Greenwood Village, CO 
Village Greens Park Share
Uploaded By: Shmacka Hole #1 (Taken 3/2013)
4 / 410ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Good practice course

5+    9/10/2014   9/11/2014
Review By: tommyboy
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.3 Years
Pros: - Nice tee boxes
- Friendly Locals
- Mowed fairways
Cons: - Can get windy
Other Thoughts: I really like this course and play it 3 to 4 times a week since I work in the area. I find that this is a good course since it is not normally busy during working hours 9am to 3 pm. I know people who play tags here on Wednesday nights and they all like playing here as well

Great addition in the front range

5+    7/22/2014   8/1/2014
Review By: troberts
Played: 12  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.6 Years
Pros: Great location for DTC and Aurora players. Good elevation changes and fairly decent variety of length. Pet friendly and clean Port-a-Pottie. When fairways get mowed, its great. Pretty good for families and novice players.
Cons: Trees and bushes have a lot of growing to do. But, grasses and weeds have been out of control in 2014. Watch your disc landing and use landmarks, otherwise you could be searching for a while. 13-16 can get really muddy, but players have been trampling down new walking paths that avoid it. Consistently, you'll run into families and novice groups that slow you down and don't often let you play through. Course gets crowded after work and on weekends.
Other Thoughts: Note: * GWV City Council is currently considering all municipal parks going smoke-free. This course has a TON of cigarette and pot smokers. So, change may be on the horizon for this course.

Course Review

5+    7/15/2014   7/27/2014
Review By: westonian18
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4
Pros: Easy to find holes
Rarely busy on weekdays
Open layout
Relatively easy to find discs
Maps on rocks, trash cans
Cons: Crowded on weekends
Way too easy
Minimal terrain and obstacles
Other Thoughts: Fairly good course for the area, every other course around has good probability of loosing discs but this course is not too bad if you land a throw in the fairway (when course is mowed)
.
Watch out for wind in the late afternoon and families/crowds on weekend

Great course to perfect your throw, also easy to start from the back 9 if crowded

If you play them all as 3's this course is fairly challenging.

An ideal course for everyone

5+    7/18/2014   7/24/2014
Review By: brandenhead
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Very wide open area allows players to throw as far as they want to. Usually perfect for trying new driving techniques, or getting a hang of the sport.

- Concrete tees with marked post showing basket number and par, excellent for players that want to keep score easily.

- Baskets are strong and sturdy, though some you might have to really look for. Fortunately, some players have placed flags on top of the more hard-to-spot baskets.

- Plenty of space for you to enjoy your game without feeling any pressure from other players. A bigger course yields bigger gaps in groups.

- Fantastic supportive attitude from fellow disc golfers in the area.

- Like most courses, the difficulty grows mildly every basket. Like basket 1 is much easier than 5, which is very easy compared to 14, etc. This adds a bit of fun to the course.

- Obstacles are fun, and not too frustrating. The hardest one is basket 14, where players have to throw to the basket behind a really big tree and VERY thick grass/bushes. If your disc gets caught in there, ultimately you can get it out. Which is a better alternative to a lake, wherein you'd lose it.

- A full 18 basket course allows players to get a fulfilling experience.

- Totally free

- During the day, especially on weekdays, it's practically empty.

- Very nice surroundings, you can hang out at the park afterwards to practice your throws without interrupting other players.
Cons: - The tall grass CAN be very overwhelming when looking for your discs. I suggest when playing in groups of 2 or more, have one friend be the observer, watching where the first players' disc goes. When the first player finds their disc, THEN that observer throws, while the first player keeps an eye on their disc this time. It's a great way to maximize your time actually playing the game, and not mindlessly searching for your disc.

- Throw your brightest disc, in coordinance to my last note, it's much easier to find your disc if it's a nice bright, vivid color. I personally throw all yellow, but great colors are also pink, blue, and white.

