Lawrence, IN 
DISC @ Fall Creek Share
Uploaded By: MacDaddy Hole #12 (Taken 5/2013)
3 / 214ft.   -- / --   3 / 253ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Blue Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Nice course

1    8/1/2014   8/2/2014
Review By: Hoosierhodge
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Two pin locations: pins set in the long position "B" during my visit. I definitely want to re-visit to check out the alternate locations.
-Great signage shows the tee pads and pin locations + distance for all four potential combinations
-Easy to navigate even when I forgot to look at the next tee arrow on the tee sign (except from 8 to 9). Generally a very good flow
-I loved having two tee pads per hole. In the current configuration, most of the long tee pads would put me at a drive + short up and putt (see the Hole Info section). As a result, I played from the short tees (short tees to long pins) so that I mostly played with mids/putters and had a chance at birdies
-The woods portion was well groomed in my opinion. I had a couple of deflections off trees and still had no problems finding my discs.
-Good variety of shots needed for a purely RHBH player: hyzers, anhyzers, straight-to-fade, turnovers, S-curves
-Very scenic with many holes near a creek that is quite peaceful
-Largely stroller friendly (for those with toddlers). I didn't have mine with me at the time but I don't think I would have had a problem except it was a tad muddy due to recent rain
Cons: -Very little elevation
-No trash cans or bathrooms (understandable but nice to have)
Other Thoughts: -Well worth a visit. It's about an hour from my house and I intend to return
-Bring bug spray because they are a bit intense in the woods (my guess is due to the water)
-I wasn't sure how it would be possible to birdie some of the holes (red tees to pin "B") but that's more me than the course I think. I'd enjoy going with a local to see how they play it

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 goat ranch

2-4    5/26/2014   6/5/2014
Review By: INDY_NEBO
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Could be a really nice course, nice tees and general layout.
Cons: Nettles. Nothing but nettles. If u deviate from the fairways (more like unfairways) you'll be sorry. I've played plenty of courses with lots of thorns and have come out bloody and mad, but the nettles here bring it to a whole new level of unenjoyable. I mean they were waist high by May 26. It'd be different if it was just bad on a few holes, but HALF of the darn course is like this!!! I'd give this course a much, MUCH better rating if they'd just do something about these darn nettles.
Other Thoughts: As this is one of the courses in the Indy area that's closer to where I live, I badly want to see its improvement on the groundskeeping. I won't play it again until I know the nettles are gone.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Great Scenic Course

5+    4/20/2014   4/20/2014
Review By: ajbova
Played: 72  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 8.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Solid intermediate course than any skill leveled player will enjoy.

Tees - 2 large concrete (pro and am) per hole.

Baskets - 18 grippy Discatchers. 2 possible locations per hole. A is shorter and easier. B is longer and more challenging.

Practice basket.

Signs - 2 signs per hole (one at each tee). Posts are T shaped so you can hang your bag. Sign has detailed pictures of holes, distances from each tee to each basket location, par, arrow pointing to next hole, and sponsor information.

Variety - Mix of open holes, moderately wooded holes, heavily wooded holes, multiple water hazards, thick brush, tight fairways, blind shots, and a few elevation changes.

Challenging (see above) - Some holes can be hard to save par. Water holes and tight fairways can get in your head and will make or break your day. All baskets are guarded. Lots of high risk/high reward shots. Much more of a technical course than a rip it and grip it course. Plan your shots wisely. Best option is to play it safe.

Plenty of shade.

Kiosk at the start of course that has course map, scorecards, pencils, and box for donations.

Beautiful and scenic course. It is very peaceful and quiet. Fall creek is soothing, especially on the back 9. Course would be enjoyable even if you were just walking it.

Course starts open and slowly gets more and more wooded, ends with an uphill shot that finishes though a tight tunnel shot.

Multiple water hazards! Be careful not to overshoot or throw a wild shot.

Room to expand.

Benches at start of course.

Course is well maintained and much time was spent putting it together.
Cons: Hole one has a building in the fairway. It has many dents on it.

Could use benches throughout the course, especially in the wooded holes. It would allow you to take in nature.

