Kettering, OH 
Indian Riffle Park Share
Uploaded By: Darth Anovin Hole #7 (Taken 9/2010)
3 / 236ft.   3 / 236ft.   3 / 236ft.   2 / 236ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Indian Riffle Home Course

5+    7/23/2012   6/18/2011
Review By: crazypep
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/25/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I live within walking distance from park. They give scorecard/maps out at main recreation building. It is nice course for beginners. There are a variety of challenges on the holes (nothing too hard). Kettering parks maintains this park nicely.
Cons: You are limited when you can play, like all the other posts have said. There are baseball and football games as well as a summer day camp. Walk/Bike paths cross the course numerous times so beware of the passer-by.
The new holes = blah...
#5, #17 and #18 were all relocated so all discs lost in the drink would not impede with the pond's pump system...Thanks disc rakers!
Other Thoughts: I agree with all other posts, #2 hole should be #1 and finish with #1 instead of #18. #6 hole is a bit of a long hike and had I not got a map from the office the first time I don't know if I would have found it! Creators could have utilized other areas to make the course transition to the next hole better in my opinion. Utilize the football fields by hole #3 for disc testing, most of the year they have yardage marked for an easy distance gauge!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  my home course

5+    1/16/2011   2/4/2011
Review By: tylersheehy
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: close to home. open, short holes, easy without wind, tricky with wind. fun course with the woods AND open holes
Cons: too many people
Other Thoughts: i was meaning to do this for a while but didnt get to it till now. when i last got out they had new signs out and made the course up NICE! i think its a nice course. i hit the basket in #9 about 3 times and still dont have my first ace...maybe THIS spring, wish me luck!

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nothing all that exciting

1    9/10/2010   11/5/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 761  Exp: 12.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays mostly through grassy park areas with mature trees. A few holes in the back of the park bring some rough into play for a little more risk/reward, and a pond comes into play on a couple holes to add a little bit of water hazard. The holes that have defined lines have a decent mix of left and right turning holes to keep it interesting. There are good concrete tee pads on most holes with enough room and ok grip. The baskets showed some age, but still caught well. The park is nicely maintained, with all grass mowed and little trash or vandalism.
Cons: The most obvious con is navigation here. Hole 1 is a few hundred feet from the parking lot, and plays back toward the cars, it would make a lot more sense to have the course start with current hole 2 that tees off right next to the parking area. Between holes 5 and 6 there is more than a quarter mile walk to the next hole, with absolutely no signage directing you there. I happened to pull up the course map on my phone, otherwise I would have never found it.

The course gets a little repetitive, with little trouble for errant shots, and lots of holes through mature trees that play about the same length. There is one large hill that comes into play, with a basket up on top. The next tee however, is all the way back down at the bottom rather than making a fun hole shooting from the top. There is a dirt area at the top of the hill that you can use as an alternate tee for the next hole though that makes it a lot more interesting. There are a lot of safety issues here, with walking paths and ball fields in play on several holes, including a hole that plays over three different sections of the walking path, possibly more with an errant shot.
Other Thoughts: This course is an ok place to play, with enough variety to keep it interesting for a round or two, but I wouldn't want to play here all the time. There are too many safety issues, and not enough creative use of the park space to make it a good course. Beginners will find this course very approachable, with reasonable lengths and limited rough, as well as fairly easy ways to avoid the water. More experienced players won't find too much real challenge here to keep them interested and coming back.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 ok local course

2-4    9/6/2010   9/18/2010
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 169  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 26.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: concrete pads

well maintained public park
Cons: very busy multi-recreational land

walking/running path winds though course

navigation issues

mostly open - though this is subjective
Other Thoughts: This course just doesn't do it for me. It seems very over-rated.

Most holes are wide open, with the exception of public hazards that have no place in disc golf.

The few holes that are wooded, holes 6-12 (by far the best holes on the course) are short and simple.

