Iowa Park, TX 
Gordon Lake DGC Share
Uploaded By: TxViper3187 Hole #12
3 / 211ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Good Course

5+    7/7/2014   8/17/2014
Review By: specop7
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 21.4 Years
Pros: Great new course. Very well thought out and planed by the designers. Young trees will make for good challenging hole in years to come. Good usage of the area with some interesting holes (island hole, and 2 on the side of the dam.)
Cons: Little bit of a drive for me but well worth it for me and my friends to go play. Gets kinda swampy around some fairways and baskets after a rain.
Other Thoughts: Good course for beginners as well as the more seasoned players. Will be much more challenging after trees get older (if they survive this drought) lol. Worth stoping and playing if your passing through or if you live in the area you gotta hit it at least once!

Beginner Course

2-4    6/10/2014   6/13/2014
Review By: Shipley
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Iowa Park has a disc golf course. Good starter course for those just getting into the sport, or for introducing new players to disc golf.
Cons: Very open and mostly flat course No need for shot shaping here. Can be very windy.
Other Thoughts: This course isn't going to be much of a challenge to players beyond the beginner stage. It's not the designers fault, there just isn't much here to work with. Lucy Park in nearby Wichita Falls, would be a better option.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun in the Sun

1    8/24/2013   8/24/2013
Review By: rd.bittle
Played: 51  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 3.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Great concrete Teepads (trapezoid)
New Baskets. (Love the Orange)
Good Teesigns
Next Tee arrows on every basket
A few nice benches
Stairs when you need to climb the Pond dam
Well kept
Very clean
Great use of the Land available (Loved the use of what obstacles were there)
Like the creation of obstacles (Pond, Island, ledge, sloping green)
Decent Variety: some left, right, straight
When the newly planted trees grow up this course will just get better.
Great OB use on the Shorter holes to keep it fun/challenging
Good subtle elevation change
Some risk/reward
Great place to work on your placement game
Good to take Newbies/family to
Great for a quick round

Favorite hole(s) #9, #12
Cons: Most of my cons will go away when the Park and Trees mature a little
Seemed a little repetetive on a few holes in the middle
A little too open for the most part
Parking lot was small
Not much length
Other Thoughts: All in all this is a fun course. I played traveling through with my wife and children and we had a lot of fun even though it was 100 degrees. There is something for everyone. The walking path and the picnic area are there for the not so DG inclined.

Very nice family friendly course and lake area. Worth a stop if you are going through. Worth driving from Wichita Falls to play. Not a destination course, but, if I lived in the area I would probably be here fairly often.

My "disc rating" is weighted heavily toward the Fun Factor with a bump up or down for the amenities. I will be back by to play sometime and as it ages I think it will just get better/more challenging.

Please PM me and let me know how my reviews can be "more helpful."

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Lake Gordon Disc Golf Course

2-4    3/16/2013   3/17/2013
Review By: MyBad
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: New Tee Pads (the course is new so...)
Interesting obstacles/hole placement makes up for lack of wooded holes (which is pretty common in North Texas) as previously mentioned the elevated "sand box" is unique
Nice Mach 3 baskets with bright orange paint
Cons: most holes pretty short - designers attempt to make up for this with interesting results - but there is only so much you can do with <300 ft holes.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is an interesting course and provides an interesting and fun alternative to the typical course in the area.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Just Opened

5+    3/13/2013   3/14/2013
Review By: TxViper3187
Played: 19  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/7/2013
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Nice concrete tees and Mach3 baskets.
*Shorter holes have OB or significant obstacles to challenge players
*Island hole is unique and nothing like it in this area
*Park benches and trash cans at holes 1,3,6,9&12.
*Concrete stairs on the dam that make it easier to walk up and down.
*Friendly local players
*Direct hit wind flags on select baskets that indicate how strong the wind is blowing 6,12,&18 mph.
Cons: *Only 12 holes (so far)
*Holes 5 & 6 face each other so errant drives might cross fairways.
*Some ruts and rocks left on the course from the construction.
*Errant throws can cross walking path on dam so throwers should pay extra attention for pedestrians
*Grass area south of spillway can be kind of "swampy" but there are stone pathways that allow you to cross without getting into the mud/water
Other Thoughts: I tried to be as unbiased as I could about this course since I helped design it. Its a brand new course with 12 holes but we hope to expand it to a full 18 hole course in the future. There are also discussions of putting in a second set of tee pads.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.