Pasadena, CA 
Oak Grove (Hahamongna Park) Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #A (Taken 9/2010)
3 / 380ft.   3 / 303ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #A Tee (D Position)

Reviews: 52
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

5+    4/8/2012   4/9/2012
Review By: Ocelotl
Played: 37  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 4.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Oldest course, great history!
-Plenty of shot variation, hyzer, anhyzer, a few rollers, a few holes to bomb it on.
-Nice atmosphere, plenty of friendly locals to point the way, guy sells used discs in the lot is also lost
and found.
-Not that busy the half dozen times Ive been out here. Great to get a round in with out too much waiting.
Cons: -People doing other activities, between soccer players, hikers, bikers, bird watchers, joggers, and today people on an Easter egg hunt you never know who is going to wander into a fairway. Always have to keep an eye out when teeing off.
-No signage, and confusing wrong numbers on the cement tees can lead to alot of confusion if you come here without a map or guide.
Other Thoughts: Between the history, the atmosphere and the course in general OG is an great place to play a round. Bring some water, and a map/local and you can have an awesome day.

Oh yeah and when birdwatchers stand 15 feet in front of a teepad staring into the trees with no clue of what is going on, don't worry they'll move eventually!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


5+    3/1/2012   3/16/2012
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 78  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 8.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Where it all began!! If you live in SoCal or are in the area you have to make the pilgrimage to the worlds first disc golf course.

- Holes are short however technical holes with clearly defined fairways.

- All holes have multiple pin placements, which can really change the feel of the hole.

- Unique hexagonal tee pads.

- The course offers a good mix of hole layouts, you can't get away with a hyzer on every hole. And the distances are are varied enough to keep things interesting

- An excellent DG vibe. You can tell that the course is well cared for and has a strong local club presence.
Cons: - Navigation is really a pain for the first time. PRINT OUT THE MAP. Or better yet get a guide. It is a really fun course, however it can get frustrating because there are no tee signs and the pads all have the old numbers on them. This is by far the biggest con of the course and can be easily avoided if you come prepared.

- A lot of holes play really short, and mostly pretty flat.
Other Thoughts: This is a must see for the history alone. But on top of that it's a really fun course that's worth playing over and over. It serves a great place to take begginners but also run into a few pro's.

I absolutely love the tournament layout for this course. It totally changes the feel, adding some serious distance to the course, while maintaining the technical feel of the holes.

Hole 14 has a signature feel to it. My first time playing I didn't see the water below and parked it for an easy deuce. Since then, and realizing the water is there I haven't hit a deuce there in over 10 tries, hows that for sport psychology.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great winter break!

2-4    11/22/2011   12/4/2011
Review By: iamharrythehat
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The very first course in the USA!!
Local course pro, Johnny B making non locals feel right at home.
Technical, tight lies.
Warmer than Alaska in November!!
Cons: Not sure if I would have found my way around if I hadn't been playing with Johnny B and some other locals. Not very well marked.
Other Thoughts: I started playing 4 years ago in Alaska and have played 3 different courses up here. It was nice to compare our courses to the lower 48, especially the first course in existence!

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Oak Grove – Where it all began!

1    6/29/2011   7/4/2011
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 195  Reviewed: 188  Exp: 15.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/11/2011
14 Helpful / 0 Not
*History! As it states in the title, this is where it all began. The first disc golf course in the world and it happens to be in Pasadena, California. Established in 1975, this course has been redesigned multiple times over the years. However, the first basket hole can still be played on hole #10 when it is located in the short position.
*OG has unique and diverse terrain through old oaks and desert landscape, including a lake on hole D. Great use of what elevation they had.
*Short technical course w/ low tree canopies yet multiple approaches through medusa like branches toward the pin.
*Large, sturdy, hexagonal tee pads, with the exception of the rubber mats on holes C and D. Multiple pin positions on every hole.
*Good flow allowing for multiple stops at the parking lot if needed. Especially helpful on hot, congested days. Multiple bathroom areas although not easy to spot from the hole one.
*The alternate/temp "spider" hole that plays uphill into the center of a tree with what looks like spider legs blocking a heavily guarded basket.
*Strong local club that has pro/am weeklies as well as large annual tournaments.
*Challenging enough for all skill levels making the replay value high.

