Eugene, OR 
Alton Baker Park Share
Uploaded By: jeverett Hole #17 (Taken 4/2013)
3 / 354ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Mixed feelings

1    6/24/2014   7/15/2014
Review By: Dadio
Played: 74  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 30 Years
Pros: This 18 hole course is in a very large mixed use park that has a nice mix of fairly open holes and shots through trees or true tunnel shots with the occasional very unforgiving blackberry rough. I hadn't played a course with so many long tunnel shots and my score reflected it.
There was a good mix of shots needed; tight doglegs both ways, long and short tunnels, and a couple longer holes with gaps partway down fairway. Course was layed out with eye toward challenging use of available land.
Signs were good and listed lengths to all 4(!) possible pin locations. $3 to play but there is an on site pro shop, snack bar, and course marshal providing good upkeep for the money so I didn't feel taken. There was also a nice shady area for my wife to wait while I played.
Tees were a type of very long astroturf I had never seen before. It took a little bit to build up confidence in them but when I did they were fine to throw off of and local say they are great when wet, necessary in that area.
Cons: There were no maps available(they had run out) so I was glad couple of locals let me play with them and showed me the course. Since it was layed out looking toward good holes the course wanders in odd ways and crosses itself a couple times. Not much of a hit hazard for all that but flow isn't very good and that bothered me more than I thought it would.
No indication on signs which position pins are in and as some of the shots are blind that was more of a hassle than it seems.
Other Thoughts: While this course looks good on paper but I didn't really like it and am having a hard time putting my finger on why. It is very possible this course would grow on me but looking at other nearby courses I don't think it would get the opportunity. Score could easily go 1/2 point either way. Would be glad to have it as a local but for future trips to the area it is low on my list to play.

alton baker's great!

5+    1/9/2014   1/9/2014
Review By: bogeyfreetilinfinity
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -can ride to the course on the riverbank bikepath!
-variety of lengths, 180ish to an arm stretching 420, but mostly in the 320' realm
- handcrafted benches on every hole
- pro shop with tasty plastic and tasty food cart
- low ceiling dog leg rights force shotmaking
-fun well thought out holes, keep enjoying the course more and more.
-4 hole positions per hole
-holes 8, 10, 16, 17, and 1 in the deep position
Cons: it seems like most holes are either wide open or have the one obvious gap or tunnel. not a lot of trees in fairways to force a player to pick routes or get lucky. only minor elevation change.
Other Thoughts: there's a very tight OB outside the fairway for every hole marked on all the tee pads that nobody ever plays. most of the time the only OB played is roads and hole 11 has some bunkers with railroad ties to mark OB. Otherwise the OB lines are not well marked and pretty subjective. IT would be interesting to play utilizing all the OB sometime.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Eugene's First 18 Hole Course!

1    8/12/2013   8/19/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 632  Exp: 36.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Alton Baker Park is conveniently located right next to Autzen Stadium and the UO. This large mostly flat, sprawling park provides plenty of room for the disc golf course.

The course's many amenities start with great tee signs with hole #, sponsors name, a picture of the hole, distance, routes and up to four pin locations. Currently they use a little piece of red tape to indicate the current basket position. How about drilling a hole in the tee sign next to each position A-B-C-D and inserting a colored washer to indicate basket position. Much better system!

The tee pads are over-sized recycled artificial turf pads set inside framed tee boxes with bark all around. They're very level built over crushed rock. The pads have a painted foul line about two feet from the front allowing for a safe follow through. I've not seen this line on any of the 575 courses I've played. But it's a great idea!

The day I played, everything was in the A & B positions so the course played as a recreational length course. Because it's flat and open in places, it's never going to be an advanced /Pro challenge type course, even from the C-D positions. If you're looking for that challenge, go to Dexter or Whistler's Bend.

I liked # 9 today in it's 198' ACE run position.

# 15 & 16 were a little longer, 300' plus from the A and B positions.
Cons: This is a pay to play course. $3 is the toll, I guess. There were a lot of players playing today so I don't think $3 is keeping many away.

