Springtown, TX 
Springtown West Park Share
Uploaded By: Discengineer Hole #16 (Taken 1/2014)
2 / 206ft.   3 / 206ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee Sign



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Not a bad course

1    6/4/2016   6/7/2016
Review By: jackybaby72
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A great course for beginners- which I am (been playing for 3 months). Lots of open holes. The baskets are great quality. Park seems to drain well- we just had about 5 inches of rain a few days ago and very little mud. Enough obstacles to make it a challenge. The opportunity for making a good throw exists on most holes. Advanced players might enjoy the scenery. Lots of trees across the creek will challenge everyone. Low water crossing at the creek eliminates the hike to cross the bridge. Use of land is really good to provide all types of shots.
Cons: Long arms cannot be used here. Most holes are quite short. A few holes provide no testing of skills at all. The multiple use baskets can create confusion when the park is busy. My pet peeve is when there are so many trees in an area where luck is necessary for making a good shot instead of skill. Across the creek is where this is true. Only two or three holes, but it exists. The ace hole at 17(?) is a challenge, but is ridiculous.
Other Thoughts: I like the course. Played on a beautiful day with my wife. As a beginner I shot +1. Had the best shot of my short time playing- sank 100+ foot hyzer shot around a few trees for birdie. Fun to play. I saw something here I haven't seen at the 10 or 12 courses I've played- "Watch for flying discs" signs. The safety responsibility is shared by DG'ers as well as patrons. The city is promoting the sport amongst all of its citizens. Is over an hour from the house, but on a nice day I'd drive out there for a change of scenery.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not what I was expecting

1    3/2/2016   3/2/2016
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 259  Reviewed: 112  Exp: 28.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: New Tee pads for all the holes
Nice Innova Disc Catchers
Good use of the land
Cons: Very dangerous course if the park is busy.
There are 11 baskets for 18 holes. This means 7 of the holes use the same baskets.
Other Thoughts: Even though this course can not be a tournament course, I would enjoy playing here more.

A wide variety of holes, with interesting shots.

A new basket and hole has been added for hole 11 and changed hole 12. They removed a what use to be hole 12 that would not have been a safe hole.

Basket for 13 has also been moved.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Changes Have Been Made

5+    8/15/2015   8/16/2015
Review By: 14bbryant
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pretty solid spread of 18 holes, not a ton of walking, and there are several easy holes, which is great for beginner players.
This course has holes for hyzers, anhyzers, flicks, mandos, excellent variety!
A combo of both open field and wooded area.
Cons: Multiple holes throwing to the same basket, making a little slow when the course is crowded. It's no more than two holes though.
There are a few holes that are close to picnic tables and sidewalk, so be cautious when throwing!
Other Thoughts: This course is an awesome small town place to play. It's the closest one to my home, so I get to play here often and I never get tired of it. The variety of wooded and open field holes is fun. Mandatory flights on 6, 9, and 17 add a little difficulty to the play.

Now for those who have played this course before and didn't like the safety, the course has changed up a bit!!! Both tees and baskets from several holes have been moved to safer areas, and one basket has been added.

You are no longer throwing so close to the pavilion at hole 5 and 13.
Hole 11's tee and basket have been moved. The tee is next to the basket of 10 and the basket is a straight shot through some trees.
Hole 16's tee has been moved away from the picnic tables.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  definitely worth a visit

1    11/30/2013   11/30/2013
Review By: ScratAg
Played: 35  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's a nice park with beautiful new baskets. There are some fun throws with plenty of variety.
Cons: Throwing through and around picnic areas could become a problem if people are really out using the park. It's a town of 2500 though so I doubt it really becomes a problem a lot.

The par labels are goofy there are some par 2's and even an ace. I just played them as 3's and everything was great.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.