No trash cans (although it may take away from beauty of back nine).

Course is in flood zone and floods after heavy rain.

Could use a few signs pointing you towards the next tee: after hole 8 and after hole 15 immediately come to mind. There are arrows on the signs at the tees but it could be easy to forget.

Can spend a ton of time looking for discs when the brush grows in. I would recommend not playing alone so you can have a spotter.

Thick brush has thorns and nettles in it.
Other Thoughts: This is a fantastic course. It is the second most challenging course in the city behind Hazel Landing Park. If it is too difficult, there are plenty of options to choose from. You could either play 1-8 and 18 or venture to a nearby course.

Course is on church property, so watch your language! Groundsman can frequently be seen on course. He is very friendly so make sure to say hi. He has mentioned the course possibly expanding to 27 holes. New holes would be similar to holes 9-17.

I would definitely recommend this course to any player of any skill level. The back 9 might be too challenging for beginner player but it will make them better.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

DISC at Fall Creek Course- The Definitive Version

5+    12/16/2013   1/12/2014
Review By: Jeff Feezle
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 22.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: DISC at Fall Creek Baptist- The Definitive Version.

Overview: DISC at Fall Creek Baptist Disc Golf Course is on private land, but is a public course, open at all times. The church has absolutely no qualms about golfers on their course, and hope it will lead to a fellowship among golfers and the church. There are several of these types of courses in the Indianapolis area:. Fall Creek Baptist is located just off the I-465 Shadeland 56th street exit, north on Shadeland, east on Fall Creek Boulevard 3 miles, and it's on the right. The course entails 18 holes: 36 concrete tees, Red and Blue tee placements and A and B dual pin locations for every hole.

I'm a strong proponent of every course having a dual set of tees, and this is a trademark of Dennis Byrne designed courses, as well as his habit of inserting baskets with a curtain of water to the right of the basket, in this case: Fall Creek River. The course is a great 'practice' course since every type of shot will probably be used on this course. Anhyzer shots (shots that go to the right, for a right handed thrower) seem to be the bane of most golfers, and there's plenty of opportunity to learn how to throw both long and short anhyser shots with trouble consequences.

This course is maintained weekly by church staff. There are signs on every tee location, long and short.

LAYOUT
1/3 of the course is laid out around the parameter of a river, with the anyhyzer baskets tucked into slots in the brush But then, after 4 holes, you're into the woods. The fairways in the woods are usually wide enough to get a good rip on the long tees, but early trees will cause boogies. Basically it's a Par 3 course except for three holes that are exceptionally tough. A good score will demand a total skill set from the thrower: anhyzer, curved shots, long anhyzer drives, sidearms, trouble shots, long putts/approaches, and mostly it will require 'control.' It's not an easy course, but not overly difficult either, so I highly recommend it for learning to improve your golf game. If your game is all hyzer approaches, you're in trouble here. You'll be forced to learn new shots at Fall Creek.


Cons: Since the course borders a wide river, it has been known to flood, but the drainage is good and dries out pretty rapidly. The developers spent the year clearing out nettles, poison ivy and weeds from the off-fairways, so lost discs are fairly easy to locate. The cons of the course are being addressed very effectively: trashcans, a portable restroom, are all planned for 2014.
Other Thoughts:
Overall, this is an great start to a 1 year-course! This course has seen more physical improvement and innovations than most of the other courses in Indy in over a decade. For instance, new 2013 Innova Disc Catcher Pro-28's (28-chain baskets) are used. 5x10 concrete pads keep the mud off your feet. There is also a great course map sign/membership board with events, and a nice practice basket with marked putting practice distance markers. They also have a Facebook page called 'DISC@Fall Creek' with updates, course conditions, and general dialog. In 2014 Fall Creek will have at least 2 leagues and 3 tournaments scheduled.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Really good course