Favorite hole/s: #1, "Spider Hole", "Lake Hole D", #18 (third to last hole)

*Also hit an ace on the "local" filler hole which plays after the "spider hole", throwing from old tee 17 to basket 4. Fun little 100 foot downhill shot.
*There are no tee signs or markings making navigation difficult for visitors. Tee pads also have the wrong number on many of them due to the course being redesigned multiple times over the years.
*The majority of holes on the course are less than 300 ft. w/ only two holes reaching near 400 ft. That doesn't bother me as much, especially considering it was built in 1975, but it may be for some.
*Lots of activities on the grass field near the first three holes, including soccer, football, or summer camp activities. Fortunately, they seem to comingle with the disc golfers. Just be courteous.
*No pro shop like Sylmar where players can get food, discs, and merchandise. However, there is an old school disc golfer named GW who runs the AM weeklies who sells club cfr discs at a reasonable price. He is a classic OG original and can tell you all about its history.
*Older mixed baskets that have seen better days due to heavy traffic. It was cool though to see the Iron Maiden near hole #10.

Least Favorite hole/s: #8, #9, #13
Other Thoughts:
*Being a California native, the thought of not playing the world's first disc golf course would be both tragic and sad. After 11 years of playing I finally had my chance! Learning on De LaVeaga, and although on the opposite side of the state, I felt at peace as if I were back home. Due to the courses deep roots, the people who play OG are as diverse as the course. The original "good ol' boys "mixed in with the generation X and beyond. And yet... it seems to work.

*Special shot out to Snappyfingers, and HeizerSoze from dgcr for showing me around this magical place. It just wouldn't have been the same if I had played solo, and to play with people who were so passionate about OG was perfect!

**A must play if in the greater LA area**

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Another great visit

5+    5/14/2011   5/14/2011
Review By: Blackmon
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Another great trip to the original course grounds. I really like visiting this park. Its a nice cruise through the course. Perfect natural landscape for a disc golf course. Short but technical with a lot of different throws required.
Throw one over the pound and don't
Cons: What happend to the Extra bonus holes for those that new how to play them. 4 years ago I played with a local that took me on the extended course. It wasn't there.

Some tees could be longer, I used to longer placements (but hey, it is the original course). Sometimes you are throwing on the group at the next Tee in front of you, causes hold ups. Not much else, I still haven't got my best round in yet. I will be back.
Other Thoughts: Throw it over the Pond! Don't wimp out be an itty bitty. I don't have the longest arm, but I ain't scared. I partnered up with a local and he keep telling me through the round that he didn't want to loose his disc. I told him it's all part of the game and they come and they go. Didn't make it on that round but I tried (went right and down in the brush on the ledge). But the last one, I put 40 ft past the basket. I watched groups after to group pass this hole up and opt for the alternate safe basket on the side. Go for it and show them how its done.

Outthink the crowds,pick your time wisely. I have always find a time when courses are crowded. I played 2 out of 4 rounds, I played right through, the others I didn't have to wait to long and met a few people.

Johnny B, dives for disc in the pond and has them and sells other used disc. Nice meeting Johnny B, good to swap stories and meet new golfers. Thanks

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Original

1    9/18/2010   9/18/2010
Review By: The Meat Truck
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A wide variety of shots some downhill, around trees and various obstacles.
Free to play.
Easy to naviagate.
Hole 14 is excellent, one of the best holes ive played.
Not rough on the feet, no thorns, cactus, or stickers.
Hexagonal and rubber teepads worked quite well.
Cons: Not clearly marked, most tee pads have wrong numbers.
No relative distances marked and sometimes you cant see where the hole is, can make first time playing difficult.
No pro shop, snack shop, guide area to find out where to start (thought this shouldnt be that hard.
Other Thoughts: This has been the best course i've played thus far here in southern california, I didnt bring any water which was a huge mistake, by hole 15 I was dying out there, so make sure your well hydrated beforehand as well. If you go play there and its your first time ask the people around where to start everyone was quite friendly. It may be difficult to navigate the back 9 but this is only for the first time you go there, once you know its actually quite simple. ENJOY

