Disc Golf Store
Cedar Rapids (Marion), IA 
Legion Park Share
Uploaded By: C FALC0N Hole #2
3 / 318ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket ('B' Position)



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
I'll bet this used to be a nice course

2-4    10/6/2013   10/8/2013
Review By: MidwestZest
Played: 64  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 14.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Concrete tee pads, nice and long, but a bit narrow.
- Bathrooms right at the beginning of the course, along with shelters, playground, and splash pad.
- Variety of holes is fantastic, especially on the front half of the course. 13-19 are a bit repetitive, but elevation changes and the creek provide a bit of difference.
- In general, elevation is used very well on many portions of this course.
- Benches here and there on the last half of the course. Many are deteriorating, however.
- #11 a nice, uphill wooded shot. "A" pin position tucked up around to the right. Listed at 292, probably plays more like 350 or 375.
- #12 a very cool, long downhill tunnel shot, 30 ft wide the whole way down. Erosion is a big problem on this hole, though.
- #15 - 17 play along a large, moving creek. Mostly not in play, but bad shots would certainly cost you a disc. The risk is right there.
- #20 shoots over the creek from under a high power tower, down to a pin location probably 60 feet below you. Very awesome. Water definitely in play down and to the right.
Cons: - Layout and course flow is horrible. Bad bad bad bad bad.
- Right off the bat, figuring out where the course starts was hard. First tee is not marked, and moved due to some construction. Don't know what they'll do for a permanent solution, as the bldg is right where the #1 fairway used to be. Doubt they do anything, actually.
- Signage stinks. No course map or sign at the beginning of the course, no signs on over half the course, absolutely none of the baskets are numbered, which makes things worse for the first 3 holes. Doesn't help that #21 basket is also nearby and unmarked.
- First 3 holes are just wide open, no obstacles. Good for warm-up, though.
- Bottles, cans, and other trash everywhere. No garbage cans on the first 5 holes. Later on the course, even when there are available trash cans, they weren't always used.
- Lots of graffiti everywhere.
- #7 could be an EPICALLY AWESOME hole, if it weren't completely overgrown. Just a little work to thin out some of the thicket, and it would easily be a favorite on the course. Otherwise a spotter is pretty well required for people playing this course for the first time. I've uploaded a new picture of this hole. (It's the old #9)
- #14 tee pad is definitely usable, but bowed in the middle, and pointed uphill, on a hole with the pin 50 ft below you. Not the greatest.
- #18 and #19 are just wide open, long par 3's.
Other Thoughts: - After the first 7 holes, I seriously just about walked off the course. I had spent an hour and fifteen minutes just figuring out how to get that far. And I had help from DGCR on my phone! But instead, I trudged on, and I'm glad I did. The last 12 holes are nice. And at that point I committed myself to playing a second round, with less cynicism.
- Someone USED to care about this course, it's obvious. That hasn't been for years. They've long stopped caring. There's no way you could think about holding a tournament here, in its current condition. For the 3.3 rating it has, I was expecting much more, as weird as that sounds. But, the last review hasn't been for a year, and it's had plenty of time to deteriorate more since then.
- The hole designs themselves could easily garner a 4.0 rating, maybe a 4.25. It could be that caliber of a course in its current layout. However, with the lack of care, signs, trash removal, trail upkeep…basically everything but the hole design...I can't give this course any better than a 2.75. Which means, unfortunately, I'm going to round down. Which stinks, because this course has so much potential. But I really had a horrible time here.
- Just by adding correct, visible numbers to the baskets, and even just spray painting the hole number on the tee pad would help immensely with layout. At least when you got to a hole, you would know you're in the right spot. Add a sign with the map to the beginning of the course, some arrows to the next tee, and you're right back to a 3.25 or 3.5. Otherwise, this course is essentially unplayable to a newcomer.
- I've also uploaded a new map. Make sure you have it with you if you're going to play this course for the first time. The old one was from a configuration long gone.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    11/22/2012   11/25/2012
Review By: jacobsladder
Played: 135  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 18.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: many hole types: wooded, hilly, open fields, nice tee pads and baskets, some creative holes involve power line towers, #20 hole is a nice throw from under a tower and over a stream to the basket
Cons: hard to navigate, I wasn't able to determine what holes were still in play, or under construction
Other Thoughts: would play again

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Needs some volunteers and it would be awesome!

