Cedar Rapids (Marion), IA 
Legion Park Share
Uploaded By: C FALC0N Hole #4
3 / 253ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Approach



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Not for Noobs

5+    6/1/2011   6/3/2011
Review By: GabeEtzel
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Huge changes in elevation, water hazards, and large forests. When players lose discs in the water they leave them; free discs.
Cons: Very easy to lose discs (I've lost 3), and salvages 2 out of the creek.
Other Thoughts: Good course, one of the best in the area

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 LEGION

5+    5/6/2011   5/7/2011
Review By: gassal01
Played: 23  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is a very nice mix between uphill shots, downhill, open and wooded on this course. Im really glad that they changed this course up within the last year and have been changing the pin placement more. Whoever is taking care of this course (adding benches, fixing tee off pads or cutting shrubbery down) is doing a wonderful job!

Most holes have benches at them.

I really like the fact that when the tournament comes around, they can add more holes. Keep those holes up though! They are really fun to play.
Cons: I wish they would put stickers with what color the basket is at. I played this course yesterday but had not played it for about a month before and they had changed a lot of the baskets around but you dont know that till u walk up and it is not there.

Especially on really nice days out. There are a lot of people who feel they want to hike on the disc golf course. Or hang out in the fairway. It gets kind of annoying when you have ask people to move because you are trying to throw your drive but they are standing in the fairway.

If you have never played this course, it might be kind of hard to find your way around. I wish that they would have signs at some holes telling you where to go. Then you have groups jump in front of you because they dont know which hole to play next.

They try to keep the park cleaned up but more garbage cans at each hole would make the course much nicer. Also, if people would stop throwing there crap on the ground. There would be no problem.
Other Thoughts: I love this course. This is probably my favorite couses in the Cedar Rapids area. Go out and play it!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Silken Wings of Cavemen

1    3/3/2011   3/9/2011
Review By: Martin Dewgarita
Played: 1148  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Amenities. Large city park with a variety of activities, Shelter, Bathrooms, and ample parking.

Variety. A wide variety of shots required here, with several types of tight technical shots required, several relatively open hole, with a strong balance between the two.

Water. The river comes into play on a few holes and provides a worthy challenge, though deep in some places, it was clear enough that you could get your disc back with a retriever pretty easily, or you may need to go for a swim if you want your plastic back from the water.

Elevation. Several holes had good use of significant elevation adding to the challenge.

Local Scene. Lots of friendly locals, clubs, leagues, and occasional tournaments can add to the experience of locals.

Well Maintained. The locals typically work hard to keep the course looking good and clean, the city itself doesn't do much to maintain the course. The result is a relatively well kept course that is a bit rough around the edges and could use a walkthrough with a garbage bag.

Distances. A good balance of challenging distance with an occasional ace run, most holes are reachable in one if you can hit your line, if you can card a 2 on most holes it's quite rewarding.

Beginner Friendly. I wouldn't necessarily suggest this course to an absolute beginner with some longer technical holes and water, but in all it would be an ok place to learn the game and practice lines.

Tees. Concrete tees were mostly level and in good shape, with some of the holes having dual tee pads (some were slightly rough and uneven).
Cons: Other User areas. The biggest concern was the walking path that winds through the course, it had a constant flow of people that I often had to wait for. I'd bet it gets crowded out there during the warmer months, and the river probably draws fishermen, just be careful out there.

Signage. Some holes had signs showing the hole distance and number, several holes were missing the signs though.

Navigation. I'd have to believe I would have had a tough time finding my way through this course without a guide, there wasn't any directional signage and the lack of tee signs makes it difficult. Find a map or a local to show you around as it gets confusing in places.

Rough. Some of the holes had some deep thick rough that it may be a pain to retrieve discs from, or maybe impossible to find the discs.
Other Thoughts: In all an enjoyable round, if you're in the area and have already played Shaver, looking for another to play, I'd hit this one. More open and shorter than Shaver, but much of the same flavor.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/22/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: medicinalfunk
Played: 18  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 12/13/2011
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - as far as a variety of hole designs go, legion is about as good as you're going to get in the cedar rapids/marion area. nice, long shots (but not stupid-long) on every hole provides a challenging, but manageable setup
- stretches of wooded holes, open shots, and throws along/over water
- decently challenging course with few "gimme" holes. an acceptable course for experienced players and a challenge for intermediates and beginners
- makes use of natural layout of land well, ducking through bends and twists in the forest to create a rather enjoyable hike
- lots of places to stop and chief...er, rest in the quiet shade.
- the most challenging course in the cedar rapids/marion area, not for the faint of arm. often host to tournaments
- teepads and baskets in decent shape
Cons: - minor flooding problems near the home stretch after periods of sustained precipitation
- an awful, overgrown hole that eats discs (hole #7 "the taj mahal", "the blind hole"). i highly recommend skipping this hole because the thicket is very difficult to find discs in, even with a spotter. if anything, throw a clunker on this one you dont mind losing. you cant see the basket from the teepad, at all. most of the time you wont even see where you land.
- mosquitoes can get a bit thick sometimes near the holes that run along stretches of the river
- not kept in very good shape, holes missing or under construction most of the time. lots of garbage, vandalism. signs are okay, but not the best
- doesn't really flow very well, every time we go we always end up skipping a hole or two somehow and not being able to find it. a bit difficult to navigate
Other Thoughts: bring a variety of discs, this course will present you with a variety of looks (at least in comparison to the other courses in the area). worth at least a play if you are passing through the cedar rapids/marion area.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 awsome

