Arden, NC 
Lake Julian NT DGC Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #3 (Taken 3/2013)
3 / 337ft.   4 / 485ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great use of land

5+    7/29/2014   8/8/2014
Review By: Patton82
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice course with extensive pressure to be more accurate! Tight, wooded throws on half, nice rolling open throws on half. Great pin placement on each basket.
Cons: No signs of footage/par; poor tee-boxes
Other Thoughts: Love playing this course, don't play it well, but the callenge of getting more accurate with my drives keeps me coming back to this one!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great local 9 hole course

1    9/26/2013   9/26/2013
Review By: ijohnj
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice simple layout
Mix of wooded and open shots
Convenience
Cons: Tee pads not installed
No signs or distances yet
Other Thoughts: I heard about this new course recently and wanted to check it out. Moving to Hendersonville from Charlotte, I was surprised by the lack of course options in the Asheville area. Richmond Hill is stellar but there are no other legit courses nearby. This little 9 hole course was a breath of fresh air. 4 holes are very open and 5 are heavily wooded. This combined with the mixture of shots provide a nice quick round. No holes are extremely long but a few are probably pushing 300.' The finish throwing right at the lake is a nice touch. Park near the bathrooms and the first hole hugs the road you just drove in on. Park only open 8am-8pm

Give this one a try, especially if you live south of Asheville.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Under Construction (i hope)

1    7/16/2013   7/22/2013
Review By: madcow
Played: 27  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Baskets are nice
Some neat shots
lake
fairways seem to be woodchipped
Cons: no next tee signs
course does not follow map
hard to find tees/nonexistent
Other Thoughts: Honestly, im not even sure how to rate this course. Holes 4 thru 12 arent even correct on the map. You have to kinda walk all over to find anything. When its finished im sure it will be a nice 2.5/3 rated course to hit up when bored. Till them i want to give it a 0 - 1, so ill be fair and give it a 1.5.... pending.

Im hoping this is because the course is under construction. I ended up giving up trying to find hole 10 and just went home.

Hole 1 is NOT by a gazeboo. It is by a PAVILLION haha. We drove around 3 times trying to find this gazeboo... maybe the south has a different definition of one than us northerners... i dunno.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun, but Rough

2-4    7/7/2013   7/7/2013
Review By: S.Cann
Played: 84  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Mostly wooded holes with a few open holes to break it up.
-Variety of shots required
-Several holes are tight, but not overly difficult.
-Nice, new DISCatchers
-Bathrooms on site and some holes had benches.
-A lot of work has gone into this course already and it seems to be still under construction.
-Easy to get in a quick round once you know the course.
Cons: -Navigation is VERY difficult at the moment. If I had not ran into a local I would have had a tough time finding tees, baskets, etc. This course is in desperate need of some signage. Next tee signs are a must!
-This course is listed as 12 holes, but they recently took out 3.
-Most of the tee pads were mulch, but some were dirt with roots growing through them.
-There are still thick areas of schule located in and around fairways.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a fun course with some great holes. Unfortunately, it is still pretty rough and nearly unplayable if you don't know where you going. This course is still under construction and will only get better. I plan to come out again after the course is more established and update my review.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

hopefully still in progress

1    5/26/2013   6/3/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 199  Reviewed: 197  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/7/2013
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are some good holes here, with some solid variation. A few down fairly wide woods channels. others are nice and open. Nothing special, just a fun 9-12 holes that let you throw most of your bag.
Cons: Nothing is marked. I had a hard time finding several of the holes. Three big reasons for this. No tees. No signs. No clear paths between some of the holes. Often was guessing that the cage I was throwing towards was the right one.

I could not find holes 10-12 at all and just left.
Other Thoughts: It looked like they might still be doing construction, so if the problems I addressed are fixed, consider my rating to be understating the course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Secluded shorty

5+    3/17/2013   3/18/2013
Review By: DiscChainBasket18
Played: 78  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 10.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is in a nice park setting next to beautiful Lake Julian. This course was designed by a professional player so each hole offers a unique challenge. The flow is good with elevation coming into play. Wooded & open holes. Straight shots with some lefts & rights mixed in. Large benches on holes #5 through #9 & #11. Clean bathrooms & water available. Lots of parking. Friendly park staff. Large gazebo with picnic benches. Fairly easy to navigate but take a map the first time. Only 12 holes means a pretty quick round. Some OB & Mandos in play.
Cons: Dirt tee pads are rough & uneven. No tee signs. Loose branches & tree limbs are stacked up along the sides of some fairways. Next tee signs are needed on certain holes to ease navigation. ***Most of these 'cons' will probably be fixed later as this is a brand new course.
Other Thoughts: Alternate tee pads on holes 1, 5, 6, 9, 10 & 11. Alternate pin locations on holes 3, 8, 10 & 12. With the lake behind the basket on the downhill #12 makes a beautiful yet menacing finishing hole! It's great to have another course in between Asheville & Hendersonville. This will become my new 'local' course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.