Kettering, OH 
Indian Riffle Park Share
Uploaded By: Darth Anovin Hole #4 (Taken 9/2010)
3 / 245ft.   3 / 245ft.   3 / 245ft.   2 / 245ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Indian Riffle DGC

5+    10/23/2013   3/23/2014
Review By: Donthavefun3
Played: 29  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.3 Years
Pros: Decent course for beginners. Good mix of wooded and open holes. Lots of shade.
Cons: You may want to play this course in the summer. There is some serious drainage issues on a few of the wooded holes. I wouldn't recommend playing this one after a rainy day either due to the drainage issues. This course used to be better before they changed a few holes around. The water no longer plays at all, and the elevation changes were reduced by half.

 It's ok, I guess

1    10/4/2012   10/5/2012
Review By: MagicNinja16
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mix of open holes and tight wooded holes.

Park is very well maintained.

Nice concrete pads.
Cons: Park is very, very crowded. People cut through the course and will walk right in front of you while you're trying to throw.

Baskets are pretty beat up.

Ridiculous course layout.

Other Thoughts: Course layout is definitely a bit confusing. You have to walk right by hole 2's tee pad from the parking lot only to start at what feels like should be hole 18.
Holes 5, 17 and 18 have been drastically altered and now no longer play anywhere near the pond.
First timers should definitely bring a map if you ever hope to find hole 6.
I had an "ok" experience playing this course. But with the amount of people there, and the very poor layout, I don't think that I'll be back any time soon.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/13/2011   11/11/2011
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 6 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a decent course in a well-maintained park. There is a good mix of variety. There is some elevation used (1 hill), different turns, and wooded/open holes. Distances are on the shorter end making this a beginner friendly course.

Other Pros:

-concrete tee pads
-water hazards in play
Cons: The day I showed up to play there was a cross-country meet going on directly on the course so I needed to come back the next day.

The park (course area) is multi-use, so there are safety issues for the ball field, walking paths, and sport practices.

Navigation can be an issue (bring the map for those tricky spots!)

Long walk from #5 to #6.
Other Thoughts: There just isn't anything special to talk about here. If you took away all the safety issues this would be a much better course. I definitely enjoyed playing the other Dayton area courses much more.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Indian Riffle Home Course

5+    7/23/2012   6/18/2011
Review By: crazypep
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/25/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I live within walking distance from park. They give scorecard/maps out at main recreation building. It is nice course for beginners. There are a variety of challenges on the holes (nothing too hard). Kettering parks maintains this park nicely.
Cons: You are limited when you can play, like all the other posts have said. There are baseball and football games as well as a summer day camp. Walk/Bike paths cross the course numerous times so beware of the passer-by.
The new holes = blah...
#5, #17 and #18 were all relocated so all discs lost in the drink would not impede with the pond's pump system...Thanks disc rakers!
Other Thoughts: I agree with all other posts, #2 hole should be #1 and finish with #1 instead of #18. #6 hole is a bit of a long hike and had I not got a map from the office the first time I don't know if I would have found it! Creators could have utilized other areas to make the course transition to the next hole better in my opinion. Utilize the football fields by hole #3 for disc testing, most of the year they have yardage marked for an easy distance gauge!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nothing all that exciting

1    9/10/2010   11/5/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 763  Exp: 12.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays mostly through grassy park areas with mature trees. A few holes in the back of the park bring some rough into play for a little more risk/reward, and a pond comes into play on a couple holes to add a little bit of water hazard. The holes that have defined lines have a decent mix of left and right turning holes to keep it interesting. There are good concrete tee pads on most holes with enough room and ok grip. The baskets showed some age, but still caught well. The park is nicely maintained, with all grass mowed and little trash or vandalism.
Cons: The most obvious con is navigation here. Hole 1 is a few hundred feet from the parking lot, and plays back toward the cars, it would make a lot more sense to have the course start with current hole 2 that tees off right next to the parking area. Between holes 5 and 6 there is more than a quarter mile walk to the next hole, with absolutely no signage directing you there. I happened to pull up the course map on my phone, otherwise I would have never found it.

The course gets a little repetitive, with little trouble for errant shots, and lots of holes through mature trees that play about the same length. There is one large hill that comes into play, with a basket up on top. The next tee however, is all the way back down at the bottom rather than making a fun hole shooting from the top. There is a dirt area at the top of the hill that you can use as an alternate tee for the next hole though that makes it a lot more interesting. There are a lot of safety issues here, with walking paths and ball fields in play on several holes, including a hole that plays over three different sections of the walking path, possibly more with an errant shot.
Other Thoughts: This course is an ok place to play, with enough variety to keep it interesting for a round or two, but I wouldn't want to play here all the time. There are too many safety issues, and not enough creative use of the park space to make it a good course. Beginners will find this course very approachable, with reasonable lengths and limited rough, as well as fairly easy ways to avoid the water. More experienced players won't find too much real challenge here to keep them interested and coming back.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 ok local course

2-4    9/6/2010   9/18/2010
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 169  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 26.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: concrete pads

well maintained public park
Cons: very busy multi-recreational land

walking/running path winds though course

navigation issues

mostly open - though this is subjective
Other Thoughts: This course just doesn't do it for me. It seems very over-rated.

Most holes are wide open, with the exception of public hazards that have no place in disc golf.

The few holes that are wooded, holes 6-12 (by far the best holes on the course) are short and simple.

Really, the only two holes on the entire course that were memorable are 12 and 16. Hole 12 is a well designed, left to right, tunnel shot that calls for a risk/reward decision off the tee. Hole 16 shoots up the side of a big hill, that if overthrown, takes you back down. I may be wrong, but I could have sworn the last time I had played this course, hole 17 was a shot from the top of this hill to the base. Now, you walk back down and play a short midrange with a minor water hazard to the left.

There was so much left untapped at this course.

I understand that it is a busy park, and safety issues must be addressed. In turn, as a disc golf traveler, I have the option to go to disc golf courses that do not need to play through so much traffic.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 needs much improvement

5+    11/5/2008   11/6/2008
Review By: xs9095
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 29.3 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: local 4 me
Cons: insane walk from 5-6, poorly marked or non existing tee markers. #3????? where are you?
Other Thoughts: agree with previous reviewer that #2 should be #1 and #18 should end where #1 begins. With so many other better courses around WHY BOTHER WITH PLAYING THIS ONE. for those who gave a 4 out of 5 for this one.....put down the pipe!!! :)

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.