1    8/26/2012   11/1/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 736  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Excellent variety in the holes here. There are tightly wooded holes, wide open holes, holes with key trees to avoid, prairie holes, water is in play, etc etc etc. Just about all aspects you want to see on a disc golf course are here.
2) Elevation is used very well on a handful of holes which adds to the variety of the course.
3) Excellent use of the property available. The course fits into the property well and flows fairly well from hole to hole (with the exception of where the re-design is occurring).
4) Some benches for sitting in between holes which is appreciated.
5) Distance variation is pretty good with holes in the 200's, 300's, and some 400's. This is an underappreciated factor in design that can go a long way in making a good course great.
6) Turf is in decent condition on most of the open holes, but there are worn down spots around backets, tees, and some of the wooded grassy fairways.
7) Plenty of other activities in this park for the rest of the family to enjoy.
Cons: 1) Narrow concrete tees, although concrete at all is better than the alternative.
2) Lots of graffiti all over the signs and garbage cans and benches and such.
3) #1 and #2 are a little strange because you walk right on back down the hill you throw up on #1. It's just slightly weird layout.
4) Compaction and subsequent erosion are taking their toll around the teepads here.
5) Only a few garbage cans on the course but plenty of loose garbage sitting around the park.
6) Lack of signage for the re-design is frustrating. I was not ever sure if I was headed to the right hole. I spent a good 30 minutes looking for a couple of holes and ended up on the part of the course that will be for future holes (I think).
7) I would say some of the holes are beginner friendly but not all of them are, so overall I consider this a negative.
8) Tee-signs are missing all over the place . . . couple that with no directional signage and that adds to the frustration.
Other Thoughts: Disc golf only . . . this course is a 4 disc course. It has great variety, great challenge, it is scenic in spots, and is just fun to throw . . . add in the navigation issues, the lack of signage, the vandalism and littering and it is less than a 3. If everything were installed and signs told you where to go on a handful of holes and the garbage was cleaned up I would say this is a solid 3.5 disc course maybe even a 4 disc course, but in the state I played it I have to give it a 3 rating. It is borderline 2.5 disc course but the fundamentals are just too good to knock this courses rating down so far. I would say when I played it this summer, it was a solid 2.75 and that is all, but I am going out on a limb to give it a 3.0 rating. I hope to see these issues get resolved in short order.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Best CR course

5+    6/7/2008   9/7/2012
Review By: JaminLDC
Played: 21  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is fairly easy to navigate and if you get lost the people that regularly play it are nice and helpful. Perfect mix of open and wooded holes with a blend of ace-run holes and difficult ones. Some holes might scare off beginners to try but that's what makes this course great. It mixes beginner friendly with advanced type holes. My favorite is shooting from #20 under the power line tower and watching it hyzer over the river then cut back to the basket.
Cons: May lose a disc into the river or if thrown down the thick wooded hillsides. But what would a course be without obstacles and the possibility of losing a disc.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course in Cedar Rapids to play and is sure to give you a great time.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/23/2012   8/23/2012
Review By: berzerker
Played: 45  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: lots of elevation, woods and open holes. nice benches ;). pretty well maintained, baskets move frequently. cement teepads. well marked trails.
Cons: signage, holes skip from 7-10 (under renovation)
Other Thoughts: bring our arm. you'll need it once you get out of the woods.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Potential

5+    4/15/2012   4/17/2012
Review By: HamNThemGoinHam
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A lot of wooded holes but ends with a stretch of open field holes. Concrete tee pads and well maintained grass. Presents plenty of challenge when in the wooded portion of the course.
Cons: Hole 7 is the most dangerous drive around when the weeds get thick (we use spotters just to prevent losing discs). A few of the open field holes are just back and forth straight open shots. Can become somewhat boring once you get out of the wooded holes.
Other Thoughts: 7 sucks but the last hole is an awesome setup, under a huge power line teeing off over the creek and down the hill to attempt to settle up by the pin which is right near the edge of the creek. Sweet.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Hometown Favorite

