Course Extinct
Wimberley, TX 
Circle R - Circ Hill DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #12
4 / 390ft.   4 / 459ft.   3 / 513ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Amazing

1    3/6/2010   3/9/2010
Review By: Chris
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Anyone who has ever been out here knows the deal. Yes it's a long walk and some people don't like shooting off rubber mats, but just look at the scenery and the pin placement. Last weekend was my first time to play Hills, (played meadows a couple times) and it was amazing. All of the shots are beasts. I read that someone said there are opportunites for birdie shots. This may be true from the am tees, but if you can birdie off these pros, you are indeed the man (woman)
Cons: long walk to tee 1, long walk in general, have to wipe cow poo off your plastic occasionally.
Other Thoughts: go play go play go play go play!!!!!! If you live in central texas and have not had a chance to go play these courses, call or email them to find out when they'll be open again and go out there!!!!!!!!!!!!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Simply Great

5+    3/23/2008   1/9/2009
Review By: grodney
Played: 117  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 32.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/14/2009
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The design of this course is what separates it from the rest. Every hole is well thought out, and will test your skill. A large number of 2-shot and 3-shot holes that are far more than just "long". The 1-shot holes are varied and well-conceived. Multiple tees are available on every hole, and they have been specially placed to meet various skill levels. The views are incredible.

Edit: I wanted to add something that is often overlooked on courses. On this course, it is nearly impossible to lose a disc. This greatly adds to the "fun" side of the game, as you're dealing with mature trees and open space. No large patches of rough or evergreens. This is really an advantage of similarly "long" and "challenging" courses that have been carved out of dense schule, where you might spend half your time looking for discs.
Cons: Any cons to this course are minor. The terrain is a little rugged. It is a bit of a walk from the clubhouse. No benches or water like you might find on other courses. Not a problem for me, but others might not like that.
Other Thoughts: I haven't ever heard of a perfect course, so my 4.5 grade is as good as it gets.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 The big brother to Rolling Meadow

5+    3/15/2008   11/19/2008
Review By: cydisc
Played: 169  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 18.2 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of opportunity to air it out and throw big but still requires accuracy. Tricky short holes, too. Spectacular Hill Country scenery.
Cons: The 1/4 mile walk to the first tee. Not convenient to the pro shop.
Other Thoughts: This course is unmatched in its beauty, challenge and enjoyment for the player. The course starts at the base of a large, rocky hill and proceeds to guide the player upwards in elevation via a string of superbly designed holes, balanced in shot shapes and distance. There are plenty of big par 4 holes, but the long arm is not necessarily favored as accuracy is also required to score well.

The course culminates with a tour of the top of the hill and a rollicking final par 4 that plays from the top to the bottom of the hill through a gate of cedar trees to a basket protected by a large tree. Be sure you stop to check out the view from the #18 tee.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great Elevation

5+    5/11/2008   5/20/2008
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 187  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/6/2010
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Awesome tee signs. Great course design making use of trees, various sized hills, and a pond. Although the trees are plentiful there always seems to be a fair shot at the fairway for a well thrown disc. Long holes with realistic pars. Good flow to the course. Nice markers indicating which direction to the next tee for each of the three tee types. Friendly staff working the on site Pro Shop. The blue (long) tees have great signage, a rubberized tee pad (all in good shape), and typically small flags.
Cons:
Not as shaded as its companion course, "Rolling Meadow", so if you're playing both courses plan to play this one when the temperature is cooler. A couple of the tee signs were missing or we never found them: #7 and #11. Most tee pads need a better defined foot fault line. At one time there were ropes stretched across for that, but wear and tear has taken its toll on them. Poison ivy in lots of places. The white (mid) and red (short) tees sometimes lacked signage or flags marking their locations but were usually easy to find based on the main sign at the blue tee. This is was obviously once a pasture occupied by many cows as they've left a lot of presents behind, i.e. watch your step.

Updated Nov 2008: the tee sign for #7 has been replaced.
Other Thoughts:
We played the blue tees on this course and thus were not as concerned with checking out the shorter red and white tees. After playing Rolling Meadow first I was already used to throwing my mid-range (Coyote) off the tee, but Circ Hill gives you more open holes to let a driver fly free. This course is obviously well played as the paths from one basket to the next tee are well worn leaving little doubt where to go next. Hole #4 is a monster at 879 ft; you can't see the basket from the tee, but it's really fun as you go down into a little valley and then back up towards the basket on the other side. #18 is a long downhill with big drop in elevation (100ft vertical according to my GPSr). It's a fun hole on which to finish.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Monster Private Course In Texas Hill Country!

7/15/2004   3/10/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 662  Reviewed: 606  Exp: 36.2 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The second of the privately owned and operated Circle R courses. Circ Hill is Texas sized in every way. # 18 plays 1000 feet down a narrow and extremely rugged fairway. We wimped out and played the shorter 800 foot red tees on that one. This course is perfect for those big arm types. It's extremely rugged, it's Texas Hill country with some elevation to play with. There's a fully equipped pro shop there ran by the nice folks who own the Circle R. Food and refreshments can be purchased after playing. But who's thirsty after playing an incredibly rugged 18 hole course in the Texas summer heat?
Cons: Not being a big arm myself, I felt a little overwhelmed by the length of some of the holes. And I didn't like it quite as much as the Rolling Meadow course.
Other Thoughts: Really, you have to rate it in conjunction with the Meadows course because no-one is going to drive out here and only play one of them. Make a day of it and experience disc golf, Texas style!

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.