Mesa, AZ 
Red Mountain - South Share
Uploaded By: TheSamweiser Hole #6 (Taken 3/2013)
3 / 228ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Repetitive

1    9/22/2013   11/11/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 761  Exp: 12.6 Years
Pros: The course plays through a flat desert landscape with some scrubby trees and lots of low brush. There are lots of spots where an errant drive can leave you scrambling to save par from behind or inside the bushes, shot placement is key here. Several of the pin placements also do a good job of using the available vegetation to protect the basket. The large concrete tees and the baskets are in great shape.
Cons: The course is extremely repetitive. Almost all of the holes are straight ahead. A few encourage a tiny amount of line shaping, but you're not forced into a single specific shot. There just isn't a lot of opportunity for any kind of technical challenge here, the trees are used well but there aren't enough of them. I still would have liked a little more effort to force different shots off the tee.

The distances have some variety, but I still found myself throwing the same discs over and over. There was quite a bit of trash and broken glass in several areas around the course. Navigation can be a little tricky even with the course map. The tees aren't numbered and the baskets are often blind from the tee.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this course challenging but not impossible. There's some punishment for inaccurate shots but not too much risk of lost discs and not too much challenge outside of distance. More experienced players can use this course as a place to practice whatever kinds of lines they want, but you can get through the whole course with nothing but a hyzer. This course makes a fine warm up for the other course on site, but isn't very exciting or challenging on it's own.

didn't lose my disc, lost my way...

1    6/2/2013   6/2/2013
Review By: ghahn
Played: 47  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Long tee shots over desert scrub. New baskets.
Cons: This course is really difficult to navigate if you've never played it. Pads not identified, pins identified with tiny numbers beneath the chains - I guess you're just supposed to guess where to go next...
Other Thoughts: At least they don't charge you $6 - $10 like some of the private courses in the PHX area!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Nice Course w/ Room for Improvement

2-4    4/6/2013   4/6/2013
Review By: Sunday Mike
Played: 42  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/15/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has really large brand new tee pads and very nice new baskets. The holes are challenging with a surprising amount of vegetation and large trees for a desert course. The baskets are fairly well protected by the trees. It also looks like there is plenty of room to perhaps expand the course with alternate basket locations in the future.
Red Mountain Park itself is a beautiful park with excellent amenities. It's a great family area so bring the wife and kids to hang out by the lake and then go huck a few!!
Cons: The biggest problem I had at the course was navigation. The flow is not intuitive. Even with a map I had some difficulty locating a few holes. Signs would really help (I do understand there is a fundraiser in the works to alleviate this). It would have been nice to have each tee pad marked as to which hole it was. It's an issue which could have been seen to at the pour.
Stickers, stickers, stickers. As Psicko said be sure and watch where you place your bag. I wish I had worn long pants even though it was hot out.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed playing this course and I will be back to play it again (and play the North course as well).
If you are not with someone who has played the course before be sure and print up a map, you are going to need it!
Please remember to bring ALOT of water, you WILL need it!
With just a few tweaks (mainly signage) this could easily be a four star course.
UPDATE: Six months later there are now sign posts, but no signs. A few of the baskets are marked, but no tees and none of the signs are marked. Even on my second time through I had a hard time navigating this place. As long as the South course stays so confusing, I'll stick to the North course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

First impressions

1    4/4/2013   4/4/2013
Review By: Psicko
Played: 24  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/5/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was fun to play. The holes had different feel to them. I didnt think that any two holes played exactly the same. This course is also different from the ones I've played in the valley. The course commanded a variety of shots to end up with a good score. It is a desert course with trees, so it isn't as open as one would think(still pretty open for those who play technical wooded courses). All the baskets and tees are new and in good shape. The course was well designed. There are restrooms and water fountains near hole 1. There were some benches spread out around the course.
Cons: There are no tee signs as of yet, but there will be a tourney later this month where the money will go to pay for the tee signs. Luckily there are some arrows pointing to the next tee box on a few holes. It is a desert course, this course will be brutal in the summer. Bring lots of water. I played 2 rounds today, and pretty much drank 98% of the water in my 3L camelback. There are stickers that get everywhere. Try to put your bag down in the sand or other spot without stickers because you will be picking them out for awhile.
Other Thoughts: This course and the north course is definately a welcome addition to the dg community in the valley. I can't wait to play this one again and the North course once it is ready.

***EDIT*** There have been several rattlesnake sightings on the course during the last few days. I have not seen any rattlesnakes, but others have.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.