Greenwood Village, CO 
Village Greens Park Share
Uploaded By: Shmacka Hole #6 (Taken 3/2013)
3 / 315ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
Mostly open and wind-exposed

5+    9/8/2013   11/13/2013
Review By: djros
Played: 30  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 4.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice concrete tee pads on every hole. The tee signs are custom, carved rocks with a hole diagram and distances engraved in the rock. Good variety of distances. The course is mostly flat, but does use the elevation it does have nicely, with a couple of nice uphill and downhill shots. The 15th is a fun ace run if you know where to throw across the small river between the tee and basket, which is blind from the tee.
Cons: Only one tee and basket per hole, means players of every skill level are stuck playing the same course. A few holes might be a little long for beginners. The course is mainly wide open, and even though there isn't a practical need for a defined fairway, it does make it less fun when you have to walk through the wild prairie grass on most of the holes. A couple holes play close to eachother, and there are a couple tees from which you could easily throw to the wrong basket the first time you play this course. Not a big issue if you play this course more than once, but something to be aware of the first time you play this course.
Other Thoughts: This course can get really windy. I've been caught off guard a few times when arriving at this course. A light breeze at my home, which is just 5 miles from this course, can be a strong wind at this park. Don't know if it is because it is so open, or if the nearby dam intensifies the wind, but I've cut short a couple rounds because of the wind here. There is plenty of evidence that they plan on having improved landscaping on this course in the future. There are a bunch of newly planted trees and bushes with irrigation systems throughout the course. Hopefully, they take good care of this course, as the layout has plenty of potential if the landscaping that they have started is allowed to mature. If the trees and bushes are allowed to fill in, there is definitely potential for the rating of this course to go up. This is a fun course to play when the weather is nice, but can get frustrating when the wind is up.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Where the rich people frolf

5+    9/8/2013   9/8/2013
Review By: Rampant
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well laid out course once you know it. The end of the front 9 and the back nine is in the same place, right next to the parking lot. It makes it easy to play 9 holes and go back to the car or 27 if you're like me and you want to play the back 9 twice.

Front 9 is pretty easy. Great place for beginners to learn how to play. Lots of wide open shots, little to no risk of losing a disc. The back 9 is a little more advanced, and I think more fun.

There's a few long par 4's mixed in that improve the course. You can really test your throwing arm if you want to come in under par.

The city spent a lot of money doing landscaping and putting in trees, sprinklers, beautiful carved stone tee markers and so on. A for effort on that part.
Cons: There is maybe 1 mature tree on the course. This makes for a lot of wide open, easy shots that really only test your throwing ability. Once the trees that the city put in do grow in it will be a lot more fun, probably one of the better courses in Denver Metro.

The course can be ridiculously windy. Be sure to bring something super overstable and something super understable for throwing with and against the wind.

Pretty easy, just not a lot of difficulty here. There are maybe 2 holes that require any kind of technical shot making.
Other Thoughts: I play this course a lot. A lot a lot, because it's 2 miles from my house. When I first played it I didn't like it at all. I thought that the city really failed with the course. But the more I played it, the more I like it. It has really grown on me a lot. Kudos to Centennial for doing the best that they could to put in a course in a pretty barren area. If you enjoy mountain biking there is a cool course to ride here that circles the frolf course. Not to mention the marina, soccer fields, baseball fields and so on. You could really make a day of all the activities there are to do around here. If you come out to play, I hope to see you there.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Back To The Beginning

