Disc Golf Store

Course Extinct
Wimberley, TX 
Circle R - Circ Hill DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #4 (Taken 5/2008)
5 / 480ft.   5 / 786ft.   3 / 879ft. Par / Distance:
Original tee sign; there used to be colored discs on there to indicate the colored tees



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Texas Elevation

1    1/17/2011   3/17/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 736  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) 3 sets of tees to fit all skill levels. This is something I obviously would expect the premiere disc golf designer int he game to understand how to design a course with 3 levels of tees without creating all sorts of flow problems and this was done seemlessly here.

2) Discatchers are in good shape and they catch well. This is yeat another course that the yellow band really helps locate the baskets.

3) John Houck used the "hill" very well making the players climb the hill without even realizing they are slowly climbing a big hill.

4) Garbage cans and benches are available in a few spots on the course. This is always expected on a Private Pay to Play course, but appreciated nonetheless.

5) #18 is simply a great hole . . . who doesn't want to launch a big downhiller trying to park it? I threw a couple discs and ended up losing one to the right from the long pad, but I didn't care, because when I threw my actual teeshot I nearly parked it from the middle tee. This is just a great hole and a fun shot to throw.

6) There is a good amount of challenge on this entire course. The elevation can get you from time to time, but there are surprisingly more obstacles than I expected.

7) I met Dee Houck and she is such a sweetheart. We signed our waivers, she asked where we were from and when we said it was our fist time at the Ranch . . . she gave both my wife and myself a disc . . . worth more than the funds we paid to play the courses. She is super nice and I am disappointed I didn't get to meet John, but he was off on a design somewhere. I am sure he is a super nice guy too though. Dee even gave my wife a tour of the front 9 of the Rolling Meadow course on the John Deere Gator because she didn't want her to miss out on some of the picturesque holes.

8) Proshop is stocked with all sorts of discs for your selection.

9) Variety is the spice of life here again . . . elevation changes, lots of different shot shaping required, a couple of small water shots (although the water was non-existant in the middle of winter). Overall just a great course with a lot of different and cool holes.

10) Risk/reward is put on a premium on this course. You better be careful when you go for some of these shots. It isn't the tightest course in the world, but you better pick your spots when trying to make a birdie.

11) NO throwaway or weak holes on the course. This is always nice to see!

12) SOme really nice vistas from a few of the holes. #18 is a winner again not just as a disc golf hole but also as a place to see a nice view.

Cons: 1) No runup on the tees because they are often not level and also tall grass and other issues. I really like to be able to do a full runup when I am driving but at the very least I prefer it to be consitent.

2) Many of the tees are not level and some of the rubber teepads are a little lumpy.

3) There seem to be a few long walks . . . some of this comes at the cost of having a course playable by many levels of play, some of this comes from protecting the quality of hole designed. i would much prefer better holes and course playable by all, but this is worth mentioning.

4) Many of the tees are actually just on dirt/grass. I really expected better tees on a pay to play course ont he property of one of the bes decsigners in the game . . .I do though understand that installing concrete may not be possible or desired, but I much prefer concrete over any other surface.

5) Tees are tough to find from time to time. The marking is inconsistent in terms of finding your tee.

6) A few of the walks are long between holes, but a lot of that has to do with the three levels of design so I cannot dock the course for this reason.

7) Lots of rocky areas create some hazards from time to time.
Other Thoughts: This is clearly a professionally designed course. He used the land he had and made the best disc golf course that he could. There are a lot of unique holes and lots of different shots needed.

I wanted to give this course a 4.5 and slide it into my 4.5 disc courses but it is clear that my overall impression is that this is clearly one of the best 4.0 disc course I have played. I feel this is clearly a 4.5 disc course if there were permanent consistent tees installed, but the rubber and grass/dirt tees leave a lot to be desired. For some reason consistent tees mean so much to me because they affect me so negatively when they are not ideal conditions.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Very Unique

5+    12/8/2010   12/13/2010
Review By: Clue
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 20.5 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Fabulous design - good hole after good hole, there isn't a weak spot on the course.

Beautiful views - the view from the 18 tee is one of the best on any course I've ever played.

Unique shots - while it's a classic Houck design, several shots are one of a kind.

Well kept - for a rocky terrain it's really easy and safe to walk. They've done incredible work to make it that way.

Great for ams and pro players alike.
Cons: No beer hut at the turn - I'm stretching for criticism.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses. The only reason I don't rate it higher is that it's not even the best course on the property, and I only give 5s to courses with golf carts and beer girls. Other than the lack of beer girls, you will not be disappointed with this course

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A pleasure

1    5/2/2010   6/17/2010
Review By: Martin Dewgarita
Played: 1148  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 4.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Amenities. Pro Shop with a select choosing of discs, a great place to pick up some Millennium plastic, might as well be direct from the headquarters. Not a huge selection of other discs.

