Mandeville, LA 
The Pines DGC Share
Uploaded By: Qikly Hole #16 (Taken 7/2013)
3 / 283ft.   3 / 360ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee (Gold Basket)



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Nice course with greater potential

5+    1/4/2015   1/6/2015
Review By: Kdeskew22
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 1/11/2015
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Course map at hole #1 is posted in open view which is important given that the signage on the course is somewhat misleading ( see cons). There was even printed maps to take, which was great to see the first time I played the course.
-The two sets of pin placements for each hole is great, as the pin positions seem to be alternated somewhat frequently.
-There are a good variety of holes (i.e. long distance, open, slightly wooded, short distance, a couple water hazards especially after it rains)
Cons: -Signage from one hole to another can be confusing on the course if pin placement is blue. However, signs are accurate when pin placement is gold position. Hey, at least there are signs, amiright!
-There are a few holes that are rather far apart, but I'm hoping that a second set of tee pads will be installed at some point due to this, or even the addition of alternate holes, another 9 or 18!
- I have not seen any info regarding tournaments or group play. I think this would be great, as I have seen a good number of disc golfers on the course on a consistent basis.
Other Thoughts: How long is the course you ask?! Well, I recently ran the course, (speed golf, if you will) I started on the back nine b/c there were two groups going off the front and the running app on my phone stated the route I took to play all 18 holes was 2 miles exactly. After running/playing the back 9 I ran b/w the football/soccer field and the dog park to get to hole #1 rather than around the dog park on the skate park side. So, if you see a dude running after every shot, that's me! Great exercise btw.

-Lastly, I'm curious to know who keeps up with the course.. as in who moves the pins, etc.. Is it the Pelican Park workers, themselves? How can we get some tournaments going? Is it a PDGA recognized course?

live well and enjoy
-Kevin
kdeskew@hotmail.com

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

It's All We Got!

5+    12/12/2014   12/29/2014
Review By: wivibi
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Family friendly! I see more families playing disc golf at this course than I have on the South Shore courses.

Great and curious staff. Stop and talk to them. Get to know them. They keep the course clean and cut for us!!! Mutual respect goes a long way.

Most other reviewers have hit the nail on the head with this course.

There is a good mix between wide open fairways and wooded areas. Trash cans at a lot of tees help keep the course clean, too. There is plenty of parking and two restrooms with vending machines. You can rent discs from the batting cages, when they are open.

If you find a disc, and you're honest, turn it into the batting cages or front office and they will call and return the lost disc. I was called about a month ago for one of mine.

This is a course you want to bring your friends to, who have never played, to get them hooked. There are tons of easy routes that make beginners feel comfortable. Yet, at the same time, an experienced player won't feel bored.

I personally feel that there aren't any water hazards in dry months. We play, when there is water then it's a hazard, when there's not then it's not a hazard. It makes it interesting because one week there can be water while the next week the water has drained. Also a plus for beginners.

Tons of room to add a second course out here too!! Hint, hint.
Cons: Course layout is a bit rough as mentioned.

Keep in mind this is mainly a family park for recreational sports, so ALCOHOL IS NOT ALLOWED. I have had many friends opt out of playing at this course because of this, which is ashame because some feel you can't have one without the other. I guess ball golf agrees : ).

When it rains a good bit, I feel the course is very soggy with lots of puddles. Hole 4's entire fairway was a puddle after 2 days of rain. The course was still technically playable, but I just played the front 9 because my shoes and socks were soaked. So, keep that in mind.

Two baskets per hole was a great idea, but two tee pads would have been better. I called to see if there was a schedule for when the baskets get moved and I was told weekly to bi monthly. This makes it difficult to have flexible league play, but we adjusted the pars on the long course to reflect the differences. Hopefully, we will see a second tee box per hole soon.

It also looks like this course is not PDGA approved. Anybody know if this is correct?
Other Thoughts: Would love to see 2 tee boxes per hole.

Other than that I am just thrilled that there are 3 courses in the NOLA area now. I play this course close to weekly, weather permitting.

Ranked this a 4 because It's All We Got on the North Shore. And it beats driving 30 minutes and a toll to the next available course.

