Eugene, OR 
Alton Baker Park Share
Uploaded By: jeverett Hole #3 (Taken 4/2013)
3 / 321ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Opportunity For Improvement

1    5/30/2016   6/3/2016
Review By: Pierparknut
Played: 32  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -This course is set in an area of the giant Alton Baker Park, very near downtown Eugene. It is convenient and the amount of players showed it.
-There are a lot of interesting holes. Just the right amount of trees make for an enjoyable round. There are four or five pin placements on each hole to mix things up.
-There's a pro shop, but it's basically just a TuffShed. They sell discs, though.
-Two practice baskets are nice. There are a bunch of stones near the practice baskets at various distances with numbers painted on them, to I suppose do a putting-course. This is an interesting feature.
-There are very helpful tee signs, large and in color. However they do not specify that day's basket location.
-The artificial turf teepads were nice. They were soft and grippy. At one point they probably were too grippy but the rain wore them in.
-Elevated baskets were featured multiple times. It's always a nice change of pace.
-The Chainstar baskets were fairly new (this course is only 3 years old) and caught great.
-Trash cans were frequent.
-Many tree stumps/benches adjacent to every tee were great. There was room for ten people to sit on most every hole.
Cons: -Obviously someone put a good deal of time and work into this course, but it could use a lot of modifications. The most obvious of these has to do with the long grass. Most every hole had a narrow, defined fairway with tall grass on each side and sometimes crossing the fairway. It's a lame attempt at OB. The fairways are too narrow for me to take the OB seriously. Even the pros would find the OB silly. And even if you didn't consider the tall grass OB, it's still a pain to look for your disc in it. You'll be picking thorns out of your socks at the end of the round. Now, a patch of long grass here or there is okay, but when it's everywhere the course is no fun.
-There are a great deal of hazelnut trees on this course. Hazelnut trees are the worst. Short, ugly, thick, and they eat your discs.
-Whoever designed this course must have really liked throwing low shots. It seemed as if every hole had a tree with low hanging branches in front of the tee. Val Jenkins would do good here but not everyone can throw a 300 foot worm burner. Many of the holes aren't easily reachable because throwing a high shot is not possible.
-The course seemed to heavily favor RHBH players. That's my primary shot so I don't mind but I know others do. At the end of the round I realized I only threw one forehand the entire day!
-The course did not flow very well at all. The course crossed itself multiple times and there were many walks between holes.
Other Thoughts: -The fee is $3 but when I played on Memorial Day it was free.
-This course is on a really nice piece of property but unfortunately the course wasn't designed to its full potential. All that needs to happen is long grass removal, hazelnut tree replacing, and a full course redesign. Okay, that's more like a lot that needs to happen. But it could!
The land is nice, and the course is well kept, so I feel it deserves a three. A redesign could easily bring the course up to a 4 or maybe more.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

location, location, tunnel shot

5+    1/18/2015   1/29/2015
Review By: Matt B.
Played: 54  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 24.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/6/2015
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Best part about this course (for locals) is that it is centrally located in Eugene, and can be reached from most parts of town in 10 minutes or so. It's a fun little course, designed well given the constraints on land, and the seasonal restrictions due to the nearby concert venue parking situation. Good practice course, especially for mid-range and fairway. OB markers increase difficulty. I like the artificial turf pads, always had good footing on them. Has many alternate pin locations, including some new longer positions. Pay to play fee is very reasonable especially if you buy an annual pass. Course upkeep has continued to get better and more consistent with many beautification projects happening. On-site Pro shop, rental discs, snacks.
Cons: The course is short, cramped in some sections, and does not have the kind of varied terrain or vegetation to make it great. The OB at times seems arbitrary. . Some of the newer, longer pin settings make safety an issue on a course with a few safety issues already due to space available.

