Greenwood Village, CO 
Village Greens Park Share
Uploaded By: Dryhorse Hole #4 (Taken 7/2015)
3 / 350ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee: Straight and downhill, often with a L to R headwind



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Decently open + wonderful layout = awesome course!!!!

5+    6/19/2016   6/21/2016
Review By: ddboss02
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Agh, where do I start? This course is just so awesome. My dad and I started disc golf about three years ago. We could hardly throw it fifty feet, and our technique was horrible. Well, whether you're extremely good, or just a beginner, this course is for you. An average round for my dad and me is about 55 +/- minutes. Very decent time, which is appealing to many players. We sometimes will go for two, which of course falls close to two hours - still not too bad. The terrain has a wonderful variation as the years advance. Spring brings tall, green, luscious, disc eating (if you aren't careful, of course) grass (some players like to wear pants and say it's annoying, but I don't particularly mind), some of which has sticker-seeds which get stuck in your socks, but don't damper the round in any way. Summer brings a lot of the same stuff, but they MOW THE GRASS in July!!!!!! Fall, very open, easy course. Leaves are falling off the trees, which 1, allows your disc to skip a bit better due to a smoother terrain, and 2, it opens up throwing routes that weren't possible during the Spring and Summer. The Winter (one of my favorite times to play!!!) is much the same as the fall, so long as there isn't snow. Keep in mind: this is still Colorado. Which means the weather can change in just a few minutes. Anyways, that's all I have for pros, but first lemme sum it all up:
1. Great for all levels of play
2. Decent time commitment
3. Huge variation of terrain between seasons
Cons: And now for the cons: The only thing I would say to the staff of this course is this: Please mow the course earlier in the year, maybe twice a year even. By mid June, this course is very hairy and needing attention. Later August, it would be good to mow again. All the grass is fine besides the fact that if you aren't careful and watch your disc all the way to the ground, it can really bury itself down in the taller grass where you can't see it unless you walk right to it and move the grass aside. Some of the other grass has something I think are called 'sticker-seeds', which are exactly what they sound like. You walk through them, they stick themselves into your socks or whatever, and tickle/scratch your ankles until you stop and pull them out. Not much to say for cons as this is an awesome course, but lemme sum it all up:
1. Tall grass makes it easy to lose your disc
2. Only mowed once a year
3. Relentless 'sticker-seeds'
Other Thoughts: So, in conclusion, if you're looking for a course suitable for all levels of play so you can take your wife, girlfriend, or young kids out for some time doing what you love, if you're looking for a somewhat easy course to start with, or even if you're simply passing through Colorado and wanting to take a rest stop and play some disc golf, THIS IS THE COURSE FOR YOU!! That's all there is to say. My dad and I play this course 5 +/- times a week, and totally love it. I am now able to throw it almost to the longest hole on the course (461 +/- feet) and my dad is biting at my heels. If it weren't for this course, we would never have started, and IT is what got us to the level of play we're at today.
Thank you Village Greens.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

As Open as Nebraska

1    8/18/2015   9/13/2015
Review By: Pierparknut
Played: 25  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2016
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Course plays in a giant open field in its own area of a nice, clean multi-use park. Great location, nice and close to downtown.
-Nice and easy, hardly any trees. Water on only a few holes.
-Great course to try out new discs
-Nice DGA baskets
-Easy navigation
-Gentle elevation change
Cons: -May be too open. You can throw your favorite type of shot on almost every hole.
-Can get VERY windy. No trees = no windbreaks = hard to putt When I played it was gusting. I didn't make ANYTHING. :-( That didn't help the self-esteem.
-Wear pants. Knee-high grass gets very annoying.
Other Thoughts: -Keep an eye on your disc. This course is open as hell. Everything looks the same and its easy to forget where you threw it. The land is nice and slightly hilly, but the course would be so much better if some trees were planted.
-I was able to get out for a round here on vacation. It was a super windy day and I made only one putt outside 15 ft. GRRR.
-Next time I'm in Denver, I will try to find a course with at least a few trees :-)

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Not Bad

1    8/22/2015   8/22/2015
Review By: SharkRock135
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Nice elevation change on the front 9
- Distance can change drastically between holes
- Trees and tall grass are used as good obstacles
Cons: -tall grass and weeds makes it hard to find a disc
- LOTS of bugs in the morning; remember to bring bug spray and wear pants
Other Thoughts: I don't live in Colorado but if I did I might play this course again if I had some bug spray.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Play this course all the time.

