Course Extinct
Nashville, TN
The Course @ Fontanel Share
Uploaded By: joshlrogers Hole #3 (Taken 5/2013)
3 / 375ft.   4 / 485ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Not Disappointed

1    3/13/2014   3/14/2014
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 198  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 26.1 Years
Pros: Good tee signs and well marked for the most part.

Tennessee Orange baskets are easy to spot.

Several very good championship level holes.

Gift store and refreshments next to hole one and parking lot.
Cons: Several of the holes are wide open with little to no trees. (1,2,3,4,5,18)

Due to this being a multi-use property, there will be times the course is closed when they have an event going on.

Not a fan of the tee boxes, while better than dirt, the carpet still gets lumpy and I did trip trying to throw a few of the holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a killer course as a whole. I didn't give it a higher rating because of the wide open holes.

I am extremely out of shape, this course kicked my butt and I could barely finish it.

Worth playing in my opinion, I tried to pay the $5 listed on this web site, but they told me they were not charging at the moment so I got to play for free :)


1    3/4/2014   3/5/2014
Review By: thrillthrower
Played: 23  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful serene setting. Several holes in the woods play right next to a babbling brook (creek) , signage and flow nicely done. Elevation change is extreme on 7 & 8 as you wind your way up to your final reward - at the top for a 380 ft straight down no# 9 - if you have ever snow skied you would call this hole a "double diamond"
Cons: 1st couple hole wide open - no real challenge for par and limited Deuce chances on these unless you can throw the big bomb. Elevation change and traversing between holes, for some, could be considered a con
Other Thoughts: Loved it- great walking workout. This is a MUST play if you visit Nashville and are physically up to it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Ups and Downs

1    10/8/2013   10/14/2013
Review By: nyrblue2
Played: 28  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course that plays across some open fields and through the woods of a....not quite sure what to call this place - a "tourist destination" in the most general sense?

- Nice setting - you're welcomed by nice, groomed open fields with thick, wooded, "hills" in the background - a couple small buildings line the front of the property
- Plenty of parking, since this property also has a couple stores/museums/activities/etc.
- Scorecards with map/course rules available
- Very nice colorful tee signs (showing hole par and length) and course map, located right near the edge of the parking lot
- Tee signs showed 2 "par and distances", so I'm assuming there are plans for 2 basket positions
- Trash cans at nearly every tee
- Terrific, large "next tee" signs right near each basket, making navigation pretty easy
- Carpeted tee pads with wooden frames
- OB lines a few holes (pavement or creek in the front part) - nowhere you wouldn't be able to retrieve your disc
- This course will challenge you physically - it has a decent amount of length and a decent amount of elevation change in the back part of the course - the climb from 7 through 9 gives you a workout
- Good variety of settings - if you like open bomber holes, you'll get some - if you like tight wooded holes, you'll get some
- Open field holes aside, you even get decent elevation change within holes back in the woods - hole #6 you throw up and through an elevated gap, holes #10, 12 and 15 (I think) have you throwing uphill, while holes #9, 13, 14 and 16 have you throwing downhill
- Good mix of left and right holes - tight, but fair fairways in the woods require you to hit lines with hyzers, annys, forehands, etc.
- Thick brush will punish poor throws, making it really important to play safe back in the woods
- A few really nice, memorable holes - hole #6 was a cool blind tee shot up through a gap where you need to get some distance to avoid landing on a steep slope and leveled concert seating on the right (OB), making for a nice OH shot line; hole #9 was a really fun downhill tunnel through the woods, so hit your line with a putter or mid and watch it fly; holes #13 and 14 were cool little RFBH anny lines requiring precision that will reward you with birdie attempts; hole #16 was a fun ace run, pitching downhill out of a treeline into a open field with a very low/recessed basket
Cons: - Orange baskets really blended in with the background on the wooded holes, making them tough to spot in early fall
- The tee signs are well made and meant to be very detailed - they looked very nice but I didn't feel they did a great job representing the lines, fairway paths, etc. - you'll have to walk up a few fairways to know where you're throwing (I honestly didn't know if the tee was "facing" in front of me or in back of me on a couple)
- If there are in fact 2 basket positions, the hole map doesn't show any difference, which either will make them incorrect, or if "extensions" of the current hole on the same line (i.e. - the line shown on the sign works "zoomed out" or "zoomed in", they will not be as good as variety created if there were 2 positions that created different lines
- I like carpet tee pads in general, but many of these were bumpy and uneven
- Fairways 4 and 5 were a sloppy mess
- Most open field holes were really boring - #1, 2, 3, 4 and 5 were nothing more than throwing across an open field with no obstacles - #17 and 18 were somewhat open, but at least had a dogleg right and an early low ceiling, respectively - maybe there could be some obstacles worked in, but they might want to keep the nice, flat fields in the front of the property - they really take away from some awesome golf back in the woods
- Hole # 9 - really fun to throw from, but this is not a safe/easy traverse up or down, as indicated by the hand ropes up near the tee - while there were "steps" built in with branches/boards on the bottom half, many were loose or slippery - be careful on your way down this fairway - I'm sure it will get better over time
Other Thoughts: - Look for the gift store on the left as you walk towards the buildings from the parking lot - no clear indication where you need to pay
- There were a couple brooms out there to sweep the pads, but a few more would help on some of the deep wooded holes with a lot of leaf cover
- A couple benches out in the woods, but I think they were for the walking trails, as they weren't right near the tees
- Had to pause a couple times for vehicle traffic on the front, open holes - just keep a look out near the property roads
- Some sort of groundwork going on from tee #2, so I teed off from further up the fairway
- Tee sign distance on #8 seemed way off - shows 428'/448' - couldn't have been any more than 300'

