Stallings, NC 
Crooked Creek Crossing Share
Uploaded By: BennettUA Hole #8 (Taken 3/2013)
3 / 190ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Best Beginner Course Around

5+    8/10/2014   8/10/2014
Review By: Bampa
Played: 32  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -PREFACE: I rated this course relative to its intended audience. Crooked Creek Crossing is a very good beginner-level 18 course.

-Excellent natural atmosphere in Charlotte's suburbs. Mainly hardwoods, but also mixed with some evergreens. Adolescent and mature forest comprises about 4/5 of the holes. Along the waterfront areas, sycamores and other riparian vegetation, which is sometimes quite dense. Several holes of CCC are in wetland areas (more details on this later). Saw good biodiversity here, including a luna moth, a variety of mushrooms, and little froggies. Other holes play across nicely groomed fields.

-CREATIVITY!: Details: superb hole designs here, with a little bit of everything. Despite short course length and beginner-level-difficulty, technical shots are required for a variety of well-thought out directions. Excellent use of elevation, including a raised basket and multiple baskets at the tops of steep grassy hills. I always love playing here just because of how unique the design is--not to mention the great atmosphere.

-Despite what the course page says, water does technically come into play on several holes. Specifically, water looms off to the left on fairways 6 and 12. The creek is just also just beyond the basket of 6. Additionally, hole 18's mid-fairway has recently reverted into shallow wetlands (there are helpful concrete stepping stones for walking, but my friend lost a disc in the muck). The water isn't a big threat, but it's a presence which improves the satisfaction of a good throw.

-Practice basket / ghost hole 19

-Trashbags hung throughout, and a general lack of litter.

-Good signage

-Bathrooms and water fountain by hole 15.

-Park is exclusively disc golf

-Well-made bridge

-Aces, anyone?
Cons: -Biggest con: the mud and wetness. In fairness, it's a wetlands area--and a disc golf course is a good use of this parkland. But the creek clearly floods after rain and swamps many holes. Erosion will be a serious problem here in a few years and steps ought to be taken to mitigate that.

-Only one bench by the tee.

-A few holes play near private property with a barbed cattle fence. An errant shot from a beginner could easily end up on the wrong side on several holes. (To be fair, CCC uses space as effectively as it can).

-The water holes are somewhat incompatible with the beginner-level design. Kids and newbies shouldn't have to worry about losing discs.

-The course tightly packs 18 holes and several holes get too near one another for comfort. Beginners could easily throw errant drives and risk hitting someone. Play with caution.

-Multiple tees would've been nice, and they are probably impossible to fit in at this point.

-Hole 13 is unique but a bit of an oddball. It's par 3 and exceedingly tight (and will only get tighter if the young trees here grow fatter). Doesn't seem to be fit with the rest of the beginner-level intention.
Other Thoughts: -This is a great addition to the Charlotte disc scene. Creative and beautiful. Kudos to the designers for building a beginner course for the next generation of disc golfers. I always see kids and families here. If you want to introduce someone to disc golf, CCC is one of the best starter-level courses I've ever played. The pars are generous and it's great to see that look on a newbie's face when he/she gets their first birdie.

-CCC is also great for a warm-up round before Idlewild or Dry Creek. It's not hard but it's very well designed. Scenic and fun.

-Favorite holes: 9, 12, 17

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Beginner Course

1    4/25/2014   5/19/2014
Review By: Mortis Canyon
Played: 30  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beginner level course, easy to navigate.

Great tee signs, concrete tees and nice baskets.

There are two parking lots for you to park. One lot begins at hole #1 and the other has restrooms for you to use.
Creek is not really in play which could be a plus for beginners.

Course has a practice basket.

Course is short, therefore able to get in a quick round and not take up too much time.

Good course for practicing upshots and putts.

Lots of opportunity for ace runs.
Cons: The wooded holes and the paths through the woods can get extremely muddy when it rains.

Creek is not really in play which could be a con for a more experienced player looking for a challenge.

