Live Oak, FL 
Heritage Park & Gardens DGC Share
Uploaded By: Cgkortz Hole #7 (Taken 12/2014)
3 / 230ft.   3 / 280ft.   3 / 280ft.   3 / 330ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Not 9 but 18

2-4    7/31/2016   8/2/2016
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 84  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/24/2017
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (2.7470 Rating) A solid rec course
- DUEL PINS AND TEES - By far the best thing about Heritage is the duel pins and tees at each of the 9 holes. I'm a big fan of this type of format when space is at a premium. This setup is great for groups of multiple skill levels. It also allows players the opportunity to never play the same round twice as they could randomize the tee and pin they play at each of the 9 holes.
- CHARACTER - Heritage is probably slightly above average in terms of character. There is a wonderful course map at hole 1, there is great hole signage, most of the tees are well shaded and are concrete. Probably the biggest thing that's missing however, is seating and trash cans. There is also no practice area or bag holders that you'd see at your older established courses.
- NAVIGATION - I don't find any major issues as a quick photo of the course map clears up most issues.
- CHAINS - All the baskets look nearly new and have heavy chains.
- ACEABILITY - A few of the holes are highly aceable, especially holes 1 6, and 9.
- FORGIVENESS - The odds of losing a disc due to an errant shot is low with the exception of throwing high in a tree. Errant throws in general, are not further punished.
- MAINTENANCE - The grounds appear to be mowed weekly. The park is very clean despite a lack of garbage cans along the layout. I didn't notice any areas that had significant overgrowth.
- ELEVATION - "Good for a Florida course that is" above average compared to the 44 Florida courses I've hit. Probably 20-25 foot of change throughout the course layout. However, just about all parts of the country would consider this course flat.
- LOCATION - A 20 minute drive from the I75 and I10 junction. Easy to play as a quick detour before a more challenging course. Like Magnolia for instance.
- QUICK PLAY - A single could easily complete a full 9 in under 30 minutes. Groups of 4 would probably finish in under an hour.
- RAW BEAUTY - The raw beauty of the course is above average as I feel that the open rolling meadow around holes 4, 5 and 6 to be quite tranquil and lush.
Cons: I don't find any major flaws.
- UNIQUENESS - The holes themselves in terms variety are below average. None of the holes are that exceedingly hard. 6 of the 9 shots feel the same, and play threw moderately spaced pine tree lanes. The duel pins and tees in several cases, only alter the hole by a length modification to hole. I did however enjoy hole 4, which is completely open left, and pine tree rows right. The shot requires a well distanced bender in from left to right into a pocket. There are no water elements in play (some may consider this a blessing) There are no dog legs, and perhaps the most that any one hole veers is perhaps 10 degrees. There are also 3 short par 4s, with the longest being 550 feet from the back tees.
- DIFFICULTY - Below average, and thus not much of a challenge to advanced players as they should have no problem breaking par. Intermediate and Rec players may be delighted however as it can be a feel good round. It's a great opportunity for those players to finish around even.
- NO NIGHT GOLF - This is an ideal night golf course, but park closes at dusk
- PARKING - Its dirt, pitted and beat up.
- SPACING - Not the best or worst but I did end up in an adjacent fairway once or twice over 4 rounds. If the course were full of players, you would be wise to keep your head up and aware of other groups teeing off.
Other Thoughts: Overshadowed by Magnolia, but Heritage does have its perks when comparing the two. Heritage is free, quicker to play and more forgiving.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice Rec Course

1    3/31/2016   5/31/2016
Review By: thrembo
Played: 122  Reviewed: 80  Exp: 41.8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A fun rec/beginner course with nice tees and signs.

The course contains a good mix of short to medium length holes that feature a nice mix of trees to shot shape around.

