Disc Golf Store
Houston, TX 
Nottingham Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #9 (Taken 5/2008)
3 / 252ft.   3 / 360ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9B Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
12 Hole Gem

2-4    11/16/2013   11/17/2013
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 125  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 2.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One thing that this course that is unique is the number of holes it has. Not 6, 9 or 18. 12 Holes. The holes are a good mix of long and open to a few trees scattered making shot shaping a must.

There are dual tees. The long tees are quite long and will make it a challenge to the most seasoned layer while the shorts are still challenging but a good way to introduce new people to the game.

The course is easy to navigate, quick to play and you will be the only golfer out there which is always a plus.
Cons: Although you may be the only GOLFER there you will have to share the park with just about everyone and their mothers. The park is crowded with kids, dogs, lovers and it could either keep you waiting in between shots or running the risk of hitting someone. The majority of park goers are probably not aware of the course, just be patient.

Hole 3 is gone and it will probably be gone for a long time since this course does not get much love. Some of the tee markers have lost their signs. Age and lack of up keep is really showing out here.
Other Thoughts: In my opinion the challenge is greater here than at neighbor crowd-favorite Agnes Moffit. It is a bit more technical in the trees and has a bit more length to it.
If the tee posts were different colors from Tee A to Tee B then this course would be much easier to navigate. This would be a course I would not mind being in my neighborhood. Just stay alert of the other park people; they have every right to the park as you do,

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Surprisingly Good

1    8/21/2013   8/23/2013
Review By: jgsqueak
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Laid out very well for getting 12 holes in a smaller neighborhood park.
-Just enough trees to keep you honest, but not completely alter every throw.
-Long for beginners yet fun for experienced players. 9 holes have birdie potential with well thrown drives.
-Close to my office for that fast lunchtime round...
Cons: -Takes a second to find the next tee/pin.
-One tee backs up to a fence making a short run up. Also a tree right in the way (if you play the left of the tee) and it looks like people cheat to the right of the tee post.
-#11 is tough to get close to the pin because it is surrounded by trees. Pin could be up on the hill.
Other Thoughts: For a small neighborhood park, this course is fun to play. Very accessible from the west side of town, but not a destination course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice 12 Hole Course

1    8/16/2013   8/16/2013
Review By: bogeymanjr
Played: 27  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nice 12-hole course in a nice little neighborhood park. Usually I have trouble navigating these courses that only have stake tees and baskets that are for the most part unmarked, but this course was an exception. When I found the tees for hole 1, I played it and had no problems finding the other 11 holes. The course flows nicely around the park, and, even with some of the tee signs missing, I was able to find each and every hole all right. I never even played to the wrong basket once which, usually with a course like this I will do from time to time, but not here. It is true that the course is mostly open, but there are trees in just the right spots as another reviewer said. I know: I hit at least two while I played here today. I did have some other close calls where I just did miss some trees. I will just say that there are enough out here to give some of your shots thought. All in all, a nice course to come and get some practice in before a thrower goes and plays some of the bigger courses.
Cons: Some of the tee signs are missing and some of the numbering on the baskets has worn off. Other than that, I find very little else wrong with this course.
Other Thoughts: I do not believe anyone will be seeing concrete tees on this course any time soon, if ever. But that does not take away from the play ability of this course. Shorter than usual, yes. But that did not stop me from playing the course through twice. This is a course that can stand on its own against any other including Agnes Moffitt park. Incidentally, when added to the 18 once or twice through at Moffitt, can make for a pretty full disc golf morning like it did mine.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Deceptively easy and quick