Some of the holes could prevent hazard on a crowded day as they are close together. Therefore, it could prevent great danger to be hit with a disc.

No trash cans were available from what I saw.

Some monotony with some of the holes regarding distance.
Other Thoughts: If you live in the housing development next to the course or nearby, it would be a great place to get in some practice if you didn't have much time. As this course is perfect for someone to teach another about disc golf and introduce them to the sport, the more experienced would be bored. This course could also be used as a good warmup to nearby Scrapyard, Reedy Creek, Dry Creek and Squirrel Lake.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

By Hook or by Crook...

1    6/18/2013   6/22/2013
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 102  Reviewed: 99  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great tees, signs, baskets. Seems like the park is DG exclusive which is a nice change of pace from when you get tired of other park users using your fairway for a jogging trail/muddin'/dog walk/orgy/Druid ritual. The park is fairly nice and well-maintained with grass mowed and whatnot.

Definitely a beginner course but there are some challenging holes out here thanks to clever use of elevation and trees. A few baskets located precariously near steep slopes can turn your botched putt for 2 into bogey hell faster than a smart black man denies a request to appear on the Maury Povich show. The course plays more open than wooded but the wooded holes around the creek (relatively, not literally) offer some fun tunnel shots.

There are 2 parking lots you can use for this course, the big one that has the rest rooms is not the one to use if you want to start on hole 1.

Practice basket.
Cons: The creek doesn't come into play at all really. Kind of a bummer. This creek divides the course annoyingly into two, so there's a long walk or two from transitioning from one end to the other. Most annoying is that you have to make one last trek just to play hole 18.

Some of the baskets have the potential to be close to transitions so I could see headshots becoming a possibility if the course is very crowded.

It is really, really dumb that the course starts at the other parking lot and the big parking lot with the bathrooms and the big DG sign that screams to visiting disc golfers "start here" is not where you're supposed to start. Somebody needs to scribble "hole 1 is at other parking lot" on that sign or something.

I know it's a beginner course but quite a few holes seemed a bit monotonous, especially distance wise.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will have a ball out here while more experienced DGers will enjoy the course as a prelude to Charlotte's more esteemed courses or as a quick, casual round on lunch breaks or after work. It didn't really float my boat; I wish there wasn't so much unused space between the sides of the course b/c of the creek. If some long tees could be made and this creek area better utilized it would raise my boat with a tsunami of fun, a tfunami if you will.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Crooked Creek Finally With a Crossing

1    5/25/2013   5/30/2013
Review By: dndelli
Played: 14  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I absolutely wish this course had exsisted 6 years ago when I was learning to play disc golf. What a great beginner level course, that offers new players a variety of holes to learn the basics of the game. I have only played it once to see how it felt, and I think I have decided that I will use Reedy Creek to introduce people to the game who can somewhat throw a frisbee so they can fall in love with the game in a nice secluded environment. But intend to use Crooked Creek Crossing for the real rookies, who have little to no form at all. They will get to experience a lot of risk/reward situations, experience the elevated pins (or as I like to call them, "Mule Droppings") many Charlotte course benefite from, and won't feel completely off put when they can't reach the green in 2 throws. More experience players will never really need more than a midrange, but this course is a great place to practice upshots and putts. It is an amazing course to beat in your mid range and putters. 16 is the only hole with any realy distance, but even a fairway driver is a bit overkill here. The baskets, concrete pads, tee signs, "Next Tee" signs, and most importantly the bridge for crossing the creek are all in place, and look great. There are 2 benches chained to trees on the front side of the course, giving you a place to sit and relax.
Cons: I have already noted that the course is not challenging. What would be short par 3's at other courses, are par 4 here. But this course wasn't meant to give experienced players a challenge. It was meant to give new players a stable environment to learn the game. So even though it is a "con", I do not consider it a truly bad con. If you are experienced and want to test yourself, just create your own Mandos to use along the fairway to really test your accuracy. You just won't be visiting this park on a weekly basis unless you live in the area. Drainage is probably the biggest con nowadays. It had been sunny for a few days, and some of the fairways next to the creek were still somewhat muddy here. Wouldn't want to play here on a rainy or even drizzly day. The layout can feel cramped at times, but only when the park gets crowded (which isn't often I hear). I played the day of a Club Singles at Idlewild, so I attributed the popularity of the course to people wanting to warm up before the real test across I-485. I will give a word of warning about Hole 11 and 13. It can be easier to see 13's basket from 11 depending the angle you come onto the tee from. I threw right next to 13 by accident, then realized I was throwing the wrong way.
Other Thoughts: The bridge being done is really the most important thing to notice, and if you live in the area this could be a great place to play at the drop of a hat for fun. Throwing from 18's tee to the practice basket will give big arms a chance to stretch out and up a decent hill too. Since the course uses DISCatcher Pros, this a great place for ace runs. I bounced off the baskets a few times on my first trip. At the end of the day, an ace is an ace. I could totally see myself giving this course a higher rating as it matures some and things like 1-2 trashcans being available throughout, and the grass grown back or mulched instead of just straw thrown down in the muddy spots.

