Chillicothe, OH 
Ohio University-Chillicothe Share
Uploaded By: jtmelton Hole #12
3 / 217ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Chillicothe’s other gem

5+    9/29/2013   9/29/2013
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 155  Reviewed: 128  Exp: 2.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A great deal of variety awaits the Recreational to Intermediate player on the OU-C 18 hole course, including an open field downhill bomb of almost 400 feet, to excruciatingly tight woods holes as short as 163'. You'll need to shape shots in both directions, hit lines, and avoid some really serious hazards if you don't have good control of your distances, due to the very nice use of the elevation available through these campus woods. For instance, if you throw to the right (or kick off a tree!) on hole #4, you'll wind up 50' below the basket in the treacherous ravine. So water isn't the only way to punch up the risk/reward factor on a course!

Hole 1 starts behind the main building and shoots downhill to the treeline with a bleacher bench just right of the basket, and a slope into the (still forgiving) woods behind. Hole two comes back toward the building, and # 3 is the aforementioned bomb, while #4 is the control shortie noted above. Hole five has a tight woods fairway with the hill sloping away long and right of the basket. Walking back to your left toward University Blvd, you'll shoot #6 up along the hillside to the woodline, with the potential to really run long or to fade a long way away. The seventh basket, 300 feet downhill of the tee, is guarded by a magnificent tree, before coming back into the woods uphill to the left on 8, across the path to the right on nine, and further uphill to the right on 10.

#11 has a bit of an 'unfairway', with a huge number of small trees in your path to this relatively short pin position. #12 is straight, with a guarded 'green', while #13 looks like it might have a fair line hooking to the right to an interesting basket raised just a little on an old stump. If you try to cut straight at this one, there are a LOT of trees to navigate! The fourteenth basket lies just a few feet past the treeline, with your shot having to either hyzer out over the tennis courts, or between the trees and the tall fence. Hole 15 is a neat hyzer (rhbh) shot beyond, but with the path and a lamp post which can constitute OB right and beyond. The 16th basket is a lengthy uphill to the right, beyond a fenced in wetlands area, and 17 comes back gently down the hill (with the added bonus of possibly 'black acing' the 15th basket). 18 finishes up by the driveway and a nice tree, with the basket parked just at the top of the hill by the corner of the main campus building.
Cons: The lack of poured teepads could be worked around in several places by shooting from sidewalks (on 1, 3, 7), and from the drive on 18. Right now, most are exposed dirt (one rubber mat on 14), with roots and rocks causing uneven steps far too often. The extremely basic tee signs state only distances, and a few are either missing or lying on the ground at the tee.

The course could just as easily start with the long bomb on hole three, renumbering from one starting there by the parking lot. But the flow of the course is logical and pretty easy to follow, with the possible exception of the path going both directions away from the 8th basket, and the long walk between 13 & 14.

We played hole 18 from the driveway just left of the tee to avoid hitting the lamp post directly in the line of the dirt tee.
Other Thoughts: Compliments to Jeff Melton for designing a challenging, but not brutal course out there in Chillicothe. If you're in that area for the day, OU-C and Great Seal pack a nice one-two punch for disc golfers!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

good course

1    3/30/2013   5/3/2013
Review By: jimcramer24
Played: 19  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I liked the diversity of the holes. There is a great mix of wooded and open holes. Following the lay of the course was pretty easy.
Cons: Teepads, or lack there of. Concrete tee pads would totally transform this course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

nice course

2-4    9/8/2012   9/10/2012
Review By: LBC19
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: nice mix of woods and open holes.
Cons: tee boxes not in great shape ,at least one you couldnt even tell where the box was,open holes in need of a lawn mower.
Other Thoughts: nice course ,only the second course I have played so I dont have much to compare too, layout nice I am sure I will be back! concrete pads would make all the difference!!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good beginner course

5+    5/3/2012   5/4/2012
Review By: catchermccord
Played: 24  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beginner course, can still be challenging
-Never crowded
-Good mixture of open, wooded holes
-Utilizes all types of shots (BH, FH, Hyzers, Anhyzers)
-Good baskets
Cons: -I prefer concrete tee pads, so the dirt tee boxes are a let down
-No picture of where the hole is on the tee box. Can be difficult to find a few in the woods.
-Some hole markers are missing/fallen over
-Recently built pathway with light posts erected. The constructors completely disregarded the course and at hole #16 and #18 there is a chance you might hit one.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course. I live walking distance away so I play here at least once a week. It is a good course to work on your game. Rarely is there anyone else playing. It is free and scenic. Hole #3, #4, #7, #9 are my favorite. #3 is a pure distance hole in the open, I have emptied my bag from time to time here. #4 is a nice touch shot with a putter, I have came close to several aces here. #7 is wrapped behind a lone tree. #9 is another touch shot with a putter, potential for an ace here as well. #13's basket is perched ontop of a stump, interesting hole.