The recreational length/challenge might be a CON for some but this course will see plenty of players.
Other Thoughts: The Marshall was out checking on the course so I never did locate the guy to give him my $. I figure Uncle Phil Knight can pay my for my round today.

The disc golfers had to battle long andhard with the runners (The famous Prefontaine Trail crosses through this park) to get permission to construct this course. Only once, at # 18, do you even get close to the running trail. This being such a large expanse, there is plenty of room for runners, bikers and disc golfers to all co-exist.

Now the Eugene disc golf community needs to develop the little three baskets practice area at Sladden Park. That could be a cool little elementary length 9 holer there.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Best course IN Eugene

1    7/13/2013   7/14/2013
Review By: puaahunter
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Cool park. Good use of available space. Some holes had nice lines/windows. Garbage cans. Good signage. Nice people managing the check-in booth.
Cons: OBs were over-used and silly. Some holes parallel each other in open fields. Paying $3 is a bummer for a course in a public park.
Other Thoughts: This was a decent course. It's nice to have an 18-hole available IN Eugene. I'm actually surprised there aren't more disc golf courses near by.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Mixed Group Delight

1    6/23/2013   6/23/2013
Review By: Ioreks
Played: 38  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Our group of beginner, novice, and veteran were all happy with the course. We even had a "star par" on hole #15.
Excellent signage. Very well maintained with ample waste disposal, and pit stops accessible. Out of bounds are clearly marked. Baskets were visible from all the tee pads (AstroTurf). Nice mix of sun and shade. Convenient location.
Cons: Veteran pined for a few really long holes. A bench or two wouldn't hurt.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

In Town is Nice

2-4    5/25/2013   6/2/2013
Review By: beauzen
Played: 24  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 35.9 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's very convenient.
Hole #8 is awesome.
Cons: The multiple basket locations almost change the course "too much", making it very difficult to compare one round to another because some of the basket locations really change the nature of the hole.
Other Thoughts: When I am paying some amount of money to play, I expect the following items to be part of the experience:
#1 - Interesting layout and/or challenging holes, including elevation changes;
#2 - Good amenities (benches, concrete tee pads, good signage);
#3 - Fewer and/or more respectful players;
#4 - Something unique about the situation.
On a scale of 1 to 10 on each of these (10 being good), here is how this course would rate:
#1 - 5; The course is relatively flat and not too exciting; The fairways are reasonably well-defined. The OB is not so well defined, even though it's shown on the signs.
#2 - 6; It could use some benches. The signs are good.
#3 - 7; Being basically in the middle of town and the closest 18-hole course to the population, it's probably getting more than it's share of players, but at least they are people who are there to play, and have a modicum of seriousness in their efforts.
#4 - 6; It's very conveniently located.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Very Fun

5+    5/11/2013   5/29/2013
Review By: mpeters
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: well maintained and centrally located in the heart of Eugene.

Fun for all levels of play..

pay to play keeps the park full of more dedicated players which helps flow of game
Cons: not really any....wish it could have been in original foot print.

still need signs and benches
Other Thoughts: keep it up Eugene more courses please. Remeber all courses are pay to play. at least this one will be maintained by the fee and not dependent on tax dollars and parks people to keep it in shape. everytime you play this course it will be maintained and can only get better. Disc golf is not free never has been, never will be.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Just visiting Eugene, annnnd...

1    4/14/2013   4/20/2013
Review By: discomatic
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Well manicured course
- Some roughs had center-mowed strips
- Good variety of challenge
- Both left and right doglegs
- Close by / easy access
- Course Marshall pedaling around really cares about your experience here
- Long, superb tee boxes
- Little potential for cross traffic
- Some coool tunnel shots
- Can only get better!
Cons: - Can be crowded on weekends
- I'm against fees, but at $3 a day, it can only help the course esp. w/ heavy traffic
Other Thoughts: - I got my very first hole-in-one here, everrrrr, on hole 13. Lucky 13!!!
(So, I am kinda stoked ...even though its only 200 ft, but hell - I'll take it anyway!)

