Cedar Rapids (Marion), IA 
Legion Park Share
Uploaded By: C FALC0N  
Hole #19 Approach



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Needs some volunteers and it would be awesome!

1    8/26/2012   11/1/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 737  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Excellent variety in the holes here. There are tightly wooded holes, wide open holes, holes with key trees to avoid, prairie holes, water is in play, etc etc etc. Just about all aspects you want to see on a disc golf course are here.
2) Elevation is used very well on a handful of holes which adds to the variety of the course.
3) Excellent use of the property available. The course fits into the property well and flows fairly well from hole to hole (with the exception of where the re-design is occurring).
4) Some benches for sitting in between holes which is appreciated.
5) Distance variation is pretty good with holes in the 200's, 300's, and some 400's. This is an underappreciated factor in design that can go a long way in making a good course great.
6) Turf is in decent condition on most of the open holes, but there are worn down spots around backets, tees, and some of the wooded grassy fairways.
7) Plenty of other activities in this park for the rest of the family to enjoy.
Cons: 1) Narrow concrete tees, although concrete at all is better than the alternative.
2) Lots of graffiti all over the signs and garbage cans and benches and such.
3) #1 and #2 are a little strange because you walk right on back down the hill you throw up on #1. It's just slightly weird layout.
4) Compaction and subsequent erosion are taking their toll around the teepads here.
5) Only a few garbage cans on the course but plenty of loose garbage sitting around the park.
6) Lack of signage for the re-design is frustrating. I was not ever sure if I was headed to the right hole. I spent a good 30 minutes looking for a couple of holes and ended up on the part of the course that will be for future holes (I think).
7) I would say some of the holes are beginner friendly but not all of them are, so overall I consider this a negative.
8) Tee-signs are missing all over the place . . . couple that with no directional signage and that adds to the frustration.
Other Thoughts: Disc golf only . . . this course is a 4 disc course. It has great variety, great challenge, it is scenic in spots, and is just fun to throw . . . add in the navigation issues, the lack of signage, the vandalism and littering and it is less than a 3. If everything were installed and signs told you where to go on a handful of holes and the garbage was cleaned up I would say this is a solid 3.5 disc course maybe even a 4 disc course, but in the state I played it I have to give it a 3 rating. It is borderline 2.5 disc course but the fundamentals are just too good to knock this courses rating down so far. I would say when I played it this summer, it was a solid 2.75 and that is all, but I am going out on a limb to give it a 3.0 rating. I hope to see these issues get resolved in short order.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Potential

5+    4/15/2012   4/17/2012
Review By: HamNThemGoinHam
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A lot of wooded holes but ends with a stretch of open field holes. Concrete tee pads and well maintained grass. Presents plenty of challenge when in the wooded portion of the course.
Cons: Hole 7 is the most dangerous drive around when the weeds get thick (we use spotters just to prevent losing discs). A few of the open field holes are just back and forth straight open shots. Can become somewhat boring once you get out of the wooded holes.
Other Thoughts: 7 sucks but the last hole is an awesome setup, under a huge power line teeing off over the creek and down the hill to attempt to settle up by the pin which is right near the edge of the creek. Sweet.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Gameplay

1    8/4/2011   8/11/2011
Review By: lazy42
Played: 40  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice entrance into adjacent park (Thomas Park). Nice playgrounds, pavilions, tennis court, bike and walking trails, restrooms, ample parking, park seems to be heavily used.

Park is in really good shape, everything was clean and grass was mowed.

Concrete tees which had an adequate size and surface texture. Baskets were in good shape and I really appreciated the bright neon yellow hole # signs on them. Benches and trashcans throughout.

Lots of available elevation, utilized on all but a few holes. Nice even mix of open and wooded holes, both with a nice mix of distance. On several of the open holes, there were plenty of trees that made you choose a specific line to the pin. Fairways (on all but one hole - see hole 7 below) were well defined even on the wooded holes.

