Mesa, AZ 
Red Mountain - North Share
Uploaded By: adamwad Hole #18 (Taken 11/2013)
4 / 424ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Basket



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Not bad

1    9/22/2013   11/13/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course starts out in the same open desert area as the south course. There are a couple holes using some small mounds to add tricky pin placements, and a few more that use the available trees and brush well to protect the pins. This part of the course has some real distance, with a few holes that let you rip a driver. A couple holes have trees right off the pad that do an ok job of encouraging certain kinds of shots.

The last 7 holes play around the other side of the park. There are a lot more trees over here, and some much more interesting lines. There are some nice tunnel shots and a whole lot more punishment for errant shots. It's more fun when a bad shot makes you really scramble from the rough to save par. The concrete tees are ample and in good shape, and the baskets are still nice and new.
Cons: The desert portion of the course is wide open. The longer holes and the couple holes with limited lines off the tee make it a little better, but it still feels like a series of wide open hyzers. The back part of the course is a lot more fun, but also has some safety conflicts with picnic areas, walking paths and a park road. Navigation is pretty tough here with no signage and some long walks between holes. Make sure to have the course map or a guide if you don't want to spend your day wandering. The course ends a long way from the car.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this course pretty long, and the back of the course pretty punishing with thorny plants waiting to catch poor drives. Experienced players will find some nice challenges, with plenty of chances to air it out in the beginning and some trickier lines at the end.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

North Rules the South

1    10/12/2013   10/15/2013
Review By: Sunday Mike
Played: 42  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/16/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has really nice tee pads and cool looking railroad tie posts (presumably to hold yet to be installed signs). After hole 11 the holes 12 - 18 around the grassy park are a whole lot of fun. I thoroughly enjoyed them. They added an interesting twist to the Red Mountain experience.. The entire complex is very impressive and family friendly. The baskets are really nice and hold discs well.
Cons: As with the South course, navigation is an issue. Fortunately most of the sign posts have a number and an arrow them. Some of the holes are just brutal in their placement around the mesquite and palo verde trees. I donated a lot of blood to the course.
18 is a loooong way from the parking lot. It would have been nice to see a few extra holes placed along the walk back. It sure appeared as if there was room.
Other Thoughts: The Red Mountain facility is a really great addition to the Phoenix disc golf scene. There was a whole lot of work put into installing these two courses. I just wish they had taken it the one step further. I understand not having signs because of a funding issue, but if you have concrete pads, etch a number in them. If you have a sign post put a number on it (I'm talking to you South course).
While there I ran into two groups who left the facility because of navigation issues (one on the North course and one on the South).
You HAVE to have a map if you play here, but even then navigation is not easy.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Some one stole some of the baskets

1    9/1/2013   9/1/2013
Review By: dancor43
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course looks like it was awesome when first built. High skill level. Long shots.
Cons: No signs. Couldn't find basket 2, 3, and 4. It appears someone has been stealing the baskets. Bent pipe where baskets use to be. My son and I spent the majority of our time just looking for baskets. We got tired and left after almost two hours of searching.
Other Thoughts: It is a shame to see something so nice get so abused.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Big

2-4    5/7/2013   5/15/2013
Review By: thinblend
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course! Lots of variety. Some tunnel shots, many holes are blind or overgrown foliage in the way.

Good mix of distance and shot difficulty. No hazards except for the road which is somewhat in play on 2-3 holes.

Plan on being there for 2-3 hours your first time there as the holes are confusing, even with a map. Plus, the course encompasses quite a large area.

Lots of trees, and albeit desert, it's not bad on discs at all.
Cons: No signs whatsoever. I asked a local where the first hole was, to which he gladly pointed out. I figured, I can just go there and it should lead me to the next hole, and so on...

I was wrong.

Luckily, I was able to find a satellite image map and that saved the day.

Like all desert courses, this one is also hot, not many shade trees to hang out under as there are insects and stickers and thorns everywhere.
Other Thoughts: did I mention stickers and thorns? bring boots perhaps... and water, as there are no fountains around.

I drove 45 min to play there. Well worth it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Course will make you better

5+    4/11/2013   4/12/2013
Review By: shanker156
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Playing this course on a regular basis will make you a much better player, as compared to other Phoenix courses. Most every hole requires the player to throw a different shot from hyzer, to forehand, to annys, to a straight shot right down the middle. Great variety of tight desert holes and long open holes where trees are used just right to make you think about it. A slight misthrow from anywhere will often land you into trouble and you will have to be creative to get out of it. Then after the surprisingly fun island hole, you move into the park area where there are tight tunnel shots and a par 4, which I am very happy to par. There is a lot of variety on the course. Even the shorter park shots are fun and challenging.
Cons: Not that this is something that can be avoided when installing a desert course, but there have been rattlesnake sightings. Keep and close eye out and bring a stick or pole to poke around bushes before reaching your hand in to retrieve a disc.
Other Thoughts: The tees are a little hard to find if you do not know where you are going, but seriously, print a map. There are maps on facebook and on the Emerald Club site at http://www.emeraldparkdgc.com/about.html. There is also a tournament on 4/20/13 to raise money for tee signs. Contact Rob for more info. Very nice and informative tee signs will be installed once the funds are there.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

First impressions

2-4    4/11/2013   4/11/2013
Review By: Psicko
Played: 24  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 10.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Rob Hart and crew really did a good job on designing and building this course. It is a fun desert course More courses the better, especially when they are well designed and fun to play. The North course is the harder of the two. There were a lot of different types of holes on the course that forced a variety of shots. There were a good mix of long holes and short holes, as well as a good variety of technical shots, and open drives. I had to shape lines more effectively on the north course compared to most courses in the valley. The tees are clean and you have ample room. The baskets are new and catch well. The course is in a park that has bathrooms and drinking fountains
Cons: Once again, the only problem I had was with navigation, due to the lack of the tee signs, which hopefully will be rectified soon. If you havent been, make sure you bring a copy of the course map or better yet go with someone who has been there before. Once again, there are a lot of stickers.
Other Thoughts: It is a desert course, so bring lots of water. Luckily there are water fountains around the park, but not necessarily on the DG course. I am glad that a course like this is in the valley. I can't wait to play the north and south course again.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.