Disc Golf Center
Kettering, OH 
Indian Riffle Park Share
Uploaded By: Darth Anovin Hole #1 (Taken 9/2010)
3 / 262ft.   3 / 262ft.   3 / 262ft.   2 / 262ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Good course for all skill levels

5+    7/25/2014   7/26/2014
Review By: JDS3105
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
This review was updated on 9/9/2014
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good variety of holes and shot opportunities, good course for beginners, decent tee pads and hole signs, course layout gives you a good workout.
Cons: Often crowded, wooded holes can be muddy after rain, trees could use a trim, course layout can be confusing for a first time player. Fall time, there are squirrels everywhere and will try to take your discs(not joking). Bugs can be bad on humid days on holes 8-10.
Other Thoughts: This is the first course my wife and I played. Overall, I like playing there. If you play in the morning there aren't a lot of people on the course. I'd avoid playing on Friday evenings. There's a good chance you will get behind a group of 6+ that smoke, are rude, and play slow. IMO, smoking shouldn't be allowed. Holes 1-5 you need to be mindful of pedestrians. The potential to loose discs is definitely there.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    5/13/2014   5/17/2014
Review By: Bachmann_3
Played: 20  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety of holes, a lot of short but technical ace opportunities.
A lot of amenities, picnic tables and water fountains.
Some challenging OB and longer holes.
Good beginner course or sub-par course for better players
Players looking to get a quick round in can shoot through the easy wooded holes and end up in the parking lot in less than 30 minutes.
Cons: Usually crowded, especially with slow moving beginner players, and normal park goers near the baseball diamonds.
Very long walk in between holes 5 and 6 (Players generally start on hole 6 to avoid a long walk in the middle of the round.)
Tall grass on #6 and #18
Recent new teepads on #17 and #18 took away from originality of the course and eliminated water hazards.
Other Thoughts: Indian RIffle Park, or The Kettering Rec Center as it is more commonly referred to, is my home course. Being less than 5 minutes from my house, this is the first course I played and have played it over 100 times. However, if it wasn't my home course I would rarely play it. Heavy park usage from little leaguers and track and field runners make this course unplayable many times during the peak hours of late afternoon in the summer. The layout change last year really took away from the beauty of the course and the risk reward water holes. It is constantly water logged and muddy and receives a lot of traffic. This course is generally a sub-par course for me but can difficulty when the wind is blowing, especially on the open holes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Indian Riffle DGC

5+    10/23/2013   3/23/2014
Review By: Donthavefun3
Played: 29  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.6 Years
Pros: Decent course for beginners. Good mix of wooded and open holes. Lots of shade.
Cons: You may want to play this course in the summer. There is some serious drainage issues on a few of the wooded holes. I wouldn't recommend playing this one after a rainy day either due to the drainage issues. This course used to be better before they changed a few holes around. The water no longer plays at all, and the elevation changes were reduced by half.

Good, Solid Rec Course

5+    3/10/2014   3/12/2014
Review By: mrclc
Played: 128  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 1.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: "The Riff" is a park course with some creative design elements that generally take good advantage of the available land to provide a solid, if unspectacular playing experience. Beginning players can experience both long, open holes and wooded, technical holes without being penalized too harshly for missed shots. Holes #1-5 play around a playground in an area with mature trees. Holes #6-12 play in the woods. Holes #13-18 play in an open area with very few trees. Elevation comes into play on a short, blind uphill hole (#9) and a basket on the sloping summit of a sledding hill (#16).

Each tee consists of a single concrete pad, all of which are decent-sized and in good repair, and hole diagram tee sign, most of which are readable, accurate, and in good repair. Holes play to older, occasionally rough-looking baskets, but none are actively damaged, and the catching ability is still pretty good.

Underbrush is managed quite well, and it's rare that a throw from the rough will result in a sting or scratch.
Cons: The routing is probably the biggest gripe here, as it can be confusing for a first-time player, and remains obnoxious for veterans. The course often seems shoehorned in amongst other park activities and features a couple of long walks, most notably between #5 and #6 where golfers have to traverse the entire length of the park, cutting across a road and two busy parking lots. Starting play at #6 and ending at #5 alleviates some of this pain (see other thoughts), but you're going to have to walk regardless if you want to play all 18. This type of open-ended U-shaped (or C-shaped in the case of Indian Riffle) routing works for smaller parks, but not for the massive park complex here.

