Course Extinct
Wimberley, TX
Circle R - Circ Hill DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #16
3 / 230ft.   3 / 285ft.   3 / 285ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Simply Great

5+    3/23/2008   1/9/2009
Review By: grodney
Played: 113  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 32.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/14/2009
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The design of this course is what separates it from the rest. Every hole is well thought out, and will test your skill. A large number of 2-shot and 3-shot holes that are far more than just "long". The 1-shot holes are varied and well-conceived. Multiple tees are available on every hole, and they have been specially placed to meet various skill levels. The views are incredible.

Edit: I wanted to add something that is often overlooked on courses. On this course, it is nearly impossible to lose a disc. This greatly adds to the "fun" side of the game, as you're dealing with mature trees and open space. No large patches of rough or evergreens. This is really an advantage of similarly "long" and "challenging" courses that have been carved out of dense schule, where you might spend half your time looking for discs.
Cons: Any cons to this course are minor. The terrain is a little rugged. It is a bit of a walk from the clubhouse. No benches or water like you might find on other courses. Not a problem for me, but others might not like that.
Other Thoughts: I haven't ever heard of a perfect course, so my 4.5 grade is as good as it gets.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Leg workout 101

5+    11/22/2008   12/30/2008
Review By: teamudgp
Played: 55  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 16 Years
2 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Topography changes on every hole. A great course with great views. It's really fun losing disc on the 800+ feet 18th hole. This course shares the property with 2 other championship courses. Camping for a weekend makes a great disc golf get-away.
Cons: Be physically fit.

2 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/29/2006   12/29/2008
Review By: milow369
Played: 24  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 12.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/10/2009
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well designed course utilizes the best of the Texas Hill Country. Creek, hills and oaks make for some challenging and fun disc golf play. There are some long holes, some very tight and challenging shots required, but also some nice birdie and ace run opportunities. Didn't seem crowded and I didn't feel pressed to do anything other than enjoy myself and get into my game. My favorite hole had to be teeing off from the top of the hill. Great views. Nice tee surfaces and baskets. Pro Shop & facilities.
Cons: Decent drive from Austin. Pay to play (although reasonable)
Other Thoughts: Texas Hill Country disc golf at it's best. Great courses, excellent designs.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 The big brother to Rolling Meadow

5+    3/15/2008   11/19/2008
Review By: cydisc
Played: 169  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 18 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of opportunity to air it out and throw big but still requires accuracy. Tricky short holes, too. Spectacular Hill Country scenery.
Cons: The 1/4 mile walk to the first tee. Not convenient to the pro shop.
Other Thoughts: This course is unmatched in its beauty, challenge and enjoyment for the player. The course starts at the base of a large, rocky hill and proceeds to guide the player upwards in elevation via a string of superbly designed holes, balanced in shot shapes and distance. There are plenty of big par 4 holes, but the long arm is not necessarily favored as accuracy is also required to score well.

The course culminates with a tour of the top of the hill and a rollicking final par 4 that plays from the top to the bottom of the hill through a gate of cedar trees to a basket protected by a large tree. Be sure you stop to check out the view from the #18 tee.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 THC (TX Hill Country) at it's best ;)

2-4    7/27/2007   11/6/2008
Review By: RustyP
Played: 52  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 10 Years
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Although I've played both courses at Circle R, Circ Hill is the only one I've been able to play multiple times due to time constraints*

This course (and the entire facility) is AMAZING! For starters, the entire driver from Austin to Circle R Ranch is gorgeous and serene. Once you're there, you can check out the well-stocked pro shop for some plastic or drinks/snacks, then hit up the practice basket to warm-up.

Most holes on the course offer 3 sets of tees, all rubber mats (which is one of my favorite tee surfaces). The Circ Hill course plays back and forth up the side of a giant hill, then has a several holes near/on top of the hill's plateau before teeing off 700'+ down the side of the hill on Hole 18.

This course will test every aspect of your game: distance, placement, course management, putting (several tricky greens), stamina...it ALL comes into play here. Most of the holes are incredible, so some of the more standard holes pale in comparison...but are still quality holes.

Hole 7 from the long tee is probably my favorite...it plays uphill through a tight gap, then over a small pond to the basket. From the tee it might not look like much, but it's really fun to watch people throw from the basket.

Lots of elevation, GORGEOUS views of the Texas Hill Country (especially once you're on top of the hill), and a thoughtful and challenging Houck layout makes for one of the best courses this Texan has ever stepped foot on.
Cons: Not much shade on most of the holes...but I managed to play in Summer heat (105+ the day last time I played), and survived :)
Other Thoughts: The first time I played at Circle R was mid-afternoon on a Thursday and there was nobody else on the course. Being raised in the city, I was shocked at how utterly quiet the cours was...almost eery! However, after a few holes I came to appreciate that silence VERY much.