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Alton Baker Park

5+    4/14/2013   4/16/2013
Review By: jeverett
Played: 20  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.2 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Preface: Alton Baker Park is still being developed, so I will be updating this review as course improvements happen. To rate this course I used the Disc Golf Course Rating System described here: https://docs.google.com/sprea...h1ZjRPdTNDbVE

Beauty/Peaceful (5/6) - Alton Baker Park is a very pretty, well-maintained multi-use park. Right near the Willamette River, the course is surrounded by duck ponds, running trails, a community garden, open grassy fields and covered eating areas. The course itself plays around oaks, under firs, though old filbert orchards and out into open grassy spaces.

Shot Shape Variety (5/6) - The course includes a good mix of left, right, and straight shots, including many holes with multiple viable routes. A few holes require forced hyzer or anhyzer shots, and there are one or two slight downhill shots, as well.

Tight/Open Variety (4/6) - Although the course is more open than wooded, it makes good use of available trees. There are numerous tunnel and low ceiling shots (e.g. holes 5, 8 and 17), several gap holes (e.g. holes 1 and 4), and a couple open ripper holes (holes 12 and 14), one with OB.

Multiple Configurations (4/5) - There are four (occasionally five) pin positions for every hole except #13, and baskets are moved on a weekly basis.

Tee Pads (4/4) - The tee pads are recycled artificial turf, placed on a bed of leveled gravel. Each pad is 12ft. In length, including 2ft. of walk-through past the tee pad front line. They seem nice and grippy even in wet weather.

Maintenance (4/4) - The course is impeccably maintained, thanks to constant work at the course, including frequent mowing, undergrowth removal, spreading wood chips, etc.
Cons: Shot Length Variety (3/6) - Most holes are 250' to 330', with a few over 350' and a couple pin positions under 200'. With a reasonable drive, you will be putting on your second throw.

Risk VS Reward/Punishment (3/6) - Overall, there is not much risk around the course greens (e.g. low chances of rollaways). Some holes include guarded baskets or OB, providing risk vs reward/punishment opportunities, and the old filbert orchards the course plays through can also punish bad drives.

Layout / Flow (3/4) - The layout is a little confusing, with several loops and crossing points. Fortunately there is lots of signage to help direct players to the next hole, so a guide is not essential.

Benches (0/3) - Currently, there aren't any benches, tables, or really anywhere to sit on the course. There are a number of covered eating areas with tables in the park itself, but these are quite a distance from the course.
Other Thoughts: Alton Baker Park is a greatly-needed (and greatly-anticipated) addition to disc golf in the Eugene, OR area! A white-level recreational course, the course is ideal for new players, while still providing some challenge for competitive players.

This course has been in planning/development/negotiations for a number of years, and many aspects of the course layout (e.g. the overall footprint of the course) have changed greatly over the years, due to pressures and concerns raised by various groups. Despite these concessions, I feel like the course and layout makes excellent use of the available space and features. In particular, the holes that play through old filbert orchards (holes 8 and 10) provide unique risk / reward opportunities, and although the course is very flat in elevation, the few holes with elevation changes are excellent, particularly hole 4.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Alton Baker - finally pay-to-play!

5+    4/4/2013   4/5/2013
Review By: Ian Goldberg
Played: 167  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 19.3 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Located right in the heart of a disc golf - starved community. Utilizes the space that the city made available very well. The tee pads are very nice, and I love that they are made of recycled materials. A lot of variety with all of the pin locations. The park is open until 11 pm so it will see some glow action, too.
Cons: It's brand new, so it still needs some amenities like benches and a porta-potty.
Other Thoughts: This disc golf course could really turn the tide in finally getting the Eugene area some more course. I love pay courses and happily will compensate someone for this great sport.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.