Arden, NC 
Lake Julian NT DGC Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #4 (Taken 3/2013)
3 / 277ft.   3 / 213ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Approach



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Rugged and fun

1    8/1/2015   8/8/2015
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 203  Reviewed: 198  Exp: 11.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lake Julian NT is an enjoyable, challenging 9-hole layout. If you overlook, or get used to, the confusing layout and navigation, you'll be in for a treat here.
- Excellent nine-hole course with good variety. This is not your typical family-friendly, neighborhood park nine-holer. This is a man's 9-hole course. I finished playing #9, having played with conservatively and avoided the water, and was wanting to move on to the back 9. Some nine-holers feel like they should only be nine holes, others feel like they're an 18-hole layout cut in half. This feels like the latter.
- There's a good variety in the degree of challenges this course offers. The first two holes are heavily wooded, mid-range layouts - 283 feet for #1, 250 feet for #2. That's followed by my favorite hole on the course, the long, dogleg right, par 4 - 519 feet from the longs, 470 from the shorts. Land your tee shot in the grass around the bend and you'll have a short to mid-range approach shot. Two solid shots and you'll be putting for an easy three. The hole slopes down towards the road, so if you sail long you bring penalty strokes into play.
- This course offers some good risk/reward layouts. The four heavily wooded holes (#1, 2, 5 & 6) all offer birdie chances while also bringing in higher scores if you hit a tree or get into the thicker rough. #5 & 6 really give you a chance to park your disc close to the basket. Any of these four holes can be an easy 2 or a frustrating 4 if you avoid or smack a tree.
- The biggest risk/reward hole on the course is the closing hole, #9. The hole is 221 feet from the longs, 170 from the short tee, playing downhill with the basket less than 30 feet from the lake. Oh, and there's nothing (trees, shrubs, etc.) between the basket and the water so anything that sails long is getting wet. Take the water out of play and this hole will be an easy 2. With the water, players like me, who aren't wanting to risk a lost disc, will play tee shots 30 feet short to ensure an easy 3 at the worst.
- This is a mid-level to advanced nine-hole layout. Most nine-holers are beginner layouts so it is a nice change of pace. There are plenty of easy courses in the Asheville area that casual players can play (Enka, Black Mountain, etc.), so it's nice to have another solid layout, even if it is only nine holes.
Cons: Even though this is a Nature Trail course, there is none of the NT trademarks at this course. You don't get the informative tee signs, big kiosk or NT-themed scorecards. Instead, this just feels like a rugged course built by locals who stopped working on it once the baskets were in.
- Course is a pain to navigate for first timers. Once you park, there's a path that leads immediately to a tee pad. One problem. That's the tee for #3. Even if you follow the directions listed on this site, as I did, when you do get to the tee for #1, there's no way of knowing because there are no tee signs and/or arrows pointing you in the right direction. The only clear indication you are on #1 is if you walk to the basket, you'll see the #1 on it. After that, the next hardest transition is going from #3's basket to #4 tee. It's a counter-intuitive transition as you walk partially back up #3's fairway to get to a very narrow path through the rough to get to #4's tee.
- Adding to the lack of tee signs is the lack of consistent tee pads. Some holes have clear tee pads - frames, colored markers or carpet tees - others just appear to be where the grass has faded. On some holes the blue and white markers are both visible (for long and short tees); others only one or none. Then you've got holes where the long and short layouts share the tee, but you're throwing to different baskets - 5A & 5B; 7A & 7B. On several holes I never knew if I was throwing from the long or short tee, I was just throwing from the dirt patch. I also couldn't find many of the short tees, as I try to get a sense of the different layouts/looks you get from the different tees.
- No trashcans or benches on this course. And as such, there was some trash throughout the course. It's obviously frustrating that people can't pack out there trash during a 45-minute (at most round) round. There are trash cans back in the parking lot so there is no excuse for littering.
Other Thoughts: Once I figured out what was going on with this layout, I enjoyed Lake Julian a lot. The strategy was basically to look for something that appeared to be the tee area, and throw from there, all logic aside.
- This would make a great 18-hole layout. Were this a full 18, it'd give Asheville an awesome compliment to Richmond Hill. The area is lacking a great secondary 18-hole layout unless you want to drive up to Mars Hill or out towards Waynesville.
- I thought there was a good mix of challenging, 'be satisfied with a 3' holes and be aggressive, birdie-able ones. I carded a couple birdies and had a couple more birdie putts during my round, taking advantage of the easier layouts.
- It was a little surprising how ordinary this entire park was considering the amazing scenery and potential being on Lake Julian. I would have thought this park would be much more appreciated and offer more amenities, but it was very pedestrian. Maybe that means the disc golf course can take over more of the land and add 9 more holes.
- This was an above average 9-holer for me. It's a very good layout. Fine tune some of the problems - tee pads and signage - and this course will be even better. As it stands, unless you're wanting to drive 20 - 30 minutes to Mars Hill, Brevard College or Waynesville, this is probably the second best challenge you'll get in the Asheville area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

I like it!