The facilities here are SO incredible, that I would travel hours and hours just to pitch a tent on the lawn and play ALL weekend!

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course in Texas Part I

5+    8/31/2006   8/31/2008
Review By: modestmusic
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Great layout, good tee boxes, good baskets, nice staff, campsites, 2 courses...
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: The Circle R Ranch is the mecca for disc golf in Texas (and probably beyond). Amazing layout in a gorgeous area. Take your camping gear and spend the weekend on this beautiful land. Hopefully the spring is full of water for an even better time.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A must visit destination

1    3/2/2003   8/2/2008
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16 Years
This review was updated on 4/6/2010
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This facility is on my short list of the best of the best. It's a beautiful drive out from Austin to the ranch, John and the rest of the staff are very friendly and helpful, stocked pro-shop, camping on-site and two sweet courses make for a great day or two away from it all.

The Hill course is a very complete test of golf. Distance, strategy, shot-shaping, wind management, and physical stamina all weigh heavily in determining your score.

There are some fabulous vistas on this "other-wordly" course.

Some may feel that the course is extremely long and difficult, but only if they've been indoctrinated by the all par 3's, pitch and putt mentality that is preached in many of the parks.

There are many outstanding holes on this course and some decent ones, but none that are bad.

This course tests a lot of disc golf skills. Getting to play real golf on a exclusive use property is a wonderful thing.

Courses like this should be the starting point from which future disc golf courses evolve into even better facilities.
Cons: The topography on the Hill course is fairly rough. There are a lot of ankle-buster rocks and some of the holes have a lot of cow chips in the fairways. There are a few opportunities to lose plastic.

Compared to the Meadows course, there's little shade.

A couple of the holes can get a bit mucky after heavy rains.
Other Thoughts: Remember: Don't be a dirty disc golfer. If you pack it in, pack it out!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great Elevation

5+    5/11/2008   5/20/2008
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 183  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/6/2010
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Awesome tee signs. Great course design making use of trees, various sized hills, and a pond. Although the trees are plentiful there always seems to be a fair shot at the fairway for a well thrown disc. Long holes with realistic pars. Good flow to the course. Nice markers indicating which direction to the next tee for each of the three tee types. Friendly staff working the on site Pro Shop. The blue (long) tees have great signage, a rubberized tee pad (all in good shape), and typically small flags.
Cons:
Not as shaded as its companion course, "Rolling Meadow", so if you're playing both courses plan to play this one when the temperature is cooler. A couple of the tee signs were missing or we never found them: #7 and #11. Most tee pads need a better defined foot fault line. At one time there were ropes stretched across for that, but wear and tear has taken its toll on them. Poison ivy in lots of places. The white (mid) and red (short) tees sometimes lacked signage or flags marking their locations but were usually easy to find based on the main sign at the blue tee. This is was obviously once a pasture occupied by many cows as they've left a lot of presents behind, i.e. watch your step.

Updated Nov 2008: the tee sign for #7 has been replaced.
Other Thoughts:
We played the blue tees on this course and thus were not as concerned with checking out the shorter red and white tees. After playing Rolling Meadow first I was already used to throwing my mid-range (Coyote) off the tee, but Circ Hill gives you more open holes to let a driver fly free. This course is obviously well played as the paths from one basket to the next tee are well worn leaving little doubt where to go next. Hole #4 is a monster at 879 ft; you can't see the basket from the tee, but it's really fun as you go down into a little valley and then back up towards the basket on the other side. #18 is a long downhill with big drop in elevation (100ft vertical according to my GPSr). It's a fun hole on which to finish.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Monster Private Course In Texas Hill Country!

7/15/2004   3/10/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The second of the privately owned and operated Circle R courses. Circ Hill is Texas sized in every way. # 18 plays 1000 feet down a narrow and extremely rugged fairway. We wimped out and played the shorter 800 foot red tees on that one. This course is perfect for those big arm types. It's extremely rugged, it's Texas Hill country with some elevation to play with. There's a fully equipped pro shop there ran by the nice folks who own the Circle R. Food and refreshments can be purchased after playing. But who's thirsty after playing an incredibly rugged 18 hole course in the Texas summer heat?
Cons: Not being a big arm myself, I felt a little overwhelmed by the length of some of the holes. And I didn't like it quite as much as the Rolling Meadow course.
Other Thoughts: Really, you have to rate it in conjunction with the Meadows course because no-one is going to drive out here and only play one of them. Make a day of it and experience disc golf, Texas style!

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.