Rainier, OR 
Rainier Riverfront Park Share
Uploaded By: jdinteg Hole #7 (Taken 4/2013)
3 / 264ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nice for a city park

1    6/20/2014   6/27/2014
Review By: Skeeterdonk
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 0.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As a beginner this course let me air out my mid range drives. Most the holes are straight forward with no obstacles in the way.

The baskets are easy to see and the course is pretty easy to navigate. It is flat and mostly wide open. #2 and #3 create a perfect challenge with trees scattered around.

Concrete tee boxes. They are short tee boxes but you don't really need a run way to throw your discs at this place so the tee boxes work ok.

Not a lot of disc golf traffic. This let us replay several holes.
Cons: WIND!!! Wow can it get windy here.

Other than the wind I am having a hard time listing the cons. This is a park and I am all for making disc golf accessible to as many people as possible. It looks like they did what they could but this course can be unplayable during the times where you would want to play it. When the park is busy this place is not playable. There are kids all over the place and a baseball game can take two holes out of play. It is a park after all.

#9 basket was missing. We found where it was supposed to be. I think there are kids playing on the baskets (parkour maybe???) so several are bent.

A bad throw could disturb other park goers. We had a disc go into the tennis court and one go towards the playground filled with kids. I think we all ended up in the outfield of the baseball field too and one hit the bathroom. We also had to throw across walking paths and next to benches. All of this made me uncomfortable since I don't have complete control over my discs yet.

The park maintenance people remove the baskets during festivals and are not quick to return them.
Other Thoughts: Conditions: Lunch timeframe with sun and a lot of wind.

I will certainly play every once in a while but wont be going out of my way to play here.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Solid Beginner Course

5+    6/13/2014   6/13/2014
Review By: KevinRiggs
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 7/27/2014
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: All flat, which means my 70 year old dad can play. While the wind could be considered a con, I prefer to think of it as one of the few real hazards on the course, and an interesting challenge. Also, it's pretty hard to lose a disc here, (unless you really put the mustard on it, perhaps) because the wind is usually blowing in off the river. Update: That bad old Columbia ate my disc on hole 4. :( I thought we were friends, Columbia. Wth?
Cons: It's probably not scenic or interesting enough to go out of your way for. The wind can be annoying, especially at sunset. As others have mentioned, it's not playable on the off chance there is a baseball game going on in the open field. (Also can't play during the local "Rainier Days" festival in July, but they put on a hell of a fireworks show that doesn't take place on the 4th, so play Trojan, and then come see the show.)
Other Thoughts: This is my home course, so perhaps I'm biased, but I'm really glad it's there.
Basket 2 can be made more challenging by going around the right side of the trees, which is the direction the arrow pad points, rather than directly along the path toward the basket.
Basket 3 can be made more challenging by calling the road on the left O.B., forcing you to either hyzer/anhyzer in or go under the trees.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    1/25/2014   1/28/2014
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 201  Reviewed: 193  Exp: 11.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is quite the interesting area for a course right on the mighty Columbia River. You can also see all of the boats that come through and the factories with their smoke polluting the air and the sounds of the traffic nearby are in the distance.

The course is another one of these short family friendly courses with limited space, and by that I mean crammed in with the rest of the activities in park which is so common is smaller towns.

Leave your bag at home and bring your putter and maybe a mid range disc for hole three and a driver for hole four which are the longest holes on the course. The rest of the course can be reached with a putter.
Cons: Like I said they crammed this in with everything else in this park. You have to dodge joggers, kids and baseball players while out there and I assume during the Summer months the course is just about unplayable. The last couple of holes play right near the practice field.

You could play here if desperate or short on time but the holes are short, open and boring. There is nothing of note here that is different or unique or fun that is its own and you find these type of courses pretty much everywhere.
Other Thoughts: I really don't understand why little cities like this get two courses when cities like Seattle and Portland get the same amount of courses within city limits. This place has this course and Trojan park right down the road and I would play Trojan more than here unless I kept losing discs in the water there everyday which could get expensive.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Step Up To The Plate!

1    6/19/2013   6/20/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 632  Exp: 36.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The first thing I noticed about this course was the tiny tee pads shaped liked elongated "Baseball Home Plates." The good news is the pointy end faces the basket that you are throwing to. The bad news is that there are no visible tee signs sticking up so locating the tiny pointy tee pads shaped like home plates may and probably will take some searching for first time players. Also the tiny tee pads are are a little short for a proper run up needed on the longer holes here. A cool feature of these tiny tee pads shaped like baseball home plates is the hole number has been poured into the pointed tip of the pad with a somewhat different mixture of concrete.

