Olathe, KS 
Lakeside Hills DGC (Birdland) Share
Uploaded By: Chained Evil Hole #7 (Taken 3/2013)
3 / 330ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee

Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Not a super exciting course

1    11/25/2015   11/26/2015
Review By: n.maglio
Played: 21  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun course with a fair amount of elevation change. Lots of distance. And fairly open holes.
Cons: If you haven't played the course before or if baskets get moved around you'll have to walk the fairways to get an idea of location. Not all pads have tee signs and the ones that have them arent super accurate. Nothing super technical. But that was only my first impression after only playing once on a pretty windy day.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course but it is definitely a course better suited for moderate to experience players. I was playing with some beginners and if you can't crank a drive 325'+ you are going to run up a lot of strokes.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A great reuse of an old ball golf course

2-4    10/3/2015   10/4/2015
Review By: SirDreward
Played: 24  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Well maintained
- Great tee pad setup (concrete pads with lots of rock around them, signage, and benches and/or boulders, and pretty consistently shaded)
- Well signed
- Area the course is in is dedicated to the course
- Old golf cart paths follow some of the course
- Some pretty good elevation changes
Cons: - Not enough trash cans
- Could lose a disc pretty easily
- No convenient restrooms
Other Thoughts: This course plays more towards the strengths of distance players as opposed to technical players, especially when the baskets are at their long positions. Water is only really a hazard on hole one and wind can be a big issue. The course seems so big it rarely seems all that crowded to me.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Borderline 5

5+    8/30/2015   8/30/2015
Review By: air show
Played: 111  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 15.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Concrete tee pads, Discatchers, and signs with footage.
- A serious disc golf course with only DG traffic.
- Long and challenging resulting in an arm and leg workout.
- Elevation changes on most holes.
- 7 or 8 bomber holes.
- Easy to navigate.
- "Tree Pads" - Most all tees have shade trees.
- Tee areas are stunningly well manicured.
- Large stones by tee pads double as benches and landscape markers.
- During growing season rough is tall but fairways are manicured giving
the course a ball golf feel.
- Holes 14 through 17 are four of the most picture perfect disc golf holes I have ever thrown.
- After hole 9 you can swing by car to grab more goodies.
- I have played this course over 10 times in the last two years and the turf has always been maintained beautifully. One of KCs best.

Cons: - Can be somewhat busy during prime throwing hours.
- May be a little open for the technical crowd.
- Pack water, bug spray, and a sweat towel.
Other Thoughts: This course is a serious challenge demanding concentration and stamina to score well. Though the course is only two years old, it has matured overnight into one of KCs most premier
disc golf destinations. When people mention courses such as Wyco, Water Works, Blue Valley, Swope, Cliff Drive, and Rosedale this course can be added too that list of championship level courses. The parks dept. and course designers should be commended for creating such a beautiful disc golf course. The disc golfers in KC are some of the luckiest throwers in the world.

Happy Putting

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    3/8/2015   9/28/2014
Review By: akray21
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/8/2015
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: After visiting this course today (3/8/2015) I had to update my review. It looks like the course has been worked on and updated for the 2015 season. My overall score on this course has gone way up as most of the negatives have been addressed. The improvements are listed below.

- Front 9 is the best half of a course in KC area.
- Fun challenging holes
Cons: - Tee pads are too short
Other Thoughts:
1. I love the new hole 12. One large tree in the middle of the fairway has been cut, as well as two directly guarding the basket. Instead of having to lob a shot over the trees to the basket, you now have the option of a low line drive up the middle.

2. Hole 11 basket is on the hill right now. This placement is far superior to the previous placement

3. Underbrush has been cut down.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

1    7/27/2014   7/31/2014
Review By: Pbrice
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
Pros: Variety in holes. Great Scenery. Concrete tee pads. Multiple pin placements. Disc only land, so no walkers or picnickers. Trash can and seating at every hole.
Cons: Three holes on the back 9 are very similar, they vary in length but feel to similar. No restroom Facilities, unless you count an out of place looking porta potty near hole 15 I believe.
Other Thoughts: This is my new favorite course.

Lakeside Hills (Dirty Bird)

1    5/18/2014   5/18/2014
Review By: Jayhawker10
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Overall, it is a decent course but I must say that it is not exactly my type of course that I like to play.

- Front 9 was very fun to play with a fun mixture of hole types.
- Not too difficult to navigate although can be tricky if you have never played before. There is signage that aids and does a good job for the most part.
- Not as crowded as most courses in the area so did not have to worry about waiting or running into other people. I played on a Sunday afternoon (Prime time).
- New tee boxes with more than adequate rest areas if you need them.
- Plenty of trash cans so litter was non-existent.
- Easy to locate the baskets, which were practically in brand new condition.
Cons: - Personally, I did not care for the back 9 much. Holes 14-17 are very repetitive and I do not have the best "bomb" shots out there so I was at a distinct disadvantage on these holes. Nonetheless, if I did have a "bomb", I probably would have enjoyed these more.
- Concrete tee boxes were too short for me personally. Felt like I was going to roll an ankle off the front them.
- Way out in southwest Olathe.
- No restrooms or water fountains. I don't find this to be an issue because I always bring water and never use the facilities at courses anyway.

