Olathe, KS 
Lakeside Hills DGC (Birdland) Share
Uploaded By: Timhawk33 Hole #14 (Taken 7/2014)
3 / 456ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee Sign



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Love it.

5+    4/6/2016   4/6/2016
Review By: jayman
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.9 Years
Pros: Versatile course. Open and closed, short and long fairways with drastic elevation changes.
Most holes have maps
Cons: Lots of snakes
short tee pads
Some maps scratched out
Other Thoughts: Great course that calls for every shot in your arsenal

 Challenging and scenic Birdland

5+    12/15/2015   1/4/2016
Review By: BongoBird
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 29.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is on land once used as a ball golf course. The City maintains the mowing extremely well. The course is challenging and flows well. The Innova Pro baskets catch great. There are many nice scenic views and a serene feel on this course.
Cons: There are no restrooms and parking near hole 1 for only about 25 cars.
Other Thoughts: I am somewhat biased as I am the designer and live 5 minutes away, but this is one of my favorite courses to play in the Kansas City area.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Amazing course

2-4    11/5/2015   12/6/2015
Review By: JohnDeere
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: My favorite course of all time it offers so much shot selection that it is fun for everyone and anyone can play good on it weather you have a 500' drive or a great 300' hyzer flip
Great navigation has signs telling you where to go
Multiple baskets to shoot at every hole
Great unique tee pad setup
Little chance of loosing discs
Elevation changes
Long distance holes
Finnese shots
Cons: A couple of the tee signs were stolen
Lack of parking available
Other Thoughts: Geat challenging course

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Not a super exciting course

1    11/25/2015   11/26/2015
Review By: n.maglio
Played: 21  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.9 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Fun course with a fair amount of elevation change. Lots of distance. And fairly open holes.
Cons: If you haven't played the course before or if baskets get moved around you'll have to walk the fairways to get an idea of location. Not all pads have tee signs and the ones that have them arent super accurate. Nothing super technical. But that was only my first impression after only playing once on a pretty windy day.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course but it is definitely a course better suited for moderate to experience players. I was playing with some beginners and if you can't crank a drive 325'+ you are going to run up a lot of strokes.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A great reuse of an old ball golf course

2-4    10/3/2015   10/4/2015
Review By: SirDreward
Played: 26  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Well maintained
- Great tee pad setup (concrete pads with lots of rock around them, signage, and benches and/or boulders, and pretty consistently shaded)
- Well signed
- Area the course is in is dedicated to the course
- Old golf cart paths follow some of the course
- Some pretty good elevation changes
Cons: - Not enough trash cans
- Could lose a disc pretty easily
- No convenient restrooms
Other Thoughts: This course plays more towards the strengths of distance players as opposed to technical players, especially when the baskets are at their long positions. Water is only really a hazard on hole one and wind can be a big issue. The course seems so big it rarely seems all that crowded to me.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Borderline 5

5+    8/30/2015   8/30/2015
Review By: air show
Played: 121  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 16.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Concrete tee pads, Discatchers, and signs with footage.
- A serious disc golf course with only DG traffic.
- Long and challenging resulting in an arm and leg workout.
- Elevation changes on most holes.
- 7 or 8 bomber holes.
- Easy to navigate.
- "Tree Pads" - Most all tees have shade trees.
- Tee areas are stunningly well manicured.
- Large stones by tee pads double as benches and landscape markers.
- During growing season rough is tall but fairways are manicured giving
the course a ball golf feel.
- Holes 14 through 17 are four of the most picture perfect disc golf holes I have ever thrown.
- After hole 9 you can swing by car to grab more goodies.
- I have played this course over 10 times in the last two years and the turf has always been maintained beautifully. One of KCs best.

Cons: - Can be somewhat busy during prime throwing hours.
- May be a little open for the technical crowd.
- Pack water, bug spray, and a sweat towel.
Other Thoughts: This course is a serious challenge demanding concentration and stamina to score well. Though the course is only two years old, it has matured overnight into one of KCs most premier
disc golf destinations. When people mention courses such as Wyco, Water Works, Blue Valley, Swope, Cliff Drive, and Rosedale this course can be added too that list of championship level courses. The parks dept. and course designers should be commended for creating such a beautiful disc golf course. The disc golfers in KC are some of the luckiest throwers in the world.