This course was alright. A lot of good things, but a lot of things that need some work or will get better over time. The apparent plan for 2 basket locations (or 2 tees?) should create some real nice variety. I wouldn't pass up Cedar Hill, Seven Oaks or Sharp Springs for this right now, but since I'm only around once a year, I'd like to come back and hopefully see some improvements in the next couple years - I see a lot of potential here and already love most of the wooded section.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Perfect amount of Woods

2-4    6/23/2013   7/8/2013
Review By: tampabay
Played: 41  Reviewed: 8
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Uniqueness. This course is definitely unique, they have multiple holes that I would say are very unique to this course. The one coming to mind is hole 6. This course definitely has a unique feel to it.
-Challenge. This course is extremely hard, I have played around 30-40 courses including Flyboy and Holler in the Hill's and this course is difficult. Id give this course a 4.3/5 on difficulty.
-Distance. I believe Fontanel uses distance very well. I don't like courses where you are just driving in open fields, this course does a good job of making you choose good distance lines and balances FH & BH, however if you can drive 450' it will definitely pay off on this course.
-Balance. I love that this course has very wooded and very open holes. It's also interesting because it has some fairly open fairways for wooded holes. I think it does a good job of respecting left and right finishing shots as well as challenging both distance and finesse.
-Elevation. This course is also challenging because it has varying uphill and downhill shots. Holes 6' & 17' both require you to throw over an obstacle which I thought was a nice touch and hole 16' forces you to throw a downhill shot but it also has a tight ceiling for the first 100'.
-Consequence. Maybe it's my Florida blood but I believe a course needs to have consequences for bad shots and Fontanel does. The thorns are truly brutal and if you go OB you will definitely pay.
Cons: -Pain. As I said in the pros, if you get in the woods you will pay for it. There are some nasty thorns and the woods are so dense you really get raked badly if you go in.
-Filler Holes. I felt like some of the holes were filler holes, they were fun but they were really just open field shots. Hole 1 made sense, but hole 3, and hole 18 were both disappointing.
-Signs. The signs seemed to be inaccurate, they were also very confusing. Maybe they will make more sense when they "finish" the course, but it is difficult to navigate as is.
-Parking. I could see this being a huge problem as this is a multi-purpose park.
-Blind Shots. Although they are challenging, blind shots can be very frustrating and dangerous. This course has a few blind shots where if you shank your drive, you should just say goodbye to your disc. Come to this course with backups.
Other Thoughts: I really liked this course. I would say it is a great course and you should definitely play it if you get a chance. However I would not describe this course as beginner friendly whatsoever. I would recommend bringing thick gloves in case you lose a disc in the woods.