Favorite Holes: 1, 9, 14, 16, 17

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

0 ft above sea level

5+    5/30/2013   5/30/2013
Review By: 1978
Played: 180  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I play here weekly on my lunch break. I can easily get through the course to practice putting and upshots in 40 minutes.
Cooked Creek (Stallings) is a beginner level course. Signage is great at the tees. 4x8 tees are sufficient as most are at ground level. Baskets are new Discatchers that are bright and pretty. While you wont be able to rip it, every shot is represented and because it is heavily wooded...many you are forced to throw. A few holes offer multiple routes or wide open throws. I like the 2 risk reward raised basket holes. A Stan/Charlotte signature. I've always appreciated beginner courses that introduce new players or a new region to disc golf. This course accomplishes that with the short hole length, however is designed creatively enough to challenge advanced players looking for birdies. You wont bogey many holes here, but you may not get as many birdies as you think you should. I play with a few putters and maybe a sidearm midrange. Thats all is needed here for the experienced disc golfer. There is little risk of lost discs and the woods is pretty clear at ground level. There are a number of next tee directional signs. The area is not busy and it is an easy get to from 485.
Cons: I titled this review because of the potential swampiness of the course. Much of the middle of the course plays along a sewer line that borders a slow moving creek. When it rains, water has no where to go. foot traffic will lower ground level even further and compact the dirt. I can see this being a very muddy course once the grass/leaves is worn through in spring and fall play. Every inch of the available land is used. This makes very near fairways. You have to walk back up fairways or cross them a few times to get to the next hole. There are a few holes where you throw over or near another basket or tee box. There isnt really any room to alleviate this issue. As trees die from disc hits, the risk will escalate. Luckly the relatively short distance of holes will reduce the severity of wayward shots. Tehre are some areas that are confusing and better more permanent next tee signs are needed.
Other Thoughts: I love to play here. I think that it will introduce a new community to disc golf and help grow the sport. I have rated this a 3 based on the intended target of new players or beginning disc golfer. This is a very good beginner course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great New Course!

1    5/26/2013   5/26/2013
Review By: bamadawg
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.3 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well marked, shorter hole course that has some interesting technical features. It flows and plays well.
Cons: No real cons now that the bridge crossing Crooked Creek is in place.
Other Thoughts: This one goes on the favorite's list for a beginner or intermediate.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Short but challenging