Hope to see tournament play here soon, too!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Machfive 916's review of The Pines DGC

2-4    10/19/2014   12/29/2014
Review By: machfive916
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: f you are a disc golfer that lives on the South shore of Lake Pontchartrain, you only have 2 courses to choose from; City Park and Lafreniere Park. If you truly enjoy this game, you owe it to yourself to cross the Causeway bridge and head over to The Pines disc golf course in Pelican Park. The park is only 5-10 minutes from the foot of the Causeway and offers much more than disc golf, to include batting cages, a skate park, a dog park, soccer and softball fields as well as a sand volleyball court. However, I will only be reviewing the disc gold course.

This 18 hole course is nothing like the south shore variants. The tee pads are natural and contain a mixture of soft sand this is fairly stable when the conditions are dry. However, I would not recommend playing this course for at least 48 hours after any rain activity. There are several drainage ditches that can come into play for the 1st 9 holes, and some of them had water in them, even though it had not rained in almost a week when I played. I can easily see how this course could be unplayable, or not very fun after a rain. I've heard that "very large, if fairly shallow, puddles cover large parts of holes 15, 16, 17 and 18 after modest rains; and hole 2 develops a small pond during the wetter months."

There are lots of trees of trees here, with most of them being large pine trees that will ruin a good throw at least a few times every round you play. This course's location lends itself to windy conditions, so be careful on those windy days, or you'll be chasing errant discs all over the place.

I was not very fond of the layout, as there is a lot of walking from the basket of one hole to the tee pad of the next hole. Perhaps a little more thought could have been given here. For example, the distances between holes 4&5, 5&6 and 6&7 are nearly 300 feet; and a first timer will have a hard time finding the next hole without a map. Hole 9 & 10 are separated by a dog park as well. Some signage pointing the way to the next hole would be nice.

Some of the trickier holes (baskets) can be:

Hole 2: If you find yourself to the left and in the water/marsh, you may be out of a disc.

Hole 3: The pro tees offer a 600+ foot shot, so bring out the big guns but try to avoid the trees.

Holes 7 & 8 have enough trees to make a straight shot nearly impossible.

Hole 10: Trees, trees and more trees. Unless you can throw with laser accuracy, you are bound to hit a tree. I've tried to throw out over the soccer field and hook it bak into play near the basket, which is well protected with more foliage.

Holes 12-18: These are all long holes with more trees. Holes 12-16 are bordered on the right by woods, and if your disc goes in them, you will probably not be able rto find it. And I speak from experience.

Overall, I like this course. Even though it's flat and has no real elevation changes, it offers some good challenges via water, woods, fence lines, dog parks and a million trees throughout the course. Just be sure to play when the course is dry.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great course

1    10/19/2014   10/21/2014
Review By: Fntsygamr
Played: 36  Reviewed: 27
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The area in which this course is set is amazing. Very large complex, just follow the signs from the entrance to the dog park/disc golf area. Plenty of parking at the start of the course. Large map of the course near hole #1 and a legend to let you know which layout is being used; blue or yellow. The tee signs are in exceptional shape and the maps for the holes are spot on. Natural tee pads with some soft sand material makes for good footing to plant and get some drives off. Mixture of technical shots and long drives makes this a must play while in the area.
Cons: There is nothing that I can say other than this course can be a tough one during the middle of the day in the humid weather. Other than that, not much bad to say.
Other Thoughts: Being from California and only in the area for vacation, I enjoyed this course very much. Met a few locals that allowed me to play between them. A nice couple walking their dog showed me where a few baskets were located. Another duo of local teens were playing behind me. One of them aced a 400 foot shot on #2 and allowed me to sign his disc since I witnessed it. A great pleasure for sure and I was glad to be there to see it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/8/2014   2/10/2014
Review By: Danielson329
Played: 31  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Not going to list the pro's because they've been mentioned already in every review.
Cons: Not going to bother with the con's either except one, THE WIND. I can't believe no one has mentioned the wind before. Leave the understable disc in the car. 15 mph+ almost everyday and constantly changing direction. I've been playing this course at least twice a week since April and theirs been maybe 7-10 calm days. But that being said playing on windy days here will definatly make you a better player.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Repetitive

5+    1/12/2014   1/12/2014
Review By: Puzzlenerd
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.2 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is new and there are two possible pin placements for each hole. There are generally not many people walking around the actual course but there is a dog park in the middle so you are always around people
Cons: Very repetitive and flat. I live in the area so I'm used to flat, but when the drainage ditch with "levees" can boast the highest point, it's flat.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Check for basket positions first?