Really, the only two holes on the entire course that were memorable are 12 and 16. Hole 12 is a well designed, left to right, tunnel shot that calls for a risk/reward decision off the tee. Hole 16 shoots up the side of a big hill, that if overthrown, takes you back down. I may be wrong, but I could have sworn the last time I had played this course, hole 17 was a shot from the top of this hill to the base. Now, you walk back down and play a short midrange with a minor water hazard to the left.

There was so much left untapped at this course.

I understand that it is a busy park, and safety issues must be addressed. In turn, as a disc golf traveler, I have the option to go to disc golf courses that do not need to play through so much traffic.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A 2nd Favorite course

5+    8/31/2010   9/3/2010
Review By: sickem2
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Its fun course if you like a flat, fat boy friendly walk. There is only one Mega hill. Just watch shankin it to the right and "Ping" off the back of the ballfield backstop, cuz you may have a very disgrunted mother asking your to keep your disc on your side of the walkway.
Cons: Watch for the track team, they dont like it when you hurl discs at them. They are easy to hit, so be careful. Watch out for the football team also.
Other Thoughts: Nice eye candy at the swimming pool :o) Rumors about them pulling all the baskets.. They are still there now!!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 My Favorite...

5+    7/27/2010   9/1/2010
Review By: treehuggr
Played: 22  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Lots of versatility.

Maintenance is kept up often.

Good mix of long and short holes.

Good water area to retrieve lost discs.
Cons: The water holes sometimes kick my butt on windy days.

Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course in all of Dayton. Most golfers will start on the 6th hole (at the end of the right side parking area) just because it makes more sense. Easily can breeze through the whole course in a little over an hour.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 My First Course

5+    6/13/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: rhinos00
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a good course for beginners. Aside from giving the course much needed variety, the wooded holes really teach the importance of accuracy...gives this course a little challenge and intrigue.
Cons: The major con about this course is how close it is to public areas. You are constantly having to either wait for someone to move out of the way or having to worry that someone is going to walk right into the path of your disc. Another major con is the lack of variation. While the wooded holes are a bonus, there is only one hole where water really comes into effect and only one hole that has any sort of elevation change. The only other con, which is more of a suggestion, is that the signs should be replaced with new ones.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a good course for noobs and a good course to practice on and hone your skills. Highly recommend coming at off times to avoid large amounts of people, especially by the park.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Sunday Afternoon

1    9/6/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: hendersondayton
Played: 30  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/21/2009
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Not sure what I can say as a pro. I liked the course and how the holes were set up. If you are accurate and can play Hyzer/Anhyzer, holes will not be too difficult. IF you cannot control your shots you will be hitting trees and swearing a lot.
Cons: Obviously the Walk from 5 to 6. Playing on a Sunday afternoon (1:30) there were way too many people to try to avoid. Football game going on blocked basket. Older lady on 18 Tee Pad argued with us about how we shouldn't be throwing by a public walkway. We just waited for her to move and then threw.
Other Thoughts: Play on days/times that are NOT too crowded and this course will be enjoyable

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course

5+    5/15/2009   5/16/2009
Review By: Dizz
Played: 30  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.4 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Home course for me. I started learning Disc Golf on this course. It is a fun course with plenty of variety. Course may be challenging for beginners during the woods holes 7,8,9,10,12. Holes 1,2,3,4 are short but fun. There are a few long holes around 400 , holes 5,13,14,15,18. Hole 16 is On top of a Hill, and 17 runs next to the Pond. I always have a great time playing this course, it has a great variety of open and wooded holes.
Cons: Walk from 5 to 6 is long but being that it's my home course its not all that bad.
Other Thoughts: Hole #2 should be Hole #1

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 needs much improvement

5+    11/5/2008   11/6/2008
Review By: xs9095
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 29.3 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: local 4 me
Cons: insane walk from 5-6, poorly marked or non existing tee markers. #3????? where are you?
Other Thoughts: agree with previous reviewer that #2 should be #1 and #18 should end where #1 begins. With so many other better courses around WHY BOTHER WITH PLAYING THIS ONE. for those who gave a 4 out of 5 for this one.....put down the pipe!!! :)

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.