1    4/21/2013   4/21/2013
Review By: tom12003
Played: 128  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 21.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Although a short beginner friendly course, it is technical enough to test your short/mid-range woodsy shots without being boring. Navigating lines through the trees is what this noodle armed fossil likes. Holes 1 (to an elevated basket) and 2 were fairly easy birdies, #3 required a little more precise placement as there were trees near the basket that could foil many birdie putts. #4 is an easy birdie unless you only throw straight. Hole #5 is another right-turner and is not an unhappy par. #6 is a little longer but not overwhelming; likewise for #7. Hole #8 (190') is flat until the last 30' and the pin is about 20' up. #9 is slightly downhill to another elevate basket. #10 is fairly straight forward. From there, you need to cross the creek along the narrow road (more below) to get to #11. This was my favorite hole; at 230' there are 3 routes (look at the picture)--the direct route (which requires a lot of skill or LUCK), a route that has a little right to left and then straightening out (the one I took), or a big breaking RHBH hyzer (my playing partners took it but still had a 70'+ upshot). #12 is only 140' but you better hit that narrow line; #13 (180') is uphill and very tight. #14 is 210, right to left, and tight (are you seeing a pattern?). Holes 15 and 16 are unobstructed short field holes; hole 17 also appears to be the same but there are steep drop offs (on 2 sides) only a few feet past the pin that can give that nasty 50' downhill roll. Again, you'll need to cross that narrow road bridge to get to #18, which is a 215' large left to right shot with an uphill pin.

Other positives: the tee pads were poured last week and are more than adequate. The 40' power poles for the much needed bridge are now on property. I anticipate that bridge should be in place soon. Biggest positive is the course is a Stan McDaniel design (and constructed by that old man); take the features and lengthen most of the holes by a few hundred feet and there is a superb course in waiting that would be among the best of Charlotte's wooded courses.
Cons: It is a beginner friendly course, only if beginner friendly was defined by length. Top pros would find more fun doing grocery shopping. Until the bridge is in place, it is slightly cumbersome in navigation. No benches, but probably not needed unless you are my age (65+)!
Other Thoughts: This is not necessarily a destination course for travelers to the Charlotte area unless you want to warm up before playing the Scrapyard (Idlewild Park) which is about 5 miles north.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Beginner course just across the line from Meck Co.

