Disc Golf Store
Downers Grove, IL 
O'Brien Park Share
Uploaded By: IllinoisAceRunner90 Hole #1 (Taken 3/2009)
4 / 280ft.   4 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 

5+    5/20/2009   5/20/2009
Review By: davidwebb
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Short course, not too crowded and good for beginners who are working form but don't have the distance on their drive yet. Some elevation on holes 1 and 2, some locals play hole 10 (from the top of the large hill to the 9th basket) which adds another elevated hole.
Cons: If you are a pro or can drive more than 300 ft on average you probably won't need to bring a driver at all.
Other Thoughts: This course is walking distance from my house so I have played it a lot. Be respectful to the houses lining the course and try not yell too much profanity, there are kids that come and play at the playground!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 D Grade = Dud or Downer :)

1    4/9/2009   4/19/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.3 Years
3 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- D+
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- D+
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- D+
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- C-
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor…more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

3 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/12/2009   4/12/2009
Review By: Disc Golf Greg
Played: 21  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/18/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - New Discatcher Pro baskets
- Maintained gravel tee pads
- All signs fully intact/not damaged and were fairly nice.
- Porta-Potty by the parking lot
- Easy to follow for first time
- Hole #1 and #2 have decent elevation to them
- Not too crowded
- Park was very clean and nicely maintained
Cons: - Holes #5-#8 are bland and very alike like the other reviewer said
- Some people flying kites on Hole #1 and Hole #2
- The main con is the design it's just not that engaging
- I felt restricted throwing and couldn't just let a nice drive go
- Most holes are only 100 to 200 something feet long, lacks any holes where you can actually throw a nice drive
Other Thoughts: This is a well maintained Disc Golf Course but the design really sets it back, however I would play it again for sure, and it's a great course to introduce people into the sport.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Out w/ the old and in w/ the NEW!

1    11/7/2008   11/7/2008
Review By: ForehandMAN36
Played: 103  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 12.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Brand new baskets
* Brand new gravel pits for the tee areas
* Fully detailed tee signs
* Enjoyable pitch & putt
* Hole # 2 best by far, has you throwing downhill on a nice sized hill.
Cons: * Majority of the holes are short ranged
* Couple of shots are 100% wide open. No obstacles once so ever
Other Thoughts: I played the old holes before playing the new holes. The upgraded baskets & tee areas really improve the course. (the old baskets are rusted and the old tee areas are muddy) Some holes are just modified where a couple are changed completely. I'd play again.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

2-4    11/2/2008   11/4/2008
Review By: lrip
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was recently redone. They have brand new Innova DISCatcher Pro baskets. It is a great practice course with some elevation changes on a sled hill.
Cons: Many of the holes 5-8 go back and forth over a small valley (water spillway) and they are almost the same shot.
Other Thoughts: If you live around the area and are looking for a course that is not too crowded with room to practice or are a beginner I highly recomend this course. It is nearly impossible to loose a disc on this course and there is plenty of room to practice distance drives in the soccer field or the open field in back which also has a baseball field that is rarely used.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/29/2008   10/29/2008
Review By: IllinoisAceRunner90
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Brand new Discatcher baskets and brand new crushed gravel pads. Totally different layout. Great course. It actually is very difficult.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Play it!

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Nice New Layout, but too Short.

5+    7/27/2009   7/30/2008
Review By: 4_Of_Spades
Played: 34  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/18/2012
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice baskets and signs.

Great use of the sled hill and elevation for holes 1, 2, and (10)

Better use of park space, though course is packed into a tight area.
Cons: Tee pads are dirt and rutted. Have to watch your footing on tee offs.

Can have groups of friends chucking at times which makes waiting to play a short course less fun.

Not big enough to have a legitimate 9 hole course. The only holes worth playing are 1, 2, 9, and making up 10 from the top of the hill to basket 9.

Very short holes 3-8 play across a small ditch with very easy holes and lines to hit for deuces.
Other Thoughts: It is a good course for the elevation holes, but after a round or two it will get way too easy. I come here every so often to play as I am less than 5 miles away from it. It is good practice but nothing worth driving far for.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 My Review

6/3/2007   3/2/2008
Review By: spectrasmydisc
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Easy course, good for beginners.
Cons: Not well kept. Baskets are very rusty and some are on an angle.
Other Thoughts: Even though it is not a great overall course, it is good to practice your approach shots since all but one hole is under 200 ft. Longest: 310 ft

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.