Greeley, CO 
Epple Park Share
Uploaded By: jcolgate Hole #1 (Taken 5/2012)
3 / 309ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Solid Six Pack

2-4    4/2/2014   4/3/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 348  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Multiple, up to 4, possible pin positions
-Some fun elevation changes on a few holes. 3 was tempting to run at with OB behind the pin.
-Creek comes into play without looking like much of a disc eating hazard.
-All 6 are ace-able depending on how far you can throw and which pin location is in.
-Great for beginners, young people, etc as it is short and simple.
-The park is really nice. It was fun to play here.
-Good local club, 3 Rivers DGC. They made a nice map for this course.
Cons: -Tee pads are barely marked by a stone. I found my way around easily with a map but if you don't have a map you might wander around for awhile looking for the marker. It would be nice to have some kind of real pad. The natural ones are worn and take away from this otherwise nice little park.
-It is only 6 holes but if you don't fixate on that too much and expect more, it's not a big deal.
-The baskets are some of the oldest Discatchers that I've seen. My ace run on 6 knocked even more of the paint off. They are rusty, single chained and are not looking good. Somebody should sand them down and apple a nice powder coat or something.
-This park is nice and may attract others. There aren't other specific activities in this park but people may walk around or through it or just stop and have a picnic, you might have to wait a bit.
Other Thoughts: -This course has a high fun factor for me. I really did enjoy it. If they upgraded tees and baskets this course would get bumped up to a 3.
-The course starts near the SE corner of the park and flows clockwise. It isn't too hard to navigate if you keep your eyes peeled for those markers.
-Thanks again to the 3 Rivers club, it looks like they do good stuff in the Greeley area.
-6 holes isn't necessarily a bad thing. Plus you can play 2 or 3 rounds quickly.
Hole thoughts:
Hole 2 made me think. The right side was wide open and the left side had a slight gap. As a flicker who is out of practice after doing other hobbies all winter, my anny isn't great. I took the left gap and knicked a pine tree.
Hole 3: the uphill shot was fun and knowing the road (OB) was right behind made for a great risk/reward type shot.
Hole 6: Similar to 3 except not uphill. An even more tempting ace run but with trouble (trees and road) right behind. Lots of fun here.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Quaint and Quick play

1    3/9/2014   3/9/2014
Review By: little oz
Played: 62  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 3.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Being 6 holes is a pro and a con. Great for a quick lunch break and not an 18 hole slog if you are trying to introduce someone to the sport.
-Surprising amount of distance, as a few of the holes exceed 300'
-Very nice, mature tree growth with a small stream that comes in to play. It really feels like a peaceful oasis.
- Decent basket positions.
-This small park maximizes the space available.
- For more holes, safari golf would be fun here.
-to be fair, there is a sign at the start with a map and distances.
Cons: -no tee signs and natural tee pads are tough to find. I never found #3 and #5. Navigation is a guess at best.
-baskets are rusted
-It is nice that there are picnic tables and a BBQ grill in the park, but if anyone is sitting at these tables, you are severely limited in which holes you can play.
-if more than 2 groups are playing, you may have to wait. The compact park, just won't bear a lot of traffic.
Other Thoughts: This isn't a course to go out of your way to play, but if passing by, you should hit it up for the calming vibe it gives off. I was pleasantly surprised.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good layout for what they have.

5+    1/25/2014   1/28/2014
Review By: bcos4life
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 2.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The layout is at maximum, considering the tiny location they have. The up and down levels change on a lot of holes, and the course isn't as short as you'd think. Great obstacles, and the creek is ever present on the first three holes.
Cons: Only a six hole course, and with no tee pads, and essentially no signage, it can be hard to navigate. Their is no tee pad at all for 5, so I recommend you use the picnic table. The course was flooded the last time I played it.
Other Thoughts: More challenging than you will think when you arrive, but still friendly to a beginner, as the water isn't a "lost disc" depth.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

It's OK

1    11/20/2012   1/9/2013
Review By: b_rosso
Played: 21  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you don't have time to play a full 9 or 18 this course is ideal for getting your arm warmed up. The lines are pretty fun and mostly all are ace-able. The water source running through the middle shouldn't play too big of a factor into your game in the winter time but I haven't seen it in the spring. No crowds here.
Cons: The natural teepads could use some updating and the baskets are wearing down. I even got lost where to go after #3 so look at the map before going. The creek might play a factor in the summer time. Probably the lowest priority course to play in Greeley.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 1/2 Star For Every Rusted Basket!

1    7/16/2012   7/22/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is like instant oatmeal or fast food. People are in a hurry and whipping off a round of disc golf in 15 minutes must appeal to a lot of them because this course gets more than it's share of players. I played fairly early on July morning and although there were no misquitos around, there were already other players present.
The course sits in this pretty little neighborhood park that's sunk down below street level. It's green with mature shade trees. Just a very inviting, neighborly type of park. The baskets are old, single chain, rust buckets
Like others, I really liked # 3 as the signature (How much of an honor is it to be the signature hole on a 6 hole course?) hole. That's just a fun little throw. # 6 also merits consideration.
Cons: The single chain baskets. The lack of marked teepads. The fact that this park would retain so much water. The misquitos. Only six holes.
Other Thoughts: I think the worn natural teepads are kind of an eyesore here. I'm surprised the neighbors don't complain about them. I think it would be great to install simple little patio block teepads. Keep em relatively small. The parks department could mow right over the top of them. First time players could find them. They'd make a nice addition to this little neighborhood treasure.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