1    3/9/2013   3/12/2013
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 173  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 10.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the most beginner friendly, 18-hole course in the Charlotte area. It's perfect for kids and anyone else who has never thrown a disc before, or for those looking to work on their short game. The course is still a work in progress, with the layout split into two segments - 12 baskets in one part (holes #1 - 10, 18 & practice basket) and the other 7 in back lot (holes #11 - 17). In the meantime, it makes sense to play the "front 12" a time or two, then drive to the "back 7" to finish up your round.
- If it's possible for a short course to have variety, this course does a great job of succeeding. Plenty of wide open holes, wooded holes (while still be mostly beginner friendly), doglegs and even a couple cool layouts with the only two hills to work with. #8 is thrown up a hill (10 foot elevation at most); #9 is thrown down the edge of the same hill; #17 has basket placed at edge of a different hill, with a sharp uphill putt if you throw too far on your tee shot. Basically, it's the pu-pu platter of beginner courses where you'll whet a beginner's appetite with what to expect on a longer course.
- Clean course with new baskets. Course has an easy flow to it that one should be able to play through without much issue. Caveat: That's assuming you play the course in the current two different segments - play the front 12, then the back 7 - and ignore some of the hole numbers/proposed hole numbers. If you're OCD, and have to play the holes in correct order, then this will drive you fits.
- The front 12 has the land to itself, so you should only have other disc golfers to deal with. Back 7 could be more crowded as it's at the front of the neighborhood and has bathrooms, picnic benches and a sidewalk. So expect families and kids to be using the common area on nice days.
- This is a nice, new park that's still a work in progress.
- Perfect course for those with noodle arms. Average hole length for the 18 is only 186 feet, with the longest hole at only 240 feet. Great places to be seeing a lot of 2s, and hopefully some 1s, on your scorecard, or to have an ace race with friends.
- Very convenient location. It's less than two minutes off of 485, and less than 15 minutes from the Scrapyard, Squirrel Lake or Mint Hill Park.
Cons: This is a course where, besides the one obvious issue, you're not going to find much wrong. If there's such a thing as a great beginner course, this might be near the top.
- I'll state it again, for those who only read cons: the course is divided into two parts by a creek, which looks more like a swamp. After playing current #11, you can drive to the back 7 parking lot (recommended for safety reasons) or walk along a narrow two-lane road, over the creek. If/when a bridge is built, it's going to be a short, easy walk between the two parts.
- If you're playing the course in two different segments, the holes on the back seven are laid out counter-intuitively. The first hole on the back 7, chronologically, is #11. From the back 7 parking lot, the first basket you see (near the picnic tables) is #15. Follow the sidewalk past #16 & 17, where you will see the tee for #11. Once you find #11, the following six holes flow nicely. The hole layout makes sense when you think of the layout with a bridge connecting the two segments.
- No benches on any holes (not that any are needed.) The front 12 only has a trashcan by the parking lot, with no restrooms or water fountains. There are some; however on the back 7.
- There is slight risk to throw disc in the mud/creek on holes #6 (long) and 11 & 12 (to the left), mainly cause by a potential errant bounce off a tree. You're probably not going to lose the disc, per se, but if you end up in the muck, you could be getting wet or muddy trying to retrieve it.
Other Thoughts: There's something very fitting that the course is less than a mile from the Mecklenburg County line. Charlotte courses are notoriously known for being tough, and it's as if, there's a refusal to let something this beginner-friendly/easy being built inside the county.
- On a serious note, this is a scaled down version of a great layout. If this course were doubled in length, it would be awesome. It actually reminds me of a mini version of Angry Beaver, with several holes being shortened version of ones I've played on other courses. Current #18 (or the 11th hole on the front 12) was a short version of #14 at Foothills DGC in Easley, SC. Tee shot through the trees to a dogleg right basket, up on a hill. Also, #17 is a lot like #4 at Hornets Nest, with the hill behind the basket penalizing any shots that sail too long. This hill is even bigger than the one at Hornets Nest, leading to even more testy putts, if you're short of the basket.
- This is a great course to introduce beginners to the game. Stan and company have done a wonderful job building this one. It's hard to imagine that as recent as 2009, Reedy Creek and Mint Hill were the only two courses from the University area to Pineville/south Charlotte. Now, there's a course at least every couple of exits along I-485.
- I'm giving this a 2.0 with an asterisk. If a bridge is built connecting the front and back of the park, the major issue will be resolved and this will be a fun 18-holes. If one doesn't get built, and people are forced to walk along the road, or drive their cars, from the front to back to play all 18, this will get marked down. Seeing how this is a work in progress, I can't mark down for things that could/should be fixed.
- This is a great warm-up course for anyone playing the Scrapyard at Idlewild Park.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Course Designer Blog

1    2/23/2013   2/23/2013
Review By: Stan McDaniel
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
This review was updated on 4/14/2013
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I rated the course a 2 so that I could blog below.
Cons: Blogging ready to commence.
Other Thoughts: Blog. I have been totally blown away by the turnout on the beginner courses we have in the area and therefore and really excited to install one a little bit away from the greater Charlotte area. The course is short but not devoid of challenge. Although the land is mostly flat, there are some recreational fields that have some drop offs at the corners and Rob G and I were able to utilitze those for some scary greens. True to my nature, I used the oversized tires that were on the property to give some elevation on two holes also. You could call it my fingerprint. The park is planning other activities in this park and I am sure that I will have to morph the course in the future on 3 or 4 holes. Rob G and I will be installing 18 concrete tee pads and also 18 tee signs. We intend to do benches also, even though the course is short. We want this course to mimic the ammenities that make other courses stand out. We know that it won't get high ratings due to it's length but that is not our goal. We are the evil pushers doing our best to create disc golf junkies. So, come on out and practice your short game. After hole 18 I will have a discrete hole # 19 that will play 440' to the practice basket.
(concrete tee pads and tee signs have been installed. Now looking for supports for the bridge and when they are acquired we will build the bridge.)

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.