5+    10/9/2013   10/11/2013
Review By: wake911
Played: 44  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 13.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -variety of open/wooded holes
- FH/BH/Hyzerflip/Flex shots all in play
- Decision making. Very easy to get a 3 on some holes, but requires perfect shot for a 2. missing that shot could lead to a 4 easy.
- Can play quick when no one is there.
- Uses all shots, including emergency rollers, etc
-"Most: holes have more than one strategy to get there. (hyzer flip, flex fh, skip, turnover, hyzer fh, etc)
- Has been cleaned alot of underbrush, making losing discs a lot tougher, unless you go in the water. Haven't gotten stung by nettles in over a month either, so reviews that mention nettles are MUCH less accurate on that fact than before. They've killed most of them.
Cons: - Beginning is very repetitive. due to the land, but isn't a bad warmup. But this start def. keeps it from a higher rating.
- a couple holes are still a little gimmicky with a tree right in your path 30' from tee, with nowhere to go around it without a weird hyzer flip or a flexed fh (with a lot of luck as well). i have parked these holes as well as kicked into the water from seemingly the same shot. But the course is still getting broken-in, so we'll see how these change over time.
-No benches, no water, no bathrooms
-very bug laden, make sure to bring your bug spray.
- lots of water. Many chances to lose discs from bad throws, or bad kicks off average throws.
- tee sign distances seem quite off on some holes. Not sure how the measurement was done, but definitely don't go by all the signs, but by your knowledge of distance instead.
Other Thoughts: this has become my favorite course in town to play. Over the months since it was installed, it has been played a TON, and that has been very beneficial to its play. The first time you walk up to the course, you will think that most of the wooded holes have no path. After a couple of plays, you start to see that their are multiple paths to each hole. I've finally figured it out on all but 2 holes.

I would definitely recommend playing this course on your way through the Indy area. Hands down my favorite overall course in town, despite not having a hole where I can just grip-it-and-rip-it full power. 18 is pretty close, but with it being a large turnover, i still have to be wary of the parking lot, and reel it in a little on the power.

I really like having to use my forehand on as many shots as i do. The course also rewards the "dead straight" shot on most holes. That is a tough shot to pull off for many golfers, whereas a slight hyzer is easier. This course should help your play on other courses due to the need for very straight throws....and the emergency rescue shots for when you bounce into the rough, which penalizes pretty strongly by making par quite difficult if you hit an early tree and kick into the rough.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Solid Start

1    9/1/2013   9/3/2013
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 186  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - The kind and welcoming congregation of Fall Creek Baptist Church have put together a solid, if not necessarily spectacular, 18-hole layout that well utilizes the available land. The result strikes a balance between open holes that attempt to be beginner-friendly and a wooded back nine that works hard at presenting challenging, technical design.
- Decent use of available elevation. No major ups and downs, but lots of little slopes and wrinkles that work well enough to spice up the round a bit. #18's basket sits atop a large raised berm, on a level with the parking lot. A nice enough way to finish an otherwise mostly flat round.
- Several holes play near a fairly sizeable river. The banks drop off alarmingly, often covered in ridiculous amounts of vegetation. To the right of the fairway on #4 long comes to mind in particular; however, for the most part the river is unfortunately out of play except on the most errant of throws.
- Amenities. Nice new concrete pads (at both the long and short tees), baskets, dual pin positions, etc.
- The front nine can be played as it's own loop. After playing #8, a set of tees is provided to play up to #18's basket. Alt #9 is a great way of providing a family-friendly, accessible beginner style course in addition to the more difficult 18-hole layout.
- Beautiful back nine with gorgeous ancient trees and a beautiful river.
Cons: - There's a bit of repetition. Several holes on the front nine feel like the same shot off the tee (left to right, with extreme rough/woods to the right directly off the fairway). Likewise, the back nine seemed to settle into a bit of a rut. I think this is compounded by (or perhaps caused by) the similarity in hole lengths. Not much in the way of variety in the distance department helps make all the holes blend together a bit. Even the long pins usually just add 30-40 feet without really changing the hole much.
- The rough can be at times vindictively punishing, drastically beating down only slightly off-target shots. The front nine is the worst offender here. I like rough roughs, but if they're trying to present the front as beginner friendly, there's plenty of easily attainable horrificness (river, nettles, ROUGH, drop-offs) to quickly turn off most newbies.
- Nettles are extra-special nasty on the back nine. Tread carefully or risk getting lit up.
Other Thoughts: - It's like the designer(s) got "caught in between" on the design. It seems like they REALLY wanted to present challenging, exciting disc golf in some areas, but also felt as though they needed enough of the course to be accessible to very casual or new players. In the end, I feel as though this hurt both the beginner part AND the holes requiring a higher skill level.
- This is a new course, with some bumps to get worked out still. The nettles are going to get sprayed next year, apparently. The people who put this course in are super nice, welcoming, and really were interested in hearing our opinions (whether it was the actual designer, one of the members who helped install, or someone from the church, I'm not exactly sure…but they made sure to grill us as we made our way back to the car, lol!). Point being, people who care that much and have their hearts in the right spot usually figure out a way to improve things over time. That's what I expect from Disc @ Fall Creek.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Love the terrain.

