Mandeville, LA 
The Pines DGC Share
Uploaded By: Qikly Hole #7 (Taken 7/2013)
3 / 267ft.   3 / 334ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket (Gold)



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

5+    2/8/2014   2/10/2014
Review By: Danielson329
Played: 27  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Not going to list the pro's because they've been mentioned already in every review.
Cons: Not going to bother with the con's either except one, THE WIND. I can't believe no one has mentioned the wind before. Leave the understable disc in the car. 15 mph+ almost everyday and constantly changing direction. I've been playing this course at least twice a week since April and theirs been maybe 7-10 calm days. But that being said playing on windy days here will definatly make you a better player.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Repetitive

5+    1/12/2014   1/12/2014
Review By: Puzzlenerd
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is new and there are two possible pin placements for each hole. There are generally not many people walking around the actual course but there is a dog park in the middle so you are always around people
Cons: Very repetitive and flat. I live in the area so I'm used to flat, but when the drainage ditch with "levees" can boast the highest point, it's flat.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Check for basket positions first?

1    12/27/2013   1/2/2014
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 166  Reviewed: 144  Exp: 3.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pelican Park is an astonishing sports complex with far too many features to mention. Near the disc golf course alone, there are generous parking areas, ball fields, volleyball, a skate park, dog park, concessions, bathrooms, trails and even some woods. The course itself is a bit of a monster for weaker arms, with one set of tees (currently dirt), and Blue and Gold basket positions. The shorter setup has five shots under 250' and six over 340'. The longer course has only two holes under 330' and nine (!) over 400'.

Starting with the kiosk and map (copies available for players there), the course has astoundingly wonderful signage, leading you through the occasionally long-ish walks between holes. Unfortunately, the lack of elevation available in the park severely limits the 'wow' potential of the design. Working with what was available to them, the designers created some shots that need to wend their way through low ceilings on the latter part of the front nine, and there are at least three holes on the back nine in some decently thick park woods. They've raised the #6 basket creatively on a stump to make the 'green' more interesting.

This is a newer course, and a wonderfully clean, well-maintained park.
Cons: The drainage ravines are used too many times on the front nine (3, 5, 6, & 8) as 'natural' challenges that don't feel, well, 'natural'. Hole 8 has a muddy run just about right at the driving distance for weaker arms (just 70' before the short pin position), and both 8 and 9 have a major walking path that will pose a great temptation to undisciplined players to go for that lane rather than the low (or high) shot intended.

There are some hefty walks from basket to next tee. For instance, you'll cover about 300 feet from 4 to 5, and 6 to 7 is so far there needed to be three signs directing you there. You'll have to really do a bit of hiking back to your car after 18, too.

Being a new course, there aren't permanent tees yet, but I can see them being a huge plus in the future. This upgrade would really make this a cool course if they spend a couple of years experimenting with multiple tee options. They've got plenty of space here to make this a two tee pad, multiple basket position course.
Other Thoughts: Disclaimer: I do not want to give the Pines short shrift, but I actually only played the front nine holes, and drove around to have a look at the back nine. We were on a road trip to see my folks in Texas, and I was pressed for time. So this review might best be noted as that of a traveling disc golfer swinging through to stretch his legs. Personally, I was looking forward to trying the shorter course, but discovered upon arrival that the baskets were in the longs. It would be great if someone local would keep that information updated in the 'course conditions' whenever they're moved.

Even so, it is easy to appreciate what they've built here: a tourney-caliber 18 hole course with all the infrastructure needed.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Nice course if you like hiking.

1    7/12/2013   7/12/2013
Review By: Doofenshmirtz
Played: 34  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 2.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/18/2014
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has new baskets, very good signage and well marked navigational aids. I got mixed up on one of the holes but it is my fault for not paying attention.

There is a nice mix of holes that are short and long as noted by others. There are two areas with plenty of trees that provide some interesting hole layouts. The OB is generally fair and you are much more likely to have problems with trees than OB.

The designers seemed to have paid more attention to creating good hole layouts than they did to overall layout and this is a generally good thing with respect to the holes themselves, although it leads to long walks between holes as noted below.
Cons: There are really too many wide open holes. The course designers worked with what they had, but there are two areas of the course in particular where tee shots are generally unobstructed.

In another area (Holes 10-12) the apparent unwillingness to cut any trees has left a lack of any defined fairway and strongly encourages throws out over soccer and lacrosse fields and a roadway.

There is an awful lot of hiking between holes on this course. From 6 to 7, 9 to 10 and from 18 back to the parking lot. I haven't measured it, but I would bet at least half the walking on this course is between holes including back to your car after 18. Just the walk back to your car from the 18th basket can be a 1/4 mile.

The elevated basket placement on hole 6 is gimmicky. Welcome to Disc Golf's version of Putt Putt after your wide open drive. This is apparently an attempt to make a wide open hole that follows two wide open holes more interesting.

