Pasadena, CA 
Oak Grove (Hahamongna Park) Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #7
3 / 255ft.   3 / 312ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Approach (C Position)



Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
I took the 5 to the 210 to Berkshire...

1    6/1/2013   6/4/2013
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 120  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 6.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: After a day in the sun, it was nice to play a round in the shade. The course is on the west side of a valley with a lot of trees. Apparently this was the first permanent disc golf course. I was surprised at the technical design. I would have guessed that the first course would be kind of boring, but not so.

There are plenty of holes that force a certain kind of shot. The holes are short, but birdies are not gimmes. It looked like there were multiple pin positions on most holes.

The hexagonal tee pads are great. Plenty of room to throw any kind of shot you want. If you want to try out that 360-degree approach, go for it (you might overthrow the hole, though).

The course is named Hahamongna. I love the sound of that, especially if I imagine Fred Armisen saying it as part of The Californians.
Cons: Navigation was not simple, even with a map. There are plenty of holes not visible from the tee, even with the short distances. I never did find the basket for one of the holes (14 or 15, I think). Several of the holes require walking back up part of the fairway to get to the next hole.

There was only one tee sign (very old), which makes me think there used to be more.
Other Thoughts:
I could see this being a course that is enjoyable to return to once you know the layout. There aren't many holes here that have anything you haven't seen before, but for a piece of history in the shade, it's worth a visit.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


1    10/11/2012   5/12/2013
Review By: donny vomit
Played: 18  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.9 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: History history history, the park is set amongst really cool old oak trees. Lots of different alternate holes and we played them all. Its like a little oasis in the middle of chaos.
Cons: Signage, they have a map at the ball diamond back stop but it really wasn't helpful at all. I used my iPhone to bring up a better map from the net. Hardly any grass but its its what it is.
Other Thoughts: Was in Cali in Oct so we had to make the pilgramage to oak grove .glad we did. Had fun time, not crowded, pretty backdrop of the mountains as we played some really cool shots. Overall glad we played here where it all began. I would recommend hooking up with a local as all the alternate holes that you really have to play can be hard to find as signage kinda sucks. Its a must play in the la area

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

OG...tha OG course

1    12/23/2012   12/23/2012
Review By: nuttinbutchain
Played: 34  Reviewed: 20
This review was updated on 12/26/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -awesome scenery
-awesome locals (Thanks Adam, Mike...Chris, Frank, Cro, Tim, Ren)
-challenging, unique shots
-most tees are concrete hexagonal-shaped
-Highlight holes:
-hole 4: this one is tricky because according to locals, it used to be an open fairway before a storm knocked over one of the oak trees. I felt that the fallen oak tree made the hole that much more challenging and more interesting
-hole 4 (alternate): spider hole, a uniquely placed basket in the middle of a tree trunk with branches surrounding the basket. Must shoot from alternate tee pad (more or less a patch of dirt with a path going uphill)
-hole 5 (regular and alternate): from the normal tee pad a cool shot, but have the locals show you the "alternate" tee pad (which you can walk towards from the spider hole at the top of the hill of hole 4's alternate position). The alternate shot is easily one of the highlights of the entire course if not the best hole
-hole 14: another of the course's highlight holes. Shooting over the drink (or mucky muck...when I went the lake was semi dry and muddy). Also a kind of downhill "top of the world" type of throw, but you can also throw a big hyzer or anhyzer. I was surprised that some locals elect not to throw this hole. If you come here don't pansy out, you have to throw this hole in the name of Oak Grove.
-hole 17: This one has a double mando between two trees, with a third tree in between the two mando trees...a tricky, yet entertaining shot with a beautiful tree and rock lined fairway.
Cons: -lack of signage (no map, no reliable tee numbers, and lots of times no basket numbers either), a really really huge con
-difficult to navigate, especially without a map
-a couple tees were uneven cruddy rubber mats
Other Thoughts: It felt like I was experiencing a piece of history being able to play this course (1st permanent DG course ever in the world!). Super friendly locals was another great thing about Oak Grove. I felt that this place was a great mix of both distance and technical shots, but moreso technical shots. It helps to have both a forehand and backhand here. Must be able to throw straight shots to hit narrow gaps with low lying canopies and the ability to throw downhill on both holes 5 and 14. Midrange is very important here because many times you will hit a tree and need a good upshot. I never felt that a roller was necessary here, but that's not to say it couldn't be useful.
If this place had signs on each hole and better navigation, I'd give this place 3.75 or even a 4. But it gets 3.5 for the navigation issues and lack of hole information. Because the current course is not the original course, the numbers on the teepads do NOT correlate to which hole you are on necessarily, so keep that in mind. Baskets are old, some are missing the inner chains, but they do the job. Baskets sometimes are lacking hole numbers too. A quick fix would be to stencil the hole numbers on both teepads and baskets. Even some of the locals I played with had trouble keeping track of which hole we were on.
Overall a great course to play on, I'm glad that I completed the pilgrimage to the holy land of disc golf and if I'm ever in the area again I would not hesitate to play this course. Thanks again to the friendly locals who made this experience much more enjoyable!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 This is the most current review in months, and you are going to say it's not helpful? Whatever.