1    2/16/2015   2/16/2015
Review By: Bennybennybenny
Played: 62  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 4.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Note: Before you read this review, this course isn't at Lake Julian Park, it's on Lake Julian Rd. Just go up the gravel road and by the time you are facing the lake, you will know where to park, just park on the gravel toward the woods because that is where #1 is.
-Love this nine hole course! It has excellent variety and it also has 3 alternate basket positions. Not 12 holes, just 12 baskets and #3 has a long tee pad, they are really fun to play.
-Great mix between open and wooded holes, great variety in length as well. Average hole length is about 285' on the shorts, the average on the longs is maybe 330'.
-Few signature holes! Hole 3 was the first that came in mind. It's an open anhyzer tee shot with the woods to the right in play. There is a drop off beyond the basket. #5 was another fun hole, it has two pin positions! One is just across the ditch and the long one is slight back up the hill with a difficult second shot that awaits you. #7 (my favorite) is another open hole. It plays downhill and allows you to really rip it. The short pin is in the open and maybe 350' from the tee and the long pin is tucked into the woods maybe 150' further. #9 is a downhill ace run with real danger beyond the basket where you will need a floater. Great ending hole, very nicely done.
-Nice 28 chain disCatchers, Catch well and are in great shape.
-Very fair course that can be fun for anyone! Fairways are very interesting, only a few holes are straight. The fairway variety is very good.
Cons: -Course is not well marked. The transition to #4 is extremely confusing. You walk to the left and down the path and back up it a little, you will likely find the basket first. The tee is in the open and the fairway goes into the woods. The tees are just natural pads that are marked by blue and white markers. No tee signs yet but it's about time. There are no "next tee" signs either. Navigation is not easy.
-A little bit of overgrowth here and there but it's not too rough.
-Muddy areas here and there and there is a little bit of graffiti .
Other Thoughts: -Notice: Holes 5,7 and 8 have alternate pin positions and hole 3 has two tee pads, both green carpet pads. The map is not adequate either, it's very inconvenient. You have to find the baskets first on most holes.
-This is a great course, very nicely designed, I will come back and play it when I get the chance to. If you don't like inconvenience, I don't think you should play here, but if you mostly look at design, you should definitely play this course. Every hole is at least decent. The first two are both decent and then you get to hole 3 and it gets very interesting. This course is better than the average nine hole course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable course, but confusing documentation

1    11/29/2014   12/4/2014
Review By: Zepfanman
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/9/2015
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nicely maintained. Challenging shots, mostly wooded, well designed. Holes 3 and 7 appear to be the longest, both are mostly open (along a large power line alley). Had good weather the one time I played (11/29/14) and the course looked beautiful. Two tees on almost every hole and a few with multiple pins.
Cons: This course is only about a year old and it appears to be going through early growing pains. I'd give the course itself at least a 3.5 if the signage, map, and par info (no distances listed anywhere) were updated. Apparently, there are 12 HOLES NOW, although I did not have a chance to explore after playing the first 9.

This part of the park is a little scary - large graffiti on outer walls of (locked) bathrooms the Saturday we played. Park entrance hut looked like someone had crashed into it. The course itself, though, is very pretty.
Other Thoughts: Played all par 3's (only hole 3 is listed as 4), but impossible to determine proper pars without signage. Not sure which pin placements DGCR website distances are referring to. I was visiting from out of town, so it was difficult to read the course on a first-visit; seems like a great place to play if you're more familiar with the layout and course construction progress (new pins and holes).

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Its fine for being close by...

2-4    10/7/2014   10/8/2014
Review By: Jackattack828
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.1 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Its nearby my house and school. Its short. Has a good mix of trees and woodland to fields. I like hole #9 with the lake behind it. Good course for beginners. Dont lose discs easily. Easily find the next hole.
Cons: With it was an 18 holer. Crappy tee-boxes. Gets really really muddy quickly. Feel like stuff would be robbed. Feel like they tried to just put a course in there to get more people to use that side of Lake Julian. More Cons than Pros. No signs or maps/ pars/ distance. Hard to find the teebox for 4 (have to walk backwards), also 7 is a weird hole with 7A, 7B, 7C and 7D. Have to walk backwards to get to the #8 hole tee.
Other Thoughts: I like going there to practice but its not a good course. Its good for beginners.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great use of land