Overall, amazing course, but definitely an advanced course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 new signs, prep for the hike

1    5/26/2013   5/26/2013
Review By: jer1230
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First off, the scenery is great and I had fun. The course is very challenging, especially for an AM such as myself. They've added nice tee signs to track par/distances, however, they offer a skewed sense of direction and path in some instances, so I suggest scouting baskets to pick the best routes.

You'll spend the first 5 holes in the open, flat fields warming up your arm and throwing some long drives and approaches.

Hole 6 introduces an interesting over-hill drive, and from there on, it's into the woods until you emerge at basket #16.

Holes 7 & 8 wind up a bit building elevation for hole 9, which is a great view and float downhill 380' for a gratifying drive if you can keep it straight.

Holes 10 & 11 really stretch out the wooded drives and call for some technical shots. Beware the sign at 10 which I found to be a bit misleading for route selection.

Holes 12, 13, and 14 are a bit shorter, with holes 13 and 14 really lending well to lefties, which I rarely find on courses and was pleased to see.

15 and 16 are fairly straight shots, the first a bit of an uphill shot and 16 a downhill shot back to field play. The new signs boast being able to call and order food, but currently there's not much detail nor is there a menu, so we didn't try it out.

Hole 17's a shot over a creek and tree line from a dirt tee (this one seems to still be a work in progress), and 18 finishes up back near the start with a few trees to dodge.
Cons: There's few benches and trash cans available, but trash cans appear to be planned for each hole soon. Rest when you can. There's a lot of hiking and elevation change, so I recommend ample water and a snack. The tee signs can be a bit deceiving at times, but still better than the simple printed number/distance signage that seemed to haven been replaced. Some of the trails along elevations are worn down to slippery mud with little option for alternative paths.
Other Thoughts: Course will be changing to pay-to-play ($5) on 6/1/13. Course is challenging, a workout, and overall pretty fun. Will probably play again, but not for a while!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

amazing work in progress

1    4/6/2013   4/6/2013
Review By: RustyStrings615
Played: 36  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/10/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located on beautiful private property right outside Nashville.. This course has the potential to be championship caliber in terms of natural beauty, design, and difficulty. It is definitely VERY challenging but at the same time it is still very fair, rewarding skill and not luck. But, most importantly it is just really FUN. The course goes from wide open and long to technical wooded holes.. then back out of the woods for a few more mostly open shots. Very balanced in terms of shots required to score well.. .although I would say it is advantageous if you can throw really far. Although, it is still a pleasure to play for someone that isn't driving over 350 ft. Most of the open holes are 375 ft and more... with one over 600 and definitely a par 4 I would say. Half of the wooded holes are relatively short but some are over 400 ft., really tight and require two great shots for a 3. Extreme elevation and terrain come into play in the woods as well. Hole 16 is a gorgeous short downhill ace run out of the woods. The overall flow of the course is excellent. The large teepads are carpet that's nailed down on level stone crush.. and framed with cedar logs. This could be a con for some, but I actually prefer it as long as it is level. The rest of the Fontanel property offers a lot more to experience as well. I could see this as being an amazing venue for BIG tournaments.
Cons: The new wooded holes are just cut in and therefore still pretty rough.. but still manage to be fair if you throw a perfect shot. Some of the wooded holes' fairways and greens are very steep and treacherous with little stumps and roots everywhere to trip you. No real tee signs yet - just some simple markers telling the hole number and distance. This makes it a little confusing the first time through. Trash cans are a rare find as are benches. Perhaps a bit too challenging for the novice golfer.. but I hear they will have short tees added eventually. I'd like to see some trees and bushes planted on some of the open holes to define the fairways and add some interest.
Other Thoughts: Vast improvement since the redesign. I can't wait to see this course evolve into one of the best around. As it stands now I have to give it a 3 rating. But, it has the potential to be a 5.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.