5+    7/23/2015   7/24/2015
Review By: N1NJ0
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Convenient location - short walk from Dayton station (lightrail) easily accessible by highway
Friendly regulars - I've played this course a lot! Nearly ever day, I leave 90 minutes early for work and always get a game in. I have never run into a dg snob or any other unfriendly person. I've played it busy, and lightly played.
Cons: WEEEEEEDDDDSSSSSSSS - While it is kept up with as best as I'm sure is feasible. The tall grass and weeds can definitely eat your disc(s).
Fairly simple - while I am no expert, this course doesn't have any really good elevation changes or water hazards or trees or rocks or... You get my point...
Other Thoughts: Great, fun course. It can get hot in direct sunlight though. Definitely bring your sunscreen.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Decent Course Within Denver Metro

5+    6/18/2015   7/7/2015
Review By: SteLaG
Played: 70  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 13.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Actually has some elevation, and vegetation to make things a bit more interesting. Course will be much better in years to come when some of the trees have actually grown in. Not a very difficult course, but always very fun and enjoyable to play.
Cons: Concrete tee pads are somewhat small. Not a huge issue because most of the holes are relatively short, but it would be nice to have a full size pad on the few long holes. There are some very nice sculptures on each hole that are intended to show the distance and layout of the hole. Unfortunately, they have not weathered well and are very difficult to read. I'm sure at one point in time they were awesome, but now they just look like extra rocks pilled up next to the tee pad. Hopefully they will be restored or replaced so people can actually read them.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the better courses around the Denver Metro Area (This isn't saying a lot considering how bad some of the other courses are, but it is still better than nothing). All and all a very fun and enjoyable course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of weeds.

2-4    6/29/2015   7/6/2015
Review By: JoBujski
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 8/2/2015
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -It's conveniently located and easy to find the first tee.
-There is a wide range of lengths of the holes.
-There are a few good obstacles. The trees have grown a lot and there are a lot of good hills.
-Great tee pads.
-It's easy to navigate the tees and pins due to the fairways.
Cons: -There are sooo much weeds in the summer. When I went last with my dad and a friend we spent 10 minutes searching for all of our discs after our first throw on the first hole in at least knee-high weeds, getting stickers all over our shoes that poked into our socks. We also were slowed down by other people looking for their discs. I am not sure if they mowed it since then but if you go to this course and see 2ft.-high weeds on the left and right of the fairway on the first hole, just leave, because without someone to spot your throws and where they land, your almost bound to lose a disc.
Other Thoughts: But if everything is mowed when you go, you'll have a lot of fun!
In the colder months, all of the plants are dead and not overgrown, and when I went there about a year-and-a-half ago, my dad and I had a blast. I think this course is probably the best in the metro area east of the I-225...when most of the weeds are gone.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

5+    5/23/2015   5/25/2015
Review By: d rock
Played: 17  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.5 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course is awesome all around and for all skill levels. Small elevation changes through out the course. Tee pads are usually in good shape, given the weather, shoe cleaners at most holes. 1 port o potty in the middle of the course. Course flows well from hole to hole.
Other Thoughts: Couple more trash cans would be good.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Best course in eastern metro area

5+    12/20/2014   1/9/2015
Review By: Rowick
Played: 16  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2 Years
Pros: I truly believe this is the best course in the eastern metro area. The tee pad for one and ten are both right by the parking lot so its really easy to do just a half round. They did a really good job with the layout of the couse, and the park as a whole. There is really no reason to be any where near the course if you're not playing disc golf; the course flows very well even without a map its not hard for a first timer to find their way around, also the course is easy enough to not be frustrating and you probably won't lost a disc so bad it can't be found
Cons: one of the big down sides to the lay out is that nine is right in the middle of the fairway for one. This is really the only thing on the course that makes you say "why did they do that?
While there are some interesting elevation changes on the front nine; after hole #13 it was just all flat
Prairie dog holes and uneven ground make run ups on second shots dicey
Other Thoughts: this will be a really cool course in 15 year if the veg lives
also this course connects to the Dayton light rail station via a path which starting in 2016 will connect to the air port so you could paly this course on a long layover (say at least 6 hours to do it justice) via just foot and trian

Wide open, windy, moderately hilly

5+    7/19/2015   10/21/2014
Review By: Dryhorse
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 7/19/2015
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has a decent layout, with a front 9 loop, and a back 9 loop. It's easy to start at hole 10 if the front 9 is crowded. Easy navigation with a course map sign located at the entrance, plus easy to follow beaten paths between holes. There is a centrally located porto-potty next to the utility shed in the middle of the course.