A couple of the holes are short, easy little ACE runs of under 175' with no obstacles. Perfect for beginners or girlfriends or those seeking to increase those career ACE totals.

There is a nice course map at the beginning showing the course and it's sponsors. Taking a picture of it with your phone would really help first time navigate this course.

The baskets are temporary Lightning models which are bolted down to concrete pads. They are single chain and will have a tendency to spit out the occasional putt or probably your first career ACE!

Holes 3 and 4 over by the river use the same pad only with points at both ends pointing in opposite directions. Both are more difficult than the average shot on this course. # 3 basket is set fairly deep in the small grove of trees. You could hyser way out over the river but the winds can be strong coming off the river here.
# 4, throwing the opposite direction, is a wide open 430' with the river just to the left. And this river isn't just some stream. This is the mighty Colombia River. The view here is wide and expansive taking in the whole working port scene. You'll see the saw mills and their billowing stacks of steam and all the river traffic, like large container ships. On a rare clear day, Mt. St. Helens would be visible in the distant.
Cons: The winds are probably going to be a constant companion here along the river. I'm sure a few discs will go floating down the Colombia River on their way to the Pacific Ocean.

7 and 8 play across this small tee ball/softball field. They would be not be playable during games or practices.

The course is mostly a pitch and putt with the exception of the two holes over by the river. It won't challenge most players.

The single chain baskets will spit out the occasional putt or drive. Expect it.
Other Thoughts: This is pretty well done for an Eagle Scout project. This scout certainly earned his merit badge on this project.

The tee pads are a little quirky and hard to locate the first time but actually function pretty well here. The baskets are fine for the time being. I'm not sure if they'll hold up over time to the mid-night teens.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good Scout project

1    4/22/2013   4/27/2013
Review By: Dadio
Played: 74  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 30 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This 9 hole course is fairly well laid out in a city park along the Columbia River. There is some variety of shots, including a dogleg left on 2 to keep discs away from the tennis courts and a longer throw into a small arboretum on 3. There are pads for all holes, altho some are short, and good baskets. Sign shows map of all holes and is easy to follow. The park is well maintained with bathrooms, garbage cans, and a nice kids play area.
Park was fairly busy but all holes were clear except 2 in practice field and other park users were aware and polite.
Cons: Biggest one is holes 7 and 8 play across a baseball practice field. I was unable to throw them due to practice. Rethrew 4 and 6 to make full 9 holes. 6 plays close fenced baseball field and can be easy to OB.
Sign with map and pad for 1 are hard to find(in landscaping between baseball diamond an tennis court) and most holes are straight throws of varying lengths.
Right on River without trees so you get full force of wind in this often windy area.
Other Thoughts: Getting from I-5 to park was rough. Directions were slightly off and traffic was very backed up due to bridge painting.

After having a hard time getting to course and then finding 1st tee I wanted to hate this course and just couldn't. Beautiful day along the river, nice view of Mt. St. Helens, and course is one of the better done ones I have seen for a Scout project. It's really too bad park is small enough that 2 holes are in practice field. Not sure I would go too far out of the way to play this one, especially with all the courses in Portland area, but is good for a local course.


4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fun but short

1    4/2/2013   4/2/2013
Review By: jdinteg
Played: 30  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
- Clean park
- Well mowed grass
- Bathrooms
- A few longer holes
- Good design that's fun for the beginner
- A nice putter driving course
Cons: - Short tee pads
- Short holes
- A few holes cross each other
- Some holes play over areas that could be in use by baseball diamond
Other Thoughts: I am a fan of any new course. Impressive Eagle Scout project. He did a good job with what he had to work with.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

I see the Potential

1    2/11/2013   3/19/2013
Review By: 967DG Maui
Played: 34  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Played Here on a sunset in Feb, Such a nice setting.. along the river, near the town... only 9 holes.. brang my gf here after i played a round at trojan park, happened to stumble across this place while zoning out, she enjoyed actually playing holes she can reach.. great place for kids to learn and play also.and if your kids dont want to play, theres the play ground less than 100feet away... also i added a few throws from here to my disc golf video of my pacific northwest tour..
Cons: i dont really ave anything bad to say here
Other Thoughts: great place for begginers and a great place for a advanced player to introduce the game to someone who hasnt played before.. ANY COURSE IS A GOOD COURSE IN MY EYES..

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.