Score Card and Map. Provided at pro shopt.

Friendly Staff. I thoroughly enjoyed my time spent with the staff here, I had a very entertaining chat and a great time hanging out there.

Rugged. I love a course that makes me feel like I'm "out there" or hiking through a wilderness area. I love making "object courses" in places just like this, it's amazing to have a course in place, a very enjoyable hike.

Signage. Great Houck design signs on each hole.

Navigation. It was never difficult to find my way around by paying attention to the next tee arrow and reading the map. Occasionally I did end up throwing at the wrong basket or spent time searching for a basket, just pay attention.

Challenging Variety. A wide variety of shots and lengths of holes create a very challenging round, some holes did frustrate me, but in the best way. Houck displays some of his finest.

Beauty. Wildflowers blooming and incredible views from the top of the plateau created an amazing experience.

And hole 18 - really, who doesn't like to throw off the top of a mountain, be prepared to want to throw 5 drives, but I wouldn't suggest it, you'll spend 5 hours looking for them.

Events. A variety of minis and some of the state's largest tournaments couldn't have a better home.

Never crowded. I felt like I had the course to myself most of the time.
Cons: Only open on specific weekends. This course doesn't work with your schedule unless you're willing to pay the price.

Conveniences. Minimal benches and trash cans available.

Tees. Can be rough in places, but I mostly felt they were acceptable for this rugged course, concrete tees would almost feel out of place.
Other Thoughts: Great way to spend a day - pay the $10 and spend a day full of great disc golf on 36 of the finest holes in the state.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 BADASS

1    5/1/2010   5/2/2010
Review By: Mr. Yuck
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Brutal course carved out of the hill country. Plenty of elevation changes. Wild flowers were in bloom. John makes you throw a little of everything on this course.
Cons: Brutal course carved out of the hill country. Petrified cow turd every once in awhile. Long dang hike with GREAT views. The only true con is it is a workout. Is that really a con
Other Thoughts: Hell of a hike. Can't wait to play again.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Conquer the Hill

1    4/17/2010   4/23/2010
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.5 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Circ Hill has some of the best continual elevation shots in the Texas hill country. There are a few Austin courses with one or two holes that have steeper grades, but Circ Hill is all about playing the elevation and the elements from slow beginning to glorious end. I'm still not talking Colorado mountain elevation, but you can ask for much more than this when in Texas.

Hole #18 - I'm always a sucker for a fantastic elevated tee box area playing long and difficult over the terrain below. The view goes on for miles, and so can your disc as this hole can be ultimately rewarding or punishing if you push your disc right into the trees. No round is won until #18 is conquered, so it's a perfect way to end the course.

This course is secluded, located about 25 miles southwest of downtown Austin and serves as the perennial home course of designer John Houck. Come on and you've have instant access to bathroom facilities, two large separate camping grounds, and nice pro shop by the main house. Finally, your hosts are one of the biggest perks because of all they do to make this a wonderful experience.

BEST HOLE/S: #18
Cons: Since this private course, it's only open on a limited basis, so you need to pay attention to the Circular Productions website for dates to play. In addition, you'll have to pay to play, and at ten bucks for all day play and an additional ten for camping per person it can get pricey.

Given all of this though, much like the Rolling Meadow course - my biggest gripe may be the tee box areas. You have pristine fairways, high quality signs, great DisCatcher baskets, and then loose packed gravel boxes. The alternate boxes have small rubber pads that are treacherous when wet. For some, this may not be a big deal, but play the majority of public Houck designed courses in Texas and you get used to playing on concrete pads. For me footing is as much a mental game as anything, and gravel just messes with me.

WORST HOLE/S: #15; #16
Other Thoughts: Circ Hill feels like that bonus level I get on a video game after conquering something difficult. Meaning, it takes a backseat to its brother Rolling Meadow. However, even though it may not feel as complete, it plays as a different kind of monster with the designs of both courses intentionally forcing you to work on different aspects of your game. Play them both and have a good time, and then you too can have an appreciation for what each course is meant to be. This course is almost worth the drive by itself, but match with everything else Circle R Ranch has to offer - coming here is a no brainer.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing

1    3/6/2010   3/9/2010
Review By: Chris
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Anyone who has ever been out here knows the deal. Yes it's a long walk and some people don't like shooting off rubber mats, but just look at the scenery and the pin placement. Last weekend was my first time to play Hills, (played meadows a couple times) and it was amazing. All of the shots are beasts. I read that someone said there are opportunites for birdie shots. This may be true from the am tees, but if you can birdie off these pros, you are indeed the man (woman)
Cons: long walk to tee 1, long walk in general, have to wipe cow poo off your plastic occasionally.
Other Thoughts: go play go play go play go play!!!!!! If you live in central texas and have not had a chance to go play these courses, call or email them to find out when they'll be open again and go out there!!!!!!!!!!!!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/11/2009   1/16/2010
Review By: Scoot_er
Played: 123  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 14.6 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Like any Houck designed course there is plenty of variety in shot selection of well as scoring separation but the thing that sets these two courses apart is the Hill Country setting.