Teepads and baskets are excellent. About every 2-3 holes, there is a dried out log to sit on at the tee.

Skill wise, this course has a few things going for it. Elevation changes, wind exposure, and wide open distance control. It's a great course for a rec or intermediate player who is learning to ride the wind, pure their shots, and control distance. Also a good course for an advanced player who is looking to perfect their distance control hyzers. There is a decent amount of distance on the course, with I believe 3 holes at 445, then a few other long shots at 415, 350, and a few more in the low 300's.

Fairways are well defined from a brush that you may have trouble finding a disc in, but will never lose a disc in. *EDIT 2015* With unusual amounts of rain this spring and early summer, the brush is now thick enough to occasionally lose a disc in, if you don't have a very close eye on it.

Nice neighborhood, next to open practice fields for a high school. Course is very clean. Close to DTC for an after work round.

No bugs.
Cons: The main negative is the complete lack of significant obstacles, so that the course requires only two shots: a flat putter/midrange shot, and a distance control hyzer. The DGCR "lightly wooded" category is a misnomer here. This is a new course, set up in 2013, and there are young trees that will gradually come into play over the years. I could see this course becoming a 3.0 in my book after about 10-20 years of tree growth.

The fairways are too close in a few spots, watch out for errant throws that get blown off target by the wind.

On winter melt days, and through much of spring, course becomes an unplayable field of thick mud. Rest of the year, conditions are generally excellent.

Long pants are almost a must during summer bloom due to the amount of grass seeds that will get in your shoes while walking through the rough.

No practice basket. There's a lot of free land in the park, and there could be a practice putting basket somewhere around hole 1 or near the parking lot.

Traffic can be bad getting to the course at rush hour due to its proximity to DTC.
Other Thoughts: Good course for rec and intermediate skill range, but a higher level player could skip it.

Top pros would throw a hyzer at nearly every hole and 2 about 15 - 18 of them.

Sunscreen and water are a must if playing in the middle of the day.

Course gets crowded evenings and weekends, especially if wind is calm.

I am a little biased being from Minnesota originally. For transplants from other DG scenes with more course variety, this is a 2.5 star course all day. For Denver locals, it's one of the better options without driving into the mountains, so it gets the 3.0 ratings from many.

Trees are growing nicely, and Greenwood Village (the municipality that manages the park) puts a lot of effort into this park. I could easily see it become a 3.0 park sometime soon. Last year I estimated that was at least 10 years out. Now I'd say it's possible within even a couple years. The city really does a great job maintaining the course and improving it.

A practice putting area would go a long way towards improving the course. And also adding some mandos (some of the trees are almost tall enough to make them a mando) where the fairways are close to each other, or some optional OB lines / island greens could even make this course a 3.5 star. Hole 12, 13 and 17 would all be great island green candidates. Hole 1 almost needs a mando and a right side OB line, because a RHBH player's correct shot is currently to throw a hyzer directly 20 feet over hole 9's green.

Decent course, moving quickly toward being a good course and one of the best options in Denver without driving up the mountains. Keep improving it Greenwood!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Super nice, always crowded

1    9/27/2014   9/27/2014
Review By: chips n salsa
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7
Pros: Well marked tee boxes and baskets, distance to basket etched in stone on each box, a few birdie and ace opportunities, zero water hazards, slight up and down elevation on a few holes.
Cons: Usually crowded although most gladly wave you through, devastating cross winds most of the time, thick brush, bushes and trees make it difficult to find errant throws at times.
Other Thoughts: Relatively quick drive from downtown. 30-35 minutes during 5pm rush hour traffic. Easy and fast drive on weekends. If you're a cyclist you can ride the Cherry Creek Trail from downtown in less than an hour.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.