Downers Grove, IL 
O'Brien Park Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #3 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 178ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 

1    9/5/2009   9/5/2009
Review By: trimixjoe
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As a beginner and having the kids play too this course was a great course. We loved playing 1 and 2 because of the sledding hills elevation. There was a water hazard, and a " dry creek" which for beginners playing it as a water hazard without the true possibility of losing a disc is good.
Cons: The tees are bad
Other Thoughts: a very well kept park that we will visit again for sledding in the winter months

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Short pretty course

1    8/4/2009   8/5/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/26/2009
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a grassy park with some small trees. The first two holes play up and back down a sled hill, and add some fun elevation. The second hole is lots of fun teeing off from the top of the hill overlooking the entire park. The rest of the holes are mostly flat, though a few play over a small dry drainage ditch. One hole plays toward a pond, adding a risk/reward element that will punish drives that go too long.

The park is very nicely maintained, with pretty trees and well-mowed grass. The tee areas are well defined, and mostly flat. There are tee signs for every hole, making the course verry easy to follow and navigate. The baskets were very new, and in great shape.
Cons: The course isn't all that challenging, only one hole (#9) allows for any kind of drive. The rest of the holes are reachable for most players using only a putter. Nearly every hole has a wide open RHBH hyzer route, it would have been nice if the trees had been used to force some other kind of shot.

The tees were rutted and not always in good shape. Many did not provide all that good of footing, though none of the holes are long enough to require much of a run-up. The middle portion of the course plays back and forth across a small ditch, and seems very repetitive.
Other Thoughts: This course is perfect for beginning players, with little punishment for errant drives, some trees to avoid, and no real chance to lose a disc. More experienced players will not find much challenge here, though it is a fun course to play a relaxed one disc round with a putter or bring new players.

The course is pretty, and has some fun spots, but it doesn't have a whole lot to draw players from much of a distance. Don't drive way out of your way to play this one, but stop by for a quick fun round.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/20/2009   5/20/2009
Review By: davidwebb
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Short course, not too crowded and good for beginners who are working form but don't have the distance on their drive yet. Some elevation on holes 1 and 2, some locals play hole 10 (from the top of the large hill to the 9th basket) which adds another elevated hole.
Cons: If you are a pro or can drive more than 300 ft on average you probably won't need to bring a driver at all.
Other Thoughts: This course is walking distance from my house so I have played it a lot. Be respectful to the houses lining the course and try not yell too much profanity, there are kids that come and play at the playground!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 D Grade = Dud or Downer :)

1    4/9/2009   4/19/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 374  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 21.2 Years
3 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- D+
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- D+
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- D+
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- C-
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor...more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage...if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

3 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/12/2009   4/12/2009
Review By: Disc Golf Greg
Played: 21  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/18/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - New Discatcher Pro baskets
- Maintained gravel tee pads
- All signs fully intact/not damaged and were fairly nice.
- Porta-Potty by the parking lot
- Easy to follow for first time
- Hole #1 and #2 have decent elevation to them
- Not too crowded
- Park was very clean and nicely maintained
Cons: - Holes #5-#8 are bland and very alike like the other reviewer said
- Some people flying kites on Hole #1 and Hole #2
- The main con is the design it's just not that engaging
- I felt restricted throwing and couldn't just let a nice drive go
- Most holes are only 100 to 200 something feet long, lacks any holes where you can actually throw a nice drive
Other Thoughts: This is a well maintained Disc Golf Course but the design really sets it back, however I would play it again for sure, and it's a great course to introduce people into the sport.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Out w/ the old and in w/ the NEW!

1    11/7/2008   11/7/2008
Review By: ForehandMAN36
Played: 115  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 13 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Brand new baskets
* Brand new gravel pits for the tee areas
* Fully detailed tee signs
* Enjoyable pitch & putt
* Hole # 2 best by far, has you throwing downhill on a nice sized hill.
Cons: * Majority of the holes are short ranged
* Couple of shots are 100% wide open. No obstacles once so ever
Other Thoughts: I played the old holes before playing the new holes. The upgraded baskets & tee areas really improve the course. (the old baskets are rusted and the old tee areas are muddy) Some holes are just modified where a couple are changed completely. I'd play again.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

2-4    11/2/2008   11/4/2008
Review By: lrip
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was recently redone. They have brand new Innova DISCatcher Pro baskets. It is a great practice course with some elevation changes on a sled hill.
Cons: Many of the holes 5-8 go back and forth over a small valley (water spillway) and they are almost the same shot.
Other Thoughts: If you live around the area and are looking for a course that is not too crowded with room to practice or are a beginner I highly recomend this course. It is nearly impossible to loose a disc on this course and there is plenty of room to practice distance drives in the soccer field or the open field in back which also has a baseball field that is rarely used.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/29/2008   10/29/2008
Review By: IllinoisAceRunner90
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Brand new Discatcher baskets and brand new crushed gravel pads. Totally different layout. Great course. It actually is very difficult.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Play it!

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Nice New Layout, but too Short.

5+    7/27/2009   7/30/2008
Review By: 4_Of_Spades
Played: 35  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/18/2012
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice baskets and signs.

Great use of the sled hill and elevation for holes 1, 2, and (10)

Better use of park space, though course is packed into a tight area.
Cons: Tee pads are dirt and rutted. Have to watch your footing on tee offs.

Can have groups of friends chucking at times which makes waiting to play a short course less fun.

Not big enough to have a legitimate 9 hole course. The only holes worth playing are 1, 2, 9, and making up 10 from the top of the hill to basket 9.

Very short holes 3-8 play across a small ditch with very easy holes and lines to hit for deuces.
Other Thoughts: It is a good course for the elevation holes, but after a round or two it will get way too easy. I come here every so often to play as I am less than 5 miles away from it. It is good practice but nothing worth driving far for.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 My Review

6/3/2007   3/2/2008
Review By: spectrasmydisc
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Easy course, good for beginners.
Cons: Not well kept. Baskets are very rusty and some are on an angle.
Other Thoughts: Even though it is not a great overall course, it is good to practice your approach shots since all but one hole is under 200 ft. Longest: 310 ft

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.