Meridian, MS 
Highland Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: drivinatwork Hole #6 (Taken 4/2013)
3 / 288ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Meridian's 1st

1    9/26/2016   9/26/2016
Review By: enragedmullet
Played: 37  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - baskets in good shape, park well maintained the day I played save some brush in the fairway of #3

- restrooms available though some graffiti in the one by the ballpark was "interesting"

- decent variety in terms of distance and types of shots needed, as well as use of obstacles/POV from tee - holes 3-6 especially.
Cons: - tees: the combo of natural tees, no tee-side benches/garbage cans, and simple posts for the markers leave a little to be desired. #1 is missing its numbers, and none of them have a map/info/etc.

- the fairways on some holes aren't defined terribly well

- I can see how park activities would make several holes a risk to play depending on the crowd. As it was I was just passing through and as such I don't know how crowded it ever really gets.

- #8's main obstacle is a public restroom; #9 has no real obstacle besides a possible errant throw into the shallow creek alongside the fairway (perhaps the creek is higher some days)
Other Thoughts: - The course info describes #1 as being across from the duck pond; I would add that it's between the pool and the pond next to the pool parking.

- For me the signature hole here is either 3 or 4. 3 shoots over the creek and behind a warehouse, then slightly up a hill. 4 shoots with the warehouse against your back headed up the hill towards the neighborhood. Both are blind shots from the tee.

- I haven't played the other course in town but I understand it's Meridian's first. For the most part, any course is better than no course and I think this certainly applies here. If I lived nearby and knew the patterns of crowds I'd play it regularly. That being said the course is kind of crammed into the park in certain places so I'm not sure if I'd say its a "destination" course. Depending on the day you pass through town it may or may not be crowded.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

fun to play but needs work

2-4    11/18/2014   11/20/2014
Played: 30  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 7.8 Years
Pros: -Fun to play
-some long holes to let discs fly
-scorecards with map in admin office
-mostly open, hard to lose discs
-good for all levels to play
Cons: -some long holes for par 3
-no markings except tee pad posts
-hole 4 warehouse and tree line
-took awhile to find hole 1
-pavilion may cause delays
Other Thoughts: more land seemed available to make 18 holes-especially if you made many of the holes 290 ft or less.

 Finally a course in Meridian

5+    7/5/2013   7/15/2013
Review By: aclay
Played: 114  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 32.1 Years
Pros: Good use of available land, and the course flows nicely. Once you find No. 1 (south side of the pool), you won't have any trouble. Course appears to be well-maintained, and scorecards are available in the office (between No. 1 basket and No. 2 tee). Water comes into play on three holes.
Cons: Holes 3 and 4 are a little long/tough for par 3 but short for par 4. The solution would be shortening/adjusting No. 3 to make it a legitimate par 3 and lengthening No. 4 to make it a legitimate par 4. No. 3 now requires a long, narrow throw between trees and a fence surrounding a work shed. Lost discs could be an issue here. Shorten the hole and move the basket into the trees. On No. 4, move the basket back and to the right (closer to the road, which is OB). People using the park for other purposes are frequently an obstacle on No. 1.
Other Thoughts: Restroom facilities are available.

 nice 9 holer

5+    5/18/2013   5/18/2013
Review By: magictenor1
Played: 110  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 16.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good effective use of the available land. The course flows easily with no long walks between holes. I easily found the next tee when playing by myself for the 1st time. Good variety of type of hole with lots of elevation changes and some water in play. Restroom easily accessible on #7. Alternate tee for #9 (it plays across a creek) for less adventurous throwers.
Cons: no signage which is not that big of a deal since the course flows so well. Dirt teepads. One hole #7 tends to stay boggy for awhile after rain. The biggest issue I have is with hole #3 which shoots right at a big metal fence. many discs have already landed in there and you have to wait for someone to let you in to get your disc. In order to have any chance to par the hole you must shoot at the fence. Also hole # 8 plays very close to a pavillion which is an issue when it is in use.
Other Thoughts: Nice little course still being tweeked. My favorite hole is #2 which has alternate flight paths with Ob in play but chance for birdie with a good throw. Nice risk/reward design. Would have liked to have seen maybe a par 4 thrown in somewhere. Hole #4 for example is a fairly long uphill par three that could easily be lengthened and made par 4. Some signage and concrete tees would help. If the course takes off there is a possibility of 9 more being added. Now the closest course to my house and I will be playing there a lot.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Don't judge a book...

5+    5/18/2013   5/5/2013
Review By: WSP420
Played: 51  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 14.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2013
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Well kept park
-Parking available next to Tee #1
-The course flows well and the tees are easily seen and obvious as to which is next
-Makes up for short distances with a few more technical Holes
-Brand new baskets
Cons: -Only 9 holes (for now!)
-No hole #'s on pins
-No maps/scorecards
-No benches or trash cans except around pavilion areas
Other Thoughts: This course is brand new and hasn't been played much at all. The 'dirt' Tee Pads are still grass. Really, not a bad 9 but it stills needs work, and players. I mentioned one of the pros being the flow of the course; all you need to know is tee one is next to the pool and throws toward the creek/ditch. The bright white of the tee posts is easily seen from the previous basket. Every hole is an easy par or even birdie... but one tiny mistake and any one of them can also be an easy bogey. This is a fun course that needs more traffic.

Don't go out of your way for this one. But, if you live in Meridian or close by... go play! It's also probably worth the 30 min. or so from Quitman (Archusa Water Park DGC & Clarkco State Park DGC) if you're playing either of those courses.

Update: Tees now have hole numbers! This course is really growing on me. If it gets enough play another nine holes is a possibility. If that happens Meridian could have a top rate disc golf course at Highland Park.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.