1    12/1/2012   12/2/2012
Review By: Mabuku1
Played: 20  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: -great elevation changes
-wide array of hole lengths
-holes are evenly spread out for left handers and right handers.
Wooded area has a great vibe due to dry creeks throughout many holes. During winter thaw they might be filled with water, I dunno.
-Bathrooms are spread throughout the course. There's real ones at the bonus "spider" hole, porta-pottys at the basket for 6, and a real bathroom at hole 17.
-i was able to find a course layout on the interweb, which would help if you are going for the first time.
Cons: -no pro shop, I wouldn't expect there to be one in this park though. You'll know when you see it.
-a few tee pads are in need of replacing, but still playable.
Other Thoughts: If you can join some locals to show you around the layout and possibly play the extra holes, I recommend it. otherwise you might get lost.
This course was perfect for ace runs on about 3/4 of the holes if you can throw 300'. Guestamation.

I loved playing this course, and when I get more rounds on it it will be awesome. I birdied a handfull, and also got fives on a handfull because there are a ton of trees, and some hillsides here. It's like playing in the woods at a campground because there is actually a camp there, looks like a summer camp for kids. I dunno?
Definitely come play here if you are in southern CA.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Nice layout

2-4    10/3/2012   10/22/2012
Review By: HarrMarc
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A wide variety of shots some downhill, around trees and various obstacles.
Free to play.
Easy to naviagate.

Not rough on the feet, no thorns, cactus, or stickers.
Hexagonal and rubber teepads worked quite well.
Cons: Dusty and Hot in the Summer
Very very tough to navigate if you've never played
Easy to lose a disc in nome nasty nasty brush
No shop or stand to get refreshments
Other Thoughts: Nice Technical Course

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 The OG

2-4    7/8/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: thugjitsu
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tough course for power players
Real secluded feeeling in some areas and great great foliage.
Good use of the area and a great mix of technical and a couple bombers you can let loose on.
Great use of dogleg rights/lefts
Nice locals
Cons: Dusty and Hot in the Summer
Very very tough to navigate if you've never played
Easy to lose a disc in nome nasty nasty brush
No shop or stand to get refreshments
no Bathrroms from what i remember
Other Thoughts: i love Oak Grove as i have a bad technical game and this course forces me to throw accurate. I love the secluded feeling and the scenery with the trees, yet i hate the spider webs you walk through getting an errant drive HAH. Many holes have multiple routes but very few are easier than the others.
If you find a local who's willing to show you the course you'll have a great time but bring water. I've heard there is poison oak but i havent shanked a drive bad enough to have a run in with it, but be prepared just in case.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/1/2012   7/3/2012
Review By: MightyJeff
Played: 32  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 18.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -First permanent disc golf course. How do you not throw here if you're in the LA area?
-Pretty technical and challenging at times, especially given it's age. Oak Grove is by no means an "every disc in your bag" type course, but you'll have to work for your deuces and/or pars.
-The locals are great. They were very friendly and helpful when I played.
-Nice view of the mountains and NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory on the back 9.
-Nice variety of wooded holes, open holes, and even desert-like holes. I felt like I was playing in the midwest, the plains, and the high deserts of Utah all on one course.
Cons: -Nonexistent signage. Really. There are no signs indicating which hole you are on, where you're throwing, or where the next tee is. Your best bet is to wing it or follow (or join) a group playing ahead of you to know where you're going.
-If you're playing during a soccer match, you'll really have to watch it on the front nine. Some fairways butt up against the soccer fields.
-There are horse trails along the course, so there are points when your disc could land in horse manure. You could choose to think of this as a kind of water hazard, but that won't change the fact that you'll have a manure-covered disc if you get unlucky.
Other Thoughts: I've played a few courses made in the early days of disc golf, and they always disappoint after I get past the novelty of history. Not at Oak Grove. It's a fun, challenging, beautiful course, and I'll definitely play it again when I'm in the LA area. While it's not the best or most challenging course, it's definitely worth a round or two.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great...but