5+    7/29/2014   8/8/2014
Review By: Patton82
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very nice course with extensive pressure to be more accurate! Tight, wooded throws on half, nice rolling open throws on half. Great pin placement on each basket.
Cons: No signs of footage/par; poor tee-boxes
Other Thoughts: Love playing this course, don't play it well, but the callenge of getting more accurate with my drives keeps me coming back to this one!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great local 9 hole course

1    9/26/2013   9/26/2013
Review By: ijohnj
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice simple layout
Mix of wooded and open shots
Convenience
Cons: Tee pads not installed
No signs or distances yet
Other Thoughts: I heard about this new course recently and wanted to check it out. Moving to Hendersonville from Charlotte, I was surprised by the lack of course options in the Asheville area. Richmond Hill is stellar but there are no other legit courses nearby. This little 9 hole course was a breath of fresh air. 4 holes are very open and 5 are heavily wooded. This combined with the mixture of shots provide a nice quick round. No holes are extremely long but a few are probably pushing 300.' The finish throwing right at the lake is a nice touch. Park near the bathrooms and the first hole hugs the road you just drove in on. Park only open 8am-8pm

Give this one a try, especially if you live south of Asheville.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Under Construction (i hope)

1    7/16/2013   7/22/2013
Review By: madcow
Played: 27  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.8 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Baskets are nice
Some neat shots
lake
fairways seem to be woodchipped
Cons: no next tee signs
course does not follow map
hard to find tees/nonexistent
Other Thoughts: Honestly, im not even sure how to rate this course. Holes 4 thru 12 arent even correct on the map. You have to kinda walk all over to find anything. When its finished im sure it will be a nice 2.5/3 rated course to hit up when bored. Till them i want to give it a 0 - 1, so ill be fair and give it a 1.5.... pending.

Im hoping this is because the course is under construction. I ended up giving up trying to find hole 10 and just went home.

Hole 1 is NOT by a gazeboo. It is by a PAVILLION haha. We drove around 3 times trying to find this gazeboo... maybe the south has a different definition of one than us northerners... i dunno.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, but Rough

2-4    7/7/2013   7/7/2013
Review By: S.Cann
Played: 120  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Mostly wooded holes with a few open holes to break it up.
-Variety of shots required
-Several holes are tight, but not overly difficult.
-Nice, new DISCatchers
-Bathrooms on site and some holes had benches.
-A lot of work has gone into this course already and it seems to be still under construction.
-Easy to get in a quick round once you know the course.
Cons: -Navigation is VERY difficult at the moment. If I had not ran into a local I would have had a tough time finding tees, baskets, etc. This course is in desperate need of some signage. Next tee signs are a must!
-This course is listed as 12 holes, but they recently took out 3.
-Most of the tee pads were mulch, but some were dirt with roots growing through them.
-There are still thick areas of schule located in and around fairways.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a fun course with some great holes. Unfortunately, it is still pretty rough and nearly unplayable if you don't know where you going. This course is still under construction and will only get better. I plan to come out again after the course is more established and update my review.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

hopefully still in progress

1    5/26/2013   6/3/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 239  Reviewed: 235  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/7/2013
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are some good holes here, with some solid variation. A few down fairly wide woods channels. others are nice and open. Nothing special, just a fun 9-12 holes that let you throw most of your bag.
Cons: Nothing is marked. I had a hard time finding several of the holes. Three big reasons for this. No tees. No signs. No clear paths between some of the holes. Often was guessing that the cage I was throwing towards was the right one.

I could not find holes 10-12 at all and just left.
Other Thoughts: It looked like they might still be doing construction, so if the problems I addressed are fixed, consider my rating to be understating the course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Secluded shorty

5+    3/17/2013   3/18/2013
Review By: DiscChainBasket18
Played: 92  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 11.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is in a nice park setting next to beautiful Lake Julian. This course was designed by a professional player so each hole offers a unique challenge. The flow is good with elevation coming into play. Wooded & open holes. Straight shots with some lefts & rights mixed in. Large benches on holes #5 through #9 & #11. Clean bathrooms & water available. Lots of parking. Friendly park staff. Large gazebo with picnic benches. Fairly easy to navigate but take a map the first time. Only 12 holes means a pretty quick round. Some OB & Mandos in play.
Cons: Dirt tee pads are rough & uneven. No tee signs. Loose branches & tree limbs are stacked up along the sides of some fairways. Next tee signs are needed on certain holes to ease navigation. ***Most of these 'cons' will probably be fixed later as this is a brand new course.
Other Thoughts: Alternate tee pads on holes 1, 5, 6, 9, 10 & 11. Alternate pin locations on holes 3, 8, 10 & 12. With the lake behind the basket on the downhill #12 makes a beautiful yet menacing finishing hole! It's great to have another course in between Asheville & Hendersonville. This will become my new 'local' course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.