The course is utterly flat. There is no elevation change to speak of although hole 5 does use a very small levee fairly well.

The course holds water after rains. Very large, if fairly shallow, puddles cover large parts of holes 15, 16, 17 and 18 after modest rains. Hole 2 develops a small pond during the wetter months.

The tee boxes are dirt. They were generally in good shape even while the rest of the course was wet, but one was on the front edge of a puddle (if you go past the tee markers, you're in a potentially slippery and actually very wet place), one had a puddle developing in the middle of the tee box. This is a new course so I hope concrete tees are eventually placed.
Other Thoughts: The designers have done a reasonably good job with what they had to work with, which was a big flat area with two groves of trees and some large open areas with a ditch running through. IMO a bit of selective tree removal could improve a few of the holes. This course isn't going to make you want to come to Mandeville just for the disc golf, but if you are in the area and looking to throw, it's pretty good.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1st North shore course

1    7/5/2013   7/12/2013
Review By: Big Lew
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 24.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice mix of long and short holes. Some beautiful holes among oak and pine trees. Located in a great park. Good maps and score cards are available. Nice tee signs. Vending areas and restrooms available near the skate park by hole 6 and 7.
Cons: If you play just the front 9 you'll wind up back at parking lot by #1. But the back nine does not flow as well and you will have a nice hike back to the parking lot after finishing 18. But this could be avoided by numbering or playing the holes differently. seems like going straight from hole 6 to 10 and playing 7-9 last might be better.

#6 is a silly gimmick hole. At the end of the nice long fair way you'll find the basket mounted on top of a 6 foot tall tree stump so the basket is about 9 feet in the air.
Other Thoughts: Glad there is finally a DGC on the North Shore!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

The Course NOLA Needed

5+    4/26/2013   4/27/2013
Review By: Qikly
Played: 70  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/20/2014
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course presents a wide variety of shots and a challenging array of holes, from open bombers to tight, low ceiling tunnel shots to tree-weaving holes in the woods. It makes the best possible use of the park's landscape to provide a memorable, engaging 18 holes that have me using every disc in my bag and shot in my repertoire, and inventing a few more along the way out of necessity. There are even a few elevation changes (elevated basket on 6!) which, while minimal by northern standards, are noticeable in the flat south.

Although most of these holes are par 3s, many lie on the challenging side. It often takes more than a single good drive or upshot to make par: I find this course demands that I chain together a series of quality shots if I want to put up a good score. Mistakes and lapses are punished, but not overly so: most of the pars feel earned, rather than being gimmes. At the same time, there are enough user friendly holes that I don't feel like I'm getting senselessly beaten up on.

For an area already possessing two solid courses which lie on the shorter end of the spectrum, it's refreshing to play a course with such long and open distance shots. Even though there are only four or five of such holes, they do wonders to add variety to the round.

While it's often clear what shot you're being put on, a lot of the holes possess several options, which tests creativity in an engaging way: I've enjoyed experimenting with the lines I take on numerous holes.

Many of the holes feel memorable in full: rather than simply requiring you to make a single shot, they often provide a more prolonged challenge which adds to their experience and degree of memorableness.

Water is a factor on some holes, but as it mostly consists of shallow streams and drainage ditches, the chances of losing a disc are minimized.

Each hole contains a pair of alternate basket positions (a first in the area, I believe), increasing replay value. This course plays a number of different ways depending on which baskets are positioned where.

Very disc golf friendly park to play: outside foot traffic is minimized, bathrooms and water fountains are easily accessible, signage is very clear, both at the tee (wonderful tee signs) and when progressing to less-obvious holes.
Cons: A few of the holes seem a bit like throwaway holes, particularly the last two; perhaps they just seem that way in comparison to the preceding.

I would have liked to have seen some more novelty/extreme shots (extreme hyzers, memorable hazards, that sort of thing): while I like that most holes don't rely on making one shot to make or break them, having a few very unique lines in there would have made things more memorable.

Some of the shorter (blue) pin positions feel like clear downgrades for the hole. I like the push for variety, but for probably half the holes the longer position seems clearly superior.

While the surroundings are attractive enough, I certainly wouldn't consider them scenic by any definition.
Other Thoughts: This is exactly the kind of course the area needed: its more open, longer style is an excellent and welcome complement to City Park and Lafreniere. Holes 3-6 (609', 444', 347', and 400' in the long position) almost seem like statements to me, making it clear that this course is of a different ilk than its neighbors.

Had I the choice, I would probably rate this course a 3.75. I'd initially leaned towards a 4, but after some time playing this course I came to feel that the intermittent open holes keep this course from reaching the "must play" apex. Still, it's very solid. A lot of time and attention to detail went into this course, and I think they did a great job in creating a unique disc golf experience for the area. Definitely a memorable one in my eyes.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.