A few nice water holes thrown in for added challenge, though two of the three the creek doesn't come into play unless there is an errand throw.
Cons: Navigation and tee signs were the biggest issue here: Not sure if park is going through a renovation, or just an older course, but even with the map printed off this site, there was difficulty finding direction and holes. Started with confusion on holes 1 and 2 (which tee?), then again after 4 (which way after 4), never did find 8 - 9. Tee signs when available were a great help, but many of them were missing.

No course kiosk available, that would have been a nice addition and may have helped if it contained updated info andor maps for the course. Next tee signs would have been helpful also.

I could see hole 7 being an issue for most players. Throwing over a rough (the word rough is an understatement here) that one would be sure to lose discs in. Thumber or tommy is the way to go here.
Other Thoughts: A couple holes that stuck out: Hole 14, your shooting from an elevated tee position down to the pin, but there is a large group of fully grown trees standing there like a brick wall, blocking almost any direct route to the pin. Big arms might be able to do a big spike hyzer here, while others may opt to try a roller on this one. Hole 20 is a nice shot and again shooting from an elevated tee, throwing over and along the creek to the pin.

If it wasn't for my difficulty finding the next hole, I would have enjoyed everything about this course. Now that I've played it, it wouldn't be as difficult finding the next tee and one could focus more on their game. However with that said the actual gameplay was great, holes were very fun and challenging.

This course offered enough variation and enjoyable gameplay that I would definitely like to play again if I am in the area. Also, there is enough challenge here to separate the men from the boys on the scorecard.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not for Noobs

5+    6/1/2011   6/3/2011
Review By: GabeEtzel
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Huge changes in elevation, water hazards, and large forests. When players lose discs in the water they leave them; free discs.
Cons: Very easy to lose discs (I've lost 3), and salvages 2 out of the creek.
Other Thoughts: Good course, one of the best in the area

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 LEGION

5+    5/6/2011   5/7/2011
Review By: gassal01
Played: 23  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is a very nice mix between uphill shots, downhill, open and wooded on this course. Im really glad that they changed this course up within the last year and have been changing the pin placement more. Whoever is taking care of this course (adding benches, fixing tee off pads or cutting shrubbery down) is doing a wonderful job!

Most holes have benches at them.

I really like the fact that when the tournament comes around, they can add more holes. Keep those holes up though! They are really fun to play.
Cons: I wish they would put stickers with what color the basket is at. I played this course yesterday but had not played it for about a month before and they had changed a lot of the baskets around but you dont know that till u walk up and it is not there.

Especially on really nice days out. There are a lot of people who feel they want to hike on the disc golf course. Or hang out in the fairway. It gets kind of annoying when you have ask people to move because you are trying to throw your drive but they are standing in the fairway.

If you have never played this course, it might be kind of hard to find your way around. I wish that they would have signs at some holes telling you where to go. Then you have groups jump in front of you because they dont know which hole to play next.

They try to keep the park cleaned up but more garbage cans at each hole would make the course much nicer. Also, if people would stop throwing there crap on the ground. There would be no problem.
Other Thoughts: I love this course. This is probably my favorite couses in the Cedar Rapids area. Go out and play it!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/4/2008   11/4/2008
Review By: Pinto
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11.5 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: It has great elevation changes and has a great variety of holes with varying challenge. Next to Thomas Park and Marion with facilities nearby.
Cons: The signs are terrible and difficult to know where to go next (before and after 2008 with the relayout.) I have a map to get around. There are a few holes which have too much foliage and require others to run ahead and spot for you. 20 holes is odd.
Other Thoughts: 20 holes is odd. When course gets crowded, I'll skip a few.
Heavy foliage--play in early spring or late autumn.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 okay

5/18/2008   5/26/2008
Review By: mattmelcher
Played: 24  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Elevation change is good. Takes into account all features of the landscape.
Cons: Doesn't flow well from hole to hole and the signing is HORRIBLE. I was never sure what hole I was on or if I was going in the right order. Asked a local and he wasn't sure.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.