Jonesboro, AR 
Disc Side of Heaven - Rec. Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #11 (Taken 4/2016)
3 / 138ft.   3 / 210ft.   3 / 210ft.   3 / 210ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Fun and Challenging. Don't let the name fool you.

1    4/25/2016   7/10/2016
Review By: Discette
Played: 342  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 20.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Don't let the name fool you!

This place is heavenly. That part of the course name is perfect. The Recreation part of the name does not accurately describe this course. This is not some tiny pitch and putt "rec" course you play with your putter, this is a five disc experience providing plenty of challenge for players of all skill levels. I played this course as part of a six state disc golf road trip. The course was in top condition on my visit in late April.

I used bullet points for those that don't want to read the entire review.


Four sets of tees

Yes, there are four sets of tees! Ok, they are not concrete, but they all get the job done - fantastically. The Blue tees are the longest and offer the most challenge, the white tees are the largest and most developed and have the tee signs. The Red pads are forward of the white and often take the dog legs out of play. Further up the fairway are the Green tees, marked by green stakes.

Two Nines

Since Holes 1 and 10 start from the parking area, you can choose to play either nine first. Two nines provide the opportunity to use the facilities or grab extra water and snacks from your car during the round. I think this is a very smart design feature for all courses, but especially long, hilly courses like this. It is nice not having to carry everything I need for the entire round.

Tee Signs

The white tees have accurate tee signs with full color graphics. All four tees are shown on the sign as well as directions to the next tee. There are navigational signs where needed. Always greatly appreciate courses that invest in excellent signage and I think it is a must for private pay to play courses.

Plenty of Challenge for Experienced Players

Despite have the word Rec in the name, DSOH was one of the most beautiful and challenging disc golf courses I have ever played. It offers a variety of holes. Some are wooded while others are open. There is also a lot of elevation in play and it is smartly used. While the Blue tees provide plenty of challenge for experienced players, new players and youngsters can play from the forward tees. If you need to play something longer, there is a top rated Championship steps away from this one.

Great Trees and Great Beauty

While it is in the city limits, you feel miles away in the countryside. The property has amazingly large old growth trees throughout the course adding to the natural beauty of this private gem. Thanks to the owner for opening his private land for the enjoyment of disc golfers. I wish I had a course like this near where I lived.

Private Pay to Play Course

There is a small fee to play this fun yet challenging course. This helps to pay for gas for the mowers and portable restrooms for the players. There is a small pro shop on site which also had some custom stamped souvenir discs for sale. Please be polite and respectful and make proper arrangements for your visit. Owner is very friendly and accommodating.

Exclusively Disc Golf

One of the many benefits of playing a private disc golf course. This beautiful piece of heaven is reserved exclusively for disc golf. No need to worry about picnickers, joggers or dog walkers on the fairway. This makes for an enjoyable and relaxing round of disc golf.

This Course needs a new name

While this course is perfect for Recreational players, it is not what I would call a "Recreational" course. I would rename it the "Challenger Course" or the "Color Course". These names would pair with the Championship course on site and be a more accurate description of what to expect.

Solo rounds

I played the course by myself from the blue tees and didn't have any problems with navigation or lost discs. The excellent tee signs and navigation signs made it easy to follow. When I played the tees, signs and course were all in top condition. It was very clean and the grass was mowed.

Kids, Carts and Strollers

No to strollers and no to carts. There are too many elevation changes and rugged terrain to traverse while playing the course. It would be too much work to haul a cart up and down these hills. Kids and family can play along from the green tees. Kids will use a ton of energy climbing up and down these hills.

Restrooms

The course offers clean and well maintained portables in the parking area and pro shop. Easy to access from tees 1 and 10.

Pack it in - Pack it out

The course is very clean. I didn't see any trash or cigarette butts anywhere. Please be respectful and take your trash and butts with you. The owner has provided trash cans in the parking area next to the pro shop.

Bugs and Poison Ivy

Although there were no bugs or biting things when I played, players should bring repellent during bug season. I don't recall seeing any poison ivy.