All in all, this is a nice course with all different types of holes. Tunnel shots, open shots, risk/reward shots. I would recommend playing here if you live close by or are passing through.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice For A University

1    9/2/2010   9/10/2010
Review By: Ben17
Played: 61  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 4.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For a university its pretty nice. They do have a great amount of elevation changes. The tees and the baskets are both easy to find. Even though it is on a college campus it is still always open. Its not like they have a closing time during the school day. The baskets had stickers on the inside pole so that you could be able to locate the basket from the tee in the wooded areas. They do mix it up, having many holes in the woods and other holes out in the open. Even though they had dirt tees, the dirt was nice and flat. You were never on the wrong side of a hill. I think that the signature hole is hole #13. It is really neat how they have the basket actually on top of a tree stump. I have really never seen this before.
Cons: To begin i would have to say that the tee signs are not useful at all. All it says is the distance, you have no clue where the baskets are located. The first tee is somewhat challenging to find. It is behind the building above the tennis courts. I didn't know where to look so i had to ask some other disc golfers where to go. Hole #6 actually plays along the road. It is also on a hill. When i was there my disc rolled all the way into the road. Good thing there were no cars coming. Always be careful of that. At times it can be somewhat challenging to navigate through. Also there is no map to guide you through the course. In the woods it can get really thick. Always watch out for the thorn bushes. There are alot of them here. And when i say alot i mean alot.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a pretty decent course. If you have a few hours in between classes then this is definately what you need to go and do. A quick little round of disc. Here alot of the holes are the same and dont really challenge you in a different way. If you are in the Chillicothe area i would recommend going and playing the Great Seal course. It is definately more fun and more challenging than this. If you really want to play a nice course i would say go about half an hour down the road and go play Pike Lake State Park. It is for sure better than both of the courses in the Chillicothe area. Even though i just said this, this is still a nice course that just needs a little bit of work in some areas.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Chillin in Chillicothe

1    5/3/2010   5/13/2010
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love the way this course opens with a baby downhill to warm up your arm. I truly enjoyed the downhill blast of hole #3 with the fast slope to punish hard hyzers left. I emptied my bag and I would recommend doing the same...fun open hole. Hole 4 is a shortie with ace potential but beware theres a cliff dropoff lurking to the right so reconsider that anny route. All of the open holes seemed to have legitimate birdie potential if your initial placement is favorable. Across slope to fast green #6 and downhill to guarded basket #7 were enjoyable and #16 provided the only big arm test of power as you must throw uphill over a fenced in, but accessible, oob retention basin to have a decent putt at birdie.....I emptied my bag here and learned my arm is worthless but I still swear I can take the macho route. You can lay-up and go around and take a 3 or you can go for it and take the circle 4 like me. (good risk reward hole for big arms) Has some elevation throughout the fields and the woods. The woods holes are short but they are tight enough with different options to keep your interest. Short enough so disc loss should be minimal. 17 and 18 make good use of elevation in their pin placements...but read cons.
Cons: Natural Tees appear to be muddy at times. 17 and 18 pose major risk. 17's basket is perched on a hillside next to an access road and 18 comically has the basket next to a windowless building with double doors that literally open onto the green. Funny until someone gets hurt. Tennis courts also seem to have a lot of traffic so holes 1 and 18 could be a bit problematic..(college course it's to be expected) The final loop of open holes 14-18 seemed less fun than the prior open holes 1-3,6-7. The woods holes were all very short. Seemed to me something more ambitious could have been done in the woods here. There is a park bench very close to basket #4. I didn't like the tennis fence tunnel of 14 much either.(maybe I had flashbacks of Seth Burton 17 lol) Won't challenge the better golfers out there but it won't bore you either.
Other Thoughts: Again I was surprised by this course. I felt this would be a great course to have nearby as it provides woods, uphills, downhills, wind, and open shots. It plays quick but it is fun and not overly frustrating. Again I loved the atmosphere of the town (OHIo's original capital) and the college campus was tidy and pretty.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 OU close to tennis courts

6/29/2008   7/1/2008
Review By: puppyohio
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Scenic, deer at dusk. Easy walking. Can do in about hour to hour and half. Am beginner to inter player. All tees are marked. Friendly staff, can borrow discraft disc's inside.
Cons: hole 11 and 13 walk uphill.
Other Thoughts: Player's card inside of building, bottom floor. Has a practice putting hole, with 8 markers.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

8/4/2007   8/4/2007
Review By: Ryno-5 DGT
Played: 165  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 10.2 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: easy to play, elevation changes, nice atmosphere
Cons: rough tees on some

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Short course but nice

6/14/2007   6/14/2007
Review By: jtmelton
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Short course in and out of the woods with some elevation changes.. The course can be played in about 1 to 1 1/2 hours.
Cons: Some of the tee pads are rough but trying to convince the college to go with concrete.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.