hill, so you can stand up there and throw down hill on all points of the compass!

City of Seabrook has a good parks department. Basket 4 is missing at the time I am writing this but I expect they will replace it. They have been timely with responding to vandalism in the past.

You might see some rabbits or even a group of deer here.
Cons: Most tee boxes are gravel and can get slippery.

Half of of the alternate teeboxes are somewhat "commando" and really only playable by locals or course regulars.

Holes 1 and 2 have tight fairways partly because of the public swimming pool and residential area to the right. Stray shots will definitely go over the fences.

Lots of brush (Depending on time of year) can make losing discs common. If you don't have great control on your drive, come expecting to maybe lose a disc or two. If that bothers you, don't come here at all.

Some of the brush has nasty thorns.

No water fountain/bathroom nearby. There is a bathroom at the skate park across the street but last time I tried to use it it was locked up in the middle of the day.

Mosquitoes.... oh the mosquitos.
Other Thoughts: This generally is not a good course for beginners, especially if they are playing alone. If they have an experienced friend or "course guide" with them then they should give it a shot. There is just too much to frustrate you here if you can't keep it in the fairway.

That being said, playing a good round here is really fun and I almost always enjoy this course now.

For non-locals, I would not recommend driving a long way to Seabrook just to play Miramar. Maybe if you are exploring other things in the area, like NASA or the Kemah Boardwalk or Clear Lake, then it might be worth a stop. Or if you are playing a few courses in our part of town in one day - Taylor Lake Village, Bayou Bend, or Jenkins.

Plan ahead and bring some bug spray, and maybe a cheap floating disc, and you will have a good time.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    10/13/2012   10/18/2012
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 134  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 2.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This is a very nice technical 9 hole course that is in a very easy to find location near Kemah board walk.
-A few of the holes like #6 have very interesting pin placements that makes the player shape lines with their disc. No holes are straight shots to the basket without obstacles so this course is not as boring as some other 9 holers that are simply pitch and putt type courses.
-The course is fairly quiet and does not see a lot players. I have never seen another player here.
Cons: -This was mosquito heaven, even in October it was the worst mosquito fest I have seen in a long time.
-When I have gone the tee pads were not in super bad shape but I can understand after a good rain or excessive use they may become severely rutted and muddy.
-One tee sign was missing which is a plus but some of the signs were completely useless and illegible.
-The small creek on #7 and #8 seems like it could swallow up discs pretty well. Beware.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun little course to play at. When I first came here I competey missed the first tee and walked towards the 9 basket where a small cement pad is. I shot from that pad to the fifth basket about 275' away and thought that was the first hole. Even though it wasn't the first hole I still play this "10th hole" as a a warm up.

This course defintely beat Burke Crenshaw when it comes to 9 hole courses in this area, this is a good course to come to before Taylor Lake Village or after a day at Kemah Boardwalk.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Seabrook DG Course

2-4    7/2/2012   7/2/2012
Review By: uwdiscgolf
Played: 77  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/17/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
*Very easy to navigate this course.
*Actually has some hills/terrain.
*Nice area with long winding fairways.
* Park is well kept. Clean as far as Ive seen. People actually throw their beer cans in the trash. Love to see that people actually show some respect for this course.
*Fairways are distinct and true.
* Benches every few holes.
*Ample parking
*Restrooms
*Map of course on site
*All baskets are in good shape
*Rabbits are everywhere....i stopped counting after 20 so the fact that there is wildlife is always a pro.
*Course has distance, but not too much making it a fun course...or like i said a warm up course.
Cons: * Basket on Hole 4 has been stolen. I will update once the basket in reinstalled or replaced.

* Holes five,seven, and eight play along a flood plain. Hole seven is especially notorious for having mud all around the pin. Hole five you have to worry about if you over shoot the pin by about ten to twenty feet.

* Tee boxes need some TLC. They are pretty routed on some holes.

* Hole six has no tee box to speak of... More so just a grassy one on a knoll that you could possibly sprain/twist an ankle if you are not careful.

* Jogging path must be shared and observed when playing. I have never really had any problems with anyone except this last time that i was out. but it was only one person and i allowed the jogging to jog through before throwing.

*Not so much a con but rather a side note... Course has decent distance giving the area it covers. But i highly suggest if you think distance is a con on this course...play hole one to hole two's pin. and play hole four to hole nine's pin. that should give you enough distance if you think this course needs a major distance factor.

* Tee signs missing from a few boxes. Although there are distances marked on the posts.
Other Thoughts: Miramar is a really nice Nine hole course that is great for a warm up before heading over to TLDGC (Taylor Lake DG course). This course has ample parking and is very clean. The fairways are very distinct and easy to navigate. The pros for this course as i listed above i feel out weigh the cons heavily. This course is well kept and in a good neighborhood. I feel that this course is great someone who to just have some fun. Not a course for serious players. But this course does stand out as having some really nice fairways, and some hidden additional holes. Those of course are playing some holes from the tee box to other pins. For example: hole four could have an extended length by playing to hole nines pin. The great thing is is that you can use your imagination to create a few extra holes. I have been able to come up with 18. I am currently working on posting the map of how i complete 18 on the website and at the course. But back to the review..... I really think that most if not everyone could really appreciate what this course has to offer if you go check it out. I really like how TLDGC is only three miles away max. So you can really get in a days workout with throwing some plastic! :)


4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Sub Par

2-4    4/3/2012   4/22/2012
Review By: acedp02
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good for skilled throwers. Maps very well detailed.
Cons: Mosquitoes can be over bearing at times. This course is too easy to loose a disc. I am a decent disc golfer and I go with other pretty decent guys. In 2 rounds we lost 5 disc, and they were on throws that were not that off.
Other Thoughts: The map and post markers are very well placed and show exactly where the basket is. The water is NASTY on #7 and #8. I wouldnt advise going in after it. Use a stick if you can. Mud is at least 1 foot deep under the water. Will probably not play this course when I can drive to Tom Bass.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 As hard as playing 18