Other Thoughts: Overall, it is a good course for people who are experienced and have the ability to throw a good tee shot. You might want to consider bringing water as you will need it due to the amount of distance between holes and the distance of the course itself. It was fun to play but will be visiting other courses in the area that I have not played before going back.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great new course in Olathe!

1    9/22/2013   9/22/2013
Review By: chaddyboy_2000
Played: 23  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 14.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lakeside Hills contains a great combination of some shorter, technical holes, and some super long, let 'er rip holes, with a lot of variation in between those extremes. Many interesting holes without anything being overly frustrating if you screw it up. There aren't a ton of places where you're going to be searching and searching for a disc, but there are definitely places that will be more than just an inconvenience if you find yourself there.

The terrain is also used very very well. The course gradually leads you up the hills, many times in interesting ways, such as a few blind shots where you only see the location once you get uphill. You're also rewarded with a few big throws from the top of the hills, which is always very satisfying to watch it glide down the hill.

Navigating the course is an absolute breeze, as nearly every basket has a sign near it pointing you to the next tee. There's really only one transition from 9 to 10 that would be tough without the signage, but it's definitely appreciated.
Cons: The main cons are mostly due to the course being so new.

The first is that there are not any signs at the tees showing the pin locations and distance. It was actually kind of fun to explore this way the first time out, but will definitely be necessary once they have multiple pins in place.

Which brings us to the second con; there is only one pin per hole currently. However, it is obvious that the holes are set up such that there will be many interesting alternate placements. I would wager they thought about multiple placements when this was planned, so I look forward to the course's continued improvement.
Other Thoughts: An amazing course for a course that is so new, and I can see this being a real gem of a course in Olathe.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the 30+ mile drive!

1    9/13/2013   9/18/2013
Review By: jjw4ucm
Played: 31  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 2.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/16/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course used to be a ball golf course, and the way they used the lay of the land is fantastic. It plays very well and has something for every player. There's very straightforward holes with minimal elevation change, tunnel shots, technical holes, and lots of other fun with the rolling hills.

Gorgeous views of Lake Olathe from several of the holes.

Not very crowded yet. We had a few groups playing around us, but nothing major.

Tees are now concrete, with pea gravel all around them. Big flat rocks take the place of benches throughout the course.

This course is probably a bit above our skill level, but even as such, we thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it. Even when we did horribly at a hole or two, I could see where the designer was going with the layout and appreciated it greatly.

Navigation is somewhat intuitive, and generally there are signs to guide you to the next hole. Just be aware of the longer hike to the left after you finish hole 9.

This course is out of the way somewhat. We were there on a gorgeous day and there was almost nobody there, minimal road noise, etc. On the back holes you feel like you're almost in the middle of nowhere; great for concentrating on your shot without road noise or other distractions.

Feel free to zip over the lake to the Lake Olathe beach afterwards and cool off with the beverage of your choice. Swimming isn't technically allowed, but we liked the touch of having something right next to the course to do after, since we traveled over 30 miles to get here.

Several trash cans around for all your refuse needs.

There was very little trash scattered on the course; maybe just because it's new and hasn't been played as much, but it let us enjoy the nature of the area even more than usual.

UPDATE: I came back in early November to play a round and was pleased to find the course still very well maintained. It has shaped up nicely and although they haven't made any upgrades, this tranquil, gorgeous course was still a ton of fun to play.
Cons: Again, since this was an old ball golf course, there are cart paths everywhere; sometimes these can come into play if your disc lands on them just right.

The last few holes (14-17) got somewhat repetitive, and were basically switchbacking over the same section of ground with minimal changes between them. The rough around those holes is also VERY tall and we almost lost two discs in it, so be accurate and careful!

Watch for poison ivy/oak! My burning, itching legs urge you not to make the mistake I made.

Try to stay out the rough -- I've never played a course with so many burrs! I had to throw out the long socks I (thankfully) wore to this course.

This is part of it being a new course, but there are no real signs, just markers indicating the hole number. Also, no bag hangers or benches.

Parking is fairly minimal, and just along the side of the road. Not a big deal when we were there, but it might be if this course gets busier.
Other Thoughts: For visitors to KC or anyone else, this is way out on the far southwest edge of the metro. You can make the judgement on whether it's worth coming to; I personally think it's very unique and a very fun play. Of the farther-out suburban courses I've played, I might actually recommend it for something different if you're from out of town.

This course is very long, and there's not a convenience store or anything too terribly close. I might bring water and a snack if you're not used to the long hike.

The first half of this course, even without the signage and benches, almost deserves a 4.5 in my book. The back half is slightly less exciting, but it has enough right-left/left-right and elevation change opportunities to keep it interesting.

Since the course is long, it does take a while to play, but I think it was definitely worth it. Gorgeous views, nicely done! Can't wait to see this course grow and mature over time.

