Disc Golf Center
Kahului, HI 
Kahului DGC Share
Uploaded By: what'shisname Hole #8 (Taken 2/2013)
-- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Solid, Fun Course

1    3/26/2014   3/31/2014
Review By: little oz
Played: 51  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 3.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good use of existing terrain, resulting in a fun variety of shots.
-Well thought out basket positions
-Good use of existing elevation changes. It has some really fun downhill tunnel throws
-Park setting has amenities for other members of your family.
-People using the park actually seemed aware if you were trying to throw and acted accordingly.
Cons: With a map, you can figure out the course but it isn't easy.
Tee pads and signs would bump this course up at least .5

Other Thoughts: I was pleasantly surprised when I played this course alone on a weekday. While some of the physical things still need work (pads/signs), you can tell that the course was designed by players for players and has great potential to improve. The shared baskets on a couple of holes don't seem to be problematic. Well done and thank you for a solid course on Maui!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good Thing for Locals!!

1    3/12/2014   3/12/2014
Review By: Frank M
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great use of land
Well Designed
Scenic
Good changes of elevation
Cons: Confusing if not with a local
Other Thoughts: I am very lucky that I ran into a group of three very nice guys who live in the area and played with them. The one guy is one of the designers of the course so he took me through it. Lots of interesting shots. In some instance we threw at the same basket more then once but from a different approach.

I had a great time, but if I would have not run into these guys there is no way in the world I would have figured out the layout becuase there was very little signage.

That being said, I know they are working hard on this course and are still tweaking it and pouring new cement pads, so I think it will be even better next time I go back.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Conveniently located

2-4    11/24/2013   11/26/2013
Review By: Discwog
Played: 31  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 33.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good use of land.
Good baskets.
Convenient location.
Fairly easy to navigate with a map.
Cons: Tee areas need to be marked better.
Signage would be very helpful.
Other Thoughts: There are some really fun shots here! Locals seem friendly. Hole 1 can punish you if you end up below the basket.

Personal highlight was finishing with a birdie! Keep up the great work.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    4/29/2013   5/5/2013
Review By: gt700
Played: 81  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course starts in open field. Tee #1 is near yellow gate and plays to basket surrounded by pine trees. Tee #2 is down hill and basket is a dog leg left. Baskets # 3 & 4 are both out in open. No real tee boxes on any of first four baskets.
Hole # 5 is across parking lot,(follow pathway) thru another yellow gate, in between buildings and by a kids play area. Paint on ground marks Tee box 5. Most of the rest of tee boxes are marked with carpet pads. On hole # 12, you throw across a ditch. There are stairs, if you are looking at basket, on your left to get across.
Holes # 13 & 14 both use same basket. #14 tee box is near tennis courts. Tee box #15 is thru gulley. Little walk to get to it. Also you will want a spotter if grass is still long. Hole # 18 throws to hole # 5 basket, ( towards pool house building)
Cons: Difficult to navigate. I asked a park employee where hole # 1 starts and they said " just start anywhere."
I found a couple of locals playing and they helped alot!
Hopefully a course map is made or maps put on-line.
Other Thoughts: This is a permenant course near Maui's airport and shopping is also nearby.
Lots of wind and lots of potential!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

First permanent 18 hole course in a public park

5+    3/16/2013   3/18/2013
Review By: 967DG Maui
Played: 34  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Right in the Heart of Maui. Shops nearby, nice variety of shots, and slight elevation changes. Tough course when the wind is roaring! which it usually is!! Fun Course!!
Cons: still a fresh course, so alot of room for improvement. also 2pm-sunset it can get really crowded with pedestrians and other park users.
Other Thoughts: as time goes by, this course only can get better..

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Lost in the Park

1    2/25/2013   3/3/2013
Review By: what'shisname
Played: 29  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Makes great use of the land available with elevation, trees and OB all coming into play.
Disc golf in Maui!
Cons: Little to no tee markings makes it hard to navigate. I used a map I found on the club's facebook page, but it seems to me the layout's a lot different after hole 10 than the map shows.
Other Thoughts: Course is in its early days by looking through the facebook page and it sounds like the locals are putting in a lot of work on improvements. I played it on a weekday morning and was nearly the only one in the park but I can imagine that it gets busy after school. Nice option for golfing if you don't have time to make it up the mountain.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

first permanent public course on maui

2-4    3/2/2013   3/2/2013
Review By: Spectralmonkey
Played: 99  Reviewed: 6
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: some nice elevation and other challenges
a valiant effort has been made by the locals to keep the course safe, challenging and fun.
a good variety of shots required in the middle section...
a fun course if you want to play some disc without the mission of poli poli ;)
Cons: wind makes what might be an otherwise easy course very difficult.
plays in and around soccer fields, and pedestrian walkways... can be dangerous if your disc gets blown around or you dont have a spotter or have a bad shot.... could be disasterous
no tee pads... some tee off areas are not apparent whatsoever.
cris-crossing and shared baskets add to the confusion.
navigation might have been impossible without the help of some locals.
Other Thoughts: we played doubles on wednesday afternoon and that was a nice way to learn the course. however after school lets out all the fields and walkways fill up with people. best to go in the morning.

it is a work in progress... baskets have been moved, and navigation re-routed a number of times and all the work was done by volunteers.
if you can imagine the work that has gone into the course it makes it worth a play just to honor all the efforts put forth. aloha!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Unknown layout

1    2/26/2013   2/27/2013
Review By: beauzen
Played: 24  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 35.9 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Similar to another review, there is another place on Maui where you can throw your discs (at baskets).
Cons: No course information, including number of holes and layout, was available. Can have very gusty winds.
Other Thoughts: It's very nice to have a place to throw/play - it would just be that much nicer if a map could be made available somewhere, somehow...

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.