5+    12/20/2011   12/20/2011
Review By: Innova_or_Nothing
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Especially in the summer, the in woods fairways are narrow, but are an attainable challenge. The out of woods holes, even though out in the open, are challenging because of their length. The course has been in bang up shape lately with flooding and wind issues but as of late has been well maintained. Especially exciting, two new launch pads have been installed preparing for two new holes to be added (i assume) next spring! making it a 21 hole course! The new holes will add a huge intimidation factor due to their location near the swamp. I call it the swamp because its a large area with 3 feet tall grass grown out of 6-12 inch deep water. Me and my friends have lost a few discs in the swamp when the old hole 9 used to be located just to the left of it.
Cons: Face Tree on Hole 17...and missing a few tee signs (Hole 2, 7, 8, 17)
Other Thoughts: Excellent course! The best and most well rounded in the Cedar Rapids area. The only course that rivals its challenge in CR is Shaver, which is hard to find for a lot of people, and for inexperienced players is no more than a frustrating game of plinko.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Woods and hills

5+    8/25/2011   9/26/2011
Review By: sasscers7
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging with the trees and elevations. A couple of holes with good distance. #18 throwing off the high ground down along the large creek around the trees is a great way to finish. Also a few holes in the wide open.
Cons: Can spend a lot of time looking for discs on the 12 or so woodsy holes. #7 is practically impossible to play without great risk of losing a disc.
Other Thoughts: Cedar Rapids is a great hotbed of DG. Enjoyed this course and a couple of other my two weeks in town.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Above average course

5+    9/7/2011   9/7/2011
Review By: wadeG
Played: 50  Reviewed: 9
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great elevation, mixture of open and wooded holes, multiple pin placements. It has variety of types of shots with a few holes approaching 400 ft, but not enough variety to make it a great course. teepads and benches on every hole with a few pro pads.
Cons: It could use next tee signs and a few longer holes. A few of the holes have tight fairways, though most of them are partially open.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Gameplay

1    8/4/2011   8/11/2011
Review By: lazy42
Played: 40  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 5.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice entrance into adjacent park (Thomas Park). Nice playgrounds, pavilions, tennis court, bike and walking trails, restrooms, ample parking, park seems to be heavily used.

Park is in really good shape, everything was clean and grass was mowed.

Concrete tees which had an adequate size and surface texture. Baskets were in good shape and I really appreciated the bright neon yellow hole # signs on them. Benches and trashcans throughout.

Lots of available elevation, utilized on all but a few holes. Nice even mix of open and wooded holes, both with a nice mix of distance. On several of the open holes, there were plenty of trees that made you choose a specific line to the pin. Fairways (on all but one hole - see hole 7 below) were well defined even on the wooded holes.

A few nice water holes thrown in for added challenge, though two of the three the creek doesn't come into play unless there is an errand throw.
Cons: Navigation and tee signs were the biggest issue here: Not sure if park is going through a renovation, or just an older course, but even with the map printed off this site, there was difficulty finding direction and holes. Started with confusion on holes 1 and 2 (which tee?), then again after 4 (which way after 4), never did find 8 - 9. Tee signs when available were a great help, but many of them were missing.

No course kiosk available, that would have been a nice addition and may have helped if it contained updated info andor maps for the course. Next tee signs would have been helpful also.

I could see hole 7 being an issue for most players. Throwing over a rough (the word rough is an understatement here) that one would be sure to lose discs in. Thumber or tommy is the way to go here.
Other Thoughts: A couple holes that stuck out: Hole 14, your shooting from an elevated tee position down to the pin, but there is a large group of fully grown trees standing there like a brick wall, blocking almost any direct route to the pin. Big arms might be able to do a big spike hyzer here, while others may opt to try a roller on this one. Hole 20 is a nice shot and again shooting from an elevated tee, throwing over and along the creek to the pin.

If it wasn't for my difficulty finding the next hole, I would have enjoyed everything about this course. Now that I've played it, it wouldn't be as difficult finding the next tee and one could focus more on their game. However with that said the actual gameplay was great, holes were very fun and challenging.

This course offered enough variation and enjoyable gameplay that I would definitely like to play again if I am in the area. Also, there is enough challenge here to separate the men from the boys on the scorecard.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.