1    7/23/2013   7/26/2013
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 102  Reviewed: 102  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a new course that was put in on open space land right next to a nice big park with beautiful ball fields of all kinds. The park includes trails that connect with a neighboring State Park/Reservoir. There is also a nice mountain bike trail with man made obstacles. The course itself has brand new tee pads that are consistent. The baskets are new and in very good condition. The design makes good use of the available land. The front 9 design makes the most of available elevation change and the back 9 makes the most of the few naturally occurring trees and bushes. They have planted new trees which will make the course better when they finally grow in, if they can survive the hits they will take from discs. Despite being very short with not much challenge to it, it did have a very high fun level to it. This would be a perfect course to take a beginner to. There was a nice port-o-potty in the middle of the course that got serviced while I was there. It is right next to the only man made building looking thing there. The tee signs are nice and unique with a cairn right next to the sign to help with navigation. There is also a descent map at the beginning of the trail that leads to tee one. The course does appear to get a good amount of maintenance in general as fairways appear to be mowed. There are also nice trash cans throughout the course.
Cons: They didn't make use of a very nice man made pond put in on the land area used by the course. Distances are measured like they do in ball golf, through the middle of the intended fairway. This means that most distances are much longer than the direct flight line which is more typical of disc golf courses. The course is very short and has several holes that are very close to each other. Most of the people that I encountered at this course were more of the beginner variety and odds are they will not all know good etiquette. This is really only a negative because of how close certain holes are to each other. I am guessing that crowds might be an issue. I played the course at a really odd time on a very hot day and was surprised at the number of other people that were playing this course at that time. This may also be the case because it is very close to one of the largest high schools in the area.
Other Thoughts: This course really only gets marked down because of the length and lack of challenge. In one round I was able to shoot nothing worse than a three. There just really isn't much too it. I really was bothered by the way they measured distances. My score could have been much lower if more direct lines had been measured. Getting the right distance is really the only challenge to this course. Still, I had a good time playing this course and will likely use it more frequently as an upshot practice course. This is a great course to bring kids to as they will be able to shoot well here and a round should be quick enough that they will not loose interest too quickly. If they do, the course basically plays in two loops of 9 holes making it easy to stop halfway through. I really did enjoy my experience, even though it was clearly not a course that I would play all that often. Be sure you follow the directions on the course description to park in the furthest back lot. The course is on land that is more like open space than they nice green grass that you will find by the earlier lots. It should also be very easy to spot the course map sign which will indicate that you are in the right lot.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Promising, but in 20 years

1    7/12/2013   7/13/2013
Review By: little oz
Played: 63  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 3.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: You can't brush aside the sheer amount of money that the city put in to this course. Landscaping and irrigation alone cost more than most cities would even sniff at spending. Tee signs are carved in stone (literally), and the course is free of trash and well maintained. Other lush facilities at the park (expansive fields for picnics, mountain bike trail, baseball fields, etc make for a complete day in the swanky Cherry Creek area of Denver. Birdie opportunities abound, pretty much regardless of your cannon or noodle arm. What little elevation there is, they tried to utilize. Nice course map at the start, well placed rocks and logs for benches blend in to the landscape of the park. If you want to see how the richer folks live, spend a round here in Cherry Creek, so you can ponder all of the poor choices you've made in life that prohibit you from living in this area. I did. Holes 14-15 bring a small amount of dense foliage in to play and are interesting, but you shouldn't really lose a disc in there unless you release early (rhbh). Quality baskets. Course rounds back to the parking from 1 to 18 nicely.
Cons: Let's face it, this is an open field. The trees planted will create a small degree of obstacles in 10-20 years, but hey, i'm all for planning for the future. Not many trash cans, but not much trash either. A lot of point and shoot holes right now, and there is no single obstacle on the course that you can't throw over. They may have been limited by the land given, but it's a bit cramped. You can see 2-3 baskets at any one tee pad and not be sure which one is the target. Could use a few longer holes for such a large expanse of space. Has a few par 4's (such as 450') that really should be par 3's. A bit repetitive, and some holes seem to be the same, leading to a propensity to have to search for discs for a couple of minutes in the seemingly same visual landscape of native grasses. No shade, and i imagine the wind can get nasty at times.
Other Thoughts: I never want to slag a city that is willing to put in a course a such great expense. It's a fun course if you are in the area, but i wouldn't drive from outside the Denver metro area to play it. Maybe in a few years.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A coming out Party

1    3/22/2013   3/26/2013
Review By: Shmacka
Played: 23  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 2.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New 18 holes in Metro Denver.

Space is removed from most other users of the park.

Planned and built on the assumption that DG'ers are going to take good care of an attractive course.

The Cherry Creek Dam produces a variety of wind conditions. WHen I played, a mild upslope disappeared behind the dam in the lower portions of the course.

Attractive tee markers with a map, lines, and distance for each hole etched into a rock face.

Big wood chip circles around basket should prevent the mud-hole creation seen at so many metro courses.

Out and back travel pattern starts and ends close to parking lot.

Lots of vegeation has been added, along with drip irrigation systems. If we don't trudge over the plants, they will grow into some great obstacles.

So far, the course is clean and tidy. I only packed out a couple of wind-blown bags and bottles.
Cons: Wood chip circles make for very fast greens. Little chance of the lucky dig at the basket (maybe the challenge this presents is really a good thing)

This course will be a mud pit until some more vegetation takes root.