The "Hill" course Starts with a Par 4 and ends with a 800ft downhill par 5 with plenty of good stuff in between.

Hole 3 plays as a anhyzer around a grove of tree into an opening which then plays up a hill to a protected basket.

Hole 4 is a long 700-800ft hole that plays downill on the drive with the 2nd shot being dictated on the trees that lead uphill to the perched basket on the right.

5,6,and 7 are all short and birdiable but can also lead to a 4 with tricky basket locations and a tight gap leading over a crystal clear pond on hole 7.

8 Plays as a punch shot where you want to place in the fairway for a look at a birdie 3.

9 Is a 350ft open hole with a line of cedars on the right and a big oak on the left encircling the basket.

10 is a 300ft hyzer or straight shot over a small valley with the basket protected on the right by a well placed bush.

11 is a short technical straight shot down a hillside where you have to gauge your power and angle just right.

12-13 are complementary par 4s with the 1st leading up the hill and the 2nd playing as a sweeping hyzer with trouble on both sides.

14-16 are you best chances for some 2's before the par 4 17th and par 5 18th. 14 is a 300ft downhill hyzer from through a gap, 15 is a 350ft open shot with two guardian trees near the basket, and 16 is another open shot 280ft with two trees narrowing the fairway near the basket.

17 plays as a long hyzer into a tight landing area that will setup a long roller or anhyzer for a possible 3.

Hole 18 is one of the coolest holes in the states playing 800ft downhill with the fairway bottling up about 420ft away. If you land a perfect drive you can go low and straight and take a 4 or try for a massive hyzer over the trees on the right for the possible eagle.
Cons: Course is fairly rugged and a little walk from the Proshop.

Because it is on a ranch you should stock up before heading to the course and luckily the Pro shop has snacks and drinks.

Other Thoughts: Three sets of tees on every hole and the review was based on the Blue (long) tees.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 can't wait to get back

1    11/13/2009   11/13/2009
Review By: mc lazer
Played: 28  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.3 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice and big with great shots. Set in the beautiful Texas hill country with amazing views. 18 on the hill is probably my favorite hole of any course, With a view like that from the top of the hill looking into the valley below towards the basket at the bottom 800' away. Absolutely gorgeous.
Cons: Wish it was free and open everyday.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice

2-4    3/14/2009   3/16/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.2 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Sweet course with lots of different kinds of shots, from annys to hyzers and open to tight. The wind can make this course hard as many holes are exposed to it. A big arm is good but accuracy is needed too. There arent any places to lose places unless and bad shot goes where you totally didnt want it to go. Hole 18 is very cool, its a long downhill shot that can get ugly in a hurry!! Good baskets too. 2 courses here so it lots and lots of golf! Camping too makes for a great time.
Cons: Rugged terrain although thats not much of a con. Private so it sucks you cant just go play it. Some of the tee pads are some of the worse I have seen. Ruts and gorges make it very hard to throw without breaking your ankle. I bet its hot as hell during summer months. Just not alot of wow shots but there some cool ones, that the 4 and not the 4.5. Hard to navigate on some holes first time out.
Other Thoughts: They are both good courses it just was built up so much and just didnt wow me that much but that may because I was so hyped up about playing East Metro Park the day before, but still gets 4.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good course, but not extremely exciting to play

1    6/18/2008   1/18/2009
Review By: cc0049
Played: 104  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 11.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a good course with some challenging and varied hole designs. Very similar to the other Circle R course, but a little bit more rugged as the course revolves around a big hill. Great design! Houck did a great job with this one. This is definitely a tournament caliber course on a great piece of land. This course requires both accuracy and a long arm to score well. There are multiple tee locations to choose from. The baskets are good. There are maps to help you navigate. This course is very well maintained. Rolling meadows is right next to this course and both are great courses so you get a lot out of making the trip to Wimberley.
Cons: There are no concrete pads, which for me is a major drawback to the course. There are "water hazards" on both courses except that the water was all dried up in the summer when I went.
Other Thoughts: The Texas Hill country is great, but didn't really make for a very exciting course to play for me. I had very high expectations for both of the Circle R courses and felt a little bit let down. I played this course on my own and there was not a single other soul there, so that kind of sucked some of the excitement out of it for me. It is worth a long trip to get here, but come with others and come at a time when others will likely be playing. Don't go midday in the middle of the week in the dead heat of the summer like me.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.