5+    8/12/2013   8/14/2013
Review By: Grungedude42
Played: 27  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 14.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/10/2013
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Reds and Blues play like completely different courses. Not just added distance, but different lines.
-Brand new baskets, catch everything
-Shots range from left to right, and everything in between
-All pads and signs in place, and look great.
-The wooded holes incorporate some beautiful views of the creek, without placing you in *too* much danger of getting wet. Haven't gotten is disc wet in my last three rounds there.
-the blues are very difficult. Forces some lines, much more so than most of our converted cornfield courses
-signage is great. Detailed and vivid.
Cons: -No drinking water, no accessible restrooms, no trashcans.
-Number 5 long tee is very much in play from the long tee on 7.
-pads are 10'. I find myself starting my runup behind the pad to take my usual steps.
-very muddy when wet, especially in the woods. Would be corrected with mulch or woodland grass.
Other Thoughts: Big improvements to the course since installation, much props to the small team who puts the work in. The mowing is better each week, and the new pads really help. In time, this course should polish up into one of the best in the area. Give a thought to a water fountain, or a trashcan near the course signage off #7.
We need more heavily wooded courses near Indianapolis.
*note to local players* Please don't take it upon yourselves to cut down limbs and trees. We need a technical course like this in Indy. If you take all the limbs and trees down, it could just become another boring course.
Now if only it had some elevation, this land would have "5" potential.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great work in progress

1    8/10/2013   8/10/2013
Review By: rock_soup
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A very nice challenging course. Out on a Saturday morning and ran into a crew from the church working on getting the rest of the tee pads in. Super friendly guys and even gave us some bug spray for the back 9.
Cons: Lots of dense vegetation and water in play can gobble up your discs if you're not careful.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

almost like 2 courses in one

5+    7/24/2013   7/31/2013
Review By: jumpjet
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 10/21/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
+ Multiple tees - The long tees make for a very different course than the short tees. Especially on the front 9, the short tees would be great for a family outing or beginners
+ Multiple pin locations
+ Great use of the land (great scenery on the back especially) and structures - the barn on #1 makes for an interesting hole; the course wraps around the perimeter of the property and uses the boundary with Fall Creek well
+ Very good signage - probably the best I've seen in the area
+ Concrete tee pads on all holes
+ Nice tee sign posts - to hang bags, stack discs, etc.
+ Well maintained - fairways and pin areas seem regularly cut
+ There is a practice basket near the start.
Cons:
- Course layout makes for a several consecutive right doglegs at the beginning (feels a bit repetitious) but after that it gets more interesting, especially if you play all 18.
- Lots of stinging nettles in the woods/rough, mostly on back 9 - wear long pants, or just stay in the fairway! EDIT - rough has been cut back quite a bit so it isn't as much of an issue as it used to be.
- Not a consistent feel throughout the course - the back 9 plays very different from the front, but that's due to the layout of the land more than design.
Other Thoughts: There is a large course map and other info about the course. #1 will be to the right of the info board.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Course

1    7/14/2013   7/14/2013
Review By: ninjaface
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 15.2 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Clean

Good change of pace

Challenging
Cons: Hole design could be better

Lot of pins are just tucked away to the right

Neddles
Other Thoughts: Decent course. Nothing to rave home about but it is new and maybe a few adaptations to the pin locations would make it better. Hopefully the neddles will be mowed down once more people play it.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.