Several cross shot opportunities. Keep your head up! WIth the mountain bike course ringing the course, there may be opportunity for unintentional moving targets, as well.

I am not a good judge of distance, but hitting 2/3 of the long shots in 3, and the last one in an easy 4 shots makes me wonder about the numbers posted on the rocks. Maybe I'm getting more distance?

Other Thoughts: I thought this was a fun course, variety of shots, and an interesting stroll through a neighborhood that I do not know at all.

I can't wait to see it grow, and I hope that some responsible locals take over, and set a positive tone here. It would be sad to see Village Greens turn into Expo.


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Location, Location, Location

1    3/4/2013   3/4/2013
Review By: DGRunner
Played: 67  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/1/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is near the intersection of I-25 and I-225. This is a really nice part of town and the city spent a lot of money to install the course. I hope more trees or grass will be planted. Navigation is easy because there is nothing growing between the baskets and the next tee pad. At the tee pad there is a carved rock with the layout of the hole. How much money did they spend on carving and coloring 18 rocks? The picture on the rock shows exactly how to throw to the pin. 15 of the holes are reachable in one so if you are in need of target practice this is this course for you.
Cons: The course itself. This is a simple beginner's course.
The tee pads are short, but you can run up from the dirt.
The trees are young and sparse and sadly could get destroyed before they get to a decent size (i.e. Expo). At least, the trees are often by the tee pad or basket.
I could go hole by hole, but aside from distance they are all the same.
There are a few older trees in the park, but they are not part of the course.
If you lose a disc here then it could only be on 14 or 15 where there is a tiny creek (It will be rough in the summer).
The longest holes are approx. 445 and if you can rip it then you can reach all of the holes.
There will most likely be one tee pad and one hole placement for each hole unless they are going to recarve the rocks.
Other Thoughts: I waited since December for this course and it slightly disappointed me. It is no different than Expo, Lighthouse, or Green Valley Ranch. It does have more potential than all of those courses if more trees are planted. I am sure people tried hard to get a course in Cherry Creek State Park and settled for this site. The course seems to be still under construction and I am hopeful the course will continue to improve. I have yet to see more than one group on the course even on the weekend.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

New Course With Potential

1    2/23/2013   3/3/2013
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 123  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 5.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice brand-new DGA baskets with the number on the top of each basket.
-Nice concrete tee-pads that are a decent length
-Other than two spots, the flow of the course is pretty easy to follow and you will rarely have trouble finding the next tee-pad.
- There is a decent amount of elevation change on the course (there's no dramatic elevation change but it's still nice to have some elevation change especially with how wide open this course is)
-There is a small stream that comes into play on a few holes on the back nine.
-This course has some of the coolest tee-signs I have ever seen. They are carved into rocks, and tell the par, show the layout of the hole, and show the distance of each hole.
-There is a decent variety of hole lengths, with holes ranging from about 225 to 445.
-There is a sign at the beginning course that has a map and information about the course and disc golf in general.
-The course is in a part of the park that is not used by other park areas so there is no conflict with other park users.
-Good course to just let discs rip if you like wide open holes.
Cons: -As stated above, the course is very wide open without very many obstacles.
-The creek on the back nine was really overgrown even in the winter and could be a prime spot to lose a disc.
-Since the course is very wide open, you aren't forced to use a wide variety of shots, on most of the holes you can throw a straight shot and get pretty close to the basket.
-Since the course doesn't require a variety of shots, it can get a little repetitive.
-With the space available, and lack of obstacles, I would have liked to have seen a hole over 500 feet or a little longer.
-There are two instances on the course where navigation can be a little tricky. On hole 8, it is easy to think you should be throwing to the basket for hole 18. The basket to throw to is the one you can see to your right from the tee-pad. Then on hole 12 go to your left rather than the tee-pad to your right that is for hole 15.
-Though the rest of the course is quite wide open, I feel like hole 17 and 18 were very uninspired as they were about 250 ft, wide open, straight shots. It didn't feel like a good way to end the course.
-None of the holes are very memorable.
Other Thoughts: -It's nice to have another course in Denver, but its a shame that this course is so wide open. From the nice baskets and the awesome tee-signs, you can tell there was a decent amount of care put into building this course, it's just a shame they didn't have better piece of land for this course. In a few years when some more trees grow in, this course will get more interesting but for now it is not a destination course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.