Pasadena, CA 
Oak Grove (Hahamongna Park) Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #I (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 277ft.   3 / 277ft. Par / Distance:
The Island Tee



Reviews: 51
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Amazing Course!

1    1/30/2015   2/10/2015
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 74  Reviewed: 52  Exp: 12.2 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I have only played the course once and played the layout for the Wintertime open...I had a blast! The first hole just over 300 with a low ceiling. Threw a flick roller to within 20 feet of the pin to start with an easy birdie...then it got hard! The first few holes can be birdied if you throw with great precision. Very technical and better get those birdies because those are the easy holes. It got a little hard to figure out the layout after hole 4 but some locals were extremely helpful on several occasions and we figured it out. I am so glad we didn't miss any holes (as we were tempted to skip a few going up and along the hill and then back out into the field (4-6?).

Plenty of distance to test your arm. Not many birdies unless you can throw 350-400 with accuracy. The par 4s are legit par 4s. The course wraps back around to the parking lot, which is always a huge help.

There were not a lot of non-disc golfers in the park. Bathrooms were also provided in several places. Parking was also great and the course loops back to the lot as already mentioned. Sometimes courses come way too close to the cars or streets and I thought maybe it was going to do that on 9 but it wasn't even close. The rough wasn't too bad and it would be tough to lose a disc on this course.
Cons: Navigation was an issue in one place on the front 9 (around 4-6) and right at the end on the last 2 holes. Again, plenty of very friendly people helped out all we needed and we worked it out. It was a bit crowded but there are enough holes to even things out and the groups were pretty courteous. No water but I bet that huge valley you throw over gets nasty when it rains. Some next tee signs would be incredibly helpful. I understand some of this was hard since the course had been changed up for the tourney.
Other Thoughts: I came in without huge expectations and was blown away with how great this course is. I would love to see it in its normal set up and would also enjoy playing this with some locals who can navigate it faster than I was able to.

I can't wait to play this again!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Home!

5+    8/30/2009   8/30/2013
Review By: OG Neal
Played: 17  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 20.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/9/2013
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Every type of shot is represented in this course: long, short, elevation up/down, rights/lefts, mandys, corridors, over the lake shot, everything!
-First permanent course.
-Lots of old timers to learn from
-Once you learn the course you can play holes any way you want to, making it convenient to work on all aspects of your game. Note: try playing the back 9 backwards. Super-fun.
Cons: -Rich kids who take a casual game way too seriously. Save it for the tourneys, dudes.
-Garbage
-Drugs
-Noise
-Wild Bill unless he's been removed. He can also be fun depending on mood/chemical intake.
Other Thoughts: Stay away on weekends unless you get there early. It turns into a douche-fest around noon.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your hiking boots

5+    11/27/2009   11/27/2009
Review By: Apothecary
Played: 66  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 18.3 Years
17 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -an important part of disc golf history
-tough terrain
-nice big grippy concrete tee pads
-technical shots required...lots of low overhanging branches, hills and rocks to dodge
-plenty of places to stop, chill out and take in the natural desert beauty of the rugged landscape
-incredible use of three dimensions ...light uphill shots and two memorable shots shooting down off a ridge keep me coming back for more.
-course is always changing and evolving...make sure you follow the locals!
Cons: -some of the baskets are old and shallow
-can get very hot in the summertime
-talcum powder-like dust all over much of the course
-rocky ground often leads to weird, unpredictable bounces
-somewhat unclear where the next hole is due to sub-par signage
-no pro shop, though you can usually find golfers with discs to sell.
Other Thoughts: reading through what ive written, this course looks like it might not deserve such a high rating on paper using my usual rating system. thats because oak grove is an amazing course once you get to know it. it is probably one of the two best courses in socal in terms of difficulty and varied shots. defiantly something for everyone. it might be hard to find your way around the first few times, but once you do, oak grove is an incredibly rewarding course to play.

i hope you found this review helpful!

17 of 22 people found this review helpful.

 The First is stilll One of the Best

5+    6/20/2009   7/10/2009
Review By: tai madama
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: this is where it all started many(20) challenging holes you will need to be able to negotiate many different types of obstacles hysers and mandys on some of the holes long straight or low skippers on others it has it all FREE
Cons: can get crowded as it is across the street from a high school it can get trafficy in the afternoon can loose a disc pretty easy
Other Thoughts: history of DG a must see many locals play every day for many years

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.