Speaking of impacts, there is zero tree protection on this course and with the heavy use it gets many of the trees are heavily scarred and damaged already after less than two years. Some simple protection in a few strategic places would do a lot. The operation of the course is by contract with the City of Eugene.
Other Thoughts: I love having a course I can get to quick and play a quick round. Alton Baker practice rounds have improved my game a lot. A lot of people worked for years to get this course approved and it has been by most standards a big success.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Mixed feelings

1    6/24/2014   7/15/2014
Review By: Dadio
Played: 105  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 32.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This 18 hole course is in a very large mixed use park that has a nice mix of fairly open holes and shots through trees or true tunnel shots with the occasional very unforgiving blackberry rough. I hadn't played a course with so many long tunnel shots and my score reflected it.
There was a good mix of shots needed; tight doglegs both ways, long and short tunnels, and a couple longer holes with gaps partway down fairway. Course was layed out with eye toward challenging use of available land.
Signs were good and listed lengths to all 4(!) possible pin locations. $3 to play but there is an on site pro shop, snack bar, and course marshal providing good upkeep for the money so I didn't feel taken. There was also a nice shady area for my wife to wait while I played.
Tees were a type of very long astroturf I had never seen before. It took a little bit to build up confidence in them but when I did they were fine to throw off of and local say they are great when wet, necessary in that area.
Cons: There were no maps available(they had run out) so I was glad couple of locals let me play with them and showed me the course. Since it was layed out looking toward good holes the course wanders in odd ways and crosses itself a couple times. Not much of a hit hazard for all that but flow isn't very good and that bothered me more than I thought it would.
No indication on signs which position pins are in and as some of the shots are blind that was more of a hassle than it seems.
Other Thoughts: While this course looks good on paper but I didn't really like it and am having a hard time putting my finger on why. It is very possible this course would grow on me but looking at other nearby courses I don't think it would get the opportunity. Score could easily go 1/2 point either way. Would be glad to have it as a local but for future trips to the area it is low on my list to play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 alton baker's great!

5+    1/9/2014   1/9/2014
Review By: bogeyfreetilinfinity
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -can ride to the course on the riverbank bikepath!
-variety of lengths, 180ish to an arm stretching 420, but mostly in the 320' realm
- handcrafted benches on every hole
- pro shop with tasty plastic and tasty food cart
- low ceiling dog leg rights force shotmaking
-fun well thought out holes, keep enjoying the course more and more.
-4 hole positions per hole
-holes 8, 10, 16, 17, and 1 in the deep position
Cons: it seems like most holes are either wide open or have the one obvious gap or tunnel. not a lot of trees in fairways to force a player to pick routes or get lucky. only minor elevation change.
Other Thoughts: there's a very tight OB outside the fairway for every hole marked on all the tee pads that nobody ever plays. most of the time the only OB played is roads and hole 11 has some bunkers with railroad ties to mark OB. Otherwise the OB lines are not well marked and pretty subjective. IT would be interesting to play utilizing all the OB sometime.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Eugene's First 18 Hole Course!

1    8/12/2013   8/19/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1005  Reviewed: 955  Exp: 38.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Alton Baker Park is conveniently located right next to Autzen Stadium and the UO. This large mostly flat, sprawling park provides plenty of room for the disc golf course.

The course's many amenities start with great tee signs with hole #, sponsors name, a picture of the hole, distance, routes and up to four pin locations. Currently they use a little piece of red tape to indicate the current basket position. How about drilling a hole in the tee sign next to each position A-B-C-D and inserting a colored washer to indicate basket position. Much better system!

The tee pads are over-sized recycled artificial turf pads set inside framed tee boxes with bark all around. They're very level built over crushed rock. The pads have a painted foul line about two feet from the front allowing for a safe follow through. I've not seen this line on any of the 575 courses I've played. But it's a great idea!

The day I played, everything was in the A & B positions so the course played as a recreational length course. Because it's flat and open in places, it's never going to be an advanced /Pro challenge type course, even from the C-D positions. If you're looking for that challenge, go to Dexter or Whistler's Bend.

I liked # 9 today in it's 198' ACE run position.

# 15 & 16 were a little longer, 300' plus from the A and B positions.
Cons: This is a pay to play course. $3 is the toll, I guess. There were a lot of players playing today so I don't think $3 is keeping many away.