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Best in Spring

5+    6/1/2010   9/3/2010
Review By: Mateo227
Played: 19  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 16.9 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Offers a good diversity of shots. Most are technical, not big booming throws. Wonderful setting. Good maintenance. Locals are chill.
Cons: Old mismatched baskets. Homeless guy on the back 9. Dusty in summer.
Other Thoughts: Can't beat the 5th hole during sunset... Unless it's the 14th hole after a huge storm.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 World's First: Technical Fun Awaits

1    8/29/2010   9/2/2010
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 209  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 6.1 Years
20 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Oak Grove, site of the world's 1st disc golf course, features a mix of terrain ranging from rough, scrubby desert replete with cacti to grassy park-style fairways. A wide range of vegetation includes many wooded patches. Several holes play alongside or underneath the branches of trees. In places, branches force certain shots due to low clearance. Water in play on one hole during the wetter times of year.
- Great use of the modest elevation on site. Every hole seems to have at least a few wrinkles and elevation features prominently on many of the best designed holes. Baskets placed atop small rises create good risk/reward opportunities due to the threat of rolling away into brush or, in places, water. The hole with the lake arcs in a dogleg-left from the tee, with a scrub-covered bluff down to the lake providing risk should you choose to try for the pin, which is shielded in front by small trees.
- Several ace runs possible, without being cheap or boring.
- Interesting old concrete tees in the shapes of hex- and/or pent-agons. Not always level but enough to get the job done on this shorter technical course.
- Accommodating and friendly locals create a positive, open vibe. Ask a local to guide if you're unfamiliar with the layout.
Cons: - No signs. Makes navigation and finding the baskets on blind holes a bit tricky. Having a local guide will greatly enhance the experience for first timers.
- A couple of the first several holes play alongside a busy soccer field. Not a large problem, but I assume some issues arise from time to time.
Other Thoughts: - The mountain backdrop provides some truly scenic disc golf.
- Some areas get very dusty. Bring a towel if dust bothers you.
- Although located on the site of the original course in the world and the birth spot of our sport, the current course is not the original design. Apparently the original course's design changed long ago and has been through several incarnations throughout the years. The current setup maximizes the use of the natural terrain and vegetation, encouraging precise upshots and solid putting over massive drives.

20 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 Great history

1    8/14/2010   8/26/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.6 Years
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a historic course set in a large multi-use park. Other than the first couple holes, the course is on disc golf exclusive areas, so no real conflicts with other park users. There is lots of nice shade with the mature oak trees, making for a pretty park and a nice round even on hot summer days. The trees and the minor elevation changes available are used well to create a variety of hole shapes and lengths that keep the course from feeling repetitive, and offer some interesting challenges.

The concrete tees are in good shape for the most part, and the two rubber tees are laid well and provide nice flat tee areas. I didn't find the layout that hard to follow, but there is a nice map online here that is useful for finding your way around. The locals we ran into were friendly and helpful the one time we got turned around.
Cons: There are no tee signs, I always like to know hole layout and distance and that isn't available here. There are several blind holes that you pretty much have to walk up the fairway to know where to shoot. The map shows 22 holes with 4 letter holes, and other reviewers mention these extras, but we were only able to find C and D, and the course info lists only 20 holes, so that's a little confusing.

The basket situation isn't ideal with a mix of various baskets, many of which aren't in the best shape. The course can be very crowded, leading to some waits on slow groups and some inconsiderate people throwing on you at times.
Other Thoughts: There is a ton of history here, and on top of that it's an enjoyable course through some really nice old oak trees. Beginners will find the distances reasonable and not too much punishing schule. More experienced players will find some fun challenges though it's not a really tough course, with lots of birdies if you hit your lines. I definitely recommend a stop here while in the LA area.

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

5+    8/16/2010   8/22/2010
Review By: HeiserSöze
Played: 59  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.4 Years
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Historic course, fairways and terrain varies. I like the hexagon tee-pads.
Cons: Can get very congested, especially when school gets out. Sometimes sporting event crowds get in the way on holes 2 and 3.
Other Thoughts: This place is great. It is the first place I played when I moved back to So Cal. If you can't find your way around, there is someone there that can show you. I have met a lot of cool people there.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.