5+    4/8/2012   4/9/2012
Review By: Ocelotl
Played: 36  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Oldest course, great history!
-Plenty of shot variation, hyzer, anhyzer, a few rollers, a few holes to bomb it on.
-Nice atmosphere, plenty of friendly locals to point the way, guy sells used discs in the lot is also lost
and found.
-Not that busy the half dozen times Ive been out here. Great to get a round in with out too much waiting.
Cons: -People doing other activities, between soccer players, hikers, bikers, bird watchers, joggers, and today people on an Easter egg hunt you never know who is going to wander into a fairway. Always have to keep an eye out when teeing off.
-No signage, and confusing wrong numbers on the cement tees can lead to alot of confusion if you come here without a map or guide.
Other Thoughts: Between the history, the atmosphere and the course in general OG is an great place to play a round. Bring some water, and a map/local and you can have an awesome day.

Oh yeah and when birdwatchers stand 15 feet in front of a teepad staring into the trees with no clue of what is going on, don't worry they'll move eventually!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/1/2012   3/16/2012
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 72  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 7.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Where it all began!! If you live in SoCal or are in the area you have to make the pilgrimage to the worlds first disc golf course.

- Holes are short however technical holes with clearly defined fairways.

- All holes have multiple pin placements, which can really change the feel of the hole.

- Unique hexagonal tee pads.

- The course offers a good mix of hole layouts, you can't get away with a hyzer on every hole. And the distances are are varied enough to keep things interesting

- An excellent DG vibe. You can tell that the course is well cared for and has a strong local club presence.
Cons: - Navigation is really a pain for the first time. PRINT OUT THE MAP. Or better yet get a guide. It is a really fun course, however it can get frustrating because there are no tee signs and the pads all have the old numbers on them. This is by far the biggest con of the course and can be easily avoided if you come prepared.

- A lot of holes play really short, and mostly pretty flat.
Other Thoughts: This is a must see for the history alone. But on top of that it's a really fun course that's worth playing over and over. It serves a great place to take begginners but also run into a few pro's.

I absolutely love the tournament layout for this course. It totally changes the feel, adding some serious distance to the course, while maintaining the technical feel of the holes.

Hole 14 has a signature feel to it. My first time playing I didn't see the water below and parked it for an easy deuce. Since then, and realizing the water is there I haven't hit a deuce there in over 10 tries, hows that for sport psychology.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great winter break!

2-4    11/22/2011   12/4/2011
Review By: iamharrythehat
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.5 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The very first course in the USA!!
Local course pro, Johnny B making non locals feel right at home.
Technical, tight lies.
Warmer than Alaska in November!!
Cons: Not sure if I would have found my way around if I hadn't been playing with Johnny B and some other locals. Not very well marked.
Other Thoughts: I started playing 4 years ago in Alaska and have played 3 different courses up here. It was nice to compare our courses to the lower 48, especially the first course in existence!

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.