Other Thoughts: Nothing earth-shattering here, but a fun quick play none the less!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/21/2014   6/23/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 5.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun rec course with some solid variety that provides an excellent introduction to the sport. At first I thought it was going to be one of those courses where all nine holes are cramped into a square lot, with a lot of bumping up against each other. It is not. Three of the holes explore the field beyond the semi-wooded area, giving the six holes room that are in that lot room to breathe.
Those three holes(3-5) offer up some real distance and some chances to watch discs fly unobstructed. The fields they play across are wide open but they aren't as boring as that sounds, even for the novice. 3 presents a row of trees that requires a player to hit one of two gaps or throw high over the whole thing, before mowing across the truly wide open space. 4 has the basket tucked against the right edge of the field, meaning there is no hyzer route to the basket. 5 is long and very open, until the end, where the basket is guarded by a canopy.
The other six traverse a plot that is what I would consider sparsely wooded. Thick trees with lots of high branches means shots are better kept low, and routes to the basket need to be planned. They are a little more technical, but there is a lot of room for error and new players shouldn't be frustrated. It also helps that as long as discs stay in the plot, the ground is clean and no time should be spent looking for discs. They aren't even that short from the white tees, with average hole lengths of about 280 feet.
There are also two sets of tees. While both are certainly accessible for new players, the whites are definitely harder than the reds, which usually avoid the early trouble that the white tees provide for the player that's ready to step up a little bit. That adds more variety to a course that already had a bunch of it. I'm pleased that this route was chosen, as opposed to the "add a second tee that's slightly to the right of the first instead of making a more difficult so that we can claim 18 holes" option. Speaking of tees, both sets are excellent and the tee signs are great as well. Overall, an excellent place for a new player to throw discs, and a quick stopover that should hold some interest for the veteran.
Cons: While there is no shule on the actual course, there are a few chances to go off property. On the very first hole, the fence on the left is fairly close and newb hyzers may go often go over it. At a course aimed at rec players, this probably causes some problems. When 8 is in the back position, it offers up a nasty area for players to wind up in if they go after the pin too aggressively.
Other than that, it's hard to find much fault with the course. It's an excellent rec course with limited appeal for players beyond that ability. Nothing memorable here. Nothing that makes you want to throw it again. Nothing of notable challenge.
Other Thoughts: It also gels nicely with Magnolia, as that course does not cater to the new player. Nice that a town this size has its bases covered.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Magnolia warm up

2-4    5/4/2014   5/15/2014
Review By: Peter S
Played: 137  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 22.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/21/2016
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I love how clean and manacured the grounds are. 6 of the 9 baskets are on a square portion of the grounds with longer holes 3, 4 & 5 pushing out beyond & back into the square. Mix of short to medium open holes through very tall mature pine trees. Manacured grass with pine needle grounds make for possable skip ace shots. Nice new signs give distance and par. Manacured grounds thanks to being on museaum property. Very close to I-10 or I-75 makes this a good rest stop for someone on a road trip.
Cons: only 9 baskets. However, the dual cement tees do offer a different enough looks beyond long & short to round out a fun 18 holes. No restroom for the ladies.
Other Thoughts: Great beginner or Rec- course. Advanced players will find it a great pit stop for Magnolia to work the mid-range game. Need a snack, wild berries by tee 3. Very tough to rate. One of the best 9's I have played. Magnolia's proximity & only 9 baskets prohibit a higher mark. Fun factor prohibits a lesser rating.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty, Average

1    2/23/2014   2/25/2014
Review By: tdortch
Played: 75  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 10.8 Years
Pros: This is a beautiful little course set next to some kind of apparently historical mansion. I didn't have time to check out the mansion part however. The park is set amongst mature trees, and there is virtually no underbrush, which might be common for this part of the world, but I'm from Kentucky , so it was a nice change for me. There are multiple pads and/or baskets for each hole (apparently, more on that later...). There is a nice sign at the start of the course and the parking is right by teepad 1. OB rings the course, but I never had a throw that got close to it. The trees are used well, providing a guarded basket or taking away that one line you wanted to throw. The tee pads and baskets themselves are nice. There is no water that I could see, but that might change in a few of the lower lying areas with a good rain or two. It is a fun course, but...
Cons: The layout can be confusing for a new player, even with the map. it suffers from what I like to call "small course syndrome" - you can see several baskets from each pad (except for 3 - 5). From hole 2, I played right towards basket 6, and didn't find hole 2 until I tracked around a bit (FYI, it's hidden down in a little depression. Play along the fence and you'll see it). And, I had no idea where 3 was, but that's partly my fault for not looking at the map. There were some signs pointing to the next pad, but not all of them were still there. Oversight or vandalism, I don't know, but either way, that type of sign is very helpful on a course that you don't know. As far as the multiple tees/baskets that the main sign lists: I did see a few of them, but either they are well hidden or there are only sleeves for the alt pin locations. There were definitely 2 pads for hole 7 because I thought one of them was hole 3 (before I found 2's basket) until I walked over to it. The parking is NOT at the mansion by the way. Go down the street a bit and you'll see it.
Other Thoughts: All in all, it's a nice little 9 hole course, above average even if for nothing else than the overall beauty of the park. And, most of my complaints are centered around not having played it before. But, that is how you are supposed to judge courses: Ease of navigation, signage, tee pads/baskets, FUN! NItty gritty: "Is this a course I MUST play"--- I'd say no, but if you are in the area and don't have time to play the other course in this town, it's a nice stop.

 Great short course

1    2/15/2014   2/15/2014
Review By: Mary G
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Beautifully maintained - well marked, concrete tees. Nice mix of wooded and open. Very pretty terrain.
Cons: Short course, but just right for a leg stretcher.
Other Thoughts: We loved this course which we visited while out of town. Will definitely revisit if over this way again.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.