Greenwood Village, CO 
Village Greens Park Share
Uploaded By: Dryhorse Hole #8 (Taken 7/2015)
3 / 245ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee: Slight uphill to basket, which sits on the left side of this hill with a couple small trees in the center



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Play this course all the time.

5+    7/23/2015   7/24/2015
Review By: N1NJ0
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Convenient location - short walk from Dayton station (lightrail) easily accessible by highway
Friendly regulars - I've played this course a lot! Nearly ever day, I leave 90 minutes early for work and always get a game in. I have never run into a dg snob or any other unfriendly person. I've played it busy, and lightly played.
Cons: WEEEEEEDDDDSSSSSSSS - While it is kept up with as best as I'm sure is feasible. The tall grass and weeds can definitely eat your disc(s).
Fairly simple - while I am no expert, this course doesn't have any really good elevation changes or water hazards or trees or rocks or... You get my point...
Other Thoughts: Great, fun course. It can get hot in direct sunlight though. Definitely bring your sunscreen.

Decent Course Within Denver Metro

5+    6/18/2015   7/7/2015
Review By: SteLaG
Played: 60  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Actually has some elevation, and vegetation to make things a bit more interesting. Course will be much better in years to come when some of the trees have actually grown in. Not a very difficult course, but always very fun and enjoyable to play.
Cons: Concrete tee pads are somewhat small. Not a huge issue because most of the holes are relatively short, but it would be nice to have a full size pad on the few long holes. There are some very nice sculptures on each hole that are intended to show the distance and layout of the hole. Unfortunately, they have not weathered well and are very difficult to read. I'm sure at one point in time they were awesome, but now they just look like extra rocks pilled up next to the tee pad. Hopefully they will be restored or replaced so people can actually read them.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the better courses around the Denver Metro Area (This isn't saying a lot considering how bad some of the other courses are, but it is still better than nothing). All and all a very fun and enjoyable course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Lots of weeds.

2-4    6/29/2015   7/6/2015
Review By: JoBujski
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 7/8/2015
Pros: -It's conveniently located and easy to find the first tee.
-There is a wide range of lengths of the holes.
-There are a few good obstacles. The trees have grown a lot and there are a lot of good hills.
-Great tee pads.
-It's easy to navigate the tees and pins due to the fairways.
Cons: -There are sooo much weeds in the summer. When I went last with my dad and a friend we spent 10 minutes searching for all of our discs after our first throw on the first hole in at least knee-high weeds, getting stickers all over our shoes that poked into our socks. We also were slowed down by other people looking for their discs. I am not sure if they mowed it since then but if you go to this course and see 2ft.-high weeds on the left and right of the fairway on the first hole, just leave, because without someone to spot your throws and where they land, your almost bound to lose a disc.
Other Thoughts: But if everything is mowed when you go, you'll have a lot of fun!
In the colder months, all of the plants are dead and not overgrown, and when I went there about a year-and-a-half ago, my dad and I had a blast. I think this course is probably the best in the metro area east of the I-225...when most of the weeds are gone.

Great Course

5+    5/23/2015   5/25/2015
Review By: d rock
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.6 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course is awesome all around and for all skill levels. Small elevation changes through out the course. Tee pads are usually in good shape, given the weather, shoe cleaners at most holes. 1 port o potty in the middle of the course. Course flows well from hole to hole.
Other Thoughts: Couple more trash cans would be good.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Best course in eastern metro area

5+    12/20/2014   1/9/2015
Review By: Rowick
Played: 11  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.1 Years
Pros: I truly believe this is the best course in the eastern metro area. The tee pad for one and ten are both right by the parking lot so its really easy to do just a half round. They did a really good job with the layout of the couse, and the park as a whole. There is really no reason to be any where near the course if you're not playing disc golf; the course flows very well even without a map its not hard for a first timer to find their way around, also the course is easy enough to not be frustrating and you probably won't lost a disc so bad it can't be found
Cons: one of the big down sides to the lay out is that nine is right in the middle of the fairway for one. This is really the only thing on the course that makes you say "why did they do that?
While there are some interesting elevation changes on the front nine; after hole #13 it was just all flat
Prairie dog holes and uneven ground make run ups on second shots dicey
Other Thoughts: this will be a really cool course in 15 year if the veg lives
also this course connects to the Dayton light rail station via a path which starting in 2016 will connect to the air port so you could paly this course on a long layover (say at least 6 hours to do it justice) via just foot and trian

 Wide open, windy, moderately hilly

5+    7/19/2015   10/21/2014
Review By: Dryhorse
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 7/19/2015
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has a decent layout, with a front 9 loop, and a back 9 loop. It's easy to start at hole 10 if the front 9 is crowded. Easy navigation with a course map sign located at the entrance, plus easy to follow beaten paths between holes. There is a centrally located porto-potty next to the utility shed in the middle of the course.

Teepads and baskets are excellent. About every 2-3 holes, there is a dried out log to sit on at the tee.

Skill wise, this course has a few things going for it. Elevation changes, wind exposure, and wide open distance control. It's a great course for a rec or intermediate player who is learning to ride the wind, pure their shots, and control distance. Also a good course for an advanced player who is looking to perfect their distance control hyzers. There is a decent amount of distance on the course, with I believe 3 holes at 445, then a few other long shots at 415, 350, and a few more in the low 300's.