Additional 18 Hole Championship Course on site

If the Rec course isn't long enough for your big arm, the Championship Course is steps away. I wish I could have played the Championship Course, but after playing this "Rec" course, I am convinced I played the best course for me on that day. I did get a peek at the Championship Course. You can step over and view the tee for Hole 18 Champ Course while you are on Tee 12 Rec course. Wow! That is definitely a long hole! It was easy to understand why I couldn't play this course on my visit as the grass on the Champ course was easily hip high. It would be very easy to lose discs playing in those conditions.
Cons: Needs a New Name

This is not a "Rec" course. This course should be renamed the Challenger Course or the Colors Course to pair with the Championship Course on site and be a more accurate description of what players can expect.
Other Thoughts:
Private Property

Please be mindful this course is located private property. Remember that a fellow disc golfer has opened his property for your enjoyment. Please be polite and respectful and make proper arrangements for your visit. Owner is very friendly and accommodating.


Traveling through Arkansas

I stopped in Jonesboro on a road trip covering 6 states. On this day I drove from Mississippi through Arkansas to Branson, Missouri. This was a very scenic route through Arkansas. I was surprised how beautiful it was. I enjoyed the drive as well as my visit to DSOH..

Five discs by any other name

I have to rate this "Rec" course a five. It has all the amenities I would expect from a five disc course. It rates a definite five for fun, challenge and variety. It offers extreme elevation changes, demands a wide variety of shots and includes four sets of tees. It offers appropriate challenges for all skill levels. It has accurate signs and it is easy to navigate. Throw in the natural Arkansas beauty and the incredible large growth trees and it really is Disc Side of Heaven. Other than the name, I honestly can't think of anything that could be done to improve this course, so it should get the highest rating possible.


4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Impressed and will return!

1    8/17/2014   8/17/2014
Review By: Wademade1
Played: 62  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 39.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was a well maintained course with a great mix of challenges. The signs provide good information about the course and are easy to read. Wonderful challenging layout. Great area to work on sidearm shots for RH players. The land is scattered with massive old trees as well as lots of young hardwoods but has a nice mix of open fairways in some areas and very tight fairways and tunnels in other areas.

One of the bigger advantages to this course is being a private course. Brad Pietz has put his heart and soul into this course. I am sure others have put in hard work as well and it shows just in the mowing, trimming and signs for tee pads and markers.
Cons: Not sure this can be a con, but as others have said there is a considerable amount of elevation from hole to hole. Some of the narrow opening right off the tee pad are very difficult, but provide a challenge. A few blind shots for first timers might cost you strokes if you fly the basket or roll down a steep bank.
Other Thoughts: I was on business travel in Jonesboro after a recent camping trip at Meeman Shelby State park for the weekend. We looked up several courses on disc Golf course review and my family and I played Meeman Shelby East and West. When I arrived in Jonesboro I went to look at the state park course. It seemed like a short course but very difficult. And it was very grown over with weeds in many areas. I decided to go down the road and locate Disc side of heaven. Very glad I did. Brad Pietz was mowing when I arrived. After a quick greeting and explanation of the courses I asked him if he had time to play along and show me the layout. He agreed and we played the recreational course from the white tees. It was easy to see the effort and love Brad has put into this course in his spare time. On this day he even scored under par. It was a pleasure playing with Brad. I look forward to playing again and bringing my family out to Jonesboro to enjoy Disc Side of Heaven.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great course!

5+    2/15/2014   2/20/2014
Review By: 870DG
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great addition to the Jonesboro disc golf scene. Good mix of shots and a lot of elevation change. Most fun course in the area, if you don't mind a somewhat long course. There are plenty of signs signaling where to go after each hole.

A lot of wildlife. My friend almost had a heart attack from nearly stepping on a rather large turkey while looking for his disc in some tall grass. I have seen numerous deer and saw a buck chasing 4 doe's just last week. If you like animals, you may just walk upon a few!
Cons: No trash cans at tee boxes. There are a few by the clubhouse to use before you start though. You also come back by these after finishing #9. Plan accordingly and it won't be a big deal. Whatever you bring in, bring out.

Bugs are bad during the summer. Last year was the first year of this course, so those conditions may improve. Also, watch for yellow jackets, wasps, and bees. They liked to get underneath the benches last summer, but I think this issue will be addressed for this upcoming summer.

