San Tan Valley, AZ 
Greens Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Goon13 Hole #3 (Taken 11/2013)
3 / 208ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Little Beauty

2-4    9/27/2015   9/28/2015
Review By: JNichols
Played: 39  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I was pleasantly surprised when we pulled into the parking lot and saw this little course. First, Parking! Yes, it is an HOA course, but there is Parking at the Recreation Center right by the 1st and 9th holes. Another plus was walking up and seeing benches at at Least every other hole, if not more. Trash cans were also abundant.

More to the course... In a beautifully landscaped green space under some high tension power lines, this little course is green with thick grass set in small rolling hills. Desert landscape to the sides of the course provide ample room to keep a stray throw from going in a yard.The course plays very short, with only one hole pushing 300ft. But, for what it is, I don't think you could find a better little pitch and putt. Think about it for what it is.... A course provided by a Homeowners Association. For what it is, and the space they used, this is a well thought out course with it's own unique little twists that make it a course that will be remembered. Even as short as it is.
Cons: Biggest Con I can see others taking to : The Baskets. They are very thin, single set chained, with SHALLOW Homemade looking cages. To be honest, if you hit center pole, your disc will stay, so I didn't mind them. Some will think they add a challenge to this short course, others will hate them. And, once again, it is a Short Course. If you are wanting to huck 13 speed drivers 600ft, this is not your course. Hole 4 is 319ft, with all other holes being 277ft and under.
Other Thoughts: I wish I had an HOA course this nice to practice mids, upshots, and putting on, right out my front door. It is a short little thing, but it is still good. I don't know that I'll make the 35 minute drive back anytime soon, but I can say I do want to go back. My 10 year old had a TON of fun here because baskets were actually in Par, or even Birdie range, for him. A Great, Fun little course. Kudos to Johnson's Ranch for providing it to their tenants.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Unless Ken Climo and Dave Feldberg Retire To Johnson's Ranch, This Course Willl Suffice Nicely!

1    3/18/2015   3/18/2015
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 769  Reviewed: 720  Exp: 37.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Green's Park is a pretty little green, rolling section of parkland beneath the power lines in the residental area of Johnson's Ranch. The course was built for their useage. The land here has the feel of a rolling golf course. It is actually connected to a small pitch and putt course down beyond the basket # 5.
There is a nice Disc Golf Rules sign at the beginning near the pool and parking lot. The baskets are these brown models, single chain with shallow baskets. I believe they might be homemade. The tee pads are very simple, natural with just a metal piece for the front end. It has the hole # and the distance on it. There are benches at each holes. The course plays four holes going out, then # 5 across, and the the last four heading back to the start. It's definitely a Recreational/pitch and Putt design. There's only one hole more than 300 ft. (319') and most are simple, straight ACE runs anywhere from 150 to 275' with little to no obstacles.
Cons: Although the brown baskets really are fine for this course, I truly wish the course developers had bucked up for some manufactured ones. I had one of my very rare nice tee offs on # 5 and hit chains from 228' only to see my disc glance off. Would it have stuck on a regular basket with double chains? I don't know?

It's a pitch & putt. If you want to crank it up, there's plenty of other Phoenix area courses with room to air it out on.
The course is out here in the middle of nowwhereville. Unless you are a dedicated course bagger, like me, or you live out here, I doubt if you'll be finding your way to Green's Park @ Johnson's Ranch.

On # 9 the bench is placed awfully close to tee. I was fully aware of it and still banged my ankle on my follow through. If I ever were to play this course again, that bench would be on my mind on # 9.
Other Thoughts: I question myself for giving this little Pitch & Putt course with these crummy homemade baskets, natural pads and no signs a 2.5 rating. But then I think how perfectly they designed this course to their target audience. They didn't overthink it like I've seen happen on so many courses.
Now if Climo and Feldberg buy homes here and start playing every morning and absolutely start shooting -9 every time out, then I might admit the course could be beefed up a little

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    1/17/2015   1/17/2015
Review By: calenadian
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It is a close drive for all of us that live out this way. It is a good course for a game of glow, as no lights are impeding in the glow of your disc. If you are in the area and have a half an hour to blow or just want to work on your short game, it is not bad.
Cons: It is a very short course and simply built. The baskets are cheaply made, and have a solid metal bottom where I have had several shots bounce out. Also the gaps in the basket itself are way to big, Do not throw a blowfly or any other flexible disc in. The tee pads are uneven, bumpy and always have to be cautious of not over shooting the "pad", you will take a nice trip if you do. Only two holes had any kind of obstacle in the path of play.
Other Thoughts: It is a great course for those just learning or want to bring the family to encourage the young ones to play. Only course within a ten minute drive for ones who like in QC or San Tan.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    9/27/2013   9/27/2013
Review By: ripaz
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has 9 baskets now 18 holes the regular 9's longest being 320ft. most are around 200ft. great for straight up or small hyzer bombs. Some of the residents just came up with a non-marked long back 9 with mandatorys and lots of dirt and sidewalk OB's, Back 9 holes from 300ft to 1000ft.
Cons: Small front nine, sidewalk through out the course, backyards back up to fairways. Shares green belt with 9 holes of ball golf(but not fairways)
Other Thoughts: My name is Matt i live in the Greens check out my profile to get my phone number I will be happy to walk you through the long back 9 and lets play a round!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    4/11/2013   4/11/2013
Review By: Psicko
Played: 24  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 11.7 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Disc golf course is a private course for the people that live in Johnson Ranch. Although as long as you are not being obnoxious, no one will know if you live there or not. The course if well maintained. It is geared towards families who have never played. It works well for that that demographic.
Cons: It is not much more than a short to medium putt and approach course. The longest hole I think is 319 feet. I don't think the distance is that accurate though. The baskets are either some off brand or one off made. They do not have enough chains, and the gaps in the basket are wide enough to fit a disc through. I had many blow throughs due to the basket design. The tee boxes are dirt with a little piece of wood in front of it.The piece of wood has a little placard with the distance. Hole number 7's placard is missing.
Other Thoughts: This course is good for what it is. A family neighborhood disc golf course to get people to play. Anyone else who has experience will be bored to tears with the course, as there are only about 3-4 trees(tops) on the whole course that adds any challenge to it. If you live in the area, and want a quick game, go for it. Don't drive a long time for this course, unless you absolutely want to play it to get your course count up. That being said, it is the best of the 9 hole courses in the area out of Queen Creek disc golf course and Mirabella vineyards, and this one.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Small but fund

1    4/1/2013   4/1/2013
Review By: gorillabearjump
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is well kept and very pretty for being in the middle of the desert. Benches on every hole (not that you will need them). It is nice and open, great practice for mid-range and putters
Cons: The baskets are not the best but get the job done. It is a 'Private' course, beware it is for residents only.
Other Thoughts: Overall fun short course, definitely worth the drive if you are in the area. Don't come from to far away, I wouldn't want you to be disappointed.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.