Greeley, CO
Epple Park Share
Uploaded By: jcolgate Hole #4 (Taken 5/2012)
3 / 327ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Solid Six Pack

2-4    4/2/2014   4/3/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 296  Reviewed: 295  Exp: 5.9 Years
Pros: -Multiple, up to 4, possible pin positions
-Some fun elevation changes on a few holes. 3 was tempting to run at with OB behind the pin.
-Creek comes into play without looking like much of a disc eating hazard.
-All 6 are ace-able depending on how far you can throw and which pin location is in.
-Great for beginners, young people, etc as it is short and simple.
-The park is really nice. It was fun to play here.
-Good local club, 3 Rivers DGC. They made a nice map for this course.
Cons: -Tee pads are barely marked by a stone. I found my way around easily with a map but if you don't have a map you might wander around for awhile looking for the marker. It would be nice to have some kind of real pad. The natural ones are worn and take away from this otherwise nice little park.
-It is only 6 holes but if you don't fixate on that too much and expect more, it's not a big deal.
-The baskets are some of the oldest Discatchers that I've seen. My ace run on 6 knocked even more of the paint off. They are rusty, single chained and are not looking good. Somebody should sand them down and apple a nice powder coat or something.
-This park is nice and may attract others. There aren't other specific activities in this park but people may walk around or through it or just stop and have a picnic, you might have to wait a bit.
Other Thoughts: -This course has a high fun factor for me. I really did enjoy it. If they upgraded tees and baskets this course would get bumped up to a 3.
-The course starts near the SE corner of the park and flows clockwise. It isn't too hard to navigate if you keep your eyes peeled for those markers.
-Thanks again to the 3 Rivers club, it looks like they do good stuff in the Greeley area.
-6 holes isn't necessarily a bad thing. Plus you can play 2 or 3 rounds quickly.
Hole thoughts:
Hole 2 made me think. The right side was wide open and the left side had a slight gap. As a flicker who is out of practice after doing other hobbies all winter, my anny isn't great. I took the left gap and knicked a pine tree.
Hole 3: the uphill shot was fun and knowing the road (OB) was right behind made for a great risk/reward type shot.
Hole 6: Similar to 3 except not uphill. An even more tempting ace run but with trouble (trees and road) right behind. Lots of fun here.

Quaint and Quick play

1    3/9/2014   3/9/2014
Review By: little oz
Played: 46  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 2.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Being 6 holes is a pro and a con. Great for a quick lunch break and not an 18 hole slog if you are trying to introduce someone to the sport.
-Surprising amount of distance, as a few of the holes exceed 300'
-Very nice, mature tree growth with a small stream that comes in to play. It really feels like a peaceful oasis.
- Decent basket positions.
-This small park maximizes the space available.
- For more holes, safari golf would be fun here.
-to be fair, there is a sign at the start with a map and distances.
Cons: -no tee signs and natural tee pads are tough to find. I never found #3 and #5. Navigation is a guess at best.
-baskets are rusted
-It is nice that there are picnic tables and a BBQ grill in the park, but if anyone is sitting at these tables, you are severely limited in which holes you can play.
-if more than 2 groups are playing, you may have to wait. The compact park, just won't bear a lot of traffic.
Other Thoughts: This isn't a course to go out of your way to play, but if passing by, you should hit it up for the calming vibe it gives off. I was pleasantly surprised.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good layout for what they have.

5+    1/25/2014   1/28/2014
Review By: bcos4life
Played: 13  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The layout is at maximum, considering the tiny location they have. The up and down levels change on a lot of holes, and the course isn't as short as you'd think. Great obstacles, and the creek is ever present on the first three holes.
Cons: Only a six hole course, and with no tee pads, and essentially no signage, it can be hard to navigate. Their is no tee pad at all for 5, so I recommend you use the picnic table. The course was flooded the last time I played it.
Other Thoughts: More challenging than you will think when you arrive, but still friendly to a beginner, as the water isn't a "lost disc" depth.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

1    7/24/2009   6/28/2011
Review By: autr3518
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Open with some obstacles including water and lots of trees, pretty park with places for children to play.
Cons: Water is stagnant and deep hard to retrieve discs that go in would not advise swimming! Good for moderate players who can avoid water at all costs.
Other Thoughts: I would reccomend this course to others!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Home town favorite

5+    6/26/2010   6/29/2010
Review By: jdw80550
Played: 49  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/7/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a shorter course that has been modified through local club efforts to improve to a well maintained and varying degree of difficultly course. There are only six hole, but at least 4 alternate positions for most of the hole, ensuring that the course no longer gets stale. These positions add extra difficult for people who want it, while allowing casuals a fun playing expirience. The grass and trees are always kept in top shape, and the creek that runs through the course is simply stunning in the fall when the cat-tails get really high. Enough long hole that the drive won't feel left out, and yet several short ace run holes.
Cons: Only six holes, but as stated in some of the other reviews six quailty holes instead of nine cluster holes. In the summer mosquitoes, make sure you bring the bug spray. There is also heavy traffic during the summer and nice weekends meaning sometimes wait times on tee boxes come into play.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course to play on a quick lunch break or a full day. One thing to keep in mind is that since the course is in a valley, when the wind blows it swirls and can turn this nice little course into one with extreme difficulty.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.