The difficulty level is excellent for beginners and rec players, but can get tiresome in a hurry for higher levels looking for a challenge. Most players can avoid the mature trees with ease on the wooded holes, and the open holes leave a great deal of room for error.

Indian Riffle's other big problem is the mud. After any precipitation, most greens turn into a sludgy mudpit that gets discs and shoes nasty in a hurry. This is especially noticeable in the spring with the combination of rain and snow melt. Apart from most greens, other troublesome mud areas include the walk to #8, the #9 tee, and the #12 tee. If it's been wet at all, you'll want to bring extra shoes to play in.
Other Thoughts: On the whole, the park is very well-maintained, but fairly high-use. Even on days where there may not be many fellow golfers, it's not uncommon to wait on tee pads for other park users. I never played the original design, but apparently holes #5, 17, & 18 have been modified in recent years to address some safety concerns associated with the high concentration of other patrons. You'll always want to be alert when throwing, especially on the playground and open holes.

PROTIPS: Many of the locals (myself included) play the routing 6-18, 1-5. It doesn't make for a spectacular finish golf-wise, but it leaves the long walk to the other side of the park for post-round, rather than mid-round. As you approach the Kettering Rec Center at the end of Glengarry, take a right into the parking lot and park at the furthest point from the building by the hole 6 tee.

In an effort to make #17 more interesting, many golfers will throw from the top of the hill to the pin below rather than using the concrete tee pad at the foot of the hill. As you face the #16 basket with your back to the #16 tee, look beyond and slightly left for a worn-out patch of earth. This is the guerrilla alt #17 tee. Take extra care in watching for other park patrons when executing this tee shot.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Park 7, Disc Golf 3

2-4    5/19/2013   5/20/2013
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 180  Reviewed: 160  Exp: 3.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Indian Riffle Park is a wonderful community attraction, ranging widely alongside a school, a Rec Center, and an Arts center, that features a water park, playgrounds, sports fields, beautiful park shelters, a lake, and numerous walking paths. The park goes from mature and stately trees to open fields to woods, and is a busy, well-enjoyed feature in Kettering, Ohio. The disc golf course here is incorporated around the other activities, usually steering clear of them, which makes for an, er, 'interesting' layout. Three of the holes were redone between my two visits here (June, 2012 and May, 2013) in order to separate the flying discs from the pedestrians who stroll along the path by the lake.

Hole 5 has been shortened as the basket is now to the right, and not near the pond/path. #17 has been repositioned at the foot of the mound, and is a short ace run alongside the little ball field, #18 was moved from pond side to the woods behind the two bigger ball fields, finishing at its original basket position through a break in the wood line, and leads nicely back to hole 1.

The course itself has adequately sized, level, concrete tee pads, DGA baskets (oddly in better repair and relatively less rusty in the woods than those out in the open), and variable signage that probably needs updating and re-measuring for hole lengths, now that there have been some changes.

The course seems to slightly favor hyzer lines (for rhbh throwers), but has a little variety, and uses the elevation available fairly well, particularly in the woods, and up on the mound on #16. There is variety here in that you have to play Park-style, as well as open shots and woods/technical lines as you go around. The course lengths are geared toward Recreational to Intermediate arms, with only three holes over 350'.
Cons: The course essentially runs around the perimeter of the park, which means there are some long walks between holes. The one ridiculously LONG walk between the #5 basket and the #6 tee means that, even if you parked on the Rec Center side, you'll have nearly a half mile of your circuit that is just walking, and NOT engaged playing disc golf.

The changed holes do increase safety for park patrons, but eliminate what were a couple of waterside shots that formerly added that gut-check challenge (but I guess the other plus is that it takes your discs away from the duck- and goose-check challenge, too!)