The recreational length/challenge might be a CON for some but this course will see plenty of players.
Other Thoughts: The Marshall was out checking on the course so I never did locate the guy to give him my $. I figure Uncle Phil Knight can pay my for my round today.

The disc golfers had to battle long andhard with the runners (The famous Prefontaine Trail crosses through this park) to get permission to construct this course. Only once, at # 18, do you even get close to the running trail. This being such a large expanse, there is plenty of room for runners, bikers and disc golfers to all co-exist.

Now the Eugene disc golf community needs to develop the little three baskets practice area at Sladden Park. That could be a cool little elementary length 9 holer there.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Best course IN Eugene

1    7/13/2013   7/14/2013
Review By: puaahunter
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 7.4 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Cool park. Good use of available space. Some holes had nice lines/windows. Garbage cans. Good signage. Nice people managing the check-in booth.
Cons: OBs were over-used and silly. Some holes parallel each other in open fields. Paying $3 is a bummer for a course in a public park.
Other Thoughts: This was a decent course. It's nice to have an 18-hole available IN Eugene. I'm actually surprised there aren't more disc golf courses near by.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Mixed Group Delight

1    6/23/2013   6/23/2013
Review By: Ioreks
Played: 74  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Our group of beginner, novice, and veteran were all happy with the course. We even had a "star par" on hole #15.
Excellent signage. Very well maintained with ample waste disposal, and pit stops accessible. Out of bounds are clearly marked. Baskets were visible from all the tee pads (AstroTurf). Nice mix of sun and shade. Convenient location.
Cons: Veteran pined for a few really long holes. A bench or two wouldn't hurt.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 In Town is Nice

2-4    5/25/2013   6/2/2013
Review By: beauzen
Played: 24  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 38.1 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It's very convenient.
Hole #8 is awesome.
Cons: The multiple basket locations almost change the course "too much", making it very difficult to compare one round to another because some of the basket locations really change the nature of the hole.
Other Thoughts: When I am paying some amount of money to play, I expect the following items to be part of the experience:
#1 - Interesting layout and/or challenging holes, including elevation changes;
#2 - Good amenities (benches, concrete tee pads, good signage);
#3 - Fewer and/or more respectful players;
#4 - Something unique about the situation.
On a scale of 1 to 10 on each of these (10 being good), here is how this course would rate:
#1 - 5; The course is relatively flat and not too exciting; The fairways are reasonably well-defined. The OB is not so well defined, even though it's shown on the signs.
#2 - 6; It could use some benches. The signs are good.
#3 - 7; Being basically in the middle of town and the closest 18-hole course to the population, it's probably getting more than it's share of players, but at least they are people who are there to play, and have a modicum of seriousness in their efforts.
#4 - 6; It's very conveniently located.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Very Fun

5+    5/11/2013   5/29/2013
Review By: mpeters
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: well maintained and centrally located in the heart of Eugene.

Fun for all levels of play..

pay to play keeps the park full of more dedicated players which helps flow of game
Cons: not really any....wish it could have been in original foot print.

still need signs and benches
Other Thoughts: keep it up Eugene more courses please. Remeber all courses are pay to play. at least this one will be maintained by the fee and not dependent on tax dollars and parks people to keep it in shape. everytime you play this course it will be maintained and can only get better. Disc golf is not free never has been, never will be.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Just visiting Eugene, annnnd...

1    4/14/2013   4/20/2013
Review By: discomatic
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Well manicured course
- Some roughs had center-mowed strips
- Good variety of challenge
- Both left and right doglegs
- Close by / easy access
- Course Marshall pedaling around really cares about your experience here
- Long, superb tee boxes
- Little potential for cross traffic
- Some coool tunnel shots
- Can only get better!
Cons: - Can be crowded on weekends
- I'm against fees, but at $3 a day, it can only help the course esp. w/ heavy traffic
Other Thoughts: - I got my very first hole-in-one here, everrrrr, on hole 13. Lucky 13!!!
(So, I am kinda stoked ...even though its only 200 ft, but hell - I'll take it anyway!)

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.