Happy Putting


2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Pro

5+    3/8/2015   9/28/2014
Review By: akray21
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2 Years
This review was updated on 3/8/2015
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: After visiting this course today (3/8/2015) I had to update my review. It looks like the course has been worked on and updated for the 2015 season. My overall score on this course has gone way up as most of the negatives have been addressed. The improvements are listed below.

- Front 9 is the best half of a course in KC area.
- Fun challenging holes
Cons: - Tee pads are too short
Other Thoughts:
1. I love the new hole 12. One large tree in the middle of the fairway has been cut, as well as two directly guarding the basket. Instead of having to lob a shot over the trees to the basket, you now have the option of a low line drive up the middle.

2. Hole 11 basket is on the hill right now. This placement is far superior to the previous placement

3. Underbrush has been cut down.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    7/27/2014   7/31/2014
Review By: Pbrice
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
Pros: Variety in holes. Great Scenery. Concrete tee pads. Multiple pin placements. Disc only land, so no walkers or picnickers. Trash can and seating at every hole.
Cons: Three holes on the back 9 are very similar, they vary in length but feel to similar. No restroom Facilities, unless you count an out of place looking porta potty near hole 15 I believe.
Other Thoughts: This is my new favorite course.

Lakeside Hills (Dirty Bird)

1    5/18/2014   5/18/2014
Review By: Jayhawker10
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Overall, it is a decent course but I must say that it is not exactly my type of course that I like to play.

- Front 9 was very fun to play with a fun mixture of hole types.
- Not too difficult to navigate although can be tricky if you have never played before. There is signage that aids and does a good job for the most part.
- Not as crowded as most courses in the area so did not have to worry about waiting or running into other people. I played on a Sunday afternoon (Prime time).
- New tee boxes with more than adequate rest areas if you need them.
- Plenty of trash cans so litter was non-existent.
- Easy to locate the baskets, which were practically in brand new condition.
Cons: - Personally, I did not care for the back 9 much. Holes 14-17 are very repetitive and I do not have the best "bomb" shots out there so I was at a distinct disadvantage on these holes. Nonetheless, if I did have a "bomb", I probably would have enjoyed these more.
- Concrete tee boxes were too short for me personally. Felt like I was going to roll an ankle off the front them.
- Way out in southwest Olathe.
- No restrooms or water fountains. I don't find this to be an issue because I always bring water and never use the facilities at courses anyway.

Other Thoughts: Overall, it is a good course for people who are experienced and have the ability to throw a good tee shot. You might want to consider bringing water as you will need it due to the amount of distance between holes and the distance of the course itself. It was fun to play but will be visiting other courses in the area that I have not played before going back.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great new course in Olathe!

1    9/22/2013   9/22/2013
Review By: chaddyboy_2000
Played: 23  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 14.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lakeside Hills contains a great combination of some shorter, technical holes, and some super long, let 'er rip holes, with a lot of variation in between those extremes. Many interesting holes without anything being overly frustrating if you screw it up. There aren't a ton of places where you're going to be searching and searching for a disc, but there are definitely places that will be more than just an inconvenience if you find yourself there.

The terrain is also used very very well. The course gradually leads you up the hills, many times in interesting ways, such as a few blind shots where you only see the location once you get uphill. You're also rewarded with a few big throws from the top of the hills, which is always very satisfying to watch it glide down the hill.

Navigating the course is an absolute breeze, as nearly every basket has a sign near it pointing you to the next tee. There's really only one transition from 9 to 10 that would be tough without the signage, but it's definitely appreciated.
Cons: The main cons are mostly due to the course being so new.

The first is that there are not any signs at the tees showing the pin locations and distance. It was actually kind of fun to explore this way the first time out, but will definitely be necessary once they have multiple pins in place.

Which brings us to the second con; there is only one pin per hole currently. However, it is obvious that the holes are set up such that there will be many interesting alternate placements. I would wager they thought about multiple placements when this was planned, so I look forward to the course's continued improvement.
Other Thoughts: An amazing course for a course that is so new, and I can see this being a real gem of a course in Olathe.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.