There are no benches on the disc golf course, despite it probably being a good two mile loop to walk. There is no sign at the #6 basket (which might be a logical place to start, if they ever wanted to re-number the holes). There are three or four trash cans on the course, but I thought it odd to see one of them essentially IN the #7 fairway. I suspect that means there are hiking trails used through the woods, so it is important that all disc golfers be on the lookout for other park patrons at ALL times at Indian Riffle.
Other Thoughts: This a really nice park, and a fun disc golf course to play, but it does give the feeling that that the disc golf is being (or was originally) pushed out to the perimeter so folks could enjoy the rest of the park's amenities. I'm not saying this is wrong, or even a problem, but should be kept in mind by players who might be used to playing courses where disc golf is the central focus.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  It's ok, I guess

1    10/4/2012   10/5/2012
Review By: MagicNinja16
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mix of open holes and tight wooded holes.

Park is very well maintained.

Nice concrete pads.
Cons: Park is very, very crowded. People cut through the course and will walk right in front of you while you're trying to throw.

Baskets are pretty beat up.

Ridiculous course layout.

Other Thoughts: Course layout is definitely a bit confusing. You have to walk right by hole 2's tee pad from the parking lot only to start at what feels like should be hole 18.
Holes 5, 17 and 18 have been drastically altered and now no longer play anywhere near the pond.
First timers should definitely bring a map if you ever hope to find hole 6.
I had an "ok" experience playing this course. But with the amount of people there, and the very poor layout, I don't think that I'll be back any time soon.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/16/2012   5/16/2012
Review By: jd.mackiewicz
Played: 17  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 23.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete Tees
Tee Signs
Good mixture of 'deep' woods, open field, and Mature trees & grass
Water in Play
One hill
Free
Cons: Some of the Tee signs are out dated and hard to read or missing.
Multi Use park so you have to watch for people
LONG walk from 5 to 6
Baskets are banged up and old
Other Thoughts: Make sure you bring a map when you come and note how to get from 5 to 6. The rest of the holes are laid out logically. Might make sense to Start at hole 6.

I really like to course, it's a classic. The park is also very clean.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/13/2011   11/11/2011
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 6.2 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a decent course in a well-maintained park. There is a good mix of variety. There is some elevation used (1 hill), different turns, and wooded/open holes. Distances are on the shorter end making this a beginner friendly course.

Other Pros:

-concrete tee pads
-water hazards in play
Cons: The day I showed up to play there was a cross-country meet going on directly on the course so I needed to come back the next day.

The park (course area) is multi-use, so there are safety issues for the ball field, walking paths, and sport practices.

Navigation can be an issue (bring the map for those tricky spots!)

Long walk from #5 to #6.
Other Thoughts: There just isn't anything special to talk about here. If you took away all the safety issues this would be a much better course. I definitely enjoyed playing the other Dayton area courses much more.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Cool Course

2-4    8/12/2011   10/22/2011
Review By: flyersfan331
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is an awesome course because it has some very challanging holes. I love some of the holes that you can't see at first. Then you see the hole and you actualy had a good shot!
Cons: It's hard to find the first tee. You actualy have to go across the rec center and in to the woods after hole 5.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice and Easy

1    7/10/2011   7/10/2011
Review By: tsqrd
Played: 32  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained concrete tees with nice, accurate map of the hole.

Good use of mature trees throughout the park.

Excellent course for beginners to gain confidence with their shot selection.
Cons: Hole markers did not include par. Some of the holes had it written on with marker, but several were worn off. Also, the mounting screws on some of the markers went right through the distance of the hole on the board.

Tee boxes were different sizes depending on the length of the hole. This was hard to get used to.

The walk between holes 5 and 6 was extremely long. Without a course map, it would be almost impossible to find your way between these holes.

Had to walk past the first basket to get to the first tee. Hole 2 would make a better beginning hole.

There was a lot of foot traffic, but for a public park, this should be expected I guess.

Other Thoughts: For a beginner like myself, this course is great. If I were a bit more seasoned, this course would not offer too many challenges.

Next time I play, I will start at hole two and finish with hole one. Hole 18 is a nice finishing hole, but the walk to the first tee is not really worth it.

Although the majority of the holel played through trees, the course had an open feel to it. Park patrons did not get in the way too much, and the DG players were spread out enough that we rarely had to wait and we were not holding anyone up behind us.

I definitely recommend this course to anyone new to the sport. Nice setting and easy course that is very forgiving on almost all shots.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.