Huntsville, AL
Redstone Arsenal Share
Uploaded By: ambroze Hole #16 (Taken 10/2010)
-- / 264ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee Sign



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
GREAT COURSE

1    5/27/2012   6/17/2012
Review By: DiscKey
Played: 62  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained! Nice tee boxes! Calls for almost every shot in the bag! Great mixture of short and long holes with some technical shooting needed as well! The hall of fame hole is an awesome golf hole! Course has nice flow to it hole to hole.
Cons: To find any cons on this would really be nitpicking. I do think that most would agree that it not being available for everyone to play, whenever they want is really the only negative I can find.
Other Thoughts: I was fortunate enough to play this course I. A tournament without much hassle getting through the gate. We only played 18 holes, but would love to get back there and play the additional holes as well!

To me, this course is what dis golf is all about! Not sure if there is other pin placements on all of the holes already, but that would be nice to see if there is! I did see other pin locations on some and want to get back and play those!

It's a MUST play if you're in the area!!!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Redstone Arsenal

1    5/30/2010   6/6/2010
Review By: craigd
Played: 90  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 5.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Redstone is a one of a kind course and is probably one of the preeminent courses in Huntsville. The course itself is almost a perfect example of what a disc golf course should be like. After all, this course has lots to offer. Grassy knolls complimented by stands of mature trees are a staple but a variety of other hole types are here too. You'll find everything from wooded to wide open. Some shorter holes are here but deuces are certainly not guaranteed. In fact, the course is so well designed that you could expect a medley of scores. The longer than average, scenic, and nostalgic hole fifteen (it was known as one of the premier disc golf holes in the late 90's) is a treat to play. You'll also find hole eight as a challenging and memorable 800'+ hole guarded by OB to the left and thick pines to the right. Beyond that you'll play through the course not once thinking about repetitive holes. There really is a nice and unique mix.

You'll find good baskets with multiple positions and decent concrete pads with a very rough surface. Several benches are scattered around and several trashcans are here and there too. The grassy areas are well kept, the wooded areas are maintained, and overall it is a very clean course.
Cons: It's a restricted course on a military base/Arsenal. If you're not military personnel or a member of the club you can't get access to the course.

The course doesn't loop around so once you get going you don't get back by the parking lot until the end of the round. Make sure to bring plenty of water if it's hot.
Other Thoughts: It's really cool being on the Redstone Arsenal. It's an atmosphere you are not likely to find on any other course. Being that it is somewhat of a restricted course and not as easy to gain access makes it even more of a treat to play and you will certainly be more appreciative of it. I would say if you ever get a chance to get on the course don't miss your chance. During my only trip to Huntsville (Rocket City Blast 2010) I met plenty of locals and they all seemed excited that someone who hasn't played the course was visiting. I am sure you can find a few to get you on the course by contacting the club. You won't be disappointed. Enjoy!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 REDSTONE ARSENAL

1    5/31/2009   6/17/2009
Review By: FLX BUZZZ
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: GREAT COURSE. HAS SO MANY GREAT SHOTS. THE 800/1100 FT HOLE ON #8 IS AS TOUGH AS THEY COME. THE SIGNATURE # 15 IS A HOLE TO REMEMBER.
Cons: HARD TO ENTER UNLESS YOUARE PLAYING IN A TOURNAMENT.
Other Thoughts: IF YOU GET THE CHANCE TO PLAY THIS COURSE, YOU SHOULD ENJOY THE CHANCE TO PLAY ONE OF THE BEST COURSES AROUND NORTH AL.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 One of my favorites

2-4    6/16/2007   6/16/2009
Review By: dandaman
Played: 55  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 18.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is great! One of my alltime personal favorites, it features great amenities such as great baskets, benches, concrete teepads, trashcans, wonderfully mowed fairways, etc... Great variety of shots, and a round of golf there is most enjoyable.
Cons: When I played some of the teepads were in kind of rough shape...just worn out with age I guess.

It's on a military base and it requires special permission to play. Contact the Rocket City Chain Gang to put yourself on the list.
Other Thoughts: This is a great disc golf course. This is definetly worth the time to investigate how you can get on and play it.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/22/2009   3/24/2009
Review By: AdamH
Played: 182  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 10.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course at Redstone Arsenal has a nice variety of short, medium, long, wooded, open and technical holes. The majority of the course plays in the woods with only a couple holes that are mostly open.

About a third of the holes have multiple pin placements here. It looks like they really change the shot and help to keep the course fresh.