5+    9/26/2009   10/15/2009
Review By: Ringo Desthstar
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.7 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: For a nine hole course you get a lot of different throws from the tees. I can't think of another course that has as many good thumber holes and that is good for the course. I like #6, that is the best hole on the course.
Cons: A lot fo the holes run along a jogging path and sometomes you have to wait for people to walk threir dogs until you can throw. Holes 7 & 8 are pretty dull but the locals like to skip them and play made up holes in the big field that are fun.
Other Thoughts: I heard the course was harder before the hurricane last year and if thats true then it must have been near impossible. Its a hard course now, but still fun to play. The alt tees are hard to find especially on #3 and $5.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  my favorite

5+    9/1/2009   9/17/2009
Review By: Dirtybirdie
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is very fun. The front four is in thick woods and the back five open up for some great distance shots. Also, holes range in style, from a straight shot, to both hyzer and anhyzer coming into play. New tees for (almost) every hole make for a different shot everytime you play! Also, a great place to see some nature, deer, birds, rabbits, coons, skunks, possums, and other coastal wildlife are abundant.
Cons: Mosquitos, snakes, and water hazzards are a constant threat, especailly on holes 5-8. Lots of lost disks, the potential on every hole. Also, the woods have been cleared in some spots after hurricane Ike, making for some muddy areas after a good rain, but the trash has all been cleared.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course in the area. I can drive 20 minutes east or south to go to Jack Brooks or Tom Bass (respectively) but i choose Miramar for its atmosphere. The neighborhood around is always busy in the evenings and makes you feel safe, even when its getting dark..

ALSO GREAT place to see the fireworks from Kemah on the Fourth of July!!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Stones Throw from Kemah

1    6/20/2009   6/23/2009
Review By: SpringDgLover
Played: 98  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 9.7 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a decent little course just over the bridge from the Kemah Boardwalk. It provides a fair amount of variation for most holes with tight shots through trees and a few open holes that exceed 300ft. I liked the fact that the little elevation that the course has is at least used and this provides some enjoyable shots. It resides literally a 100 yds from Galveston bay and I'm sure can be quite nice in the evening.
Cons: Since the park is on a pretty small piece of land the course is very tight. It is not an exagerration to say that one must keep there heads on a swivel while playing this course, because there is real danger of being hit. The teeboxes are gravel and are in average shape at best. The day I played it was dry, but this course looks like it could be mosquito city with just a little rain. Some of the holes like 2 and 4 seem more about luck and less about skill and will punish you greatly for shots that are just a little off line. Holes 7 and 8 are mirror images of each other and are also disc eaters with a deep, muddle canal between them. A few of the tee signs are gone.
Other Thoughts: I played this course during a tournament and although I had a good time I also always felt cramped. Its not often that while playing disc golf that I fear getting hit in the face with a disc but here on a busy day it is a very real reality. The people that live down this way dont have a lot of options and seem to love the course. For me unless Im going down to get some seafood in Kemah, Id rather just go to Jack Brooks about 20 minutes away.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    6/22/2009   6/23/2009
Review By: abochkod
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/10/2010
2 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: Nice tight course that allow you to throw down a good score without being able to drive 300 or 400 feet. Offers a bit of a variety, because the first four holes are very wooded, while the last five are more open.
Cons: There are a few chances to lose your disc, including the woods, the yards along hole two, and the water along holes six and seven. Hole four has been opened up so much by the hurricane that it has gone from the hardest hole in the course, practically impossible to biride, to one of the easiest in the course, a top birdie opportunity.
Other Thoughts: Best course I've ever played at.

2 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Locals Love It

5+    6/21/2009   6/21/2009
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 188  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/19/2011
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Decent DGA double chain baskets and attempts to install decent tee boxes for the main tees. Reasonable shot variety with two lefty, two righty, and five mostly straight shots. Although the righty holes are mainly just that because of some fade at the end of the fairway. The tee signs are typical DGA signs that do a reasonable job of conveying the hole. Distances are mostly close except #3. While holes #7 and #8 are identical with the exception of wind direction they offer a decent RHBH challenge to keep your discs dry playing in close proximity to woods or drainage ditch. There are restroom facilities close by and the course has better than average shade for Houston courses.
Cons: Biggest con is baskets and subsequent tees too close together endangering players of getting hit. Gravel tee pads do not offer the best footing. Alternate tees are marked with only small bricks or a narrow board flush in the ground... very hard to find unless you have a local show them to you. Several tee signs are missing. The tee box for #6 isn't a nice box like the others. Several of the alt tees are pretty lame with the intent being just to provide a shorter shot. Navigation from #6 to #7 may be confusing because #9's tee looks like the next obvious hole to play, but keep walking past that to find #7.
Other Thoughts: The past couple hurricanes have opened up some lines that didn't exist before and widened some fairways. You can significantly increase the challenge of this course by playing OB rules for the ditches that typically contain some water. While certainly not the most challenging of courses Miramar Park does have a good fun factor and I can see why locals like this course a lot. However, this course would not be a good destination course for advanced travelers.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your bug spray

5+    6/7/2009   6/11/2009
Review By: shamgar07
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: It is a good course to work on finesse game. Holes are laid out nice and make you work on not getting into the woods.
Cons: All the freaking bugs!! Bring your bug spray or get malaria. Other then that the holes feet markers don't match up with the hole when you get to them. Also, need to watch out for 7 and 8 because they are by water and not a fun time to dig out a disc.
Other Thoughts: It is a good course, not one you just go and chuck your disc's all over. it makes you work your disc's.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.