St. George, UT 
Mathis Park Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #1 (Taken 6/2013)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Approach



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Decent Short Course

1    2/2/2014   2/6/2014
Review By: bopApocalypse
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.1 Years
Pros: Short holes may be good for new players, families, or anybody who just doesn't throw that far.
Nice, simple signage calls out tees, and directions to next tee for a few holes.
Good use of what was available to provide a wide variety of shots. A few holes are a straightforward line drive, but most require a little thought, and offer multiple options.
Cons: An abnormally wet winter has led to several of the grass tee areas getting chewed up and pretty slippery.
Hole length (150-170') won't provide much score separation for intermediate-advanced players.
Short, straightforward holes don't provide a lot of challenge for intermediate-advanced players.
Very near to 0 elevation change over the whole course - flat, flat, flat.
Other Thoughts: Sunday afternoon in February seems like a pretty good time to play - we saw a total of 4 people while we were there, and 2 of those were playing as well.
I could definitely see it getting crowded though - it's not a large park, and with the large pavilion, playground, and playing field, I could definitely see it being difficult to play as desired.

Many of the trees on the course are still fairly young - give it 5 years, and most of the holes will be a bit more challenging.

I'll definitely be back when I visit St. George in the future. It's not a destination course, but worth playing if you're in the area, especially if you're bringing the less-dedicated family along.

Good Family Course

2-4    12/20/2013   1/15/2014
Review By: bjornsvenson
Played: 17  Reviewed: 3
Pros: -The whole family can play the course
-Well signed
-Playable in Winter
Cons: -Heavy traffic multi-use park
-Few obstacles
Other Thoughts: I was surprised to notice that my mid-range drive was so lacking. If you're used to bomb t-offs you'll have to adjust so you don't over throw every hole.

I've seem many LARGE groups playing this course. These groups have been large families or youth groups. They aren't aware of Disc Golf etiquette.

Watch out for walkers

2-4    10/21/2013   10/24/2013
Review By: Garner
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.2 Years
Pros: Quality baskets, well groomed grass park. Good use of what there is to work with. The course forces you to use different throws. Everyone was very friendly.
Cons: The course is pretty small but still fun. We played in the evening on a Monday night and the park was fairly busy. Had to skip holes for dog walkers and kids on razors. The course lacks flow - after the 9th hole you have to walk across a couple of holes to get back to 1. If you have a horrible throw you could end up in the adjacent dirt field with a long walk to get through a gate, but at least there is a gate (the chain link fence has sharp tops).

Mathis Park

5+    2/17/2013   3/18/2013
Review By: TheGrim
Played: 50  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 4/6/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I've played this course about a dozen times since it's currently the best course in St. George. It is always green and very clean, tucked away in a quiet area with the Virgin River running along side it.

The 9 baskets are located around the outside of the park in pretty good locations that allow you to make the course your own. If the open field isn't in use for soccer or something then it allows for some long throws.

Trees can be used to make tight shots and tunnels.

Very low risk of losing a disc to the river or into someone's yard.

Baskets are all in great condition.
Cons: It is a fairly small and well-used park. There is a pavilion and playground you throw by that can be problematic. There are a lot of people and activities that go on so it can get a little crowded, but I've only every had to pass on a couple holes.

There aren't any concrete pads or signs. On the plus side you can choose your own adventure!

Dog poop here and there.
Other Thoughts: My brother is working with the city on an official design and tee pads but that will take at least a few months, (it is the government after all). It is a nice little park that is certainly worth throwing if you're in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center