1    12/3/2009   12/7/2009
Review By: aendorf
Played: 46  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.4 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: was a very nice course excellent varity sign at every tee pad baskets and farways in perect condition love this course
Cons: some holes are had to transition between and there were 5 baskets missing lots of deer one actually knocked me over
Other Thoughts: loved this course kind of hard to find but should be a 5 star course once all baskets and repairs are finished when you go make sure you have time to find the baskets before you throw

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Big course with variety

5+    12/26/2011   2/21/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 12/26/2011
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A wide mixture of holes, some of which are just a blast to play. Nice large teepads throughout the course. Baskets are in good shape. New number plates on top of all the baskets that is a bright green color that definately helps to see where the basket is. New signs at all the teepads that do the job. Some very technical shots are required on this course, especially the front 9. Great elevation changes that force you to throw uphill and downhill with skill. I enjoyed the palcement of the pins, some were complete blind shots. Play it safe on some of the holes and throw a midrange, placement can be important for your next shot. Heavily wooded on the front and more open on the back 9, so the variety is there. Mulitple pin positions that mix things up.
Cons: Just an odd layout of holes. This course has been redesigned from the original course. You will notice some of the old teepads and fairways on the course which can be confusing. You will walk right up to the tee and discover it isn't in play any longer. This course has 21 holes, but many just don't flow well with each other, as if they were just thrown together. Confusing layout. Next tee signs at the baskets would help tremenously. The back nine especially just has a different feel to it altogether; long open holes with mowed fairways. Bugs can be bad at times. Some trash on the course was noted.
Other Thoughts: Think of each hole as it's own, but as a whole the course just doesn't have that flow to it that's needed to have a great course. There is not one hole on the course that just stands out as a signature hole. There are definately some holes that will test your skill. A good solid drive on some of these will be rewarded with a birdie. Throw off the fairway and struggle to make par at that point. New baskets for holes 8, 9 and possibly 10, but are not completed as of the time of this update. Improvements continue to be done to this course which make things better, but the general layout remains and a complete redesign would improve the flow of this course.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/14/2008   11/14/2008
Review By: ziggy5250
Played: 14  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 15.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: nice park to put a course in. very spread out. Wide open holes as well as many up in the woods.
Cons: This course is a prime example of if it aint broke dont fix it. I used to love this course but don't enjoy it nearly as much since it has been re-done. The layout is confusing and there are ALWAYS multiple baskets missing. One of the holes is a blind dog-leg left 400' shot in 3' grass which to me is pointless...if you throw a disc you're almost guaranteed to lose it with out a spotter.
Other Thoughts: We'll see what it looks like in the spring, without some improvement I probably wont play it again which is a shame because it used to be a really awesome course.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/4/2008   11/4/2008
Review By: Pinto
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11.5 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: It has great elevation changes and has a great variety of holes with varying challenge. Next to Thomas Park and Marion with facilities nearby.
Cons: The signs are terrible and difficult to know where to go next (before and after 2008 with the relayout.) I have a map to get around. There are a few holes which have too much foliage and require others to run ahead and spot for you. 20 holes is odd.
Other Thoughts: 20 holes is odd. When course gets crowded, I'll skip a few.
Heavy foliage--play in early spring or late autumn.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5/30/2008   5/30/2008
Review By: Squirtismv07
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Great change in elevation.
Cons: Course was just changed and it is not in good shape right now, way to easy to lose your disc even if u are a good disc golfer

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 okay

5/18/2008   5/26/2008
Review By: mattmelcher
Played: 24  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Elevation change is good. Takes into account all features of the landscape.
Cons: Doesn't flow well from hole to hole and the signing is HORRIBLE. I was never sure what hole I was on or if I was going in the right order. Asked a local and he wasn't sure.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.