- Basket 14, as fun as it is, can be very intimidating. After some practice, it's not a big deal, but I've always associated basket 14 to searching for my discs in the lush bushes for at least 30 minutes, no matter what color the disc is. It's more of the actual walking into the giant bush, feeling like you're getting swallowed by a giant foliage monster. But you'll soon find a tactic that works for you to avoid all that.

- This IS a very wide open field. And with that, you have to expect to see animals of all shapes and sizes. I personally have seen chipmunks, birds, snakes, and the occasional field mouse. Not a con, really, but I stepped on a snake a couple visits ago and it bit my shoe. So, just watch your step.

- Speaking of animals, if you play in the evening, prepare to be eaten alive by gnats.

- Since this is an open field, it is very susceptible to windy conditions. But if you have the right disc and throwing technique, it wont be a problem. But for newbies, it can be frustrating at times.

- While it's true what I said earlier, about the nice spacing of groups between courses, there are plenty of opportunities for cross shots between you and another player from another basket. I've only really seen it happen around basket 8. And when you're on 18, yell fore or something to warn people entering the course, since the basket is right on the path leading to the parking lot.

- Unfortunately, there's a lot of people who leave their garbage around. But it's been getting better lately.
Other Thoughts: In short, this is an ideal course for anyone to play, from the seasoned veteran to the anxious newbie. Just make sure to wear a good pair of shoes and bring plenty of water because you will be walking around in knee-high grass for a while. But it's worth it!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Under rated course.

5+    7/16/2014   7/17/2014
Review By: HerbDiesel
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.3 Years
Pros: ~Concrete tees & carved rock markers at each hole shows par, distance and map of each hole.

~Usually VERY low traffic during "business hours"

~The course is relatively new so everything is still in great shape.

~Good use of the natural hills and landscape.

~Nice variety of par and distance
(Great for Beginners)

~Course regularly has high winds, bringing additional challenge.
Cons: ~Occasionally, confused mountain bikers will accidentally drive the DGC instead of the designated mountain bike trail.

~The trees are still too young but will prove to be great obstacles in coming years

~Course is VERY busy around 5-7

~Tall Grass. Can easily lose your disc in the rough if you don't pay close attention where it lands.

~Native spear grass will get caught in your socks and shoes if you aren't careful. (Better off throwing away your socks if you walk through a bad patch)

Great course for beginners

5+    7/2/2014   7/3/2014
Review By: josch
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Low risk of losing a disc
-Good use of elevation
-Strategically placed trees can be challenging
-Nice variety of distance
-Concrete tees
-Decorative rocks with information on each hole.
-Away form other park users
Cons: -Fairways can be very close together
-Grass can get out of control
-Trees are new and small
-Greens are really fast
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and the course I learned to play on. I've played here about 50 times and still enjoy it. The course presents a nice challenge due to the strategically placed trees right off of the tees.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    3/1/2014   5/27/2014
Review By: thaboss44
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Longer holes and nobody else on the area make for a good round. Course is easy to follow with nice pads and signage pointing the way.
Cons: Very open. Not a lot of greenery. There are a couple of trees planted, that when mature, will make a little more challenging. Only one position for the baskets. The same course layout over and over again.
Other Thoughts: A nice course if you're in the area. Maybe a few hole changes to mix it up a little bit.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Village Greens is Brown