UPDATE: Not sure if they added pin positions between when we first played in September and when I came back in November, but for holes 1 and 10, WHAT WERE THEY THINKING?! 1 was already a pretty long slog up a hill, and they basically just extended it about 50-100 feet. 10, instead of being a neat uphill tunnel shot, now has a fierce left dogleg that goes about 100 feet -- then you have to double back over it to get to 11. Also, with no signs up, they should be pretty careful moving pins around as to not confuse us too terribly much. Course is most definitely still a 4!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 This is a fantastic course!

1    7/30/2013   8/13/2013
Review By: bball7273
Played: 57  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 5.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - This course uses every element the land has to offer like woods, hills, etc. to make this the best course it could be.
- Tee stations are very nice! Concrete tee pads were very long and grippy. Gravel around the tees was good to keep it from getting really muddy. Large rocks at tees are a good natural bench and each hole has a tee number so you know what hole it is.
- Fairways are mowed very well to tell where the pin is and are just really nice looking
- Brand new Discatcher pro baskets are always a huge plus in my opinion
- Scenic views of the lake and beyond
- Tons of variety in each hole! I had to use every throw and every disc I had on this course to score well!
- Natural flow of the course was pretty good and navigation was a breeze with the next tee signs
- Excellent variety of lengths. Some holes were very very long and others were super short. This really adds to the fun factor
- Very challenging course layout!
- Good park and grass was pretty well mowed
Cons: - I do wish they had tee signs that gave distances and told where the basket was becuase this would be useful.
- Some holes had a longer than normal walk to the next tee, especially from nine to ten
- Brush has tons and I mean TONS of burrs that get all in your leg hair and socks and tons of poison ivy so stay in the fairway!
- Would have liked some multiple pin locations to mix it up
- Rock benches were a little too close to the tee pads on some holes and sort of crowded even though there was room to put them somewhere else
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a pretty good course that uses the rolling hills very well and is just really well designed. I would like to come back and play this course another time and it is worth the stop.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Best course in Johnson County

5+    7/30/2013   7/31/2013
Review By: bigreddog
Played: 61  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 3.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is a huge variety of openness on this course, ranging from almost wide open to very technical in places. More of the open holes on the front in the 5-9 range with technical shots being holes 3, 4, 10, 11, and 18. 10/10

Most of the holes can be played in different ways, with different shot paths to the hole. Decisionmaking required 10/10

This course does a fantastic job of using the obstacles they have available to them to create a variety of challenges to the holes. The course feels a lot more wooded than it actually is because of how well placed the obstacles are. Some holes only have a few trees but they really impact shot selection. 10/10

Baskets are brand new discatchers and tee pads are concrete. These could probably be a little bigger, but they do the job. There is also pea-gravel surrounding them to help prevent erosion. 9/10

There is a nice variety of shot paths required. Holes 3, 6, 9, 11, and 13 require left to right while 4, 5, 13, and 18 require right to left. 9/10

Navigation between holes is intuitive and there are signs pointing to the next hole in some of the more confusing spots. The back nine is especially easy since there are trails through the tall grass to the next tee. A couple of tricky spots are after 4 you need to go backward and after 10 there are trails leading off in two different ways, take the one on the right. 9/10

There is some good elevation present in places. A few too many flat holes in my opinion but they did the best they could with what they were working with. Many holes with elevation changes are severe. 8/10

There is enough length and obstacles to challenge advanced players, but not so much of either as to discourage beginners on most holes (maybe holes 4, 10, 11, and 15 should be avoided by beginners). Alternate tees would help, especially on the back nine and more wooded holes. 7/10 on challenging all levels

There is decent variety in distance, but most of them are somewhere between intermediate and long. There aren't many holes that are birdieable unless you have a big arm. 6/10

They are trying hard to get this course up and running. They have recently added concrete tee pads and benches and are keeping it well mowed. They have also been spraying for ticks and it has really helped. They have cleared out most of the thorny branches from the rough. Unfortunately the benches are just large rocks. There are also no tee signs yet and trash cans would be nice. They are going to need to keep some of the branches trimmed on some of the overhangs. There are also no bathrooms or running water. 6/10

There is some shade present on this course, fairways are regularly mowed, and the ticks and thorns have been minimized. However, the benches are stone and the rough is still pretty rough in places. Some poison ivy in places, and now lots burrs are growing. 6/10 on comfort
Cons: No alternate tee positions, at least not yet. 0/10

Navigation on the actual holes isn't the best since there are no tee signs, a few blind shots, and a couple shots where you can see two baskets from the tee. 4/10

Discs can be tough to find in the rough on the back nine. In addition, there are some blind shots that make it so you can't see where your disc goes. In five rounds here playing in groups of 2-4 there has been one disc lost. 5/10

Other Thoughts: This course is currently on the border between 3.5 and 4. I would've given it a 3.5 before the added the conrete tee pads and benches. This course will be a solid 4 if tee signs, trash cans, water, and bathrooms are added. All of these and alternate pins and tees could potentially move this course up to a 4.5.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.