Opelika, AL 
Tumble Tree DGC Share
Uploaded By: peteg Hole #14 (Taken 12/2013)
3 / 261ft.   -- / --   3 / 320ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Red Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great Course

1    5/18/2014   5/19/2014
Review By: smo0th
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful course seems to be very well kept. The grass was cut throughout the course. The signs are great condition. You can tell that the local players take good care of the course.

The overall layout of the course flows very smoothly. The Red tees are great for beginners, while the blue tees offer some challenging throws for the more experienced players.
Cons: The only problem I had with the course was that some of the blue tees utilize a rubber mat that has not been secured properly. I found that I had to focus more on my footing, so that I would not trip on the edge of the mat in my run up.
Other Thoughts: I had to drive about 35 minutes to get to the course, and I would gladly make the trip again. It is a great course. I am looking forward to making another visit soon.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very fun course for most part

1    3/24/2014   3/30/2014
Review By: AvengerTruth
Played: 27  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great mix of all types of holes and shots. Some open holes, slightly wooded holes, and very wooded holes and even a few water shots. Hyzer shots, anny shots and straight shots. I played the Pro tees, which were very fair. Much more elevation than I am used to in south Alabama, so thats a big plus for me. Course was well maintained and had great signage. Had a great time and I hope this sparks some interest in the area. Very limited on disc golf options unless going into Georgia a little.
Cons: Not very challenging, for the most part anyways. Especially from the short tees. Hole 2 has some wicked rocks near the basket that could def do some damage to a disc (this could also be a Pro I suppose, just another obstacle).
Other Thoughts: All in all, great course. There was a lady giving a tour of the course to another lady when I got there, explaining the rules and the purpose of the sport. Hopefully this means more courses in the area

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Course

5+    3/10/2014   3/17/2014
Review By: Jpuder
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 3/18/2014
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: To start off I think it is important that I mention that this is my local course that I play 2-3 times a week. Anytime a local writes a review I think it is important to mention at the top because it could impact the review (good or bad).

Tumble Tree is a short, beautifully maintained, 18-hole course. The course has both concrete recreational tee pads and pro tee boxes (throw off of concrete, dirt and rubber pads) marked with concrete pavers. Each hole has great signage making the course is easy to navigate with the exception of hole number 12 which has its recreational tee pad facing the wrong direction (you actually throw the width of the pad as opposed to the length).

The course has two par 4 holes (holes 4 and 8) and the rest are par 3's. The course offers a great mix of open and wooded holes that will test your technical ability. Although there is not much elevation in the landscape, the course utilizes as much elevation change in its hole design as possible. The course also has a good balance of left and right turning holes. Holes 2 and 4 require throwing over a pond but the rest of the course is dry (hole 1 could also involve the pond if you shank your drive to the left). There are many ace-able holes making teeing off an exciting experience.

What makes this course a real gem is that it is fantastically maintained. The Opelika maintenance workers do a wonderful job keeping the grounds immaculate. The grass is always short and the trees are well-maintained. The locals even pitch in and do a lot of maintenance to this course (trimming trees, adding concrete pavers to the pro tee pads, etc..). I don't mean to sound mushy, but when you play a round at Tumble Tree you can see the love that is put into the course.

The course is right next to the Opelika Sportsplex. Although you need a membership to use the equipment in the facilities, you can always go inside to use the restrooms, water fountains, and venting machines. In addition to the course, there is a lot of wide open space to work on distance driving. Whether you need some room to warm up before a round or just want an open field to work on different types of throws after a day on the course, there is plenty of field space!

The best place to park is the back left-side of the main building (its left if you are facing the front of the building but as you go around the round-about it becomes a right). This area has the practice pin, plenty of field space and the tee boxes for hole 1.
Cons: For better or for worse Tumble tree is a short course. The pro tees add a little distance and difficulty (some holes are much more technical from the pros!) but overall this course will not test your arm. Additionally, at this time there are not multiple pin locations, which would be a great future addition to the course.
Other Thoughts: As previously stated, this is my local course so I may be biased. However, I have lived all over the U.S. (4 different geographical areas) and this is the best maintained course I have ever seen. Whether you are a local or you are just passing through Auburn / Alabama, stop out and play a round at Tumble Tree.. the locals are friendly and the course is a real beauty!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Sweet Home Alabama.

5+    3/25/2013   4/1/2013
Review By: Connor Jones
Played: 75  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2014
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Mach 5's that catch like a dream.

The teepads are a bit short, but the holes out here aren't too long. They are really grippy and you don't need a lot of run-up, quite a few putter throws out here.

A nice blend of short annies to spike hyzers over various tree levels, downhill and uphill, left and right.

Next to the Opelika Sportsplex, a building that, while it requires a membership, has multiple vending machines full of snacks and drinks that you can go grab regardless, air conditioned and full of awesome activities one could enjoy after a round of disc golf, if you signed up.

Cons: As I said before not a lot of length out here, a pretty simple layout but it could turn into a tough time if you are off your lines just a hair.

Still a few holes that need some minor work with taking a few trees down, a couple that are borderline unfair but this course is so new, and I know a lot of people involved that I know it will be rapidly improving.

Other Thoughts: It's hard to write too much in the cons at this moment in time due to this course being so new. I played a round of the longs(no teepads yet) and a round of the shorts. The longs will provide a more challenging round that is definitely worthy of a drive if you're within a 30-45 minute radius. A solid course that is a welcome addition to the East Alabama/West Georgia grouping. It's awesome to see disc golf start to expand in the area.

I will be going out later this week to take photos, and fill out distances to round out this course page a bit more thoroughly.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.