There are plenty of birdie opportunities here, but none of them are gimmie birdies. Accuracy is necessary to get your birdies here.
Cons: In certain places, navigating this course is difficult. If I hadn't been playing with people who knew the layout, I would have got lost a few times.

The area around hole 2's pad, 3's pin, 14's pad and 18's pin is very congested. During a tournament it could be dangerous to have so many pads and pins in such a small area.

This course seems to heavily favor right handed players. Most holes are straight and hyzer shots with only a few turnovers.
Other Thoughts: I like this course a lot and it seems like the most balanced course in Huntsville in terms of open vs. wooded and long vs. short. Great course for rec players to sharpen their game and pro's to tear up.

If some of the cons I mention above are addressed (particularly the navigation issue), this course could easily be a 4 or 4.5

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Another great Huntsville course.

5+    2/13/2009   3/18/2009
Review By: wirerat123
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.8 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is another logical progression courses in Huntsville. Basically take Braham Springs and make it longer. I often forget about this course when checking reviews in such because it is hard to get to for the average player. But if you can get to it to play it, go for it, you will not be dissapointed. This is a step up in difficulty from Braham Springs and Mastin Lake, somewhat on par in difficulty to UAH (Only challenge to UAH is length, and a couple of somewhat difficult holes.). I prefer this course over UAH.
Cons: On a military base and difficult to get to, VERY difficult to navigate if you don't know the way around.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/25/2008   10/9/2008
Review By: bazkitcase5
Played: 122  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 10 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is well taken care of by the military base, as well as the local disc golf club. Some of the best disc golf volunteers I have met live in Huntsville, with some working on the base.

The course has excellent variety that will most certainly test your entire bag of tricks. Every hole has concrete tees and several holes have multiple pin placements. The fairways are fair and each hole has a unique challenge, for all levels of skill.
Cons: The course is on a restricted military base, so the public can not play this awesome course whenever they want. However, this course is often played in tournaments and contacting the local club ahead of time may allow you the chance to get onto the base and play this great course.

The only bathroom is a porta-potty at the start of the course and the course does not loop around at the half way point. There is no running water, so bring your own water. It would be nice to see more benches installed throughout the course. Also, the course could use more tee signs, to better help navigate your way, as it can be a little trick if you do not know the course. I have only played this course in tournaments, so it has not been a problem for me.

If this course had more legit par 4s and 5s and the extras I listed, it would get a 5 star rating.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses. Between the beauty of the land, the mystique of playing on a military base, to winding through the course dodging cedar trees, pine trees, and the other dangers of getting off the fairway, makes this course one of the best. I would highly recommend this course if you ever get a chance to play it, whether you come for one of the well run tournaments or just passing through Huntsville.

Hole 8 would have to be one of the better disc golf holes I have played and obviously the signature hole for the course. The short pin plays 800 feet, with thick shule all down the left side (sometimes just played as OB during tournaments), then rows of mature pine trees on the right side, all the way down. The fairway is plenty big enough (50 ft. at the most narrow point), beginning with a straight route that bends left, then bends back right as you approach the basket. This awesome hole plays as a pro par 4. Then, there is the long pin that plays about 1100 feet and would qualify as a pro par 5.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 My all time faveorite

4/7/2008   4/7/2008
Review By: domihop20
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: very interesting holes, long and short, shade and field, great markings and even little arrows on the baskets pointing to the next T. Friendly people, great picnic areas and play area for kids.
Cons: only 4.5 because the paths could be a little less "woody" have to walk through some areas of small stumps, mostly on the first three or four holes.
Other Thoughts: I've played about 10 parks in Alabama and NC, this is my favorite so far.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent!

1/11/2008   1/11/2008
Review By: Doozer
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A veritable collection of open fields, dense woods and potentially devastating OB shots make this the best all-around course I have seen. The course is maintained well by the Army and local DG group and the locals are about as friendly as they come. There are multiple basket positions and Am tees are present on a few holes.
Cons: You have to be a DoD or Military in order to gain access to Redstone arsenal.
#8 is the widow maker as a 800+ft right dogleg between a ditch with dense undergrowth and a row of large pines including a mando. If you can hit #8 with a par, you're likely to have a great round. Just mind the snakes during the summer. Watch out for large holes in the ground on a few of the holes from tree excavation.
Other Thoughts: It's a shame this course isnt open to the general public. The course is marked well and each hole has its positive traits. Bring all your discs, because this course will challenge you with every shot you have; from strong anhyzers to the occasional jump putt from a ditch. Just try not to taco one with all the trees around.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.