1    4/10/2014   4/13/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 345  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Sweet painted rocks for tee signs, Unique and helpful.
+Nice baskets
+Nice concrete tees
+Variations in length
+Creek comes into play on a few holes
+They have planted trees, hopefully they grow and add challenge. More trees could definitely be planted.
+Pretty easy to find your way around this course. Logical flow.
+Other things to do at this park without getting in the way of disc golf. I wish I had brought my mountain bike as there is a trail around the outside of the park.
Cons: -Very open
-Very flat
-Very dry, dusty, windy. Only some very hardy prairie grass survives. That stuff could eat a disc if you don't pay attention but it isn't too thick.
-It was very repetitive. There is some distance variation but not much else. For me, it was a reasonably long drive on a mild hyzer line then putting out on shorter holes or a short, open approach before holing out on the few long ones.
Other Thoughts: -This course is new and could improve. With growth in the quantity and quality of trees, this course could become more fun and challenging.
-This is a nice park that they have clearly put money and time into. They did everything right but the park just isn't good for disc golf. It is similar to many parks in the Denver Metro area in that regard.
-I wouldn't recommend this course if you had to go out of your way but it isn't worth much of a drive.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Mostly open and wind-exposed

5+    9/8/2013   11/13/2013
Review By: djros
Played: 29  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 4.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice concrete tee pads on every hole. The tee signs are custom, carved rocks with a hole diagram and distances engraved in the rock. Good variety of distances. The course is mostly flat, but does use the elevation it does have nicely, with a couple of nice uphill and downhill shots. The 15th is a fun ace run if you know where to throw across the small river between the tee and basket, which is blind from the tee.
Cons: Only one tee and basket per hole, means players of every skill level are stuck playing the same course. A few holes might be a little long for beginners. The course is mainly wide open, and even though there isn't a practical need for a defined fairway, it does make it less fun when you have to walk through the wild prairie grass on most of the holes. A couple holes play close to eachother, and there are a couple tees from which you could easily throw to the wrong basket the first time you play this course. Not a big issue if you play this course more than once, but something to be aware of the first time you play this course.
Other Thoughts: This course can get really windy. I've been caught off guard a few times when arriving at this course. A light breeze at my home, which is just 5 miles from this course, can be a strong wind at this park. Don't know if it is because it is so open, or if the nearby dam intensifies the wind, but I've cut short a couple rounds because of the wind here. There is plenty of evidence that they plan on having improved landscaping on this course in the future. There are a bunch of newly planted trees and bushes with irrigation systems throughout the course. Hopefully, they take good care of this course, as the layout has plenty of potential if the landscaping that they have started is allowed to mature. If the trees and bushes are allowed to fill in, there is definitely potential for the rating of this course to go up. This is a fun course to play when the weather is nice, but can get frustrating when the wind is up.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Where the rich people frolf

5+    9/8/2013   9/8/2013
Review By: Rampant
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well laid out course once you know it. The end of the front 9 and the back nine is in the same place, right next to the parking lot. It makes it easy to play 9 holes and go back to the car or 27 if you're like me and you want to play the back 9 twice.

Front 9 is pretty easy. Great place for beginners to learn how to play. Lots of wide open shots, little to no risk of losing a disc. The back 9 is a little more advanced, and I think more fun.

There's a few long par 4's mixed in that improve the course. You can really test your throwing arm if you want to come in under par.

The city spent a lot of money doing landscaping and putting in trees, sprinklers, beautiful carved stone tee markers and so on. A for effort on that part.
Cons: There is maybe 1 mature tree on the course. This makes for a lot of wide open, easy shots that really only test your throwing ability. Once the trees that the city put in do grow in it will be a lot more fun, probably one of the better courses in Denver Metro.

The course can be ridiculously windy. Be sure to bring something super overstable and something super understable for throwing with and against the wind.

Pretty easy, just not a lot of difficulty here. There are maybe 2 holes that require any kind of technical shot making.
Other Thoughts: I play this course a lot. A lot a lot, because it's 2 miles from my house. When I first played it I didn't like it at all. I thought that the city really failed with the course. But the more I played it, the more I like it. It has really grown on me a lot. Kudos to Centennial for doing the best that they could to put in a course in a pretty barren area. If you enjoy mountain biking there is a cool course to ride here that circles the frolf course. Not to mention the marina, soccer fields, baseball fields and so on. You could really make a day of all the activities there are to do around here. If you come out to play, I hope to see you there.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.