1    12/27/2013   1/2/2014
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 209  Reviewed: 194  Exp: 3.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pelican Park is an astonishing sports complex with far too many features to mention. Near the disc golf course alone, there are generous parking areas, ball fields, volleyball, a skate park, dog park, concessions, bathrooms, trails and even some woods. The course itself is a bit of a monster for weaker arms, with one set of tees (currently dirt), and Blue and Gold basket positions. The shorter setup has five shots under 250' and six over 340'. The longer course has only two holes under 330' and nine (!) over 400'.

Starting with the kiosk and map (copies available for players there), the course has astoundingly wonderful signage, leading you through the occasionally long-ish walks between holes. Unfortunately, the lack of elevation available in the park severely limits the 'wow' potential of the design. Working with what was available to them, the designers created some shots that need to wend their way through low ceilings on the latter part of the front nine, and there are at least three holes on the back nine in some decently thick park woods. They've raised the #6 basket creatively on a stump to make the 'green' more interesting.

This is a newer course, and a wonderfully clean, well-maintained park.
Cons: The drainage ravines are used too many times on the front nine (3, 5, 6, & 8) as 'natural' challenges that don't feel, well, 'natural'. Hole 8 has a muddy run just about right at the driving distance for weaker arms (just 70' before the short pin position), and both 8 and 9 have a major walking path that will pose a great temptation to undisciplined players to go for that lane rather than the low (or high) shot intended.

There are some hefty walks from basket to next tee. For instance, you'll cover about 300 feet from 4 to 5, and 6 to 7 is so far there needed to be three signs directing you there. You'll have to really do a bit of hiking back to your car after 18, too.

Being a new course, there aren't permanent tees yet, but I can see them being a huge plus in the future. This upgrade would really make this a cool course if they spend a couple of years experimenting with multiple tee options. They've got plenty of space here to make this a two tee pad, multiple basket position course.
Other Thoughts: Disclaimer: I do not want to give the Pines short shrift, but I actually only played the front nine holes, and drove around to have a look at the back nine. We were on a road trip to see my folks in Texas, and I was pressed for time. So this review might best be noted as that of a traveling disc golfer swinging through to stretch his legs. Personally, I was looking forward to trying the shorter course, but discovered upon arrival that the baskets were in the longs. It would be great if someone local would keep that information updated in the 'course conditions' whenever they're moved.

Even so, it is easy to appreciate what they've built here: a tourney-caliber 18 hole course with all the infrastructure needed.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Nice course if you like hiking.

1    7/12/2013   7/12/2013
Review By: Doofenshmirtz
Played: 38  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 3 Years
This review was updated on 2/18/2014
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has new baskets, very good signage and well marked navigational aids. I got mixed up on one of the holes but it is my fault for not paying attention.

There is a nice mix of holes that are short and long as noted by others. There are two areas with plenty of trees that provide some interesting hole layouts. The OB is generally fair and you are much more likely to have problems with trees than OB.

The designers seemed to have paid more attention to creating good hole layouts than they did to overall layout and this is a generally good thing with respect to the holes themselves, although it leads to long walks between holes as noted below.
Cons: There are really too many wide open holes. The course designers worked with what they had, but there are two areas of the course in particular where tee shots are generally unobstructed.

In another area (Holes 10-12) the apparent unwillingness to cut any trees has left a lack of any defined fairway and strongly encourages throws out over soccer and lacrosse fields and a roadway.

There is an awful lot of hiking between holes on this course. From 6 to 7, 9 to 10 and from 18 back to the parking lot. I haven't measured it, but I would bet at least half the walking on this course is between holes including back to your car after 18. Just the walk back to your car from the 18th basket can be a 1/4 mile.

The elevated basket placement on hole 6 is gimmicky. Welcome to Disc Golf's version of Putt Putt after your wide open drive. This is apparently an attempt to make a wide open hole that follows two wide open holes more interesting.

The course is utterly flat. There is no elevation change to speak of although hole 5 does use a very small levee fairly well.

The course holds water after rains. Very large, if fairly shallow, puddles cover large parts of holes 15, 16, 17 and 18 after modest rains. Hole 2 develops a small pond during the wetter months.