1    6/28/2013   6/30/2013
Review By: Kursk
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Small, short city park.
Deceptively wide open but the trees are in all the "right" spots.
Grass is pretty well maintained.
Plays very quickly
Dual pads were nice. The back tees for the most part add a really nice bit of challenge to the course.
I say it's deceptively easy and it is. When I get there I think it'll be a breeze but tree location made it interesting. Once the trees get a chance to grow, it'll be a bear of a course.
Cons: If I hadn't been playing with someone that was a regular, I'd totally have been lost. Very much a links style course that desperately cries out for some better tees/markers. The water park was busy but the park wasn't since it's over 105 out. There was still a big picnic/bbq with a giant bouncy castle we had to play around.
Other Thoughts: 11 really missed it from being great by now mounting the chains on that hill. Still, it's plenty brutal thanks to those limbs. Ugh.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

played 1/19/13 - quick but fun

1    1/19/2013   1/23/2013
Review By: McC.Alexander
Played: 34  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/3/2013
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: +dual tee signs
+intermediate course - the trees are a pain but they are the only natural hazards
Cons: -no tee pads (although this doesnt really bother me)
-very busy park (i went on a saturday evening around 5pm and there were a lot of kids and people out for walks that we had to wait for)
-a few of the tee signs had been ripped off (but we were still able to navigate which hole to throw to - and this was our first time at this course)
-I wish there were 18 holes...
Other Thoughts: overall I really enjoyed the course. it is less than a 10 minute drive away from my house so due to the proximity I will definitely play there again. because it is only 12 holes it goes by quickly so it might serve as a good course to play after work when Im losing light fast.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Better than I expected

1    8/12/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: TexasChains
Played: 58  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Well Maintained Park
- I was the only golfer
- Dual Tees
- Easy to navigate
- Mix of different lines
Cons: - Flat
- Picnicers in the fairway
- Kids jumping on the baskets
Other Thoughts: - Played this as part of a set with BridgePoint church course to make it a full 18
- Good course for beginners or people who lose a lot of discs

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Needs Maturing

2-4    12/23/2009   1/13/2010
Review By: allen
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Plenty of open spaces to really go for it on a few long holes!
Nice course for only 12 holes...was a pretty good challenge from the A tees but the B's are pretty easy
Cons: Most holes are straight and many of the trees on the course are very young and will be much more challenging in a few years when they have grown up a bit.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Solid but not seriously challenging.

5+    5/16/2009   3/20/2009
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/29/2010
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All tee boxes play on grass and are adequately marked with a post showing the hole number and yardage. The alternate boxes (A) will force a person to play the holes slightly different than the regular boxes (B), but mostly there are just longer.

There is a practice pin by the hole one near the park lot, so a person has the opportunity to warm-up - even though most holes play between 200' - 300'. The holes are a mix of lightly to moderately wooded shots and opening up on holes 8-11.

The Alief area isn't the greatest part of Houston, so to see that they have taken the time to remark the course and move pins to make a 12 hole course is encouraging. The old hole eleven pin still stands by the tennis court in case you are new to the course and are a bit confused. Also, being in the park area, it's open enough so the kids can run around, and the entire course is stroller friendly.

BEST HOLE/S: #6; #7
Cons: Only one hole (11) plays over 400', but at 503' (marked under 500' on the marker) it takes two solid shots to be in proximity to a pin guarded by a big overhanging branch.

The pins are still playable, but some are leaning slightly, and many show the signs of wear and tear.

I went early to avoid the crowds, but still managed to wait for people on hole nine since it's so close to the walking track around the park perimeter. Even though this wasn't an issue for me, there is a picnic area set up by hole twelve, so in the prime time hours, hole twelve may be unplayable due to people.

WORST HOLE/S: #1; #10
Other Thoughts: I loved Nottingham when I first started playing, since it had a good mix of trees and open shots, but wasn't hard enough to frustrate me from playing the game. New players still working on their accuracy will want to be careful though - (especially 9, 10, & 12).

In my book, having alternate pins goes a long way; having felt satisfied playing 24 holes of golf. Granted, the course isn't very difficult, but still lets you enjoy a good day of solid golf without having to worry about losing a disc or competing with many other disc golfers.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.