Wildlife - I listed this as a pro, because I love wildlife. If you aren't too fond of deer, turkeys, etc. being on the same property as you....well, why are you outside anyways?

Long course if you are out of shape. Bring water, especially during the summer.
Other Thoughts: This course has been a huge challenge to me, considering I have always played at the other local course which is much, much shorter. If you need to work on distance and some open shots, this is the local course to do it.

Also, there hasn't been any aces yet (as far as I know) on this course, so you have the chance to be the first!

It is a private course. Just look this course up on Facebook and send them a message letting them know when you are wanting to play. They'll make it happen.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Discing in Heaven

5+    10/5/2013   10/9/2013
Review By: jongoff09
Played: 33  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/25/2013
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a little of everything. Tight tunnels, open bombs; uphill, downhill; deuce or die, and tough birdies. The fun factor because of this was high for me. For a course that is mostly par-3s, the variety is very good.

Several holes can be attacked in in different ways. What your gut tells you when you first see a hole might not be the throw you actually make if you take some time to look around and think some more. A few of the holes took me a couple of rounds before I even saw a how it was best to play it (and I still may not have actually figured them out), and that was even after my first round was a practice round where I threw multiple discs. I love it when a hole continues to challenge after multiple rounds.

4 sets of tees! Yes, much like a golf course, this course has a tee for every ability, or a different challenge for your next round. From 3200' and great for young players, to a demanding 6200' that will challenge anyone. The teesigns are currently located at the White tees, which are probably the best suited for a majority of players.

The course is easy to get around. The first hole is next to the clubhouse, and there are signs directing you to the rest of the holes if it isn't obvious on where they are. I played alone my first round with 0 issues.

The property drains really well. It rained on a couple of occasions during the weekend I was there, and shortly after the course was fine with virtually no standing water.
Cons: There are a couple of par-4s, but they are on the shorter side of par-4s. There isn't a hole where a long 2nd shot is needed and certainly no par-5s. This is the only thing design wise that I wish to see in a course that this doesn't have.

Bring bug spray. Chiggers and mosquitoes were out in force when I was there. I was told by others that the ticks had just disappeared, and they were extremely bad just a few weeks before.

I'm not a real fan of long grass acting just as rough, and there are a couple of spots where this is the case on this course (yes, I realize that you shouldn't throw there anyway). However, I never had a problem finding a disc that flew into the long grass. Most of the time, that grass is out of play though and appears to be mostly aesthetic value. I'm not sure if the owner has plans to cut it all or not.

There are trees with 3"+ long thorns on them that will shred you to pieces on this property. There are also plenty of thorn vines and plants that have thorns on them. In other words, the rough is really rough on you in places.
Other Thoughts: For now, the tees are natural and marked by colored flags except for the white tees, which have a white rug in place to use as the teepad. All of my rounds were played from the white tees, and I didn't have an issue with footing even after a rain.

The course is private and generally open to the public just on the weekends, but you can buy a membership for $50 and play anytime. Memberships are good from March through March of the next year.

There aren't any real water hazards. There is a creek that winds through a few holes on the back 9, but there was no water in it while I was there, and if there ever is, I don't think it would be deep enough to steal discs for good.

I'm thinking this would be a great course for glow golf because it is out away from the middle of the city and there are no lights around except for one street light along the road about 80' right of hole 1.

I absolutely loved the course. I wasn't hesitant to get a membership even though I live an hour and a half away. This is considered the Rec Course (labeled white course on the scorecards) as there is a longer beast of a course on site, but there isn't much REC about the course. The other course (Championship course, labeled gold course on the scorecards) on site is a par 70 and 10,000' long. Can't wait for it to be cleared and ready for play.

The pros far outweigh the cons. Most of the cons didn't really factor much into my rating of the course as I rate on what I feel about the course design and how fun it is to play. I consider this the 3rd best design I have played and 3rd or 4th in terms of fun factor.

Thank you Brad for the course and allowing it to be used for a tournament. I'll be back soon to play it again and tackle the Championship course.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.