The tee boxes are dirt. They were generally in good shape even while the rest of the course was wet, but one was on the front edge of a puddle (if you go past the tee markers, you're in a potentially slippery and actually very wet place), one had a puddle developing in the middle of the tee box. This is a new course so I hope concrete tees are eventually placed.
Other Thoughts: The designers have done a reasonably good job with what they had to work with, which was a big flat area with two groves of trees and some large open areas with a ditch running through. IMO a bit of selective tree removal could improve a few of the holes. This course isn't going to make you want to come to Mandeville just for the disc golf, but if you are in the area and looking to throw, it's pretty good.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1st North shore course

1    7/5/2013   7/12/2013
Review By: Big Lew
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 25.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice mix of long and short holes. Some beautiful holes among oak and pine trees. Located in a great park. Good maps and score cards are available. Nice tee signs. Vending areas and restrooms available near the skate park by hole 6 and 7.
Cons: If you play just the front 9 you'll wind up back at parking lot by #1. But the back nine does not flow as well and you will have a nice hike back to the parking lot after finishing 18. But this could be avoided by numbering or playing the holes differently. seems like going straight from hole 6 to 10 and playing 7-9 last might be better.

#6 is a silly gimmick hole. At the end of the nice long fair way you'll find the basket mounted on top of a 6 foot tall tree stump so the basket is about 9 feet in the air.
Other Thoughts: Glad there is finally a DGC on the North Shore!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

The Course NOLA Needed

5+    5/17/2015   4/27/2013
Review By: Qikly
Played: 77  Reviewed: 75  Exp: 2.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/17/2015
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course presents a wide variety of shots and a challenging array of holes, from open bombers to tight, low ceiling tunnel shots to tree-weaving holes in the woods. It makes the best possible use of the park's landscape to provide a memorable, engaging 18 holes that have me using every disc in my bag and shot in my repertoire, and inventing a few more along the way out of necessity. There are even a few elevation changes (elevated basket on 6!) which, while minimal by northern standards, are noticeable in the flat south.

Although most of these holes are par 3s, many lie on the challenging side. It often takes more than a single good drive or upshot to make par: I find this course demands that I chain together a series of quality shots if I want to put up a good score. Mistakes and lapses are punished, but not overly so: most of the pars feel earned, rather than being gimmes. At the same time, there are enough user friendly holes that I don't feel like I'm getting senselessly beaten up on.

For an area already possessing two solid courses which lie on the shorter end of the spectrum, it's refreshing to play a course with such long and open distance shots. Even though there are only four or five of such holes, they do wonders to add variety to the round.

While it's often clear what shot you're being put on, a lot of the holes possess several options, which tests creativity in an engaging way: I've enjoyed experimenting with the lines I take on numerous holes.

Many of the holes feel memorable in full: rather than simply requiring you to make a single shot, they often provide a more prolonged challenge which adds to their experience and degree of memorableness.

Water is a factor on some holes, but as it mostly consists of shallow streams and drainage ditches, the chances of losing a disc are minimized.

Each hole contains a pair of alternate basket positions (a first in the area, I believe), increasing replay value. This course plays a number of different ways depending on which baskets are positioned where.

Very disc golf friendly park to play: outside foot traffic is minimized, bathrooms and water fountains are easily accessible, signage is very clear, both at the tee (wonderful tee signs) and when progressing to less-obvious holes.
Cons: A few of the holes seem a bit like throwaway holes, particularly the last two; perhaps they just seem that way in comparison to the preceding.

I would have liked to have seen some more novelty/extreme shots (extreme hyzers, memorable hazards, that sort of thing): while I like that most holes don't rely on making one shot to make or break them, having a few very unique lines in there would have made things more memorable.

Some of the shorter (blue) pin positions feel like clear downgrades for the hole. I like the push for variety, but for probably half the holes the longer position seems clearly superior.

While the surroundings are attractive enough, I certainly wouldn't consider them scenic by any definition.
Other Thoughts: This is exactly the kind of course the area needed: its more open, longer style is an excellent and welcome complement to City Park and Lafreniere. Holes 3-6 (609', 444', 347', and 400' in the long position) almost seem like statements to me, making it clear that this course is of a different ilk than its neighbors.

Had I the choice, I would probably rate this course a 3.75. I'd initially leaned towards a 4, but after some time playing this course I came to feel that the intermittent open holes keep this course from reaching the "must play" apex. Still, it's very solid. A lot of time and attention to detail went into this course, and I think they did a great job in creating a unique disc golf experience for the area. Definitely a memorable one in my eyes.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center