Fairways are well defined from a brush that you may have trouble finding a disc in, but will never lose a disc in. *EDIT 2015* With unusual amounts of rain this spring and early summer, the brush is now thick enough to occasionally lose a disc in, if you don't have a very close eye on it.

Nice neighborhood, next to open practice fields for a high school. Course is very clean. Close to DTC for an after work round.

No bugs.
Cons: The main negative is the complete lack of significant obstacles, so that the course requires only two shots: a flat putter/midrange shot, and a distance control hyzer. The DGCR "lightly wooded" category is a misnomer here. This is a new course, set up in 2013, and there are young trees that will gradually come into play over the years. I could see this course becoming a 3.0 in my book after about 10-20 years of tree growth.

The fairways are too close in a few spots, watch out for errant throws that get blown off target by the wind.

On winter melt days, and through much of spring, course becomes an unplayable field of thick mud. Rest of the year, conditions are generally excellent.

Long pants are almost a must during summer bloom due to the amount of grass seeds that will get in your shoes while walking through the rough.

No practice basket. There's a lot of free land in the park, and there could be a practice putting basket somewhere around hole 1 or near the parking lot.

Traffic can be bad getting to the course at rush hour due to its proximity to DTC.
Other Thoughts: Good course for rec and intermediate skill range, but a higher level player could skip it.

Top pros would throw a hyzer at nearly every hole and 2 about 15 - 18 of them.

Sunscreen and water are a must if playing in the middle of the day.

Course gets crowded evenings and weekends, especially if wind is calm.

I am a little biased being from Minnesota originally. For transplants from other DG scenes with more course variety, this is a 2.5 star course all day. For Denver locals, it's one of the better options without driving into the mountains, so it gets the 3.0 ratings from many.

Trees are growing nicely, and Greenwood Village (the municipality that manages the park) puts a lot of effort into this park. I could easily see it become a 3.0 park sometime soon. Last year I estimated that was at least 10 years out. Now I'd say it's possible within even a couple years. The city really does a great job maintaining the course and improving it.

A practice putting area would go a long way towards improving the course. And also adding some mandos (some of the trees are almost tall enough to make them a mando) where the fairways are close to each other, or some optional OB lines / island greens could even make this course a 3.5 star. Hole 12, 13 and 17 would all be great island green candidates. Hole 1 almost needs a mando and a right side OB line, because a RHBH player's correct shot is currently to throw a hyzer directly 20 feet over hole 9's green.

Decent course, moving quickly toward being a good course and one of the best options in Denver without driving up the mountains. Keep improving it Greenwood!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Super nice, always crowded

1    9/27/2014   9/27/2014
Review By: chips n salsa
Played: 13  Reviewed: 6
Pros: Well marked tee boxes and baskets, distance to basket etched in stone on each box, a few birdie and ace opportunities, zero water hazards, slight up and down elevation on a few holes.
Cons: Usually crowded although most gladly wave you through, devastating cross winds most of the time, thick brush, bushes and trees make it difficult to find errant throws at times.
Other Thoughts: Relatively quick drive from downtown. 30-35 minutes during 5pm rush hour traffic. Easy and fast drive on weekends. If you're a cyclist you can ride the Cherry Creek Trail from downtown in less than an hour.

Good practice course

5+    9/10/2014   9/11/2014
Review By: tommyboy
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Nice tee boxes
- Friendly Locals
- Mowed fairways
Cons: - Can get windy
Other Thoughts: I really like this course and play it 3 to 4 times a week since I work in the area. I find that this is a good course since it is not normally busy during working hours 9am to 3 pm. I know people who play tags here on Wednesday nights and they all like playing here as well

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great addition in the front range

5+    7/22/2014   8/1/2014
Review By: troberts
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.4 Years
Pros: Great location for DTC and Aurora players. Good elevation changes and fairly decent variety of length. Pet friendly and clean Port-a-Pottie. When fairways get mowed, its great. Pretty good for families and novice players.
Cons: Trees and bushes have a lot of growing to do. But, grasses and weeds have been out of control in 2014. Watch your disc landing and use landmarks, otherwise you could be searching for a while. 13-16 can get really muddy, but players have been trampling down new walking paths that avoid it. Consistently, you'll run into families and novice groups that slow you down and don't often let you play through. Course gets crowded after work and on weekends.
Other Thoughts: Note: * GWV City Council is currently considering all municipal parks going smoke-free. This course has a TON of cigarette and pot smokers. So, change may be on the horizon for this course.

Course Review

5+    7/15/2014   7/27/2014
Review By: westonian18
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy to find holes
Rarely busy on weekdays
Open layout
Relatively easy to find discs
Maps on rocks, trash cans
Cons: Crowded on weekends
Way too easy
Minimal terrain and obstacles
Other Thoughts: Fairly good course for the area, every other course around has good probability of loosing discs but this course is not too bad if you land a throw in the fairway (when course is mowed)
.
Watch out for wind in the late afternoon and families/crowds on weekend

Great course to perfect your throw, also easy to start from the back 9 if crowded

If you play them all as 3's this course is fairly challenging.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.