Waverly, PA 
Waverly DGC Share
Uploaded By: JAYinPA Hole #1
4 / 312ft.   3 / 312ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Fun Little Course

5+    7/15/2015   7/15/2015
Review By: Horsman
Played: 100  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 9.4 Years
Pros: - Easy to Get to
- Innova Discatcher Baskets
- Makes very good use of the elevation change
- The flow on the course is pretty seamless for the most part. The front nine is pretty easy to figure out but finding 10-11 were a challenge to be the first time I was there.
- Has a lot of fun short birdie holes that will either make syou feel real good for getting a lot of them or make you feel real bad for missing them.
- About half of the course has some pretty tight fairways with not much room to spare so they are a bit challening but they reward a good shot and punish the bad.
Cons: - Teepads. All natural teepads. Concrete teepads would be nice here but for a majority of the holes you can do a standstill. But if it is at all wet then those tees are horrible
- Pretty much a non existant parking lot. Theres enought room for maybe 10 cars, which I dont see being an issue too much but I could see parking being an issue.
- Hole 1 is directly Next to a baseball field so if there is something going on there you might have to skip hole one.
- There a few really poorly designed holes out there.
- Hole 5 is just a giant horse shoe. The shot really isnt too useful ever and the play to get to the hole is just to turn 90 degrees on the teepad and hammer into the woods. Kinda dumb.
- Hole 6 is only about 180' but the fairway is winding and about 4' wide. It needs to be opened up a bit.
- Hole 10 has the park road on the right and a barbed wire fence on the left. About 50'ish feet to land on and it is one of the longer holes. I can see a lot of people losing discs here
- Hole 15 is another short 180'ish hole. And all you do is throw into a clump of trees and hope for the best. Not really a clear line anywhere to take.
- Hole 17 has a really nice tee and pin placement but the just left it at that and didnt trim up the fairway at all
Other Thoughts: Overall, I enjoy playing the course because it has a lot of shots you dont normally get to see on the golf course so it makes it fun for me. The addition of concrete tee pads would be really nice but not entirely needed. And it would be nice to see some of the fairways cleaned up and a few pins moved into a better place.


5+    8/9/2014   8/20/2014
Review By: Sags40
Played: 24  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course has a good variety of holes to practice shots on. The fairways on the front nine are always kept nice and well groomed. The course has a good layout and is easy to navigate for first time players.
Cons: The tee boxes are only grass, and are getting worn out with use, which can cause them to get very muddy. The course is in need of new signage. the original signage is made out of laminated paper and has been destroyed by the rain.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a very decent practice course, and one of the only nearby for Scranton players. I would not however recommend as a destination course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun course

2-4    8/17/2014   8/17/2014
Review By: Rkilker
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 15.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good layout and mixture of wooded / open holes. The baskets are nice and the park is well maintained. The layout is easy to follow and it is a quick 18 to play.
Cons: Most of the holes are pretty short. There should be no par 4s and some of the par 3s play more like a par 2 with the drive being an upshot. The tee boxes are just grass/dirt but in pretty good condition. The first time I played it took me a while to navigate the course.
Other Thoughts: There are not many courses in the area and this is definitely a welcome site to have one here. It is not worth a long drive as a destination course but if you live nearby it is definitely worth playing. It is still young and very well cared for so I am hopefully about the future of the course. Despite the fact that it is fairly easy I had a great time both trips and will continue to play regularly.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Work in Progress

1    3/11/2013   6/30/2013
Review By: codyds
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Course is young and will improve
-Dedicated followers
-Great course for newer players
Cons: -Many holes are very short
-Easy card marks a few par 4's that should be par 3's
-Many holes still needed trimming
Other Thoughts: Young course, so will update this review at the end of the year. Some holes still needed clearing. For the more advanced player, this is more of a mid-range/putter course but in the future seems like it could be a great place to take kids or new players to get a feel for the game. Interested to see how the teepads take shape and the next 9 that is planned.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.