1    7/24/2009   6/28/2011
Review By: autr3518
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Open with some obstacles including water and lots of trees, pretty park with places for children to play.
Cons: Water is stagnant and deep hard to retrieve discs that go in would not advise swimming! Good for moderate players who can avoid water at all costs.
Other Thoughts: I would reccomend this course to others!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/2/2010   5/11/2011
Review By: GDisc
Played: 58  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a fun, well located, course that lies in the middle of Greeley, CO. The Pin Locations are well thought out for an "Up & Down" Course. Great Atmosphere to the Course.
Cons: Course only Had 6 Holes when I was there....Almost Every Hole crossed Fairway's with another Hole, so you constantly have to keep your eye out for Random "Discs in Air".

Other Thoughts: The Course is a nice refresher to the ever busy UNC course only a couple minutes away. If in Greeley, I'd check out this course and the UNC course.

You won't need more than a Driver, Fairway Driver & Putter here, as there are no Real "Disc Lost" Factors, But watch out for Path-Ways if you play by Traditional Rules.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 It Came from the Swamp

2-4    10/31/2010   10/31/2010
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 123  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/30/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Decent mix of distances ranging from about 150 feet to about 350 feet.
-Good use of the little elevation that comes into play
-Small water hazard
-Some fun well designed holes
-Multiple pin positions that move from time to time
Cons: -Tees pads are nothing but a small yellow circle in the ground near a worn dirt patch. They can be really hard to find and the course is hard to follow at times the first time you play
-The tee-pads have become incredibly rutted and some off them are really hard to throw off of
-No tee-signs
-Grass can grow a lot little near the drainage ditch which could eat discs if they land in there
-Baskets are old and very rusted and only have one set of chains
-The water (I don't even know if you can call it that) in the drainage ditch is absolutely disgusting (Someone had left a wet pair of shoes near the drainage ditch because they did not want them after wading into for a disc)
-There are several crossing fairways
-Baskets are pretty old and rusted
Other Thoughts: This course is well designed for the small amount of space available, I am glad they did not try to put more than six holes in here because it would be way to cramped. I wouldn't go out of my way to play this course but if you are in the area make sure to give it a try

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Back for a quick round

1    8/8/2010   8/9/2010
Review By: 54over14
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Quick if you need to be...it's only 6 holes. Mature Veg makes it a challenge. not too busy with bikes or walkers.
Cons: can we say SWAMP. I grew up in Greeley and actually lived about 2 miles from this park. Believe it or not I proposed to my wife under the big Willow that is in front of the pond on hole 3. There has been a lot of changes to that park over the past decade and the additional water (swamp) is one of them. Seriously I question the Parks department for even watering right now, it was so wet I bet if they turned off the water for a week nobody would notice.
Other Thoughts: Fun technical course, but wow finding the tees can be tough. Played it twice while I was in town for a memorial service and still can't find the #5 tee marker. All of the others were there but look at the map so you get a sense of where to look for them. I played #5 from the #2 tee just becuse it had a concrete pad to use and I really liked how that alignment played. 6 is a great chance for an Ace, threw 6 times each round and came within feet of an "ace" at least half of that time and all were gimmie birds.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A Quick Six

1    7/1/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hole #3 - I love this hole. You throw over the small creek bed fade right up the hill that is protected by a huge tree. If you hit the tree you risk rolling all the way back down towards the creek, making what seemed like and easy birdie hole into a good par save. This a great example of what a short hole can offer in a small space.

Each DISCatcher hole is marked with the number, and all boxes have small concrete numbered blocks set into the ground similar to what you'll find at Pioneer Park in south Greeley. Hole length is good given the limited space and #6 is the only real gimmie hole because of the use of the trees and pin placements. The park is well groomed and makes for a great quick round.

BEST HOLE/S: #3
Cons: Much like Pioneer Park, I hate the markers set into the ground because it makes navigation for first timers a bit difficult. Plus, even though there is a map that is generally good, hole #1 pin placement is way off, and the distances don't seem quite right. Also, some might find it difficult to make a long trip just for six holes.

However, the biggest complaint may be hole #1. It looks like it used to play solely on the left side of the creek, however it has been moved to the right side making the hole harder and more fun - but directly in the center of #5 fairway. This would be dangerous on a busy day, and this is not indicated on the map near the road by #1. Plus, even though I enjoyed the easy bird, many would consider #6 a throwaway hole due to its very short length and no foliage cover.

WORST HOLE/S: #1; #6
Other Thoughts: Epple Park is a bit of a conundrum when it comes to ranking a course. On the fun factor I would put it ahead of the University of N. Colorado Campus course and Pioneer Park. However, I believe UNC rates slightly higher due its concrete pads and three extra holes making a complete nine. Both are better than Pioneer Park. Of course if you throw in Oxbow DGC in Windsor, which is only a few miles away, it's better than all three courses in Greeley.

Even though I think it's the most fun course, Epple earns a strong two disc rating based on length and creativity in a small land area, but suffers from the quality boxes, number of holes, and fiasco that is the current hole #1 placement. Bottom line, if you live in Greeley hitting all three courses in one day might be the best choice if you have time, but if you're in the area and need a good quick round - Epple Park is my number one choice.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.